Molecular Genetics of Bunyaviruses


  HEADDr BOULOY Michèle / mbouloy@pasteur.fr
  MEMBERSDr BILLECOCQ Agnès / Dr BLOT Guillaume / Dr CARNEC Xavier
Dr FAILLOUX-MANUELLAN Anna-Bella / LARA Estelle / LEGER Psylvia
MOUTALLIER Sara


  Annual Report

The Bunyaviridae family is one of the largest taxonomic group which includes very dangerous pathogens causing hemorrhagic fevers, such as Crimean-Congo hemorrhagic fever virus, Rift Valley fever virus, Hantaan and Sin Nombre virus.

RVFV is transmitted by mosquitoes and causes disastrous outbreaks for humans and ruminants in Africa and recently in Middle East. The Unité de Génétique Moléculaire des Bunyaviridés has developed several axes of research focusing mainly on Rift Valley fever virus (RVFV) with the aim to understand the mechanisms involved in pathogenesis in vertebrates, to produce RVFV vaccines and to determine why infection of mosquitoes is asymptomatic.

Virulence, attenuation and host pathogen interactions. The nonstructural protein NSs encoded by the small segment of the tripartite RNA genome was shown to be a major determinant of virulence. To understand better RVFV pathogenesis, we identified the cellular partners of NSs. Recently, we showed that NSs inhibits Pol I- and Pol II- dependent cellular transcription by interacting with and sequestering p44, a component of the general transcription factor TFIIH. Through this interaction NSs acts as a strong antagonist of the antiviral cellular response which blocks drastically the interferon beta response.

Production of attenuated vaccine candidates and reverse genetics. RVFV Clone 13 was cloned from a natural isolate as a virus deficient for NSs which contains a large internal deletion in NSs ORF. This virus being shown to be avirulent for the very sensitive mouse model, it is retained as a possible vaccine candidate and it is under vaccination trials in ruminants. To manipulate the viral genes within the full-length genome, a Pol I- based reverse genetics methodology has been established, enabling rescue of infectious viruses.

RVFV infection in mosquitoes

The virus has been isolated from more than 30 mosquito species. This lack of specificity ensures that RVFV is likely to become an important zoonotic disease worldwide. Transmission experiments are essential to assess vector competence. In an attempt to study RVFV transmission in its arthropod vector and further, to estimate the consequence of RVFV infection on life history traits of potential vectors, we have developed an artificial feeding system.

In addition to these research activities, the Unité has also specific collaboration with other laboratories (CNR arbovirus and Institut Pasteur in Iran, Tunisia, Madagascar and Senegal).

bouloy.jpg

Fig 1. La protéine NSs forme un filament nucléaire où NSs colocalise avec des sous-unités p44 et XPB de TFIIH comme montré par immunofluorescence. (HM:high magnification). Le May et al 2004.

Fig 1. The NSs protein forms a nuclear filament where NSs colocalizes with subunits p44 and XPB of TFIIH as shown by immunofluorescence. (HM:high magnification). Le May et al 2004



  Publications

Publications 2006 of the unit on Pasteur's references database




Activity Reports 2006 - Institut Pasteur
If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Génétique moléculaire des Bunyavirus


  RESPONSABLEDr BOULOY Michèle / mbouloy@pasteur.fr
  MEMBRESDr BILLECOCQ Agnès / Dr BLOT Guillaume / Dr CARNEC Xavier
Dr FAILLOUX-MANUELLAN Anna-Bella / LARA Estelle / LEGER Psylvia
MOUTALLIER Sara

  Rapport d'activité

La famille des Bunyaviridés compte parmi ses membres, de virus très dangereux causant des fièvres hémorragiques, comme le virus de la fièvre hémorragique de Crimée-Congo, le virus de la fièvre de la Vallée du Rift (VFVR), les virus Hantaan et Sin Nombre.

Le VFRV est transmis par les moustiques et infecte les hommes et les ruminants en Afrique et récemment dans le Moyen-Orient. L’ Unité de Génétique Moléculaire des Bunyavirus a développé plusieurs axes de recherche portant principalement sur le VFRV, dans le but de comprendre les mécanismes impliqués dans la pathogenèse chez les vertébrés, de produire des vaccins VFRV et de déterminer pourquoi l’infection des moustiques est asymptomatique.

Virulence, atténuation et interactions du virus avec les hôtes. La protéine non structurale NSs codée par le plus petit des trois segments d’ARN simple brin du génome de ce virus s’est avéré être le déterminant principal de virulence. Pour mieux comprendre comment NSs exerce son action, nous avons recherché ses partenaires cellulaires. Récemment, nous avons montré que NSs inhibe la transcription cellulaire en interagissant avec et séquestrant p44, un composant du facteur général de transcription TFIIH. Au travers de cette interaction, NSs contrecarre la réponse cellulaire antivirale et notamment l’interféron béta.

Production de candidat vaccin atténué et génétique inverse. Le mutant Clone 13 a été cloné à partir d’un isolat humain comme un virus déficient pour NSs car la séquence codante est délétée. Ce virus s’avérant non virulent pour la souris (modèle animal très sensible), il a été retenu comme un candidat vaccin et il est actuellement testé chez les ruminants. Pour manipuler les gènes viraux dans l’ensemble du génome, un système de génétique inverse a été établi, permettant la production de virus infectieux à partir de plasmides porteurs des cADN génomiques .

RVFV infection chez les moustiques

Le virus a été isolé de plus de 30 espèces de moustiques. Ce manque de spécificité laisse penser que VFVR est susceptible de devenir une maladie zoonotique importante dans le monde entier. Les expériences de transmission sont donc essentielles pour évaluer la compétence vectorielle d’une espèce de moustique. Afin d’étudier la transmission du VFVR chez l’arthropode, nous avons développé un système d’infection par alimentation artificielle qui permettra d’estimer les conséquence de l’infection sur les traits de vie des vecteurs potentiels.

En plus de ses activités de recherche, l’Unité collabore avec d’autres laboratoires (CNR arbovirus et Instituts Pasteur en Iran, Tunisie, Madagascar et Sénégal) sur des projets de diagnostic et d’entomologie.

bouloy.jpg

Fig 1. La protéine NSs forme un filament nucléaire où NSs colocalise avec des sous-unités p44 et XPB de TFIIH comme montré par immunofluorescence. (HM:high magnification). Le May et al 2004.

Fig 1. The NSs protein forms a nuclear filament where NSs colocalizes with subunits p44 and XPB of TFIIH as shown by immunofluorescence. (HM:high magnification). Le May et al 2004



  Publications de l'unité

Toutes les publications 2006 sur notre base de données




Rapports d'activité 2006 - Institut Pasteur
En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr