Regulatory course for project designers (rodents & lagomorphs)​

Other courses

This course involves a 2 week-training which is compulsory for scientists designing projects on rodents and lagomorphs. It has been approved by the Ministry of agriculture (Approval reference: I-75 Institut Pasteur-F1-14).

Practical information

Institut Pasteur
2020 Spring session:
March 16 - 27, 2020
january 31, 2020
In English

The 2-week course program is structured based on the “Arrêté du 1er février 2013 relatif à l’acquisition et à la validation des compétences des personnels des établissements utilisateurs, éleveurs et fournisseurs d’animaux utilisés à des fins scientifiques”.
It covers especially the following topics: legislative, ethical and welfare aspects of using animals for scientific purposes; biology, husbandry, genetics, breeding, transgenesis, anaesthesia and analgesia of laboratory animals, experimental procedures, alternatives to animal use, handling techniques, substance administration etc. The course includes lectures from experts in the field, and practice of basic techniques on Laboratory Animal Science. 
The course has been approved by the Ministry of agriculture (Approval reference: I-75Institut Pasteur-F1-14)

There will be 2 sessions per year (one in Spring and one in Autumn).
We will select 60 candidates for each session.

At the end of each session, all participants will be evaluated and a graduation certificate will be issued to those who successfully completed the course. 


In addition to registering on line and paying your tuition fees, please send by email to :

  • a copy of the certificate of your highest diploma;
  • your English level (you should understand English perfectly to be able to follow the course)


More informations


Marion Berard

Animalerie Centrale

Institut Pasteur


Myriam Mattei

Animalerie Centrale

Institut Pasteur

60 per session
2 weeks per session
Members of the Course committee

M. Berard (Institut Pasteur )  

C. Boursaux-Eude (Institut Pasteur)

M. Mattei (Institut Pasteur)

S. Malot (Institut Pasteur)

V. Ponticelli (Institut Pasteur)

E. Porte (Institut Pasteur)

M. Sala (Institut Pasteur)

H. Waxin (Institut Pasteur)  

Back to top