Structural Immunology - CNRS URA2185  


  HEADBENTLEY Graham / bentley@pasteur.fr
  MEMBERSDr FAURE Grazyna / Dr GANGNARD Stéphane / Dr JUILLERAT Alexandre
SAUL Frederick / SOUCHON Hélène / Dr VULLIEZ-LE NORMAND Brigitte


  Annual Report

Research themes of the Unit of Structural Immunology centre on the structural and functional characterization of proteins with a biomedical interest. Particular emphasis is given to antigens from infectious agents that are vaccine candidates or targets for drug design. During 2006, we have continued work on antigens from Plasmodium and Shigella flexneri.

Plasmodium antigens

(a) Apical Membrane antigen 1 (AMA1): AMA1, a Plasmodium membrane protein involved in host cell invasion, is a malaria vaccine candidate currently in clinical trials. Following the structure determination of the AMA1 ectoplasmic region and the epitope mapping of an invasion-inhibitory anti-AMA1 monoclonal antibody (mAb) in our unit (Pizarro et al., 2005. Science, 308: 408-11), we have set out to provide a more comprehensive structural analysis of dominant B-cell epitopes that contribute to immune protection. Detailed knowledge of the their location and the presence of polymorphic residues can provide useful information for optimizing AMA1 vaccine constructs. To this end, we have determined structure of an AMA1-antibody complex, and crystallographic analysis of other such complexes is currently in progress (Figure 1).

(b) P. falciparum Erythrocyte Membrane Protein 1 (PfEMP1): PfEMP1 forms a family of variant parasite adhesion proteins expressed on the surface of infected erythrocytes. These are complex multi-domain proteins that cause cyto-adhesion of infected erythrocytes in diverse tissues and organs. We are studying two PfEMP1 variants implicated in severe malaria: one causing rosetting (adhesion of infected erythrocytes to healthy erythrocytes), the other causing sequestration of infected erythrocytes in the placenta. We have expressed individual domains of these two PfEMP1 variants and have identified those that are directly involved in adhesion. In addition, we have made quantitative receptor-binding studies in the case of the placental variant, which binds to chondroitin sulphate proteoglycans. We have antibodies that inhibit receptor binding in each case.

Shigellosis vaccine development

The O-antigen polysaccharide of LPS is a major determinant of immune protection against Shigella flexneri. To contribute towards the development of effective shigellosis vaccines, we have determined the structure of a protecting anti-O-antigen mAb in complex with a synthetic O-antigen oligosaccharide and as a cross-reaction complex with an affinity-selected peptide. The peptide was shown to be a structural mimic of the saccharide epitope.

bentley.jpg

Figure 1. Structure de la région ectoplasmique d'AMA1 de Plasmodium vivax (cyan) liée au Fab d'un anticorps spécifique (chaîne légère en orange, chaîne lourde en mauve).

Figure 1. Structure of the ectoplasmic region of AMA1 from Plasmodium vivax (ribbon representation, cyan) bound to the Fab fragment of a specific mAb (molecular surface representation, light chain in orange, heavy chain in mauve).



  Publications

Publications 2006 of the unit on Pasteur's references database




Activity Reports 2006 - Institut Pasteur
If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Immunologie Structurale - CNRS URA2185  


  RESPONSABLEBENTLEY Graham / bentley@pasteur.fr
  MEMBRESDr FAURE Grazyna / Dr GANGNARD Stéphane / Dr JUILLERAT Alexandre
SAUL Frederick / SOUCHON Hélène / Dr VULLIEZ-LE NORMAND Brigitte

  Rapport d'activité

Nos recherches sont axées sur l'étude structurale de macromolécules biologiques ayant un intérêt biomédical. Certains de nos projets concernent des protéines impliquées dans le développement de stratégies thérapeutiques et vaccinales. Pendant l'année 2006, nous avons poursuivi nos travaux sur les antigènes de Plasmodium et Shigella flexneri.

Antigènes de Plasmodium

(a) Apical Membrane antigen 1 (AMA1): AMA1, une protéine membranaire de Plasmodium impliquée dans l'invasion de la cellule hôte, est un candidat vaccinal anti-paludéen actuellement en essais cliniques. Suite à la détermination de la structure tridimensionnelle et de la cartographie épitopique d'un anticorps inhibiteur de l'invasion par notre unité (Pizarro et al., 2005. Science, 308:408-11), nous avons commencé une étude structurale systématique des épitopes B dominants qui contribuent à la protection immunitaire. Une connaissance détaillée de leur emplacement à la surface moléculaire et la présence de résidus polymorphes fournissent des renseignements utiles pour l'optimisation d'AMA1 comme vaccine. A ce but, nous avons déterminé la structure d'un complexe anticorps-AMA1, et l'analyse cristallo-graphique d'autres complexes de ce type est actuellement en cours. (Figure 1).

(b) P. falciparum Erythrocyte Membrane Protein 1 (PfEMP1): PfEMP1 appartient à une famille d'adhésines parasitaires présentées à la surface de globules rouges infectés. Ces adhésines sont des protéines membranaires comportant plusieurs domaines extra-cellulaires, qui sont responsables à la cyto-adhérance des globules rouges infectés aux divers tissus et organes. Nous étudions deux variants de PfEMP1 impliqués dans le paludisme sévère: un qui conduit au "rosetting", l'autre qui est à l'origine de la séquestration placentaire. Nous avons exprimé des domaines individuels de ces deux variants et nous avons identifié ceux qui sont directement responsables à la cyto-adhésion. Dans le cas du variant placentaire, nous avons effectué des études quantitatives de la liaison avec son récepteur, une protéoglycane de chondroitin sulfate. Pour chaque variant, nous avons des anticorps qui inhibent la liaison aux récepteurs.

Etudes d'antigénicité d'LPS de Shigelle flexneri

Le polysaccharide, antigène O du LPS de Shigella flexneri, est un déterminant majeur de la protection immune contre la shigellose. Nous avons déterminé la structure d'un anticorps monoclonal protecteur, spécifique à l'antigène O, sous forme de complexe avec un saccharide synthétique et, également, avec un peptide sélectionné par affinité. Ces résultats montrent que le peptide est un mime structural du saccharide.

bentley.jpg

Figure 1. Structure de la région ectoplasmique d'AMA1 de Plasmodium vivax (cyan) liée au Fab d'un anticorps spécifique (chaîne légère en orange, chaîne lourde en mauve).

Figure 1. Structure of the ectoplasmic region of AMA1 from Plasmodium vivax (ribbon representation, cyan) bound to the Fab fragment of a specific mAb (molecular surface representation, light chain in orange, heavy chain in mauve).



  Publications de l'unité

Toutes les publications 2006 sur notre base de données




Rapports d'activité 2006 - Institut Pasteur
En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr