Scientific Council

The Scientific Council advises the President of the Institut Pasteur and, if required, the Board of Directors on all issues relating to scientific policy, organization, and research. It is consulted in the case of assessment, creation and closure of research Units, as well as general scientific strategic questions. The Scientific Council meets at least twice every six months.


Pasteurian Members

Elected Members


Arnaud Echard (Chair)

Head of the Membrane Traffic and Cell Division Unit

Aziz El Amraoui

Head of Progressive Sensory Disorders, PathoPhysiology and Therapy Unit

Jean-Marc Ghigo (Secretary)

Head of the Genetics of Biofilm Unit

Michaela Müller-Trutwin (Vice-Chair)

Head of the HIV, Inflammation and Persistence Unit

Appointed Members


James Di Santo 

Head of the Innate Immunity Unit

Carla Saleh (Vice-chair)

Head of the Viruses and RNA Interference Unit

External Members

Appointed Members


Galit Alter

Prof. of medicine at Harvard Medical School, and group leader at the Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT and Harvard, USA.

Amos Bairoch

Prof. Department of Human Protein Science, Computer and Laboratory Investigation of Proteins of Human Origin (CALIPHO), University of Geneva Medical School, Switzerland

Elodie Ghedin

Senior Investigator and Director of the Systems Genomics Section (NIH), USA

François Guillemot

Senior Group Leader, Neural Stem Cell biology Laboratory, The Francis Crick Institute, London, UK

Eva Harris

Prof. Division of Infectious Diseases and Vaccinology Director, Center for Global Public Health, UC Berkeley School of Public Health, USA

Nicholas Hastie

Prof. MRC Human Genetics Unit, MRC Institute of Genetics and Molecular Medicine at the University of Edinburgh, UK

Yvonne Jones

Prof. Division of Structural Biology, Henry Wellcome Building for Genomic Medicine, University of Oxford, UK

Dimitri Kullmann

Prof. of Neurology, UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology, UK

Ruth Ley

Director, Dept of Microbiome Science, Max Planck Institute for Developmental Biology, Tuebingen, Germany

Anne O’Garra Senior Group Leader, Laboratory of Immunoregulation and Infection, The Francis Crick Institute, London, UK


This English version is for information only, it does not have any legal value.

The French version prevails.


Back to top