Unit: Parasite Molecular Immunology - CNRS URA 2581

Director: PUIJALON Odile

The Unit's central interest is to understand the factors that influence Plasmodium falciparum infection outcome, with the long term objective to prevent malaria morbidity and mortality. Research programmes include investigation of field parasite diversity, analysis of virulence factors, exploration of handling and clearance of infected red blood cells by the spleen using a perfused organ set up and the analysis of immune activation in malaria patients. Our recent findings include the first description of in vitro resistance to artemisinin derivatives, a major concern for malaria control. Pf155/RESA was identified as a novel type of virulence factor that helps the parasite resist exposure to febrile temperatures. VarO rosetting was shown to involve a novel parasite/receptor interaction and was classified amongst the "common" variant antigens. Analysis of the parasite transcriptome identified novel common themes in the early responses to several stresses inflicted to the parasites possibly involved in parasite adaptation to varying physiologic conditions. Exploration of handling of artesunate-treated infected red blood cells by the isolated-perfused human spleen showed rapid clearance in the red pulp by two mechanisms, pitting and phagocytosis. Finally, we have obtained the first demonstration of a protective role for V gamma9 T cells in vivo.

Field parasite diversity Marie-Thérèse Ekala, Nitchkarn Noranate, Odile Puijalon.

During the last years, our longstanding interest in field parasite diversity has focussed on drug resistance, the most pressing issue for malaria control. Within a network of Overseas Institutes Pasteur, we have described a high prevalence of numerous drug resistance mutations, some of which at fixation, both in Cambodia and French Guiana. In Madagascar, where in contrast the parasite population mostly carries susceptibility alleles, we have witnessed the first Pfcrt mutants. The most worrying finding was the observation of isolates from French Guiana with markedly elevated IC50 (and IC90) to artemisinin derivatives associated with a specific S769N mutation in the putative target the SERCA-PfATPase 6. This first description of artemisinin in vitro resistance is a major concern, since artemisinins are the cornerstone of most currently deployed combination therapies.

We have studied the temporal heterogeneity of the parasite population in Dielmo, a Senegalese village with holoendemic malaria. This identified novel mutations in drug target genes and provided new insights on the dynamics of gene flows under accurately recorded drug pressure.

Role of Pf155/RESA in maintaining the infected erythrocyte membrane integrity under conditions of thermal stress Serge Bonnefoy, Monica Diez Silva, Peter David

During invasion of the erythrocyte, the Ring Erythrocyte Surface Antigen (Pf155/RESA) is inserted into the host cell membrane, where it interacts with host's spectrin. Using a resa1 knock in/knock out strategy to create isogenic parasite lines, we could show that loss of RESA expression resulted in an increased physical susceptibility of the infected red blood cells to elevated temperatures. Furthermore their growth rate was impaired after a few hours incubation at a "febrile" temperature of 41°C. This indicates that association of RESA with the cytoskeleton in the ring stages protects it from the deleterious effect of exposure to febrile temperatures. We have therefore identified here a novel type of virulence factor that serves indeed the parasite to resist a very common non-adaptative host response to infection.

VarO-mediated rosetting, virulence and immune responses Inès Vigan, Micheline Guillotte, Solène Fastenackels, Odile Puijalon

The capacity of red blood cells infected with mature parasite stages to bind uninfected red blood cells ("rosetting"), together with the absence of antibodies disrupting rosettes are so far the only factors consistently associated with severe malaria in African children. We have developed a model for this phenotype using the Palo Alto varO antigenic variant. The same cytoadherence phenotype can be studied in vivo in the Saimiri monkey and in vitro in cultures in human red blood cells. In vivo varO parasites have a higher multiplication rate than non-rosetting siblings, indicating that rosetting indeed contributes to virulence. The adhesion domain has been identified (Figure 1). VarO rosetting differs from all interactions described so far and involves a novel parasite/receptor interaction. Studies in two Senegalese settings have highlighted a remarkably elevated seroprevalence in both villages indicating that varO is a "common" serotype, thus representing a potentially interesting vaccine target.

Pathways of response to a variety of physiological stresses Onguma Natalang, Guillaume Deplaine, Peter David

To identify novel parasite virulence factors contributing to parasite adaptation to physiological stresses, we have used a strategy based on exploring the parasite transcriptome. In collaboration with the Génopole PT2 (J.Y. Coppée and E. Bischoff), a DNA micro array platform has been used to explore the modulation of P. falciparum transcription under artesunate drug pressure, in resa-KO and resa wild type parasites and under a variety of physiologic stresses. Analysis of the data including adjustment of the developmental stage of the cultures by crigging is done in collaboration with J.P. Vert (Ecole des Mines). This has allowed identifying common themes in the early responses to most stresses that we have inflicted to the parasites so far.

Exploration of the function of the human spleen during P. falciparum infection using an ex vivo isolated-perfused organ Pierre Buffet, Peter David , Valentine Brousse.

The spleen plays a major role in parasite elimination, as well as in modulation of the parasite phenotype but this remains largely unexplored due to lack of appropriate experimental set up. We have established an isolated-perfused human spleen allowing survival of the spleen ex vivo for several hours. This was used to explore handling of artesunate-treated infected red blood cells by the spleen. Infected erythrocytes were rapidly and efficiently processed in the red pulp, essentially through two mechanisms: pitting of the parasites away from the host cell (Figure 2A) and intense phagocytosis of parasitised cells and parasite remnants (Figure 2B) (in collaboration with G.Milon, U. d'Immunophysiologie et Parasitisme Intracellulaire. M.Huerre U. de Recherche et d'Expertise Histotechnologie et Pathologie)

Immune activation in malaria patients. Charlotte Behr, Séverine Loizon, Philippe Boeuf, Jean Claude Michel.

Analysis of the Vbeta repertoire of peripheral T cells in Ghanaian children with malaria has outlined a remarkably stable profile in all clinical groups investigated, except for an increased frequency of two chains in CD4+ cells of cerebral malaria patients. This points to a specific T cell stimulation by some superantigens in cerebral malaria. Development of CytoQuant, an absolute quantitative RT PCR based on RNA standard curves has allowed us to explore the cytokine profile of children with severe malaria, thus providing novel insights into stimulation pathways in severe anaemia and cerebral malaria. Both approaches indicate that cerebral malaria and severe anaemia are two quite distinct pathophysiological syndromes. This is a collaborative work with Dr. B. Goka (Korle-Bu Hospital) and Prof B. Akanmori (Noguchi Institute) in Ghana.

The role of Vgamma9 T cells on infection outcome has been explored in vivo in the Saimiri sciureus monkeys. Modulating their function by synthetic antagonist or agonist molecules showed a protective role in vivo for Vgamma9 T lymphocytes that correlates with their cytotoxic activity against infected red blood cells in vitro. This first demonstration of a protective role for Vgamma9 T cells in vivo indicates that their pharmacologic modulation has therapeutic potential in malaria.

Figure Legends

Fig 1 a/ Var O rosette : the infected red blood cell, in the center, is surrounded by uninfected red blood cells firmly attached to its surface. b/ surface expression by Trichopulsa ni (High Five) cells of the var O adhesin binding domain, cloned in baculovirus, detected with a monoclonal antibody directed against the poly-His tail added to the construct C-terminus. c/ binding of uninfected erythrocytes to the surface of Trichopulsia ni (High Five) expressing the adhesive domain of varO.

Figure 2 A. Pitting of an infected blood cell as it squeezes to cross the sinus wall, from cord (co) to sinus lumen (sl), in the red pulp of an isolated-perfused human spleen. The parasite is left behind on the cordal side, leaving the " once infected " red blood cell reach the sinus lumen. (Giemsa staining).

Figure 2B. Phagocytosis of a parasitized erythrocyte in the red pulp of a human isolated-perfused spleen. Parasitized erythrocyte, containing pigment, can be seen within a macrophage (Giemsa staining on left ; immunohistochemistry labelling of macrophage with an anti CD68 antibody).  

Keywords: Malaria, Diversity, Virulence, Thermal stress, Spleen, T Lymphocytes, pathology


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Immunologie Moléculaire des Parasites - CNRS URA 2581

Responsable: PUIJALON Odile

La thématique centrale de l'Unité est l'analyse des facteurs qui déterminent l'issue d'une infection par Plasmodium falciparum, avec comme objectif à long terme de prévenir la mortalité et la morbidité palustre. Nos axes de recherche sont l'étude de la diversité parasitaire en zone d'endémie, l'analyse des facteurs de virulence parasitaire, l'exploration du rôle de la rate dans un modèle d'organe humain perfusé et l'analyse de l'activation des cellules immunocompétentes au cours de l'accès palustre. Nous avons rapporté la première observation de résistance in vitro aux dérivés de l'artémisinine, un résultat alarmant pour la lutte contre le paludisme. Pf155/RESA a été identifié comme un nouveau type facteur de virulence qui permet au globule rouge parasité de résister aux effets délétères de l'exposition aux températures fébriles. Nous avons montré que le rosetting varO implique une nouvelle interaction parasite/récepteur, qui de plus a été classée parmi les sérotypes "communs". L'analyse du transcriptome parasitaire a permis d'identifier des réponses précoces communes à plusieurs stress infligés aux parasites, probablement impliquées dans l'adaptation des parasites à des variations de conditions physiologiques. L'exploration du devenir des globules rouges infectés traités par l'artésunate dans la rate humaine perfusée a mis en évidence une clairance très rapide dans la pulpe rouge, comportant deux mécanismes distincts, le pitting et la phagocytose. Enfin, nous avons pu apporter la première démonstration d'un rôle protecteur des lymphocytes T Vgamma9 in vivo.

Diversité parasitaire en zone d'endémie Marie-Thérèse Ekala, Nitchkarn Noranate, Odile Puijalon.

Au sein d'un Réseau de plusieurs Instituts Pasteur situés en zone d'endémie, nous avons effectué une analyse moléculaire des gènes cibles de médicaments, la résistance parasitaire aux médicaments étant à l'heure actuelle le problème le plus grave pour le contrôle du paludisme. Nous avons décrit une prévalence élevée de plusieurs mutations conférant une résistance, certains de ces mutations étant fixées au Cambodge et en Guyane française. A Madagascar, où au contraire la population parasitaire est encore sauvage et sensible, nous avons pu détecter les premiers cas de mutants Pfcrt associés à la résistance à la chloroquine. Le résultat le plus inquiétant est l'observation d'isolats de Guyane française présentant une IC50 (et IC90) très élevée aux dérivés de l'artémisinine associée avec un polymorphisme particulier (S769N) de la cible putative la SERCA-PfATPase 6. Ces premiers cas de résistance in vitro à l'artémisinine sont de mauvais augure , les dérivés de l'artémisinine constituant la pierre angulaire de la plupart des associations médicamenteuses préconisées à l'heure actuelle.

Nous avons par ailleurs étudié l'évolution de la population parasitaire d'un village holoendémique du Sénégal, Dielmo, sur une durée de 10 ans. Nous avons identifié de nouvelles mutations dans les gènes cibles de médicaments et pu analyser la dynamique des flux géniques sous pression médicamenteuse soigneusement quantifiée et dans des conditions de transmission bien documentée.

Pf155/RESA: son rôle dans la maintenance de l'intégrité de la membrane du globule rouge infecté à des températures fébriles Serge Bonnefoy, Monica Diez Silva, Peter David

Le Ring Erythrocyte Surface Antigen (Pf155/RESA) est inséré au moment de l'invasion dans la membrane du globule rouge, où elle interagit avec la spectrine. Au moyen de parasites isogéniques resa1 knock in/knock, nous avons pu établir que la perte d'expression de Pf155/RESA a pour conséquence une augmentation de la susceptibilité physique du globule rouge infecté en conditions hyperthermiques et un retard important de croissance in vitro après brève exposition à 41°C. Ces données indiquent que l'association de Pf155/RESA RESA avec le cytosquelette de sa cellule hôte protège ce dernier contre la déstabilisation induite par des températures fébriles. Nous avons donc identifié un nouveau type de facteur de virulence qui par le remaniement de sa cellule hôte permet au parasite de résister à une réponse non adaptative très commune de l'hôte à l'infection.

Le rosetting VarO : virulence et réponses immunes Inès Vigan, Micheline Guillotte, Solène Fastenackels, Odile Puijalon

La capacité des globules rouges infectés à lier des globules rouges sains ("rosetting") et l'absence d'anticorps dissociant ces rosettes sont à l'heure actuelle les deux seuls facteurs associés avec le paludisme grave chez les enfants africains. Nous avons développé un modèle expérimental pour ce phénotype de cytoadhérence au moyen du variant antigénique varO de la lignée Palo Alto. Ce variant peut à la fois être étudié in vivo chez le singe Saimiri et in vitro en culture dans des globules rouges humains. In vivo, les parasites varO ont un taux de multiplication apparente plus élevé que d'autres variants isogéniques, indiquant que le rosetting contribue à la virulence. Le domaine de liaison a éte identifié (Figure 1). Le rosetting varO diffère de toutes les autres interactions décrites à ce jour et met en jeu un nouveau couple parasite/récepteur. Par ailleurs, une séroprévalence très élevée a été détectée dans deux villages sénégalais; indiquant que varO peut être classé parmi les sérotypes "communs", et de ce fait qu'il est une cible vaccinale potentielle.

Profils de réponses parasitaires à des stress physiologiques Onguma Natalang, Guillaune Deplaine, Peter David

Pour identifier des facteurs parasitaires de virulence qui contribuent à l'adaptation parasitaire à des stress physiologiques, nous avons développé une approche d'exploration du transcriptome parasitaire. En collaboration avec la Génopole PT2 (J.Y. Coppée et E. Bischoff), nous avons établi une plate-forme de puces à ADN qui nous a permis d'explorer la modulation du modulation de la transcription de P. falciparum sous pression médicamenteuse par l'artésunate, dans des parasites isogéniques resa1-KO et resa1-sauvage et dans diverses conditions physiologiques, y compris stress thermique. L'analyse des données, demandant un ajustement selon le stade de développement est faite en collaboration avec J.P. Vert (Ecole des Mines). Ceci nous a permis de mettre en évidence des réponses précoces communes à la plupart des stress infligés au parasite, ouvrant de nouvelles perspectives.

Exploration de la fonction de la rate au cours de l'infection par P.falciparum dans un système d'organe isolé perfusé Pierre Buffet, Peter David, Valentine Brousse.

La rate joue un rôle majeur au cours de l'infection par P.falciparum, aussi bien dans l'élimination du parasite que dans la modulation du phénotype parasitaire, mais son rôle reste mal compris en raison de l'absence d'un système expérimental adéquat. Nous avons mis en place un système expérimental de rate humaine isolée perfusée permettant une survie de plusieurs heures ex vivo. Ce système a été utilisé pour explorer le devenir de globules rouges infectés traités par l'artésunate. Nous avons observé une clairance rapide et très efficace des globules rouges infectés dans la pulpe rouge, impliquant deux mécanismes distincts: le "pitting" des parasites hors de la cellule (Figure 2A) et une intense phagocytose globules rouges infectés et des débris parasitaires (Figure 2B). (en collaboration avec G.Milon, U. d'Immunophysiologie et Parasitisme Intracellulaire, et M.Huerre U. de Recherche et d'Expertise Histotechnologie et Pathologie).

Activation immune au cours du paludisme clinique Charlotte Behr, Séverine Loizon, Philippe Boeuf, Jean Claude Michel.

L'analyse du répertoire Vbeta des lymphocytes T périphériques chez des enfants Ghanéens souffrant de paludisme a mis en évidence un profil remarquablement stable dans tous les groupes cliniques étudiés, sauf une augmentation significative de deux chaînes dans les CD4+ d'enfants en neuropaludisme. En utilisant CytProQuant, une nouvelle technique RT-PCR en temps réel que nous avons développée pour permettre la quantification absolue des messagers de cytokines, nous avons mis en évidence des profils d'activation T différents dans l'anémie grave et le neuropaludisme Ces données montrent que le neuropaludisme et l'anémie sévère constituent deux syndrome physiopathologiques distincts. Ce programme est réalisé en collaboration avec l'hôpital Korle-Bu (Dr. Goka) et l'Institut Noguchi au Ghana (Dr Akanmori).

Par ailleurs, nous avons étudié le rôle des lymphocytes T Vgamma9 dans le modèle d'infection par P.falciparum chez le singe Saimiri sciureus. La modulation de leur fonction par injection d'agonistes ou d'antagonistes a permis de démontrer que les lymphocytes T Vgamma  jouent un rôle important dans la phase de clairance des parasites. Ceci a été corrélé à leur activité cytotoxique contre les globules rouges infectés in vitro. Cette première démonstration d'un rôle protecteur pour les lymphocytes Vgamma9 T in vivo indique que la modulation pharmacologique de leur activité a des potentialités thérapeutiques intéressantes dans le paludisme.

Légende Figures.

Figure 1 a/ Image d'une rosette var O en microscopie optique. Le globule rouge infecté est au centre, les globules rouges sains sont solidement attachés à sa surface. b/ Expression à la surface des cellules de Trichopulsia ni (High Five) du domaine de liaison de l'adhésine parasitaire varO cloné dans un baculovirus, détectée à l'aided'un anticorps monoclonal dirigée contre la queue poly His ajoutée en C-terminal de la construction. c/ fixation des globules rouges sains à la surface des cellules de Trichopulsia ni (High Five) exprimant le domaine d'adhésion de varO.

Figure 2 A. Exemple de "pitting" de globule rouge infecté au cours du passage à travers la paroi d'un sinus de la pulpe rouge dans une rate humaine perfusée. La cellule qui passe à travers la paroi, se déforme et au cours de ce processus laisse derrière elle du côté cordal (co) le parasite. La cellule qui rejoint la lumière du vaisseau (sinus lumen sl) est dépourvue de parasite. Coloration au Giemsa

Figure 2B Image de phagocytose de globule rouge parasité dans la pulpe rouge d'une rate humaine perfusée. A gauche, coloration au Giemsa, le parasite est visible grâce au pigment brun foncé; à droite marquage immunocytochimique des monocytes par un anti CD68.

Mots-clés: Paludisme, Diversité, Virulence, Fièvre, Rate, Lymphocytes T, pathologie


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr