Structural Bioinformatics Unit

Nilges group | Institut Pasteur | Department of Structural Biology and Chemistry | CNRS UMR 3528
Center of Bioinformatics, Biostatistics and Integrative Biologie (C3BI)

The structural bioinformatics research group was created in March 2001. Our research focuses on the relationship between sequence, three-dimensional structure, and function of proteins, using, among others, modelling techniques and molecular dynamics simulations. We also continue the development of software for automated NMR structure calculations, and are collaborating with structural genomics projects and the structure databases. We have established collaborations with experimental groups at the Institut Pasteur and elsewhere, for example, in atomic force spectroscopy, X-ray crystallography, and microscopy. The aim of our research is to complement structural studies (X-rays, NMR, Electron microscopy, and others) with in silico studies, to:

Our research topics include medically relevant molecular processes (infectious diseases, cancer, and the action of general anesthetics).

Group members

Prof. Michael Nilges Professor michael.nilges [at]
Permanent staff
Dr Arnaud Blondel Researcher arnaud.blondel [at]
Dr Pak-Lee Chau Researcher pak-lee.chau [at]
Dr Thérèse Malliavin CNRS Researcher therese.malliavin [at]
Dr Edouard Yeramian CNRS Researcher edouard.yeramian [at]
Dr Benjamin Bardiaux CNRS Researcher benjamin.bardiaux [at]
Dr Quang Tru Huynh IT Engineer quang-tru.huynh [at]
Nathalie Duclert-Savatier Engineer nathalie.duclert-savatier [at]
Maya Um [at]
Dr Isidro Cortes Ciriano isidro.cortes [at]
Dr Riccardo Pellarin riccardo.pellarin [at] pasteur.frr
Dr Silke Wieninger silke.wieninger [at]
Dr Mathias Ferber mathias.ferber [at]
Dr Guillaume Bouvier guillaume.bouvier [at]
PhD students (Supervisor)
Simeon Carstens (Habeck/Nilges) simeon.carstens [at]
Mohamed Machat (Malliavin/Bardiaux) mohamed.machat [at]
Damien Monet (Nilges/Blondel) damien.monet [at]
Fabrice Allain (Nilges/Bardiaux) fabrice.allain [at]
Former members
Dr Nathan Desdouits (Nilges/Blondel)
Audrey Legendre (Malliavin)
Emna Harigua (Guizani/Nilges)
Dr Marlet Martinez Archundia

Funded projects


Selected publications (full list)

See the full publication list here


Nilges Group
Institut Pasteur
Unité de Bioinformatique Structurale
25-28 rue du Dr Roux
F-75724 Paris CEDEX 15

Tel: +33-1-45 68 82 30
Fax: +33-1-45 68 87 19
Secretary: +33-1-44 38 91 09


Visit our new site
Our very old page (very outdated)