Cellular Immunology and Immunogenetics


  HEADProf. THEZE Jacques / jtheze@pasteur.fr
  MEMBERSBUGAULT Florence / BLOM-POTAR Marie-Christine / Dr CHAKRABARTI Lisa
Dr COLLE Jean-Hervé / JUFFROY Olivier / PILLET Anne-Hélène / Dr PEREZ-PATRIGEON Santiago / Dr ROSE Thierry


  Annual Report

HIV infection progressively leads to a profound immune deficiency, resulting from the loss and dysfunction of helper CD4 T lymphocytes. Abnormal activation of the immune system is thought to play a central role in the anergy and apoptosis of patients' CD4 T lymphocytes. The Unit studies the cellular and molecular mechanisms that cause these dysfunctions, with a focus on the investigation of two major cytokines: IL-2 controls the expansion of recently activated T cells and the maintenance of CD25+ T regulatory cells, whereas IL-7 regulates both the thymopoiesis and the homeostasis of peripheral T lymphocytes. We demonstrate that these two cytokines play a central role in the pathogenesis of HIV infection.

IL-2 and IL-7 signaling defects and T cell dysfunction in viremic HIV-infected patients.

IL-2 production is decreased in HIV-infected patients. Furthermore, we find that, although CD4 T lymphocytes express the IL-2R, they have impaired IL-2 responses. In addition, in CD4 T lymphocyte from HIV+ patients, expression of the IL-7R is close to normal, but its function is altered. Altogether, these defects reduce immune responses and alter the IL-7/ CD4 loop regulating CD4 T cell counts. The mechanisms behind these defects (alteration of the Jak/STAT signaling pathway) are under study.

Biochemical characterization of a new IL-2R signaling complex and of new forms of the IL-7R

We identified a new IL-2R functional complex comprising IL-2Rbeta homodimers, Jak1 and STAT5. We are also studying the role of new forms of the IL-7R regulating CD4 and CD8 IL-7 response. These studies should allow the molecular characterization of the IL-2 and IL-7 signal transduction defects found in HIV patients.

HIV Controller patients.

HIV Controllers are a unique group defined by a spontaneous control of HIV-1 replication for ten years or more in the absence of therapy (O. Lambotte and J.-F. Delfraissy). In these patients, we show that HIV-specific responses are characterized by a preserved central memory CD4+ T cell compartment with intact IL-2 secretion capacity and a non-detrimental T cell immune activation.

Therapeutic potential of IL-2 and IL-7

A clinical trial was conducted with a group of patients who, when receiving anti-retroviral therapy (ARV), showed adequate control of their viral load but a low CD4 count recovery. In these patients, IL-2 rapidly induced the appearance of CD4+/CD25+ T lymphocytes with some Treg characteristics. These lymphocytes are presently under molecular characterization (in collaboration with L. Rogge). Our preclinical studies also show that IL-7 treatment in patients receiving ARV should promote efficient CD4 T cell counts restoration.

theze.jpg

Key role of Central Memory (CM) CD4 T lymphocytes in HIV pathogenesis. In viremic patients, the switch of CM CD4 T cells to Effector memory (EM) CD4 T cells is accelerated progressively leading to the exhaustion of the CM CD4 cell pool. In HIV controller patients, the CM CD4 T cell pool is preserved, thus accounting for the ability of these patients to maintain an effective anti-HIV response in the long term.



  Publications

Publications 2006 of the unit on Pasteur's references database




Activity Reports 2006 - Institut Pasteur
If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Immunogénétique Cellulaire


  RESPONSABLEProf. THEZE Jacques / jtheze@pasteur.fr
  MEMBRESBUGAULT Florence / BLOM-POTAR Marie-Christine / Dr CHAKRABARTI Lisa
Dr COLLE Jean-Hervé / JUFFROY Olivier / PILLET Anne-Hélène / Dr PEREZ-PATRIGEON Santiago / Dr ROSE Thierry

  Rapport d'activité

L’infection par le VIH entraîne progressivement une profonde immunodéficience résultant de la perte et du dysfonctionnement des lymphocytes T CD4. L’activation anormale du système immunitaire joue un rôle central dans l’anergie et l’apopotose des lymphocytes T CD4 des patients. L’Unité étudie les mécanismes cellulaires et moléculaires qui causent ces dysfonctionnements, avec une attention particulière au système des cytokines IL-2 et IL-7. L’IL-2 contrôle l’expansion des lymphocytes récemment activés et le maintien des lymphocytes T régulateurs (Treg). L’IL-7 règle à la fois la thymopoïèse et l’homéostasie des lymphocytes périphériques. Nous avons démontré que ces deux cytokines jouent un rôle central au cours de la pathogenèse de l’infection à VIH.

Défauts de signalisation de l’IL-2 et de l’IL-7 et dysfonctionnement des lymphocytes T chez les patients virémiques infectés par le VIH

La production d’IL-2 est diminuée chez les patients infectés par le VIH. De plus, nous avons montré que les lymphocytes T CD4 expriment le RIL-2 mais que celui-ci ne transmet plus les signaux de manière efficace chez les patients virémiques. De la même manière, les lymphocytes CD4 expriment le RIL-7 mais sa fonctionnalité est perdue chez les patients. Dans l’ensemble ces défauts réduisent les réponses immunitaires et altèrent la boucle de régulation IL-7/CD4 qui règle le nombre des CD4 périphérique. Les mécanismes impliqués sont à l’étude (altération de la voie Jak/STAT).

Caractérisation biochimique d’un complexe de signalisation du RIL-2 et de nouvelles formes du RIL-7.

Nous avons identifié un nouveau complexe de signalisation comprenant un récepteur RIL-2Rbeta dimèrique, Jak1 et STAT5. Nous étudions aussi de nouvelles formes du RIL-7 qui modulent les réponses à l’IL-7 des lymphocytes CD4 et CD8. Ces études devraient permettre une caractérisation fine des mécanismes de signalisation de l’IL-2 et de l’IL-7 et de leurs défauts chez les patients infectés par le VIH.

Patients contrôlant spontanément la réplication du VIH

Ces patients forment un groupe unique défini par le un contrôle de la charge virale durant dix ans ou plus en l’absence de thérapie anti-rétrovirale (collaboration avec les Dr O. Lambotte et J.-F. Delfraissy). Chez ces patients, nous avons montré que les réponses anti-virales spécifiques sont importantes et évalué que le compartiment des lymphocytes « Mémoire Centrale » est préservé et capable de sécréter de l’IL-2 à la différence des patients virémiques. Par ailleurs, chez ces patients nous avons retrouvé des signes d’activation qui ne serait pas préjudiciable au système immunitaire.

Potentiel thérapeutique de l’IL-2 et de l’IL-7

Une étude clinique a été conduite avec un groupe de patients qui montraient un bon contrôle de la charge virale après traitement par des anti-rétroviraux mais maintenaient un taux de CD4 bas. Chez ces patients, l’injection d’IL-2 conduit rapidement à l’augmentation du taux de lymphocytes CD4+CD25+ avec certaines caractéristiques de Treg. Ces lymphocytes font l’objet d’une caractérisation moléculaire (en collaboration avec L. Rogge). Nos études précliniques montrent aussi que des traitements par de l’IL-7 devraient conduire à une augmentation du taux de CD4 chez des patients recevant des anti-rétroviraux.

Mots-clés: VIH, Pathogenèse, lymphocytes T CD4, Interleukine-2 (IL-2), Interleukine-7 (IL-7), Signalisation, Immunothérapie

theze.jpg

Key role of Central Memory (CM) CD4 T lymphocytes in HIV pathogenesis. In viremic patients, the switch of CM CD4 T cells to Effector memory (EM) CD4 T cells is accelerated progressively leading to the exhaustion of the CM CD4 cell pool. In HIV controller patients, the CM CD4 T cell pool is preserved, thus accounting for the ability of these patients to maintain an effective anti-HIV response in the long term.



  Publications de l'unité

Toutes les publications 2006 sur notre base de données




Rapports d'activité 2006 - Institut Pasteur
En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr