The Scientific Council: missions and composition

The Institut Pasteur’s Scientific Council issues an opinion on all issues of scientific policy, organization, and research and teaching program. It must be consulted on the creation, abolition and consolidation of research and teaching structures. It meets at least twice a semester.


Composition of the Scientific Council


Pasteurian Members

Elected Members


Election date

Caroline Demangel Head of the Immunobiology and Therapy Lab elected on 31/3/2023

Arnaud Echard

Head of the Membrane Traffic and Cell Division Lab

re-elected on 31/3/2023

Jean-Marc Ghigo

Head of the Genetics of Biofilm Lab

re-elected on 22/03/2021

Michaela Müller-Trutwin

Head of the HIV, Inflammation and Persistence Lab

re-elected on 22/03/2021


Appointed Members


Election date

Eduardo Rocha

Head of the Microbial evolutionary genomics Lab

elected on 14/06/2023

Gerald Spaeth

Head of the Molecular parasitology and signaling Lab

elected on 14/06/2023




External Members

Appointed Members


Election date

Galit Alter

Prof. of medicine at Harvard Medical School, and group leader at the Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT and Harvard, USA.

elected on 18/06/2021

Amos Bairoch

Prof. Department of Human Protein Science, Computer and Laboratory Investigation of Proteins of Human Origin (CALIPHO), University of Geneva Medical School, Switzerland

re-elected on 16/04/2021

Elodie Ghedin

Senior Investigator and Director of the Systems Genomics Section (NIH), USA

elected on 18/06/2021

François Guillemot

Senior group leader, Neural Stem Cell Biology Laboratory, the Francis Crick Institute, London, UK

elected on 19/04/2019

Eva Harris

Prof. Division of Infectious Diseases and Vaccinology, UC Berkeley School of Public Health, CA USA

re-elected on 16/04/2021

Nicholas Hastie

Prof. MRC Human Genetics Unit, MRC Institute of Genetics and Molecular Medicine at the University of Edinburgh, UK

re-elected on 16/04/2021

Yvonne Jones   

Prof. Division of Structural Biology, Henry Wellcome Building for Genomic Medicine, University of Oxford, UK

elected on 26/06/2020

Dimitri Kullmann

Prof. of Neurology, UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology, UK

elected on 18/06/2021

Anne O’Garra

Senior Group Leader, Laboratory of Immunoregulation and Infection, The Francis Crick Institute, London, UK

elected on 13/12/2019


This English version is for information only, it does not have any legal value. 
The French version prevails.

Back to top