Unit: Eukaryotic and Viral Translational Control - CNRS URA 1966

Director: KEAN, Katherine M.

Regulation of gene expression at the level of protein synthesis (translation) represents an important phenomenon. Both global modulation, depending on environmental conditions, and specific regulation, relying on the use of variant and alternative mechanisms for the translation of sub-sets of mRNAs, can be defined. The general focus of our research is directed towards the initial encounter between the 40S ribosomal subunit and the mRNA. Specific aims are to attempt to understand molecular mechanisms of translation initiation by the eukaryotic ribosome, and the regulation that can be brought to play by the structure of the mRNA and during infection by RNA viruses.

1) Study of hepatitis C virus translation

The RNA (+) genome of hepatitis C virus (HCV) has long, structured 5' and 3' nontranslated regions that are highly conserved between different strains. In particular, in contrast to classical cellular mRNAs, the 5' region encompasses an IRES (Internal Ribosome Entry Segment) and instead of a poly(A) tail the 3' terminal sequence is composed of 98 nucleotides that form a cloverleaf structure (the X region). Our working hypothesis was that PTB (Polypyrimidine Tract Binding protein) normally fixes both the IRES and the X region, forming a crucial bridge to favour RNA pseudocirularisation and increased translation efficiency. This would be analogous to the model proposed for classical capped, polyadenlyated mRNAs, in which an mRNA5'-eIF4E-eIF4G-PABP-mRNA3' bridge is implicated in efficient translation initiation under competitive conditions. The hypothesis supposes X-mediated stimulation of efficiency of translation from the HCV IRES.

Effectively, we have found such X-mediated translational stimulation for several years, but this remains a controversial subject. Reports from different groups published concerning effects of the X region on translation efficiency are distinctly contradictory, ranging from stimulation, through no effect, to inhibition. Therefore, we have constructed a translation plasmid in which the X sequence was replaced by X in the antisense orientation. These RNAs showed functional properties that were indistinguishable from negative control RNAs without the X region at the 3' end of the RNA. Thus, under our experimental conditions, translational stimulation by the 3' X region is a specific effect, and it seems that the effect is modulated according to the exact sequence of the IRES. We have also now set-up a specific semi-quantitative RT-PCR assay, that enabled us to verify that differential RNA stabilities were not intervening in the observed X-effect. We have previously described the study of variant IRESes that are distinguished from the prototype stimulation by the X region at the 3' end of the RNA, being refractory to X or inhibited by this sequence. One of the genotype 3a variants that is insensitive to the 3' X region differs from the prototype by a G to A substitution at nt. 243. Interestingly, this is one of the 4 differences between the extremely closely related genotype 1a and 1b sequences. We thus thought that such minor sequence differences in the strains studied by different groups could explain discordant results reported concerning the effects of the X region on translation efficacy. Therefore, we constructed by site-directed mutagenesis a number of chimeric type 1a/1b IRESes covering the sum of the discriminatory residues. No position could be clearly identified as being responsible for the contradictory effects of X described in the literature to date.

By site-directed mutagenesis, we have re-constructed mutants in the loops of the 3' X region of the RNA that should be defective for PTB binding. EMSA (or band shift assay), showed that an altered loop 2 mutant fixed recombinant PTB slightly less well than the prototype X sequence, whereas a loop 3 mutant was severely handicapped for binding of PTB. However, when we assessed RNAs carrying these mutant X regions by in vitro translation, it was the loop 2 mutant that was severely handicapped functionally, behaving like an RNA that had no X sequence at the 3' end. In contrast, the loop 3 mutant was able to stimulate translation efficiency from the HCV IRES equally well as the wild-type X sequence. Thus it seems unlikely that PTB binding to the X region intervenes in X-mediated translational stimulation. To confirm this conclusion, we wished to carry out translations in extracts that had been depleted for PTB by passage over an Encephalomyocarditis Virus IRES domain I affinity column as has been described. This technique presented major inconveniences. Firstly, relatively little extract could be prepared from a reasonable amount of starting material, and the preparation was expensive, and secondly the depletion was not entirely specific. Thus, we find that results to date using this translation system are not completely satisfactory, and we are carrying out additional experiments to confirm preliminary data.

2) Study of the Rabies virus M protein synthesis (coll. Y.Jacob, Virology Department)

Matrix protein (M) of Rabies virus (a Rhabdovirus) is known to down-regulate viral transcription activity and at the same time stimulate viral replication. Using a differential yeast two-hybrid screen of a human brain cDNA library we identified the h subunit of the mammalian eIF3 complex as a cellular partner of the rabies virus matrix protein (M). Moreover the M-eIF3h interaction was confirmed by co-immunoprecipitation experiments. We have pursued our studies to provide insight into the regulation of M mRNA translation and the role of the M-eIF3h interaction. We purified M protein from eukaryotic cells and showed that the M protein added in trans inhibited in vitro translation on mRNA encompassing classical (Kozak-like) 5'-UTRs. It is remarquable that inhibition could be observed in some cases at approximately equimolar ratios of protein to mRNA. In contrast, translation of hepatitis C virus IRES-containing mRNA, which does not require eIF3 for 40S ribosomal subunit recruitment, was unaffected by the M protein. After transfection of cultured eukaryotic cells, M protein could be found associated with the polysome fraction of cell lysates, and this seemed to inhibit the polysome-association of a control protein co-transfected in parallel.

Keywords: RNA virus, translation initiation, IRES, RNA structure-function, mRNA 5’-3’ cross-talk


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Régulation de la traduction eucaryote et virale - CNRS URA 1966

Responsable: KEAN, Katherine M.

La régulation de l'expression génétique au niveau de la synthèse protéique (traduction) est un phénomène d'une grande importance. On définit aussi bien une modulation globale, selon les conditions environnementales, qu'une régulation spécifique, par l'utilisation de mécanismes variants et alternatifs pour la traduction des sous populations d'ARNm. Des exemples clairs de régulation spécifique de la traduction sont fournis par le changement abrupt du profil de la synthèse protéique dans des cellules infectées par de nombreux virus : le pathogène subvertit la machinerie cellulaire de la traduction à son propre profit, au dépens de la majorité des ARNm cellulaires. Les objectifs généraux de notre recherche sont dirigés vers l'étape de l'initiation de la traduction, particulièrement le contact initial entre la sous-unité ribosomique 40S et l'ARNm. Notre but est de mieux comprendre les mécanismes moléculaires de la synthèse protéique par le ribosome eucayote et la régulation de la traduction selon la structure de l'ARN et lors de l'infection par des virus à ARN.

1) Etude de la traduction du virus de l'hépatite C

Le génome ARN (+) du virus de l'hépatite C (HCV) présente des régions non traduites 5' et 3' longues, structurées et conservées parmi différentes souches. En particulier, à la différence d'un ARNm cellulaire classique, la région 5' comporte un IRES (Signal d'Entrée Interne des Ribosomes) et l'extrémité 3' terminale une structure de 98 nucléotides en forme de feuille de trèfle, notée X, au lieu d'une queue poly(A). Notre hypothèse de base était que PTB (Polypyrimidine Tract Binding protein) fixé normalement sur la région X ainsi que sur l'IRES du HCV sert de lien afin de favoriser une pseudocircularisation de l'ARN et par là-même une traduction plus efficace. Ceci serait l'analogue du modèle proposé pour l'ARNm classique, coiffé et polyadenylé, où un pontage mRNA5'-eIF4E-eIF4G-PABP-mRNA3' est impliqué dans l'initiation de la traduction efficace dans des conditions compétitives. L'hypothèse suppose une stimulation de l'efficacité de la traduction à partir de l'IRES de l'HCV mediée par la région X.

Effectivement, depuis quelques années nous avons trouvé une telle stimulation de l'efficacité de la traduction médiée par la région X, mais ce sujet reste discuté. Des publications de différents groupes concernant les effets de X sur la traduction décrivent soit une stimulation, soit l'absence d'effet, ou même une inhibition. Ainsi, nous avons construit un plasmide de traduction témoin dans lequel la séquence X se trouve dans l'orientation antisens. Les ARN produites montrent des propriétés fonctionnelles identiques à celles des ARN témoins négatifs délétés de la région X à leur extrémité 3'. Donc, dans nos conditions expérimentales, la stimulation traductionelle par la région X en 3' de l'ARN est un effet spécifique, et il semble que cet effet soit modulé par la séquence exacte de l'IRES. Maintenant, nous avons également installé un test RT-PCR spécifique et semi-quantitatif, qui nous a permis de vérifier que des stabilités différentielles des différents ARN n'interviennent pas dans l'effet observé de la région X. Précédemment, nous avons décrit l'étude des IRES variants qui sont distingués de la stimulation par la région X à l'extrémité 3' de l'ARN vu pour l'IRES prototype : étant ou bien réfractaires à X ou bien inhibés par cette séquence. Un des variants de génotype 3a qui demeure insensible à la région X diffère du prototype par une substitution G en A en position 243. Ceci est l'une des 4 variations entre les séquences des IRES extrêmement apparentés des génotypes 1a et 1b du HCV. Ainsi, nous avons pensé que de telles différences mineures de séquence entre les souches étudiées par différents groupes pourraient expliquer les controverses rapportées quant à l'effet de la région X sur l'efficacité de la traduction. Nous avons construit par mutagenèse dirigée un certain nombre d'IRES chimères type 1a/1b qui recouvrent les résidus différentiels entre les deux souches. Aucune position n'a pu être clairement identifiée comme responsable des contradictions dans les effets de la région X décrits jusqu'à maintenant.

Par mutagenèse dirigée, nous avons reconstruit des mutants dans des boucles de la région 3' X de l'ARN qui devraient être défectueux pour la fixation de PTB. EMSA (ou test de changement de mobilité), a permis de démontrer qu'un mutant altéré dans la séquence de la boucle 2 fixe la protéine PTB recombinante un peu moins bien que le fait la séquence X prototype. En revanche, un mutant altéré dans la séquence de la boucle 3 est fortement handicapé pour la fixation de PTB. Cependant, lorsque les ARN porteurs de ces régions X mutants ont été testé en traduction in vitro, c'était le mutant de la boucle 2 qui s'est avéré fortement handicapé fonctionnellement, se comportant comme un ARN sans séquence X à l'extrémité 3'. Quant à lui, le mutant altéré dans la séquence de la boucle 3 était capable de stimuler l'efficacité de la traduction à partir de l'IRES du HCV aussi bien que la séquence X sauvage. Donc, il semble peu probable que la fixation de PTB à la région X intervienne dans la stimulation traductionelle mediée par X. Afin de confirmer cette conclusion, nous voulions effectuer des traductions dans des extraits deplétés pour PTB par passage à travers une colonne d'affinité du domain I de l'IRES du virus de l'encéphalomyocardite comme déjà décrit. La technique a présenté des inconvénients importants. D'abord relativement peu d'extraits pourraient être préparés aisement, et la préparation est coûteuse. Par ailleurs, la dépletion n'est pas totalement spécifique. A ce jour, nous trouvons que les résultats utilisant ce système de traduction ne sont pas totalement satisfaisants, et nous poursuivons des expériences pour confirmer nos données préliminaires.

2) Etude du synthèse de la protéine M du virus de la rage (coll. Y.Jacob, Departement de Virologie)

Il est connu que la protéine de matrice (M) du virus de la rage diminue la transcription virale tout en stimulant la réplication virale. Utilisant un criblage double hybride de la levure avec une banque de cADN de cerveau humain, nous avons identifié la sous-unité h (anciennement p40) du complexe eIF3 comme partenaire cellulaire de la protéine M du virus de la rage. Cette interaction a été confirmée par co-immunoprécipitation des deux protéines. Nous avons poursuivi nos études pour mieux comprendre la régulation de la traduction de M et le rôle de l'interaction M-eIF3h. Nous avons purifié la protéine M exprimée dans des cellules eucaryotes et montré que la protéine M ajoutée en trans inhibe la traduction in vitro sur des ARNm qui contiennent des régions 5' noncodantes classiques (Kozakiens). De façon remarquable, dans certains cas, l'inhibition est observée à des ratios environ équimolaires de protéine/ARNm. En revanche, la traduction d'un ARN qui contient l'IRES du virus de l'hépatite C n'est pas affecté par la protéine M. L'IRES du HCV a la particularité de ne pas avoir besoin d'eIF3 pour le recrutement du sous-unité 40S ribosomale. Après transfection des cellules eucaryotes en culture, la protéine M pourrait être trouvé dans la sous-fraction polysomale de la cellule, et il semble que ceci inhibe l'association polysomale d'une protéine témoin co-transfectée en parallèle.

Mots-clés: virus à ARN, Initiation de la traduction, IRES, ARN structure-fonction, co-opération ARNm 5’-3’


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr