Structural Bioinformatics - CNRS URA2185  


  HEADDr NILGES Michael / nilges@pasteur.fr
  MEMBERSDr BLONDEL Arnaud / Dr CHAU Pak-Lee / DUCLERT-SAVATIER Nathalie
Dr HUYNH Tru / Dr MALLIAVIN Thérèse / Dr STOVEN Véronique / Dr YERAMIAN Edouard


  Annual Report

The aim of our research is to complement structural studies (X-rays, NMR, Electron microscopy) with in silico studies, to:

better determine and predict three-dimensional structures;

better understand molecular recognition and molecular interactions, with an emphasis on systems with medical relevance.

Our research topics include medically relevant molecular processes (infectious diseases, cancer, and the action of general anesthetics). Collaboration with experimental groups on campus, and our own experimental projects, are of fundamental importance for the group.

We develop strategies for the structural analysis of NMR data to make experimental structure determination more reliable, and allow, for the first time, to obtain an unbiased estimate of quality of an NMR structure. We apply similar methods for structure prediction. We mostly use our homology modeling “pipeline” to answer questions about protein function. Other developments include new probabilistic methods for sequence alignment RNA structure prediction, and gene prediction by physics based genome analysis.

We study the dynamics of protein-protein interactions by docking and molecular dynamics calculations. This provides us new insights into the interplay between protein flexibility and molecular recognition. We could elucidate for the first time the role of conformational entropy in the binding process in detail. The prediction of conformational changes during the binding of two proteins, or a protein and a small ligand, remains an important aim.

The field of protein-ligand interactions has fundamental as well as more applied aspects. In several collaborations with experimental groups we use empirical strategies for ligand docking and virtual screening. Targets include proteins from P. falciparum, T. brucei, T. cruzi, M. Tuberculosis. Our first experiences have been very encouraging. A more ambitious aim is to use free-energy calculations to guide the design of new chemical compounds directly in the binding site of the target.

nilges.jpg

Figure: Illustration of an important part of the activity of the unit. Starting from structural information for a protein, we use various methods to predict and characterize its interactions with other molecules. The results serve as input for further experimental studies.



  Publications

Publications 2006 of the unit on Pasteur's references database




Activity Reports 2006 - Institut Pasteur
If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Bioinformatique structurale - CNRS URA2185  


  RESPONSABLEDr NILGES Michael / nilges@pasteur.fr
  MEMBRESDr BLONDEL Arnaud / Dr CHAU Pak-Lee / DUCLERT-SAVATIER Nathalie
Dr HUYNH Tru / Dr MALLIAVIN Thérèse / Dr STOVEN Véronique / Dr YERAMIAN Edouard

  Rapport d'activité

Le but de notre recherche est de compléter les études structurales (rayons X, RMN, microscopie électronique) par des études in silico, pour:

  • mieux déterminer et prédire les structures tridimensionnelles ;

  • mieux comprendre la reconnaissance moléculaire et les interactions moléculaires, avec une préférence pour les systèmes avec une pertinence médicale.

Nos thèmes de recherche incluent des processus moléculaires qui sont impliqués, par exemple, dans les maladies infectieuses, cancer, et l'action des anesthésiques généraux. Les collaborations avec les groupes expérimentaux sur le campus, et nos propres projets expérimentaux, sont d'importance fondamentale pour le groupe.

Nous développons des stratégies d’analyse structurale qui rendent la détermination expérimentale de structure à partir de données RMN plus fiable, et qui donnent une évaluation impartiale de qualité de la structure. Nous développons et appliquons des méthodes similaires pour la prédiction de structure par homologie, dont l’intérêt principal est l’étude de la fonction des protéines de structure tridimensionnelle inconnue. D'autres développements incluent de nouvelles méthodes probabilistes pour la prédiction des structures d'ARN et d'alignement de séquences, et la prédiction des gènes par une analyse de la séquence d’un génome basée sur la physique.

Nous étudions la dynamique des interactions entre protéines par calculs de docking et de dynamique moléculaire. Ceci nous permet de mieux comprendre l’importance de la flexibilité des protéines dans la reconnaissance moléculaire. Nous avons pu élucider, par exemple, le rôle de l'entropie de conformation dans le processus de formation d’un complexe en détail. La prédiction d’un changement conformationnel pendant l’interaction d’une protéine avec son ligand reste un but important.

L’étude des interactions entre protéine et ligand a des aspects fondamentales aussi bien que des aspects plus appliqués. Dans collaborations avec plusieurs groupes expérimentaux nous employons des stratégies empiriques pour l'amarrage des ligands et le criblage virtuel. Les cibles incluent des protéines de P. falciparum, T. brucei, T. cruzi et M. tuberculosis. Nos premières expériences sont très encourageantes. Un but plus ambitieux est d'employer des calculs d'énergie libre dans la poche active d’une cible pour guider la conception de nouveaux composés chimiques.

nilges.jpg

Figure: Illustration of an important part of the activity of the unit. Starting from structural information for a protein, we use various methods to predict and characterize its interactions with other molecules. The results serve as input for further experimental studies.



  Publications de l'unité

Toutes les publications 2006 sur notre base de données




Rapports d'activité 2006 - Institut Pasteur
En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr