Unit: Sensory Deficit Genetics - INSERM (U587)

Director: Christine PETIT

Research in the laboratory of Génétique des Déficits Sensoriels aims at (1) elucidating the molecular bases of hereditary auditory defects in humans, and (2) unravelling the molecular mechanisms underlying the development and functioning of the cochlea, the mammalian auditory organ. Special emphasis is put on the molecular bases of the functioning of the sensory cells' hair bundle, the organelle devoted to auditory mechano-electrical transduction.

Understanding the mechanisms which underlie the function of sensory systems is an objective to which the study of hereditary dysfunctions of these systems can contribute, following the development of tools for genetic and genomic analysis.

At the beginning of the 1990s, we chose to study hereditary forms of human deafness for two reasons: (1) at the time they constituted an unexplored domain of hereditary sensory pathology, and (2) they should lead to an approach to the molecular basis of the development and functioning of the cochlea (the hearing receptor organ), which was then totally unknown.

Since 1995, we have identified the genes responsible for three forms of type I Usher syndrome (USH1B and USH1C, USH1G), in which there is an association of profound sensorineural deafness and progressive retinitis pigmentosa leading to blindness. We have also identified the genes affected in eight forms of isolated recessive deafness (DFNB2, DFNB9, DFNB16, DFNB18, DFNB21, DFNB22, DFNB31 and DFNB59), two forms of isolated dominant dearness (DFNA2 and DFNA3), the branchio-oto-renal and the branchio-oto syndromes, and collaborated to the identification of a few other deafness genes.

Using complementary experimental approaches, we have obtained an ensemble of results concerning the function of the proteins encoded by these genes. Most of these proteins participate in the following processes: (1) the structure of the tectorial membrane, an acellular membrane which covers the auditory sensory epithelium and which participates in the transmission of the energy of the sound wave to the hair bundle of the sensory cells, (2) the development of the hair bundle, the receptor structure to sound, which is composed of a group of rigid microvilli, the stereocilia, and which contains the machinery for mechanotransduction, (3) the function of the synapse of the sensory cells ("ribbon" synapse), and (4) the communication between cells via gap junctions.

In addition, we have undertaken a genetic study of presbycusis, a sensorineural form of deafness that predominates on high frequencies. Presbycusis may affect more than a half of the population over 70 years old. Its pathogeny is poorly understood, and the role played by genetic factors remains to be determined. With the aim of identifying the genes most commonly involved, we are currently collecting a large number of affected families.

Development of the hair bundle

Four components of the hair bundle have been identified: myosin VIIa, whirlin (see picture), harmonin and stereocilin. Mutations of the genes coding for myosin VIIa and harmonin are responsible for type I Usher syndrome (USH1B and USH1C forms), and more rarely for an isolated form of deafness. Harmonin and whirlin are two molecules with PDZ domains, submembrane proteins which organise protein complexes. The tails of unconventional myosins, such as myosin VIIa, are linked to the proteins on which the motor force of myosin is directed. The structures with which these proteins are associated are thus placed under tension, and may even move under certain circumstances. With the aim of understanding the role of myosin VIIa, a study of its ligands has been undertaken. This has allowed us to identify a new ubiquitous transmembrane molecule present in intercellular adhesion junctions, vezatin, which belongs to the same complex as E-cadherin, and thus we could propose a role for myosin VIIa in cell adhesion. Another ligand for this myosin binds to rab27, which is present at the surface of the melanosomes, thus explaining the abnormal position of melanosomes in the cells of the pigmented epithelium of the retina in patients with USH1B syndrome. Finally, we have shown that the b isoforms of harmonin, which are present in the developing hair bundle, both bind to actin filaments and induce their clustering into bundles, and also interact with cadherin-23 and protocadherin-15, two proteins also involved in Usher syndrome type I (USH1D and USH1F), which form transitory interstereociliar links. Thus, four proteins which are defective in four forms of type I Usher syndrome work together in a network of molecular interactions which contributes to the cohesion of the developing hair bundle and stabilises the stereocilia by anchoring the links which connect them to the actin filaments which form the cytoskeleton of each stereocilium. An additional protein, SANS, defective in USH1G, was subsequently included in the molecular interaction network. SANS interacts with harmonin and myosin VIIa. SANS is located beneath the hair bundle, in an apical region of the hair cell that contains many vesicles. This result may indicate that SANS controls the trafficking of myosin VIIa and harmonin towards the hair bundle. We have shown that usherin, a transmembrane protein with a large ectodomain, which underlies a genetic form of Usher syndrome type II (USH2A), contributes to a subset of interstereociliar links (ankle links) during hair bundle development too. In addition, we have shown that whirlin, responsible for the DFNB31 form of deafness, binds to and is colocalised with myosin XV in the most apical part of the growing stereocilia (see picture). Finally, we have identified a novel transmembrane protein of the hair cells, PHR1, which binds both to myosin VIIa and myosin 1c, and could thus play a role in the mechanotransduction adaptation process.

Synapses of the sensory cells

In a collaborative study, we have demonstrated that the DFNA2 form of deafness is due to a defect in the KCNQ4 potassium channel, which is expressed mainly by the outer hair cells (for which the essential function is the amplification of the sound stimulus), and by the neurons of the central auditory pathway. Especially interesting, the identification of the gene responsible for another form of recessive deafness, DFNB9, has led to the discovery of otoferlin, a transmembrane protein from the ferlin family, which is associated to the synaptic vesicles in inner hair cells (the genuine auditory sensory cells). We have produced and analysed mutant mice lacking otoferlin, and have shown that the protein plays a crucial role in neurotransmitter release at the inner hair cell synapse.

Gap junctions

Connexin26 is defective in a form of recessive deafness, DFNB1, which, we have shown, accounts for more than one-third of the cases of severe to profound deafness in children. The two cochlear cellular networks formed by the gap junctions, the epithelial network and the fibrocyte network, express connexin26 and connexin30, for which a deficit also leads to deafness. Because of the high frequency for the DFNB1 form of deafness, we have undertaken a study of its pathogenicity. Ubiquitous inactivation of the gene which codes for connexin26 (Cx26) is lethal in the mouse. We therefore performed a conditional inactivation of Cx26 in the epithelial network, and analysed the phenotype of the mutant mice, as well as that of mice in which the gene which encodes connexin30 (Cx30) was inactivated ubiquitously. In both cases, death by apoptosis was observed in cells of the sensory auditory epithelium beginning in the 3rd week postnatally, i.e. a little after wild-type mice begin to hear. Furthermore, the endocochlear potential, a transepithelial potential difference between endolymphatic and perilymphatic compartments, which normally appears in the 2nd week of life, is absent in Cx30-/- mice. This finding led us to conclude that connexin30 plays an essential role in the stria vascularis, the site of production of the endocochlear potential.

These results have been obtained because of the synergy in the activities of the various members of our laboratory. The subtracted cDNA libraries which were generated by some have also helped others in isolating deafness genes; they have been the source of promoters utilised by several scientists to generate conditional inactivations of genes in the ear. Because of the complex structure of the inner ear, the knowledge of histology and embryology of some has been essential to permit the transition from the isolation of genes responsible for deafness to the study of the pathogenicity of the corresponding forms. A real transfer of knowledge between specialists in molecular biology, embryologists and ENT physicians has taken place very rapidly. In addition, we are now able to carry out protein structure analysis and electrophysiological studies of the mechanoelectrical transduction process that takes place in the hair bundles of mouse auditory sensory cells. A dialog between those who are looking for new genes implicated in deafness and those who are trying to define the networks of molecular interactions in which the products of already-identified genes participate has been a source of ideas and discoveries for both. A continuous articulation with the clinic has made it possible to establish the frequency of defects in the connexin26 gene, to provide the first clinical description of a genetic form of isolated deafness, and above all to evaluate the medical implications of our studies. Genetic counselling for families with deaf individuals has been considerably improved.

Photo :

Whirlin, a protein containing PDZ domains which is responsible for the DFNB31 form of recessive deafness, is revealed by a specific antibody in the auditory sensory cells of a post natal day 12 mouse (red staining). The protein is present in the very apical part of the stereocilia during their differentiation and plays a key role in hair bundle growth. Stereocilia are stained in green by using fluorescent phalloidin, which specifically binds to the actin filaments.

Keywords: Audition, Deafness, Sensory physiology, Sensorineural defects, Human genetics, Cell biology, Electrophysiology


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Génétique des Déficits Sensoriels - INSERM (U587)

Responsable: Christine PETIT

Les recherches menées dans l'unité de Génétique des Déficits Sensoriels ont deux objectifs très liés l'un à l'autre : (i) identifier les gènes dont le déficit est à l'origine d'une perte de l'acuité auditive chez l'homme, (ii) découvrir des mécanismes cellulaires et moléculaires qui sous-tendent le développement et le fonctionnement de la cochlée, organe de l'audition des mammifères. Après avoir utilisé les gènes de surdité comme points d'entrée dans une série de "modules" développementaux et/ou fonctionnels, le laboratoire met aujourd'hui en œuvre des approches complémentaires, tout particulièrement pour accéder aux bases moléculaires du fonctionnement de la touffe ciliaire des cellules sensorielles, l'organelle de la transduction mécano-électrique auditive.

Comprendre les mécanismes qui sous-tendent le fonctionnement des systèmes sensoriels est un objectif auquel l'étude des dysfonctionnements héréditaires de ces systèmes peut contribuer depuis que les outils d'analyse génétique, puis génomique, ont été développés.

Au début des années 1990, notre choix s'est porté sur l'étude des surdités héréditaires humaines pour deux raisons : (1) elles constituaient alors un domaine inexploré de la pathologie sensorielle héréditaire, (2) elles devaient permettre d'aborder les bases moléculaires du développement et du fonctionnement de la cochlée (organe récepteur de l'audition), alors totalement inconnues.

Depuis 1995, nous avons identifié les gènes responsables de trois formes du syndrome de Usher de type I (USH1B, USH1C, USH1G), qui associe une surdité neurosensorielle profonde et une rétinopathie pigmentaire évoluant vers la cécité. Nous avons également identifié les gènes défectueux dans huit formes de surdité isolée récessive (DFNB2, DFNB9, DFNB16, DFNB18, DFNB21, DFNB22, DFNB31 et DFNB59), deux formes de surdité isolée dominante (DFNA2, DFNA3), des syndromes branchio-oto-rénal et branchio-otologique, et contribué à l'identification de plusieurs autres.

Par des approches expérimentales complémentaires, nous avons obtenu un ensemble de résultats sur la fonction des protéines codées par ces gènes. La plupart de ces protéines interviennent dans l'un des quatre processus suivants : (1) la structure de la membrane tectoriale, membrane acellulaire qui couvre l'épithélium sensoriel auditif et qui participe à la transmission de l'énergie de l'onde sonore à la touffe ciliaire des cellules sensorielles, (2) le développement de la touffe ciliaire, structure réceptrice du son composée d'un ensemble de microvillosités rigides, les stéréocils, et qui abrite la machinerie de transduction mécano-électrique, (3) le fonctionnement de la synapse des cellules sensorielles (synapse à "rubans"), et (4) la communication entre cellules par les jonctions communicantes.

Par ailleurs, nous avons entrepris une étude génétique de la presbyacousie, surdité neurosensorielle progressive du sujet d'âge mûr qui prédomine sur les fréquences aigües, et qui pourrait concerner plus de la moitié des individus de plus de 70 ans. Sa pathogénie est très mal connue, et la part des facteurs génétiques, probablement sous-estimée, reste à évaluer. L'étude a pour objectif d'identifier les gènes les plus fréquemment impliqués, grâce à l'étude d'un grand nombre de familles concernées dont le recrutement est en cours.

Développement de la touffe ciliaire .

Quatre composants de la touffe ciliaire ont été identifiés : la myosine VIIa, la whirline (voir photo), l'harmonine et la stéréociline. Les mutations des gènes codant pour la myosine VIIa et l'harmonine sont responsables d'un syndrome de Usher de type I (formes USH1B et USH1C), plus rarement d'une surdité isolée. Harmonine et whirline sont deux molécules à domaines PDZ, protéines sous-membranaires qui organisent des complexes protéiques. La queue des myosines non conventionnelles, telle que la myosine VIIA, se lie à des protéines sur lesquelles la force motrice de la myosine s'exerce. Les structures auxquelles ces protéines sont associées sont alors mises sous tension, et peuvent même dans certains cas se déplacer. Dans le but de comprendre le rôle de la myosine VIIa, une étude de ses ligands a été entreprise. Elle nous a permis d'identifier une nouvelle molécule transmembranaire ubiquitaire des jonctions intercellulaires d'adhérence, la vézatine, appartenant au même complexe que la E-cadhérine, et ainsi de proposer un rôle pour la myosine VIIa dans l'adhérence entre les cellules. Un autre ligand de cette myosine se lie à rab27, présent à la surface des mélanosomes, expliquant ainsi l'anomalie de position des mélanosomes dans les cellules de l'épithélium pigmentaire de la rétine chez les patients atteints du syndrome USH1B. Enfin, nous avons montré que les isoformes b de l'harmonine, présentes dans la touffe ciliaire en développement, d'une part se lient aux filaments d'actine et induisent leur regroupement en faisceaux, et d'autre part interagissent avec la cadhérine-23 et la protocadhérine-15, deux autres protéines impliquées dans le syndrome de Usher de type I (formes USH1D et USH1F) et qui forment des liens interstéréociliaires transitoires. Ainsi, quatre protéines défectueuses dans quatre formes du syndrome de Usher de type I concourent à un réseau d'interactions moléculaires, qui contribue à la cohésion de la touffe ciliaire en croissance en solidarisant ses stéréocils par l'ancrage des liens qui les connectent aux filaments d'actine formant le cytosquelette de chaque stéréocil. Ce réseau a été enrichi de la protéine SANS (protéine du cytosquelette composée d'un domaine SAM et de 3 répétitions ankyrine), défectueuses dans une autre forme du syndrome de Usher de type I (USH1G). SANS interagit avec l'harmonine et la myosine VIIa. Sa localisation, sous la touffe ciliaire, dans une région riche en vésicules, indique que SANS pourrait contrôler le trafic de la myosine VIIa et de l'harmonine vers la touffe ciliaire. Enfin, nous avons montré que l'usherine, une protéine transmembranaire à long domaine extracellulaire, dont le déficit est responsable du syndrome de Usher de type II (USH2A), est elle aussi vraisemblablement impliquée dans la constitution de liens interstéréociliaires (liens basaux) au cours de la différenciation de la touffe ciliaire. Par ailleurs, nous avons établi que la whirline, dont le déficit est responsable de la surdité DFNB31, se lie à la myosine XV avec laquelle elle est colocalisée à l'extrémité des stéréocils en croissance (voir photo). Enfin, nous avons identifié une nouvelle protéine transmembranaire des cellules ciliées, PHR1, qui se lie à la myosine VIIa ainsi qu'à la myosine 1c, et pourrait donc jouer un rôle dans le processus d'adaptation de la transduction mécano-électrique.

Synapses des cellules sensorielles .

Dans une étude collaborative, nous avons montré que la surdité DFNA2 est due à un défaut du canal potassique KCNQ4, exprimé principalement par les cellules ciliées externes (dont la fonction essentielle est l'amplification de la stimulation sonore) et les neurones des voies auditives centrales. Surtout, l'identification du gène responsable d'une autre forme de surdité récessive, DFNB9, nous a conduit à découvrir l'otoferline, une protéine transmembranaire de la même famille que les dysferlines, qui est associée aux vésicules synaptiques des cellules ciliées internes (authentiques cellules sensorielles auditives). L'obtention de souris génétiquement déficientes en otoferline et leur caractérisation nous a permis de montrer que cette protéine joue un rôle crucial dans la sécrétion des vésicules synaptiques par ces cellules.

Jonctions communicantes .

La connexine26 est défectueuse dans une forme de surdité récessive, DFNB1, dont nous avons montré qu'elle rend compte, à elle seule, d'environ un tiers des cas de surdité de l'enfant. Les deux réseaux cellulaires cochléaires formés par des jonctions communicantes, le réseau épithélial et le réseau fibrocytaire, expriment la connexine26 et la connexine30, dont le déficit conduit également à une surdité. Compte tenu de la fréquence de la forme de surdité DFNB1, nous nous sommes engagés dans l'étude de sa pathogénie. L'inactivation ubiquitaire du gène qui code pour la connexine26 (Cx26) est létale chez la souris. Nous avons donc réalisé une inactivation conditionnelle de Cx26 dans le réseau épithélial, et avons analysé le phénotype des souris mutantes, ainsi que celui de souris chez lesquelles le gène qui code pour la connexine30 (Cx30) avait été inactivé de façon ubiquitaire. Dans les deux cas, une mort par apoptose des cellules de l'épithélium sensoriel auditif est observée dès le début de la 3ème semaine postnatale, c'est à dire peu après que les souris sauvages ont commencé à entendre. De surcroît, le potentiel endocochléaire, une différence de potentiel transépithéliale entre compartiments endolymphatique et périlymphatique, qui apparaît normalement dès la 2ème semaine de vie, est absent chez les souris Cx30-/-. Ce résultat nous a permis de conclure au rôle essentiel de la connexine30 dans la strie vasculaire, site de production du potentiel endocochléaire.

Ces résultats ont été obtenus grâce à la synergie des activités des différents membres du laboratoire. Les banques d'ADNc soustraites générées par certains ont aussi servi à d'autres pour isoler des gènes de surdité ; elles ont été la source de promoteurs utilisés par plusieurs pour générer des inactivations conditionnelles de gènes dans l'oreille. Compte tenu de la structure complexe de l'oreille interne, les connaissances en histologie et en embryologie de certains ont été précieuses pour permettre le passage de l'isolement des gènes responsables de surdité à l'étude de la pathogénie des formes de surdité correspondantes. Un véritable transfert de connaissances entre spécialistes de biologie moléculaire, embryologistes et médecins ORL, s'est rapidement produit. L'étude de la structure des protéines et l'étude électrophysiologique de la transduction mécano-électrique dans la touffe ciliaire des cellules sensorielles de la cochlée de souris est depuis peu venue s'ajouter aux compétences techniques de notre laboratoire. Un dialogue étroit entre ceux qui cherchent de nouveaux gènes impliqués dans la surdité et ceux qui travaillent à définir les réseaux d'interaction moléculaire où s'insèrent les produits des gènes déjà identifiés, a été source d'idées et de résultats pour les uns et les autres. L'articulation constante avec la clinique a permis de mettre en évidence la fréquence de l'atteinte du gène de la connexine26, d'apporter la première description clinique d'une forme génétique de surdité isolée et surtout d'évaluer les implications médicales de nos travaux. L'activité de conseil génétique pour les familles comportant des individus sourds s'est considérablement améliorée.

Légende de la photo :

La whirline, protéine sous-membranaire à domaines PDZ, dont l'atteinte est responsable de la forme DFNB31 de surdité récessive, est détectée par un anticorps spécifique (coloration rouge) dans les cellules sensorielles de l'oreille d'une souris de 12 jours post-natals. La protéine est présente à l'extrémité des stéréocils pendant leur différenciation et joue un rôle essentiel dans la croissance de la touffe ciliaire. Les stéréocils sont colorés en vert par la phalloïdine (couplée à un fluorophore), qui se lie spécifiquement aux filaments d'actine.

Mots-clés: Audition, Surdités, Physiologie sensorielle, Déficits sensoriels, Génétique humaine, Biologie cellulaire, Electrophysiologie


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr