Biology of Host-Parasite Interactions - CNRS URA2581  


  HEADProf. SCHERF Artur / ascherf@pasteur.fr
  MEMBERSDr ANTIA Meher / Dr COELHO NUNES Marta / Dr FERNANDEZ Pablo / Dr GAMAIN Benoit
ISSAR Neha / Dr LOPEZ-RUBIO José Juan / MANCIO DA SILVA Liliana / Dr MATTEI Denise / Dr OKADA Mami / Dr VIEBIG Nicola


  Annual Report

Introduction

The laboratory focuses on strategies that enable the human protozoan pathogen Plasmodium falciparum to survive in the hostile environment of the human host and establish chronic infection.

1. Molecular mechanisms of antigenic variation.

Antigenic Variation is a strategy employed by malaria species to outmaneuver the host defense mechanisms long enough for their progeny to spread. We have established that distinct epigenetic factors control the molecular process of antigenic variation. Mutually exclusive expression of a single member of a multigene family (called var gene family) leads to the successive expression of variant molecules on the surface of infected erythrocytes. A subtelomeric non-coding element called rep20 is a critical DNA region involved in cluster formation between chromosome ends and acts as a sink for a number of chromatin silencing factors such as PfSir2. We demonstrated that a “telomere position effect”-like mechanism brings about repression of antigenic variation genes located near telomere repeats. Another epigenetic factor associated with var gene activation is the relocation of a silent var gene into a peri-nuclear region compatible with transcription. We focus now on histone marks that determine mono-allelic exclusion and epigenetic memory of active var genes.

2. Cytoadhesion and malaria pathogenesis. Parasite-encoded virulence factors (adhesion molecules) are inserted into the erythrocyte membrane during intracellular blood stage development. We focus on host–parasite interactions during pregnancy-associated malaria (PAM) in order to identify the optimal surface antigens for inclusion in a vaccine that could prevent malaria during pregnancy. We have identified the parasite ligand, which mediates binding to the major placental receptor (Chondroitin sulfate A, CSA), called var2CSA. Var2CSA disruptant mutants do not recover the CSA binding phenotype, demonstrating that no other parasite gene can compensate for the loss of function. CSA-binding domains within var2CSA were identified and are now being evaluated for the development of a vaccine. Furthermore, we investigate whether signal transduction is involved in var gene switching.

3. Intracellular trafficking.

We investigate mutant parasites that have a defect in IE adhesion to endothelial cells. The analysis of mutant parasite lines that have deleted a chromosome region including the clag9 gene, revealed that parasites express a member of the var gene family at the surface of IE but these IEs are unable to adhere to common adhesion receptors (CD36, ICAM-1, CSA etc.). Our data indicate that clag9 is not itself an adhesion molecule but is crucial for the correct assembly of the adhesive complex at the IE surface.

4. Epigenetic control of differential transcription of rRNA genes.

P. falciparum has a low copy number of rRNA units, which are distributed on different chromosomes and are differentially expressed. All rRNA genes are clustered in the nucleolus of the parasite. We investigate common and distinct transcriptional control mechanisms between rRNA and var gene families.



  Publications

Publications 2006 of the unit on Pasteur's references database




Activity Reports 2006 - Institut Pasteur
If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Biologie des Interactions Hôte-Parasite - CNRS URA2581  


  RESPONSABLEProf. SCHERF Artur / ascherf@pasteur.fr
  MEMBRESDr ANTIA Meher / Dr COELHO NUNES Marta / Dr FERNANDEZ Pablo / Dr GAMAIN Benoit
ISSAR Neha / Dr LOPEZ-RUBIO José Juan / MANCIO DA SILVA Liliana / Dr MATTEI Denise / Dr OKADA Mami / Dr VIEBIG Nicola

  Rapport d'activité

Introduction : Les activités du laboratoire se portent essentiellement sur les stratégies qui permettent au pathogène protozoaire humain, Plasmodium falciparum, de survivre dans l’environnement hostile de l’hôte humain et d’établir une infection chronique.

1. Les mécanismes moléculaires de la variation antigénique. La variation antigénique est une stratégie utilisée par les espèces plasmodiales afin de contourner les mécanismes de défense de l’hôte suffisamment longtemps pour que leur progéniture puisse survivre. Nous avons établi que des facteurs épigénétiques distincts contrôlent le processus moléculaire de la variation antigénique. L’expression exclusived’un seul membre d’une famille multigénique (famille de gènes var) permet l’expression successive de différents variants à la surface d’érythrocytes infectés. L’élément subtélomérique non-codant, rep20, est une région cruciale qui permet la formation d’amas (clusters) entre les extrémités des chromosomes et sert de réservoir pour un certain nombre de facteurs de répression de la chromatine, tel que PfSir2. Nous avons démontré qu’un mécanisme de « position aux télomères » (telomere position effect) permet de réprimer l’expression des gènes de la variation antigénique situés à proximité des répétitions télomériques. Un autre facteur épigénétique associé à l’activation du gène var consiste en la mobilité (relocation) d’un gène var non transcritvers une région péri-nucléaire compatible avec la transcription. Nous nous concentrons maintenant sur « histone marks » qui déterminent le « mono-allelic exclusion » et « cellular memory» de gènes var actifs.

2. Cytoadhérence et le pathogène du paludisme. Des facteurs de virulence codant pour les molécules d’adhérence du parasite sont insérés dans la membrane érythrocytaire au cours du développement des stades sanguins intracellulaires. Nous étudions les interactions hôte-parasite impliquées au cours du paludisme gestationnel (pregnancy-associated malaria PAM) afin d’identifier les antigènes de surface optimaux à inclure dans le développement d’un vaccin qui pourrait empêcher le paludisme gestationnel. Nous avons identifié le ligand parasitaire, var2CSA, qui médie la liaison au récepteur placentaire principal (Chondroitine sulfate A, CSA). Les mutants dont le gène Var2CSA a été interrompu ne peuvent retrouver le phénotype de liaison à la CSA, démontrant ainsi qu’aucun autre gène de parasite ne peut compenser sa perte. Les domaines de liaison avec la CSA dans var2CSA ont été identifiés et sont en cours d’évaluation dans le cadre du développement d’un vaccin. De plus, nous essayons de savoir si la transduction du signal est impliquée dans la commutation de gènes var2CSA.

3. Transport intracellulaire. Nous étudions les parasites mutants possédant un défaut dans l’adhérence IE aux cellules endothéliales. L’analyse des lignées de parasites mutants qui ont supprimé une région de chromosomes comprenant le gène clag9, a révélé que les parasites expriment un membre de la famille de gènes var à la surface d’IE mais ces IE sont incapables d’adhérer aux récepteurs d’adhérence communs (CD36, ICAM-1, CSA etc..). Nos données indiquent que clag9 n’est pas en soi une molécule d’adhérence mais est cruciale pour le bon assemblage du complexe d’adhérence à la surface d’IE. 

4. Contrôle épigénétique de la transcription différentielle des gènes rARN. P. falciparum possède un faible nombre d’unités rARN, qui sont distribuées sur les divers chromosomes et exprimées de façon différentielle. Tous les gènes rARN sont amassés (clustered) dans le nucléole du parasite. Nous étudions les mécanismes de contrôle transcriptionnels communs et distincts dans les familles de gènes var et rARN.



  Publications de l'unité

Toutes les publications 2006 sur notre base de données




Rapports d'activité 2006 - Institut Pasteur
En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr