Unit: Parasite Virulence

Director: Gerald Spaeth

Our group "G5 Parasite Virulence" uses genetic, proteomic and immunological methods to study the molecular base of virulence and persistence of Leishmania, an important human pathogen which produces serious diseases in endemic areas around the world. The infectious cycle of Leishmania includes several extra- and intracellular stages that are adapted for survival in the insect vector and the vertebrate host by differential expression of virulence factors. Our group analyzes the molecular mechanism of the regulation of these factors and their interaction with the innate immune system. The projects are aimed to identify and validate target molecules for the development of novel anti-leishmanial strategies, and to establish genetically attenuated parasites for vaccination.

1) The role of Leishmania mitogen-activated protein kinases in parasite virulence

Miguel Morales, Reiko Watanabe, Gerald Spaeth

The main axis of our research is focused on the question how Leishmania adapts its virulence to the mammalian host by perceiving environmental signals during the infection. The final objective of this study is to target the corresponding signaling pathways for the development of alternative and more effective anti-leishmanial therapies. We utilize transgenic and gene knock out strategies to elucidate the role of Leishmania ERK/MAPK (extracellular-regulated/mitogen activated protein kinases) in parasite pathogenicity. We established three transgenic lines of L.major and L.donovani, over-expressing the kinases MPK4, 7, and 10, coupled to GFP. This cellular system allowed us to show an induction of the phosphotransferase activity of these kinases during differentiation of the pathogenic amastigote stage. Mouse and macrophage infection assays revealed a role of MPK4 in parasite virulence, and implicated MPK7 in the regulation of intracellular parasite proliferation. We initiated studies on the sub-cellular localization of the MPKs using confocal microscopy, and use co-immunoprecipitation assays to identify molecular interaction partners of these molecules. We plan to identify the substrates of MPKs by peptide array screening and analysis of the phospho-proteome. We currently establish knock out mutants of the three MPKs. The null mutant lines will allow us to further elucidate the role of the MPKs in Leishmania virulence and to identify target genes of these signaling pathways by comparative proteomics. This project will allow important insight into how the host environment regulates the phenotype of microbial pathogens, with broad applicability to other parasitic systems, including Plasmodium falciparum, Trypanosoma cruzi, and Trypanosoma brucei, all of which alternate between insect and vertebrate hosts during their infectious cycles.

Immune-recognition of Leishmania lipoglycans by the CD1d-NK T cell immune axis

Claire Forestier, Pascale Pescher, Gerald Spaeth

Visceral leishmaniasis (VL) caused by the protozoan parasite Leishmania donovani afflicts over 2 million people worldwide and leads to hepato-splenomegaly with ultimately fatal outcome if left untreated. Even though protozoan, bacterial, and viral liver pathogens account for millions of deaths each year, only little is known on liver-specific immunity and pathways responsible for tissue-specific pathogen recognition. We recently reported that a subset of highly liver-enriched "innate-like" lymphocytes, Natural Killer T (NK T) cells, participate in the early inflammatory response to visceral L.donovani infection. We identified the major L.donovani surface glycoconjugate lipophosphoglycan (LPG) as the first bona fide microbial glycolipid antigen, which binds with high affinity to the antigen-presenting molecule CD1d and stimulates a robust Th1-response in CD1d-restricted NK T cells. NK T cell deficient CD1d-/- mice showed a defect in granuloma formation and increased parasite burden. These data suggest an important role for CD1d-mediated presentation of microbial glycolipids in innate antimicrobial resistance and immunopathogenesis. Our current efforts are focused on (1) the isolation of the Leishmania-responsive NKT cell subset, (2) the analysis of LPG intracellular trafficking in infected host cells and its potential processing in the endo-lysosomal compartment, (3) the identification of the immunodominant LPG carbohydrates, and (4) the validation of LPG and synthetic glycolipids in immunoprotection.

Photos :

Photo 1: Transgenic Leishmania major expressing a GFP-tagged MAP kinase MPK7. Cells were stained with anti- tubulin (red) and anti-GFP (green) antibodies.

Photo 2: Liver section of control and CD1d-deficient mice 4 weeks after Leishmania donoivani infection. CD1d mice show a defect in granuloma formation and increased parasite burden (parasites are marked by the arrow head).

Keywords: Leishmania, MAP kinase, virulence, glycolipids, innate immunity


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Virulence parasitaire

Responsable: Gerald Spaeth

Notre groupe "G5 Virulence Parasitaire" utilise des méthodes génétiques, protéomiques et immunologiques pour étudier la base moléculaire de la virulence et de la persistance de Leishmania, un pathogène humain important qui produit des maladies graves dans le monde entier. Le cycle infectieux de Leishmania comprend plusieurs stades extra- et intracellulaires, adaptés à la survie dans l'insecte vecteur et l'hôte vertébré grâce à l'expression différentielle de facteurs de virulence. Notre groupe analyse le mécanisme moléculaire de la régulation des ces facteurs et leur interaction avec le système inné d'immunité. Les projets sont visés d'identifier et de valider des molécules cibles pour développer des stratégies nouvelles anti-parasitaires, et d'établir des parasites génétiquement atténués pour la vaccination.

1) Le role des MAP kinases de Leishmania dans la virulence parasitaire

Miguel Morales, Reiko Watanabe, Gerald Spaeth

Une ligne principale de recherche de notre groupe est de comprendre comment Leishmania adapte sa virulence à l'hôte mammifère en percevant des signaux environnementaux au cours de l'infection. L'objectif final de cette étude est de cibler les voies de signalisation correspondantes afin de développer des thérapies anti-parasitaires alternatives et efficaces. Nous emploierons une stratégie génétique qui combine des techniques de surexpression et de recombinaison homologue (knock out) afin d'élucider le rôle des protéines kinases ERK/MAPK (extracellular-regulated/mitogen activated protein kinases) de Leishmania dans la pathogénicité du parasite. Nous avons établi trois lignées transgéniques de L.major et de L.donovani, qui expriment les kinases MPK4, 7, et 10 couplées à la GFP. Ce système cellulaire nous a permit de démontrer une induction de l'activité phosphotransferase des kinases au cours de la différentiation du stade pathogénique d'amastigote. Des analyses d'infection de souris et de macrophages ont démontré un rôle de MPK4 dans la virulence du parasite et l'implication de MPK7 dans la régulation de la prolifération intracellulaire du parasite. Nous avons initié des études sur la localisation cellulaire des MPKs par microscopie confocale, et sur leurs interactions moléculaires par co-immunoprécipitation. Nous planifions d'identifier les substrats des MPKs par peptide array screening et analyse du phospho-protéome. Nous établissons actuellement des mutants des MPKs par approche knock out. Ces systèmes nous permettrons d'élucider le rôle des MPKs dans la virulence et d'identifier des gènes cibles de ces voies de signalisation par protéomique comparative. Ce projet permettra d'élucider comment l'environnement de l'hôte mammifère influence le phénotype des pathogènes microbiens, une question également importante dans d'autres infections parasitaires, provoquées par Plasmodium falciparum, Trypanosoma cruzi, et Trypanosoma brucei, ces parasites circulant entre différents hôtes pendant leurs cycles infectieux.

2) La reconnaissance des glycolipides de Leishmania par l'ineraction CD1d-NKT

Claire Forestier, Pascale Pescher, Gerald Spaeth

Leishmania donovani, l'agent infectieux de la leishmaniose viscérale (VL), infecte plus de 2 millions de personnes dans le monde entier. Le parasite infecte le foie et induit une hépatosplénomégalie fatale en absence de traitement. Bien que le foie soit un organe cible pour une multitude de pathogènes importants, y compris des bactéries, des virus et des parasites, peu d'information est disponible sur l'immunité spécifique de cet organe et les mécanismes impliqués dans la résistance anti-microbienne. Nous avons récemment identifié une sous-population de lymphocytes NKT dans le foie, qui participent à la réponse inflammatoire précoce contre L.donovani. Nous avons pu démontrer que la réponse est stimulée par le lipophosphoglycan (LPG), le glycoconjugé majoritaire exprimé à la surface du parasite. Nos donnés ont montré que le LPG se lie avec une forte affinité à CD1d, une molécule de présentation d'antigènes glycolipidiques, et stimule une réponse de type Th1 dans les cellules NKT. Nous avons démontré une susceptibilité élevée des souris CD1d-/- à l'infection par L.donovani, associée à un défaut dans la réponse granulomateuse. Ces donnés suggèrent un rôle important de la présentation de glycolipides par CD1d dans la résistance inné anti-microbienne et l'immunopathogénèse. Nous poursuivons actuellement (1) l'isolement des cellules NKT activées au cours de l'infection, (2) l'analyse du trafic du LPG dans les cellules hôtes et sa dégradation intra-lysosomale, (3) l'identification du sucre immunodominant du LPG, et (4) la validation du LPG et des glycolipides synthétiques dans l'immunoprotection.

Légendes des photos :

Photo 1: Immunofluorescence d'une lignée transgénique de Leishmania major, exprimant la MAP kinases MPK7 couplée à la GFP. Les cellules sont marquées avec des anticorps anti-tubuline (rouge) et anti-GFP (vert).

Photo 2: Section de foie de souris contrôles et de souris déficientes en CD1d, 4 semaines après l'infection avec L. donovani. Les souris CD1d-/- montrent une diminution importante du nombre de granulome mature et une augmentations des parasites intracellulaires.

Mots-clés: Leishmania, MAP kinase, virulence, glycolipides, immunité innée


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr