Unit: Yersinia

Director: Elisabeth Carniel

The main activities of the Yersinia Research Unit include the analysis of horizontal gene transfer; bacterial evolution; molecular bases of pathogenicity; immune, physiological and genetic host responses to infection; and antibiotic resistance in pathogenic Yersinia species. Our Unit also has public health activities (French Reference Center, National Surveillance Network, and WHO Collaborating Center).

The Yersinia Research Unit was created in 2004. This Unit focuses its research activities on the genus Yersinia, which belongs to the family Enterobacteriaceae and includes three species pathogenic for humans and animals: the enteropathogens Y. pseudotuberculosis and Y. enterocolitica, and the plague agent Y. pestis.

The current activities of the Yersinia Research Unit are primarily devoted to the analysis of:

- A pathogenicity island whose presence confers to the host bacterium the ability to cause systemic infections in humans and other animals.

- The molecular bases for the exceptional pathogenicity acquired by Y. pestis since its recent emergence from Y. pseudotuberculosis.

- The pathophysiology of Yersinia infection.

- The host's mechanisms of innate and acquired immunity and the development of a plague vaccine.

- The genetic bases of susceptibility to plague.

- The resistance of pathogenic Yersinia to antibiotics and the evaluation of new treatments.

- Public health (French Reference Center, National Surveillance Network, and WHO Collaborating Center for Yersinia).

The main research works published in 2005 dealt with:

1. Horizontal transfer of the High-Pathogenicity Island of Y. pseudotuberculosis

Contributors: B. Lesic and E. Carniel.

Horizontal transfer of genetic elements plays a major role in bacterial evolution. The High Pathogenicity Island (HPI), which codes for an iron uptake system, is important for Yersinia virulence. This island is present and highly conserved in various Enterobacteriaceae, suggesting its recent acquisition by lateral gene transfer. We wanted to determine whether the HPI has kept its ability to be horizontally transmitted to new hosts. We demonstrated that the HPI is indeed transferable from a donor to a recipient Y. pseudotuberculosis strain. This transfer was observable only when the donor and recipient bacteria were co-cultured at low temperatures in a liquid medium. When optimized conditions were used, the frequency of HPI transfer reached Å10-8. The island was transferable to various serotype I strains of Y. pseudotuberculosis and to Y. pestis, but not to other serotypes of Y. pseudotuberculosis or to Y. enterocolitica. Upon transfer, the HPI was almost systematically inserted into the asn3 tRNA locus and its acquisition resulted in the loss of the resident island, suggesting an incompatibility between two copies of the HPI within the same strain. Transfer of the island did not require a functional HPI-borne insertion-excision machinery and was RecA-dependent in the recipient but not the donor strain, suggesting that integration of the island into the recipient chromosome occurs via a mechanism of homologous recombination. This lateral transfer was not restricted to the HPI but also involved adjacent sequences, leading to the mobilization of a chromosomal region, at least 46 kb in size. This study thus demonstrates that the HPI can be horizontally transmitted by a mechanism which does not require HPI-borne mobility functions.

2. Transfer of the pPla plasmid to Y. pseudotuberculosis and impact on virulence

Contributors: F. Pouillot, A. Derbise, J. Foulon and E. Carniel.

Collaborators: M. Kukkonen and T. K. Korhonen.

Y. pestis is a species that emerged recently from Y. pseudotuberculosis and gained an exceptional pathogenicity potential. One major genetic difference between the plague bacillus and its ancestor is the acquisition of the pPla plasmid, which has been associated with the increased virulence of Y. pestis. In a previous study, introduction of pPla into Y. pseudotuberculosis did not increase its virulence. However, it was subsequently demonstrated that the presence of a smooth LPS in Y. pseudotuberculosis inhibits the activity of Pla. We thus introduced pPla into a Y. pseudotuberculosis variant in which a mutation that abrogates formation of O-Ag repeats (as in natural isolates of Y. pestis) was generated. In this strain, Pla was synthesized, exported to the bacterial membrane and processed as in Y. pestis. While the ability of Pla to activate plasminogen was weak in the smooth Y. pseudotuberculosis strain, this activity was similar to that of Y. pestis in the O-Ag mutant. Furthermore, Pla-mediated inactivation of the antiprotease α2-antiplasmin was not detected at 28°C in the smooth Y. pseudotuberculosis strain but was similar to that of Y. pestis in the O-Ag mutant. Nonetheless, the Y. pseudotuberculosis O-Ag mutant harboring pPla exhibited a decreased pathogenicity upon subcutaneous infection of mice. Our results thus indicate that, although abrogation of O-side chain synthesis in a Y. pseudotuberculosis strain harboring pPla potentiates the two proteolytic activities of Pla, this is not sufficient to confer to Y. pseudotuberculosis a higher pathogenicity potential. These results also suggest that acquisition of pPla may not have been sufficient to enhance the pathogenic potential of the Y. pestis ancestor strain.

3. Diversity of Y. pseudotuberculosis strains of worldwide origin investigated by ribotyping

Contributors: E. Voskressenskaya, A. Leclercq and E. Carniel.

Collaborators: G. Tseneva.

Y. pseudotuberculosis infects a wide range of animals, including humans, and is transmitted by the fecal-oral route. This species is found globally and is responsible for human outbreaks, mainly in cold countries. In order to investigate the diversity of this species and to evaluate the potential of ribotyping for molecular typing of worldwide isolates, 80 Y. pseudotuberculosis strains isolated from various countries and different hosts, and belonging to the six classical serotypes and to nine subserotypes were analyzed. Combination of the EcoRI and EcoRV ribopatterns allowed the delineation of 27 ribotypes. In most instances, ribotypes were associated with specific subserotypes and allowed their subdivision. No association between the ribotype and the geographical origin of the strains was observed, arguing for a global spread of this organism. Similarly, no marked association between the ribotype and the type of host was noted, confirming the circulation of this pathogen in the environment, different animal species, and human hosts. Y. pseudotuberculosis exhibited ribopatterns very close to those of Y. pestis, although not completely identical. Ribotyping is thus a useful tool for molecular typing of global isolates of Y. pseudotuberculosis, but this technique has some limitations due to the small number of hybridizing bands that generate the diversity of the profiles.

4. Investigation of a fatal case of Y. enterocolitica sepsis after red blood cell transfusion

Contributors: A. Leclercq, L. Martin and E. Carniel.

Collaborators: M. Laporte Vergnes, N. Ounnoughene, J-F. Laran and P. Giraud.

Due to its ability to multiply at low temperatures in red blood cell concentrates (RBCC), Y. enterocolitica is one of the most common cause of transfusion-associated septic shock. A fatal case of septic shock occurring in a 71-year-old French patient following transfusion of a contaminated RBCC for refractory anemia was investigated. The Y. enterocolitica strains isolated from the patient's blood and the transfused RBCC were both of bioserotype 4/O:3 and had the same NotI pulsotype. High titers of antibodies against Y. enterocolitica O:3 were detected in the donor's plasma one month after blood donation. The donor reported abdominal discomfort 3.5 months prior to blood collection but had no clinical signs of intestinal infection at the time of donation. Y. enterocolitica has been identified with increased frequency as a causative agent of post-transfusion septic shock. Our nation-wide investigation of these cases led to an estimated incidence of ³ 1 case per 6.5 million RBCC distributed in France. Although rare, this often fatal complication remains non-preventable worldwide due to the lack of practical means for screening RBCC prior to transfusion.

5. National Reference Laboratory, National Surveillance network and WHO Collaborating Center for Yersinia

L. Martin, A. Leclercq, F. Guinet, and E. Carniel

See the Yersinia National Reference Laboratory web site

(http://www.pasteur.fr/sante/clre/cadrecnr/yersinia-index.html).

Keywords: Yersinia, enteropathogen, plague, virulence, genomics, physiopathology, bacteriology, immunology, public health


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Yersinia

Responsable: Elisabeth Carniel

Les principales activités de l'Unité de Recherche Yersinia portent sur l'analyse des transferts horizontaux de gènes; l'évolution bactérienne; les bases moléculaires de la pathogénicité; les réponses immunitaires, physiopathologiques et génétiques de l'hôte à l'infection; et la résistance aux antibiotiques des espèces pathogènes de Yersinia. Notre Unité a également des activités de santé publique (Centre National de Référence, Réseau National de surveillance, et Centre Collaborateur de l'OMS pour les Yersinia).

L'Unité de Recherche Yersinia a été créée en 2004. Cette Unité étudie le genre Yersinia qui comprend trois espèces pathogènes pour l'homme et les animaux : les bactéries entéropathogènes Y. pseudotuberculosis et Y. enterocolitica, et l'agent de la peste, Y. pestis.

Les axes actuels de recherche de l'Unité Yersinia portent plus particulièrement sur :

- un îlot de pathogénicité qui permet la dissémination systémique des bactéries chez l'homme et l'animal,

- les bases moléculaires du pouvoir pathogène exceptionnel acquis par Y. pestis depuis son émergence récente à partir de Y. pseudotuberculosis,

- la physiopathologie des infections à Yersinia,

- les mécanismes immunitaires innés et acquis de défense de l'hôte et la mise au point d'un vaccin contre la peste,

- la sensibilité génétique à la peste,

- la résistance aux antibiotiques des Yersinia pathogènes et l'évaluation de nouveaux traitements,

- la santé publique (Centre National de Référence, Réseau National de surveillance et Centre Collaborateur de l'OMS pour les Yersinia).

Les principaux travaux de recherche ayant fait l'objet de publications en 2005 sont les suivants :

1. Transfert horizontal de l'îlot de haute pathogénicité de Y. pseudotuberculosis

Contributeurs: B. Lesic et E. Carniel.

Le transfert horizontal d'éléments génétiques joue un rôle majeur dans l'évolution bactérienne. L'îlot de haute pathogénicité (HPI), qui porte un système de capture du fer, est un élément important de la virulence des Yersinia. Cet îlot est présent et très conservé chez différents membres de la famille des Enterobacteriaceae, suggérant son acquisition récente par transfert latéral. Le but de notre étude était de déterminer si l'HPI avait gardé la capacité de se transférer horizontalement. Nous avons observé que l'HPI pouvait effectivement se transmettre d'une souche donatrice à une souche réceptrice de Y. pseudotuberculosis, avec une fréquence de 10-8. Cependant, ce transfert n'a eu lieu que lorsque les bactéries donatrices et réceptrices ont été co-cultivées à basse température en milieu liquide. L'îlot a ainsi pu être transféré à diverses souches de Y. pseudotuberculosis de sérotype I et à Y. pestis, mais pas à d'autres sérotypes de Y. pseudotuberculosis ni à Y. enterocolitica. Après transfert, l'HPI était presque systématiquement inséré dans le locus asn3 tRNA et son acquisition s'accompagnait de la perte de l'îlot résident, suggérant une incompatibilité entre deux copies de l'HPI au sein d'une même souche. Le transfert de l'îlot a été observé en l'absence d'un système d'insertion-excision de l'HPI fonctionnel. Il était dépendant de RecA chez la bactérie réceptrice mais pas chez la donatrice, suggérant que l'intégration de l'îlot dans le chromosome de la bactérie réceptrice se fait par un mécanisme de recombinaison homologue. Ce transfert n'était pas limité à l'HPI mais concernait aussi les séquences adjacentes, aboutissant à la mobilisation d'une région chromosomique d'au moins 46 kb. Cette étude démontre donc que l'HPI a toujours la capacité de se tranférer horizontalement, mais par un mécanisme qui ne fait pas intervenir les fonctions de mobilité portées par l'îlot.

2. Transfert du plasmide pPla chez Y. pseudotuberculosis et impact sur la virulence

Contributeurs: F. Pouillot, A. Derbise, J. Foulon et E. Carniel.

Collaborateurs: M. Kukkonen et T. K. Korhonen.

Y. pestis est une espèce qui, après son émergence de Y. pseudotuberculosis, a acquis un pouvoir pathogène exceptionnel. Une des différences génétiques majeures entre le bacille de la peste et son ancêtre récent est l'acquisition du plasmide pPla qui joue un rôle dans la pathogénicité de Y. pestis. Des résultats antérieurs avaient montré que l'introduction de pPla chez Y. pseudotuberculosis n'augmentait pas la virulence de la souche recombinante. Cependant, il avait ensuite été démontré que la présence des chaînes latérales du LPS (AgO) inhibait chez Y. pseudotuberculosis l'activité de Pla. Nous avons donc introduit pPla dans un variant de Y. pseudotuberculosis chez lequel une mutation abrogeant la formation de l'AgO (comme chez les isolats naturels de Y. pestis) a été introduite. Chez ce variant, Pla est synthétisé, exporté vers la membrane bactérienne et processé comme chez Y. pestis. Alors que la capacité de Pla à activer le plasminogène est faible chez la souche de Y. pseudotuberculosis exprimant l'AgO, cette activité devient similaire à celle de Y. pestis chez le variant AgO-. De plus, tandis que l'inactivation par Pla de l'antiprotéase α2-antiplasmine n'est pas détectable à 28°C chez la souche de Y. pseudotuberculosis produisant l'AgO, elle est équivalente à celle de Y. pestis chez le mutant AgO-. Cependant, dans un modèle d'infection murine par voie sous-cutanée, le mutant AgO- de Y. pseudotuberculosis hébergeant pPla s'est révélé être moins pathogène que la souche sauvage. Bien que l'abrogation de la synthèse des chaînes latérales du LPS potentialise l'activité protéolytique de Pla, ceci ne suffit donc pas à conférer à Y. pseudotuberculosis un pouvoir pathogène accru. Ces résultats suggèrent que l'acquisition de pPla ne s'est pas accompagnée d'une augmentation silmutanée de virulence chez la souche ancestrale de Y. pestis.

3. Diversité des souches de Y. pseudotuberculosis isolées de différentes parties du monde analysée par ribotypage

Contributeurs: E. Voskressenskaya, A. Leclercq et E. Carniel.

Collaborateurs: G. Tseneva.

Y. pseudotuberculosis est transmise par voie oro-fécale et infecte une grande variété d'espèces animales dont l'homme. Cette bactérie, largement répandue géographiquement, peut être responsable d'épidémies humaines, principalement dans les pays froids. Afin d'étudier la diversité de cette espèce et évaluer le potentiel du ribotypage comme outil de typage moléculaire de Y. pseudotuberculosis, 80 souches isolées de pays et d'hôtes variés, et appartenant aux six sérotypes classiques et à neuf sous-sérotypes ont été analysées. La combinaison des profils EcoRI et EcoRV a permis la distinction de 27 ribotypes. Dans la plupart des cas, les ribotypes étaient associés à des sous-sérotypes spécifique et ont permis leur subdivision. Aucune association entre le ribotype et l'origine géographique des souches n'a été observée, ce qui s'explique par le fait que cette espèce circule largement dans le monde. Aucune association entre le ribotype et le type d'hôte n'a été notée, ce qui confirme que les souches pathogènes pour l'homme circulent également dans l'environnement et chez différentes espèces animales. Les ribotypes observés chez Y. pseudotuberculosis ont été trouvé proches de ceux de Y. pestis sans toutefois être complètement identiques. Le ribotypage peut donc être un outil utile de typage moléculaire de Y. pseudotuberculosis. Cependant, le petit nombre de fragments d'hybridation qui génèrent la diversité des profils peut limiter le pouvoir discriminant et résolutif de cette technique.

4. Investigation d'un cas fatal de choc septique post-transfusionnel à Y. enterocolitica

Contributeurs: A. Leclercq, L. Martin et E. Carniel.

Collaborateurs: M. Laporte-Vergnes, N. Ounnoughene, J-F. Laran et P. Giraud.

En raison de sa capacité à se multiplier à basse température dans des concentrés globulaires, Y. enterocolitica est une des bactéries les plus fréquemment responsables de choc septique post-transfusionnel. Nous avons investigué un cas fatal de choc septique survenu chez un patient français de 71 ans après transfusion pour une anémie réfractaire d'un concentré globulaire contaminé par Y. enterocolitica. Les souches isolées du sang du patient et du concentré globulaire transfusé étaient du même biosérotype 4/O:3 et avaient un pulsotype NotI identique. Des titres élevés d'anticorps anti Y. enterocolitica O:3 ont été détectés chez le donneur un mois après le don de sang. Ce donneur avait souffert de troubles digestifs 3,5 mois avant le don mais ne présentait aucun signe clinique d'infection intestinale au moment du prélèvement. Les cas de choc septique post-transfusionnel à Y. enterocolitica sont devenus relativement fréquents ces dernières décennies. Nous avons évalué leur incidence en France à environ 1 cas pour 6.5 millions de concentrés globulaires distribués. Bien que rare, cette complication très souvent fatale ne peut être évitée du fait de l'absence de moyens efficaces de criblage des poches de sang avant transfusion.

5. Centre National de Référence, Réseau National de Surveillance et Centre Collaborateur de l'OMS pour les Yersinia

L. Martin, A. Leclercq, F. Guinet, et E. Carniel

Voir le site web CNR des Yersinia (http://www.pasteur.fr/sante/clre/cadrecnr/yersinia-index.html).

Mots-clés: Yersinia, entéropathogène, peste, virulence, génomique, physiopathologie, bactériologie, immunologie, santé publique


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr