Stems Cells and Development - CNRS URA2578  


  HEADDr TAJBAKHSH Shahragim / shaht@pasteur.fr
  MEMBERSDr CHRETIEN Fabrice / Dr GAYRAUD-MOREL Barbara / JORY Aurélie / Dr LE ROUX Isabelle
Dr MOURIKIS Philippos / ROCHETEAU Pierre / Dr SAMBASIVAN Ramkumar


  Annual Report

Introduction: Our aim is to characterize stem cells and their daughters during embryonic and postnatal development of skeletal muscle to understand how this tissue is established, and how it regenerates during disease, and after injury. We are examining the genetic networks which regulate myogenic stem cell birth, and relating this to how cell order is established in this lineage. We are also investigating how stem/progenitor cells self-renew, essentially via symmetric vs. asymmetric cell divisions, and how the stem cell niche is defined.
Background: The myogenic determination genes Myf5, MyoD and Mrf4, as well as the paired/ homeodomain genes Pax3 and Pax7, mark skeletal muscle stem and progenitor cells. Using mouse mutants, we established epistatic relationships between these key regulators, and spatiotemporally uncoupled lineage progression to identify stem and progenitor cells in the embryo (1, 2). In adult muscle, we showed that the cell fate determinant Numb segregates asymmetrically during satellite cell divisions. Intriguingly, "immortal" template DNA strand cosegregation also occurs in vivo and in vitro. Interestingly, these events are related and they can be executed independently of the niche (3).
Objectives: 1) Genetic regulation and lineage. We have generated new alleles in Myf5 and Pax7 to examine stem cells and their niche in the embryo and postnatally. These studies aim to link the embryonic muscle stem/founder cells with the principal postnatal regenerative stem cell, the satellite cell. These questions need to be resolved to distinguish stem from progenitor cells in muscle and study their respective roles in muscle growth and regeneration. Microarray screens using GFP knock-ins are designed to identify other novel regulators.
2) Stem cell properties, self-renewal, and niche. Different approaches, including asymmetric cell divisions and the role of the niche, are being used to determine how stem cells self-renew and differentiate. We are also studying the mechanism of template DNA strand cosegregation in the context of stem cell biology, cancer and epigenetic regulation.

3) Regenerative myogenesis. Another aim is to isolate stem cells, examine their properties, and study their behavior in functional reconstitution assays by engraftment into injured dystrophic or normal muscles. These models are well established and we are investigating the roles of Pax7 and the myogenic determination genes in this context. Using genetically modified mice and specific markers, we are examining the anatomy of the muscle niche and how this may maintain the stem cell state. Collectively, these studies should provide a link between the normal development of a tissue, its deregulation during disease, and its regeneration via the recruitment of stem and progenitor cells.

References: 1) Kassar-Duchossoy et al. (2005). Genes & Dev. 2) Tajbakhsh (2005) Exp. Cell. Res. 3) Shinin et al. (2006). Nature Cell Biology.

tajbakhsh.jpg

Fig. La division asymétrique dans les cellules satellite. A) La ségrégation asymétrique de Numb au cours de la mitose. B) Expérience de pulse-chase avec du BrdU (en rouge) montrant la ségrégation des brins d’ADN matrice dans l’une des cellules filles en anaphase in vivo

Fig. Asymmetric divisions in satellite cells. A) Asymmetric segregation of Numb during mitosis. B) Pulse-chase with BrdU (red) showing asymmetric segregation of template DNA strands to one daughter cell in anaphase in vivo.



  Publications

Publications 2006 of the unit on Pasteur's references database




Activity Reports 2006 - Institut Pasteur
If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Cellules souches et développement - CNRS URA2578  


  RESPONSABLEDr TAJBAKHSH Shahragim / shaht@pasteur.fr
  MEMBRESDr CHRETIEN Fabrice / Dr GAYRAUD-MOREL Barbara / JORY Aurélie / Dr LE ROUX Isabelle
Dr MOURIKIS Philippos / ROCHETEAU Pierre / Dr SAMBASIVAN Ramkumar

  Rapport d'activité

Introduction: Notre but est de caractériser les cellules souches et leurs descendants au cours du développement embryonnaire et post-natal du muscle squelettique, pour comprendre comment se forme ce tissu, et comment il se régénère après une blessure ou dans les pathologies musculaires. Nous étudions la régulation génétique et l’ordre cellulaire du lignage. De plus, nous examinons comment s’auto-renouvellent les cellules souches, essentiellement par divisions cellulaires symétriques ou asymétriques, et comment leur niche se définit.
Background: Les régulateurs de la myogenèse, Myf5, MyoD et Myf4, tout comme Pax3 et Pax7 marquent les cellules souches/ progénitrices du muscle. En utilisant des souris mutantes, et en découplant la progression spatio-temporelle du lignage musculaire, nous avons identifié les relations épistatiques entre ces gènes régulateurs clés dans l’embryon (1, 2). Chez l’adulte, nous avons montré qu' un déterminant du destin cellulaire Numb se ségrège de façon asymétrique lors des divisions des cellules satellites. De façon surprenante, la ségrégation des brins de l’ADN matrice ou ‘immortel’ s’opère aussi in vivo et in vitro. Nous avons montré que ces événements étaient apparentés et pouvaient se produire indépendamment de la niche (3).
Objectifs 1) Régulation génétique et lignage. Les nouveaux allèles pour Myf5 et Pax7 nous permettent d'examiner les cellules souches et leur niche, pour établir le lien entre les cellules souches/fondatrices embryonnaires du muscle et les principales cellules post-natales régénératives, les cellules satellite. Il est nécessaire de résoudre ces questions pour étudier le rôle des cellules souches dans la croissance et dans la régénération. Le criblage de puces à ADN, réalisé avec des GFP-Knock-in, est utilisé pour identifier de nouveaux gènes de régulation.
2) Propriétés des cellules souches et niche. Différentes approches, incluant la division asymétrique des cellules et le rôle de la niche, sont utilisées pour déterminer comment les cellules souches s’auto-renouvellent et se différencient. Nous étudions également le mécanisme de la co-ségrégation des brins d’ADN matrice dans le contexte de la biologie de la cellule souche, du cancer et de la régulation épigénétique.

3) Myogénèse régénérative. Un autre objectif est d’examiner les propriétés des cellules souches et d’étudier leur comportement dans des essais fonctionnels, en les greffant dans des muscles dystrophiques ou normaux. Nous étudions les rôles de Pax7 et des gènes de détermination myogéniques dans ce contexte. Les souris génétiquement modifiées nous permettent d'examiner la niche musculaire et sa capacité à maintenir les cellules à l’état souche. L’ensemble de ces études devrait fournir un lien entre le développement normal d’un tissu, sa dérégulation dans les pathologies et sa régénération par le recrutement des cellules souches.

Références: 1) Kassar-Duchossoy et al. (2005). Genes & Dev. 2) Tajbakhsh (2005) Exp. Cell. Res. 3) Shinin et al. (2006). Nature Cell Biology.

tajbakhsh.jpg

Fig. La division asymétrique dans les cellules satellite. A) La ségrégation asymétrique de Numb au cours de la mitose. B) Expérience de pulse-chase avec du BrdU (en rouge) montrant la ségrégation des brins d’ADN matrice dans l’une des cellules filles en anaphase in vivo

Fig. Asymmetric divisions in satellite cells. A) Asymmetric segregation of Numb during mitosis. B) Pulse-chase with BrdU (red) showing asymmetric segregation of template DNA strands to one daughter cell in anaphase in vivo.



  Publications de l'unité

Toutes les publications 2006 sur notre base de données




Rapports d'activité 2006 - Institut Pasteur
En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr