Unit: Enterotropic viruses and antiviral strategies

Director: Colbère-Garapin Florence

The laboratory works on human enterotropic viruses (enteroviruses and rotavirus) and antiviral strategies. Our project focuses on various aspects of the cellular response to viral infection, including signalling pathways leading to either cell survival or cell death. We are also studying emerging, circulating, recombinant enteroviruses, and particularly those involved in recent poliomyelitis epidemics in Madagascar (PTR 120, leader: Francis Delpeyroux, collaboration between IP Paris and IP Madagascar).

Mechanisms of resistance to virus-induced cytopathy. K., Labadie, A., Saulnier & F.Colbère-Garapin.

We have previously shown that viral determinants selected in a hypogammaglobulinaemic patient conferred on poliovirus (PV) mutants the capacity to infect human intestinal cells persistently. The establishment of persistent infections in intestinal cells is associated with reduced viral adsorption onto the cellular receptor CD155. Cellular determinants of cell cycle arrest and/or differentiation of enterocytes were also implicated in the mechanism of these persistent PV infections (Labadie, K., Pelletier, I., Saulnier, A., Martin, J. & Colbère-Garapin, F. Virology, 2004, 318, 66-78). Some cell cultures spontaneously stopped producing virus after several months of persistent PV infection and no viral RNA was detected in the cured cells. Two human intestinal cell cultures cured of persistent PV infection were susceptible to de novo PV infection, but partially resistant to PV-induced apoptosis, whereas parental cells were susceptible to both infection and apoptosis. This simple model is therefore useful for elucidating the molecular mechanisms of resistance to virus-induced cytopathy.

Cure of persistently virus-infected cells by specific siRNAs. A. Saulnier, I. Pelletier, K. Labadie & F . Colbère-Garapin.

Post-transcriptional RNA interference is now widely used as an antiviral strategy in both in vitro and in vivo models of acute infection: small interfering RNAs (siRNAs) induce sequence-specific degradation of the mRNA targeted. SiRNAs targeting various regions of the PV genome reduce the viral yield by a factor of 10 to 100 after infection of human cells by a lytic PV strain (chemical synthesis of siRNAs: C. Gouyette, PT7; or Proligos). Inhibition of viral multiplication is specific: it does not occur without siRNA or with a non-specific, control siRNA. We tested the effect of siRNAs in a model of persistent PV infection developed in our laboratory. Cultures of human cells infected for several months by a persistent PV mutant were treated with specific anti-PV siRNAs. The majority of persistently infected cultures stopped producing virus after this specific treatment, whereas the cure of cultures by non-specific siRNAs was a rare event. The complete cure of cells by antiviral RNAs was confirmed by the most sensitive techniques available. These results demonstrate that antiviral siRNAs can cure cell populations persistently infected for several months.

CD155 and poliovirus-induced neuronal apoptosis. A. Autret, S. Martin-Latil, A. Wirotius, L. Mousson, I. Pelletier, F. Colbère Garapin & B. Blondel. Collaboration with J. Estaquier, F. Petit & D. Arnoult.

We have previously shown, using a mouse model experimentally infected with PV, that infected motor neurons die by an apoptotic process and that the virus can persist in the central nervous system (CNS) of paralyzed animals. Our results also indicate that the interaction between PV and its receptor, CD155, may modulate apoptosis according to the allelic form of CD155 expressed at the cell surface (Gosselin A. S., Simonin Y. et al., Journal of Virology, 2003, 76, 790). This modulation may play a role in PV persistence in neuronal cells.

We are currently studying pro-apoptotic signalling pathways induced by PV in human neuronal cells, neuroblastoma IMR-5 cells. Our results suggest that the mitochondrial apoptotic pathway is involved in PV-induced apoptosis in IMR-5 cells, through a Bax-dependent mechanism. They also suggest that the pro-apoptotic " BH3-only " protein Bim (Bcl-2-interacting mediator of cell death), usually maintained in an inactivated form associated with the cytoskeleton by interacting with the dynein complex, is released into the cytosol following PV infection. This result is particularly interesting because the cytoplasmic domain of CD155 also interacts with the dynein complex. Possibly, Bim is released following PV-CD155 interaction such that it could either neutralize the anti-apoptotic protein Bcl-2, or activate Bax, thereby leading to apoptosis.

Role of cell signalling in rotavirus pathogenicity. S. Martin-Latil, I. Pelletier, L. Mousson, B. Blondel & F. Colbère-Garapin.

Rotaviruses are responsible for one third of the cases of severe gastroenteritis in young children worldwide, and cause more than 500 000 deaths a year among these children in developing countries. We are studying the activation of cell signalling pathways following interactions between rotaviruses and integrins, their cellular receptors. In particular, we are focusing on pathways leading to epithelial cell death and contributing to rotavirus-induced pathology.

Keywords: enterovirus, rotavirus, siRNA, antiviral, apoptosis, persistent infection, virology


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Virus entérotropes et Stratégies antivirales

Responsable: Colbère-Garapin Florence

Le thème du laboratoire concerne les virus humains entérotropes (entérovirus et rotavirus) et les stratégies antivirales. Nous nous focalisons sur divers aspects de la réponse cellulaire à l'infection virale, en particulier sur les cascades de signalisation conduisant à la survie ou la mort cellulaire. Nous étudions également des entérovirus recombinants, circulants, impliqués dans de récentes épidémies de poliomyélite à Madagascar (PTR 120 dirigé par Francis Delpeyroux, collaboration entre les IP de Paris et Madagascar).

Mécanismes de résistance à la cytopathie viro-induite. K., Labadie, A., Saulnier & F. Colbère-Garapin.

Au cours de l'infection chronique de l'intestin d'une patiente hypogammaglobulinémique par le poliovirus (PV), des virus mutants sont sélectionnés. La capacité de ces PV mutants d'établir des infections persistantes dans les cellules intestinales humaines corrèle avec une adsorption réduite sur le récepteur cellulaire du virus, CD155. Des déterminants cellulaires liés à l'arrêt du cycle cellulaire et/ou à la différenciation en entérocytes polarisés jouent aussi un rôle dans l'établissement des infections persistantes (Labadie, K., Pelletier, I., Saulnier, A., Martin, J. & Colbère-Garapin, F. Virology, 2004, 318, 66-78). Deux cultures de cellules intestinales spontanément guéries d'infection persistante ont été trouvées sensibles à la réinfection par le PV, mais partiellement résistantes à l'apoptose induite par le PV. Ce modèle permet donc d'aborder de façon simple les mécanismes cellulaires de résistance à la cytopathie induite par le virus.

Guérison, par des siRNA spécifiques, d'infections virales persistantes de cellules humaines. A. Saulnier, I. Pelletier, K. Labadie & F . Colbère-Garapin.

L'interférence par l'ARN est maintenant largement utilisée comme stratégie anti-virale dans des modèles d'infections aiguës : des siRNA (courts duplex d'ARN) induisent la dégradation spécifique de séquence de l'ARNm ciblé. Des cultures de cellules humaines infectées de manière persistante depuis plusieurs mois par un PV mutant persistant ont été traitées par des siRNA anti-viraux spécifiques (synthétisés chimiquement par C. Gouyette, PT7, ou à l'extérieur de l'IP). La majorité des cultures infectées ne produit plus de virus infectieux plusieurs semaines après le traitement par les siRNA spécifiques, alors que les guérisons de cultures traitées par un siRNA non-spécifique sont rares. La guérison complète et l'absence d'ARN viral dans les cultures de cellules ayant reçu les siRNA spécifiques a été vérifiée. Nos résultats montrent que des siRNA antiviraux peuvent guérir, par un mécanisme d'interférence par l'ARN, des populations cellulaires infectées de manière persistante depuis plusieurs mois.

CD155 et apoptose neuronale viro-induite A. Autret, S. Martin-Latil, A. Wirotius, L. Mousson, F. Colbère-Garapin & B. Blondel. Collaboration avec J. Estaquier, F. Petit & D. Arnoult.

Nous avons montré dans un modèle murin d'infection expérimentale par le PV que les neurones moteurs sont détruits par apoptose et que le virus persiste dans le système nerveux central des animaux paralysés. Nos résultats indiquent aussi que les interactions du PV avec son récepteur, CD155, peuvent moduler l'apoptose selon la forme allélique de CD155 (Gosselin A. S., Simonin Y. et coll., Journal of Virology, 2003, 76, 790), ce qui contribuerait au maintien de l'infection persistante du PV dans des cellules nerveuses.

Nous étudions à présent les voies de signalisation pro-apoptotiques induites par le PV dans des cellules humaines d'origine neuronale, les cellules de neuroblastome IMR5. Nos résultats suggèrent que la voie apoptotique mitochondriale est impliquée dans l'apoptose viro-induite, par l'intermédiaire de la molécule pro-apoptotique Bax. Nos résultats suggèrent également que la molécule pro-apoptotique " BH3-only " Bim (Bcl2-interacting mediator of cell death) qui est séquestrée dans les cellules saines au niveau des microtubules du cytosquelette, par son interaction avec la dynéine, est libérée dans le cytosol suite à l'infection. Ce résultat est particulièrement intéressant car la dynéine interagit également avec la région intracytoplasmique de CD155. Nous pouvons donc émettre l'hypothèse que Bim pourrait être libérée dans le cytosol suite à l'interaction du PV avec CD155. La protéine Bim pourrait ainsi activer la molécule pro-apoptotique Bax indirectement, en séquestrant la molécule anti-apoptotique Bcl-2, mais également directement en interagissant avec Bax, et ainsi induire l'apoptose.

Rôle de la signalisation cellulaire dans la pathogénicité des rotavirus.

S. Martin-Latil, I. Pelletier, L. Mousson, B. Blondel & F. Colbère-Garapin

Les rotavirus sont la cause d'un tiers des gastroentérites sévères des jeunes enfants dans le monde, et ils provoquent plus de 500 000 décès par an parmi ces enfants dans les pays en développement. Nous étudions les modifications de la signalisation cellulaire suite à l'interaction des rotavirus avec leurs récepteurs, les intégrines, en particulier celles qui aboutissent à la mort des cellules épithéliales et contribuent à la pathologie.

Mots-clés: entérovirus, rotavirus, siRNA, antiviral, apoptose, infection persistante, virologie


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr