Trypanosome Cell Biology - CNRS URA2581  


  HEADDr BASTIN Philippe / pbastin@pasteur.fr
  MEMBERSABSALON Sabrina / Dr ADHIAMBO Christine / Dr BRANCHE Carole / BLISNICK Thierry
BUISSON Johanna / Dr JULKOWSKA Daria


  Annual Report

Trypanosomes are flagellated parasites responsible for various tropical diseases, including sleeping sickness in Central Africa caused by Trypanosoma brucei. Trypanosomes also represent exciting model organisms to study as they exhibit unique cellular features and are amenable to modern reverse genetics technology. Our group is interested in two topics: (1) biology and applications of RNA interference and (2) flagellum formation and function.

RNA interference.
RNAi is a sequence-specific RNA destruction process mediated by short or long double-stranded RNA that was discovered in 1998 by C. Mello and A. Fire (Nobel winners 2006). We previously identified a gene essential for RNAi and showed that this process participates to chromosome segregation during mitosis and to control of abundance of transcripts derived from transposable elements (these mobile elements make up 5 % of the trypanosome genome and > 40 % of the human genome). Recently, we demonstrated that RNAi activity was required for the control of expression of some families of pseudogenes (genes that do not code for proteins). Moreover, RNAi acts differently in mitosis and transposon control as a cell line competent for one function but not the other was produced in the laboratory.

Flagellum formation and functions.
The flagellum is a cylindrical organelle made of microtubules and composed of more than 200 proteins. We showed that it is constructed by a specific process called intraflagellar transport and identified a dozen of genes involved in this mechanism. We demonstrated that the flagellum is critical for the trypanosome cell cycle and have characterized its role in cell motility. We have identified more than 50 genes coding for putative flagellar proteins and defined their function after individual silencing by inducible RNAi. Some genes are entirely novel and many are shared with other flagellated eukaryotes. Trypanosomes use several activities of the flagellum for morphogenetic processes such as the definition of cell polarity or organelle positioning.

Trypanosome as a model for genetic diseases. Several genetic diseases are linked to defects in cilia and flagella function. However, mammalian, insect or nematode ciliated cells do not propagate in vitro and are poorly amenable to transfection. Our data reveal that trypanosomes are an excellent model to study genetic diseases related to cilia and flagella defects. Collaborations with several medical groups studying such genetic diseases have been set up and have recently been funded by external grants.

bastin.jpg

A gauche, trypanosomes exprimant une protéine flagellaire (barre, 10 µm). A droite, un mutant avec flagelle détaché (barre, 1 µm).

Left, trypanosomes expressing a flagellar-tagged protein (bar, 10 µm). Right, a mutant with detached flagellum (bar, 1 µm).



  Publications

Publications 2006 of the unit on Pasteur's references database




Activity Reports 2006 - Institut Pasteur
If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Biologie cellulaire des Trypanosomes - CNRS URA2581  


  RESPONSABLEDr BASTIN Philippe / pbastin@pasteur.fr
  MEMBRESABSALON Sabrina / Dr ADHIAMBO Christine / Dr BRANCHE Carole / BLISNICK Thierry
BUISSON Johanna / Dr JULKOWSKA Daria

  Rapport d'activité

Les trypanosomes sont des parasites (protozoaires) flagellés responsables de plusieurs maladies tropicales, y compris la maladie du sommeil causée par Trypanosoma brucei, qui est endémique à l’Afrique Centrale. Les trypanosomes représentent également des organismes modèles fascinants à étudier car ils montrent des caractéristiques cellulaires uniques et peuvent être aisément manipulés par les technologies modernes de génétique inverse. Notre groupe s’intéresse à deux sujets : (1) la biologie et les applications d’ARN interférence et (2) la formation et la fonction du flagelle.

ARN Interférence. L’ARNi est un processus de destruction d’ARN à séquence spécifique gouverné par de l’ARN double brin de séquence homologue (découvert en 1998 par C. Mello et A. Fire, prix Nobel 2006). Nous avons déjà identifié un gène essentiel à l’ARNi et montré que ce processus participe à la ségrégation des chromosomes pendant la mitose ainsi qu’au contrôle de l’abondance des transcrits dérivés des éléments transposables (ces éléments mobiles constituent 5% du génome du trypanosome et > 40% du génome humain). Nous avons récemment démontré que l’activité d’ARNi est nécessaire au contrôle de l’expression de certaines familles de pseudogènes (gènes ne codant pas pour des protéines). De plus, l’ARNi agit différemment au cours de la mitose et du contrôle de transposons car une lignée cellulaire compétente pour une fonction mais pas pour l’autre a pu être produite au laboratoire.

Formation et fonctions du flagelle. Le flagelle est un organite cylindrique constitué de microtubules et composé de plus de 200 protéines. Nous avons montré qu’il se construit au moyen d’un processus spécifique, appelé transport intraflagellaire, et nous avons identifié une douzaine de gènes impliqués dans ce mécanisme. Nous avons démontré que le flagelle est crucial au cycle cellulaire du trypanosome et caractérisé son rôle pour la mobilité cellulaire. Nous avons identifié plus de 50 gènes codant des protéines flagellaires potentielles et défini leur fonction après extinction par ARNi inductible. Certains gènes sont entièrement nouveaux et la plupart d’entre eux sont conservés chez d’autres eucaryotes flagellés. Les trypanosomes se servent de plusieurs activités du flagelle pour des processus morphogénétiques telle que la définition de la polarité cellulaire ou le positionnement des organites.

Le trypanosome comme modèle pour des maladies génétiques. Plusieurs maladies génétiques sont liées à des défauts dans la fonction des flagelles et cils. Cependant, les cellules ciliées des métazoaires sont peu ou pas manipulables. Nos données démontrent que le trypanosome est un excellent modèle pour l’étude de maladies génétiques liées aux défauts de flagelles et cils. Nous avons établi des collaborations avec plusieurs groupes cliniques travaillant sur ces maladies génétiques pour étudier la fonction de nouveaux gènes.

bastin.jpg

A gauche, trypanosomes exprimant une protéine flagellaire (barre, 10 µm). A droite, un mutant avec flagelle détaché (barre, 1 µm).

Left, trypanosomes expressing a flagellar-tagged protein (bar, 10 µm). Right, a mutant with detached flagellum (bar, 1 µm).



  Publications de l'unité

Toutes les publications 2006 sur notre base de données




Rapports d'activité 2006 - Institut Pasteur
En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr