Unit: Enzymatic Regulation of Cell Activities

Director: Michel VERON

The laboratory is organized around two main projects: (i) The study of the biochemical and structural properties of the NF-κ B Essential MOdulator (NEMO) protein, an essential component of the NF-κB signaling pathway and his alteration in patients having a mutated NEMO gene (PI, Fabrice Agou); Study of the mechanism of generation of HIV recombinant forms, a main source of variability in this virus, and the impact of recombination on viral replication ability (PI, Matteo Negroni).

A. Biochemical studies of the NF-κB Essential MOdulator (NEMO) protein, an essential component of the NF-κB signaling pathway (Elisabeth Fontan, François Traincard, Jeanne Chiaravalli, Monika kaminska, Emilie Vinolo, Emmanuel Wyler et Fabrice Agou)

In response to a wide variety of stimuli including the pro-inflammatory cytokines (TNF-α , IL-1) or endotoxines (LPS), most of cells activate a series of genes involved in the inflammatory and immune responses as well as in tumorogenesis and apoptosis. These genes are under the control of the NF-κB transcription factor. The activation of the NF-κB pathway is modulated by a high molecular weight protein complex, containing two IKK protein kinases, and a regulatory/non catalytic protein called NEMO. We investigate biochemical and structural properties of NEMO and the molecular mechanism by which it promotes the activation of the IKK kinases.

We have demonstrated that NEMO trimerizes through its C-terminal domain that includes several subdomains. These subdomains were purified and their association properties were characterized by gel filtration, fluorescence polarization, circular dichroïsm, analytical centrifugation and limited proteolysis. We showed that the minimal trimerization domain comprises the CC2-LZ coiled-coil subdomain and that the isolated CC2 and LZ domains bind to each other to form a stable hetero-trimer. On the basis of a structural model for the oligomeric fold of NEMO, we rationally designed cell-permeable peptides corresponding to optimal portions of CC2 or LZ subdomains that mimic the contact area between NEMO subunits. These peptides were delivered to cells to block the NF-κB pathway by targeting NEMO oligomerization. Peptide transduction was monitored by FACS and their effect on LPS-induced NF-κB activation was quantified using a NF-κB dependent α-galactosidase assay in stably transfected pre-B 70Z/3 lymphocytes. Our results show that the LZ peptide and, to a lesser extent, the CC2 peptide inhibit NF-κB activation following a variety of pro-inflammatory stimulation (LPS, IL-1, TNF-α, PMA) with IC50 values in the µM range. Control peptides including mutated peptides as well as heterologous coiled-coil peptides had no inhibitory effect. We also showed that the peptides inhibit NEMO oligomerization in vitro as well as in cellulo. In addition, they show specificity for the NF-κB pathway since they have no effect on the MAP Kinase/ERK and P38 pathways. Finally, we showed that both CC2 and LZ peptides significantly induce apoptosis in cancer cell. Recently, we isolated using the Ribosome Display a new family of ankyrins that bind to the oligomerization domain. Ankyrins constitute an attractive class of stable and small repeat proteins that provide variable and modular binding surfaces to a target protein. After several rounds of selection, we isolated high affinity ankyrins in the low nM range. When expressed in cells, ankyrins inhibit specifically the IKK activation through a specific interaction with the endogenous NEMO. Altogether these results provide the "proof of concept" for a new and promising strategy to inhibit the NF-κB pathway in cancer therapy and in inflammation by targeting NEMO's alteration of its oligomerization.

NEMO is also associated with two human genetical diseases, linked to the X chromosome, including ectodermal dysplasia anhidrotic with immunodeficiency (EDA-ID) and Incontinentia pigmenti (IP). Some of the mutations found in patients are single replacements in the coding sequence of NEMO. We have studied the EDA-ID-related A288G mutation which is located within the CC2 motif of NEMO. The mutation does not dramatically change the native-like state of the trimer or NEMO ubiquitination, but temperature-induced unfolding studied by circular dichroism showed that it leads to an important loss in oligomer stability. Fluorescence studies showed that the tyrosine located in the adjacent zinc finger (ZF) domain exhibits an alteration in its spectral properties. This is probably due to a conformational change of this domain, providing evidence for a close interaction between the oligomerization domain and the ZF. Relatedly, functional complementation assays using NEMO-deficient pre-B and T lymphocytes showed that the pathogenic mutation reduced TNF-α and LPS-induced NF-κB activation, providing understanding as to how a single point mutation in NEMO leads to the observed EDA-ID phenotype.

B. Generation and selection oh HIV-1 recombinant forms: structural and genetic aspects (Román Galetto, Etienne Simon-Lorière, Véronique Giacomoni, Cecilia Ramírez & Matteo Negroni)

Homologous recombination is a major source of genetic variability in retroviruses. In HIV, three to thirty recombination events have been observed during a single infectious cycle, depending on the cell type involved. During their extracellular life, retroviruses store genetic information as a RNA molecule, which is present in two copies within each viral particle. Genetic recombination occurs mostly through template switching during reverse transcription between these two copies of genomic RNA, a process known as "copy choice". The impact of recombination on the dynamics of retroviral infections has been dramatically illustrated by the spreading of the AIDS pandemic. Indeed, at least 10% of the infectious strains of HIV originate through recombination among different viral subtypes (intersubtype recombinants). Some intersubtype recombinant strains comprise forms efficiently spreading throughout the world, known as CRF, for circulating recombinant forms.

We study the mechanisms fostering the generation of recombinant forms using mostly an original system of infection of cells in culture that limits infection to a single cycle. This approach allows us to characterize the recombinant population generated in the absence of selection, leading to conclusive results on the mechanisms of recombination. Using this system we have dissected a recombination hot spot found in the env gene of the LAI isolate which correlates with the presence of a hairpin structure in the genomic RNA. We have determined that several parameters contribute to the existence of this hot spot, and we have proposed a mechanism accounting for strand transfer within hairpin regions of genomic RNAs. According to this mechanism, the transfer would proceed through a mechanism reminiscent of "branch migration" taking place during DNA-DNA recombination. Recently we have shown that, in infected cells, besides the structure of the RNA also the presence of a perfect sequence identity between donor and acceptor RNAs is required, a single discordant residue triggering a dramatic drop in recombination in the hot spot.

Currently we study recombination between isolates from different subtypes of the M group of HIV-1, in the absence of selective pressure. A map of the most frequently generated recombinant forms along the env gene is being determined. In parallel, we are characterizing the recombinant proteins generated in these assays in order to characterise the early steps of generation of the recombinant forms found in the epidemics. These researches are aimed at improving the understanding of the complex interplay between virus evolution and adaptation to its host. In the long run, the ability of divergent isolates to lead to the formation of functional chimeric viruses and the analysis of the molecular bases for the failure of non-functional chimeric viruses will highlight structural constraints that could be help in the design of molecules with potential antiviral activity.

Keywords: Signal transduction, NF-kappaB, kinase, NEMO/IKKgamma Retrovirus, HIV. Recombination


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Régulation Enzymatique des Activités Cellulaires

Responsable: Michel VERON

L'activité du laboratoire s'organise autour de deux thèmatiques : (i) L'étude des propriétés biochimiques et structurales de la protéine NEMO, élément régulateur essentiel de la voie de transduction NF-κ B et son altération chez les malades possédant un gène NEMO muté (sous la responsabilité de Fabrice Agou) et (ii) L'étude des mécanismes d'émergence de formes recombinantes chez le VIH, une source majeure de variabilité génétique chez ce virus, et l'impact de la recombinaison sur la capacité du virus à se répliquer (sous la responsabilité de Matteo Negroni).

A. Etudes biochimiques de la protéine NEMO (NF-κB Essential Modulator), un composant essentiel de la voie de signalisation NF-κB (Elisabeth Fontan, François Traincard, Jeanne Chiaravalli, Monika kaminska, Emilie Vinolo, Emmanuel Wyler et Fabrice Agou)

La plupart des cellules répondent à une grande variété de stimuli moléculaires dont les cytokines pro-inflammatoires (TNF-α et l'IL-1) et les endotoxines (LPS), en activant des gènes impliqués dans les réponses immunitaires et inflammatoires ou dans la tumorogénèse et l'apoptose. Ces gènes sont sous le contrôle des facteurs de transcription de la voie de signalisation NF-κB. L'activation de cette voie est modulée par un complexe protéique comprenant les protéines kinases IKK et la protéine régulatrice non catalytique NEMO (aussi appelée IKKγ). Nous étudions les propriétés biochimiques et structurales de NEMO et le mécanisme moléculaire par lequel il induit l'activation des kinases IKK.

La protéine NEMO est composée de plusieurs domaines formant des coiled-coils. Nous avons montré que NEMO n'est active que sous forme oligomérique et définit le domaine minimal permettant l'association des sous-unités en trimères. Celui-ci a été purifié et ses propriétés d'association ont été caractérisées par filtration sur gel, polarisation de fluorescence, dichroïsme circulaire, centrifugation analytique et protéolyse ménagée. Le domaine minimal de trimérisation de NEMO est composé des sous-domaines coiled-coil CC2 et LZ qui s'associent pour former un hétéro-trimère stable. Les études biochimiques nous ont permis d'élaborer un modèle structural de ce motif sur la base duquel nous avons conçu des peptides capables de pénétrer dans les cellules et correspondant à des portions optimisées des sous-domaines CC2 ou LZ, mimant les zones de contact entre les sous-unités de NEMO. L'internalisation de ces peptides dans les cellules a été suivie par FACS et leur effet sur l'activation de la voie en réponse au LPS a été quantifié grâce à un gène rapporteur dans des lymphocytes pré-B 70Z/3 stablement transfectés. Le peptide LZ et, à un degré moindre, le peptide CC2 bloquent, de manière spécifique, l'activation de la voie NF-κB par plusieurs stimuli pro-inflammatoires (LPS, IL-1, TNF-α) ou carcinogène (PMA) avec des IC50 de l'ordre du µM et ils induisent l'apoptose de cellules cancéreuses dans la même gamme de concentrations. Cet effet est dû à l'inhibition de l'oligomérisation de NEMO qui a été examinée tant in vitroqu'ex-vivo dans les cellules en culture. Récemment, nous avons isolé, en utilisant la méthode d'évolution dirigée "Ribosome Display" (RD), une nouvelle famille d'ankyrines affines pour le domaine d'oligomérisation. Les protéines ankyrines constituent une famille de protéines formant une architecture modulaire qui est thermodynamiquement stable et impliquée dans diverses interactions protéine-protéine. Après plusieurs cycles d'amplification/sélection par RD, nous avons isolé des ankyrines présentant des affinités de l'ordre du nM pour le domaine CC2-LZ. L'expression de ces dernières dans les cellules, inhibe spécifiquement l'activation du complexe IKK via une intéraction spécifique avec la protéine NEMO endogène. Ensemble, ces résultats valident le concept d'une nouvelle stratégie d'inhibition de la voie NF-κ B dans les thérapies anti-inflammatoires et anti-cancéreuses via l'altération de l'oligomérisation de NEMO.

NEMO est aussi impliqué dans deux maladies génétiques humaines liées au chromosome X, la dysplasie ectodermique anhidrotique avec immunodéficience (EDA-ID) et l'Incontinentia pigmenti (IP). Nous avons étudié la mutation A288G identifiée chez un patient EDA-ID et localisée dans le domaine d'oligomérisation de NEMO. La mutation n'altère pas l'ubiquitination de NEMO mais réduit significativement la stabilité du trimère d'après l'analyse par dichroïsme circulaire des courbes de dénaturation en fonction de la température. Les propriétés de fluorescence de la tyrosine localisée dans le domaine adjacent formant un doigt de zinc (ZF) sont également altérées, problablement dû à un changement de conformation de ce domaine, ce qui suggére une interaction étroite entre le domaine d'oligomérisation de NEMO et le domaine ZF. En outre, des tests de complémentation fonctionnelle réalisés à l'aide de lymphocytes pré-B et T invalidés pour le gène NEMO, ont révélé que la mutation pathogène réduit l'activation de la voie NF-κB induite par le TNF-α ou le LPS. Ces résultats ont permis pour la première fois de proposer une base moléculaire rendant compte du phénotype EDA-ID lié à des mutations de NEMO.

B. Génération et selection de formes recombinants du VIH-1 : Aspects structuraux et génétiques (Román Galetto, Etienne Simon-Lorière, Véronique Giacomoni, Cecilia Ramírez & Matteo Negroni)

La recombinaison homologue est une source majeure de variabilité chez les rétrovirus. Chez le VIH, selon le type cellulaire impliqué, on observe pas moins de trois à trente évènements de recombinaison lors d'un seul cycle infectieux. Lors de leur vie extracellulaire, les rétrovirus stockent leur information génétique sous forme d'une molécule d'ARN, présente en deux copies au sein de chaque particule virale. La recombinaison génétique est en grande majorité générée par un changement de matrices entre ces deux ARNs (transfert de brin) lors de la transcription inverse. L'impact de la recombinaison sur la dynamique des infections rétrovirales est dramatiquement illustré par la diffusion de la pandémie de SIDA. En effet, au moins 10% des souches infectieuses de VIH proviennent de recombinaisons entre différents sous-types viraux (recombinants inter sous-types). Certaines souches recombinantes inter sous-types sont très largement diffusées à travers le monde et sont appelées CRF pour Forme Circulante Recombinante.

Nous étudions les mécanismes induisant la formation de formes recombinantes en utilisant principalement un système original de cellules en culture en limitant l'infection à un seul cycle. Cette approche nous permet de caractériser les recombinants générés en absence de sélection, produisant des résultats concluants sur les mécanismes de recombinaison. A l'aide de ce système, nous avons disséqué un " hot spot  " de recombinaison dont la présence dans le gène env de l'isolat LAI corrèle avec celle d'une structure en épingle à cheveux dans l'ARN génomique. Nous avons déterminé que plusieurs paramètres contribuent à l'existence de ce hot spot et nous avons proposé un mécanisme expliquant le transfert de brins au sein de régions d'ARN génomique en épingle à cheveux. Selon ce mécanisme, le transfert procéderait d'une façon similaire à la migration de branche rencontrée lors de recombinaison ADN-ADN. Récemment, nous avons montré que dans les cellules infectées, en plus de la structure de l'ARN, la présence d'une parfaite identité de séquence locale est requise. En fait, la présence d'une seule discordance de bases entre ARN donneur et accepteur entraîne l'élimination de la région hot spot en question.

Nous étudions actuellement la recombinaison impliquant des isolats de différents sous-types du groupe M du VIH-1 en absence de pression de sélection. Une carte des formes recombinantes générées le plus fréquemment le long du gène env est en cours d'élaboration. En parallèle, nous caractérisons les protéines recombinantes générées dans ces expériences afin de mieux comprendre les étapes précoces de génération des formes recombinantes trouvées dans l'épidémie. Ces recherches visent à améliorer notre compréhension des interactions complexes entre l'évolution du virus et son adaptation à l'hôte. Sur le long terme, la capacité d'isolats divergents à induire la formation de virus chimériques fonctionnels et non fonctionnels ainsi que l'analyse des bases moléculaires induisant ces échecs pourront indiquer des contraintes structurelles utiles pour élaborer des molécules avec une potentielle activité antivirale.

Mots-clés: Signal transduction, NF-kappaB, kinase,NEMO/IKKgamma, Rétrovirus, VIH, Recombinaison


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr