Unit: Cytokines and Lymphoid Development

Director: DI SANTO James

Using a genetic approach in mice, our projects seek to better define the essential roles of γc-dependent cytokines and their receptors in lymphopoiesis, peripheral lymphoid homeostasis and during immune responses. We have developed an alymphoid mouse model 1) to study the genetic program which controls NK cell differentiation and 2) for xenotransplantation of human tissues. These projects have important implications for our understanding of normal and pathological immune responses.

1) Roles of common γc cytokines in lymphocyte development, differentiation and homeostasis (G. Masse, E. Corcuff, H. Decaluwe, M. Garcia-Ojeda, C. Vosshenrich, & J.P. Di Santo in collaboration with A. Cumano, P. Vieira, P. Bousso, G. Eberl)

Cytokines play essential and non-redundant roles in the survival, proliferation and differentiation of all lymphocytes subsets. Our interests have been focused on cytokines utilizing the common γ chain (γc) that include IL-2, -4, -7, -9, -15 and -21. We have used mouse models to dissect the individual roles of γc cytokines in T, B and NK cell development and homoestasis.

Our current projects include i) analysis of the role of thymic stromal cell derived lymphopoietin (TSLP) in early thymocyte development, ii) analysis of IL-7 as a survival and quiescence factor for naïve T cells, iii) defining the role for γc cytokines in effector T cell differentiation, and iv) characterizing the lymphocyte ‘niche' through dynamic imaging in vivo.

2) NK cell development and function (M. Hasan, O. Richard, N. Huntington, M. Garcia-Ojeda, C. Vosshenrich, & J.P. Di Santo)

Natural killer cells are an essential cellular component of the innate immune response and may help orient adaptive immunity following infection by pathogenic microorganisms. We have a long-standing interest in the genetic orchestration of NK cell development from hematopoietic stem cells. Using mouse mutants that target the transcriptional control mechanisms that specify lymphopoiesis, we aim to identify the key transcription factors that are responsible for NK cell lineage commitment and that maintain NK cell effector functions. The biological consequences of mutations that affect NK cell differentiation are assessed using the relevant in vivo infection and tumor models.

3) Immune response against spontaneous murine melanoma (S. Lesjean-Pottier, & C. Vosshenrich in collaboration with L. Larue, Institut Curie, and M. Giovannini, Cancéropole Ile-de-France).

Melanoma is the most lethal form of skin cancer and arises from malignant transformation of the pigment-producing melanocytes. Current treatment, including radio-, chemo-, and immuno-therapies, for this disease are rather inefficient. In order to improve immunotherapy for melanoma, we are studying the in situ immune response to spontaneously arising murine melanoma. These mouse models exhibit many clinical and pathological features of the human disease. Our approach involves non-invasive visualization of the different stages of melanoma development in order to study the anti-melanoma immune response in a temporal fashion.

Our objectives include i) analysis of innate and adaptive immunity against spontaneous melanoma in situ, ii) analysis of the contribution of the specific T cell response against melanoma: visualizing immunity against an engineered melanosomal antigen, iii) defining the cellular mechanisms of immunosurveillance against spontaneous melanoma, and iv) refining cellular therapy and prophylactic vaccination for the treatment of spontaneous melanoma.

4) The migration circuit of gut lymphocytes (D. Guy-Grand, J.P. Di Santo, with P. Vassalli, G. Eberl, F. Lemaitre)

We are continuing our research on the circulation of gut-associated lymphocytes. Intra-epithelial lymphocytes include conventional T cells (TCRαβ, CD4 or CD8αβ) and other T cells that are particular to the gut epithelium (TCRαβ CD8αα or TCRγ). It is known that mice that are defective in α4β7 expression have a strong reduction in gut-associated T cells. We have shown that the precursors of gut-associated T cells circulate as dividing cells in the thoracic duct lymph.

We are currently attempting to answer two main questions : i) Do precursors for gut-associated T cells express α4β7 ? If so, where do they acquire this adhesion molecule complex ? and ii) in euthymic mice, the four IEL types are derived from thymic precursors. In adult thymectomized mice, the number and percentage of IELs are not changed. Where are IEL precursors renewed under these conditions ?

5) Humanized mouse models (H. Strick-Marchand, O. Richard, E. Corcuff, & J.P. Di Santo in collaboration with F. Lemonnier, P. Charneau, GPH Stem Cells)

An alymphoid mouse strain harboring mutations in the Recombinase activating gene (Rag) and the γc chain has been developed for use in xenotransplantation of human tissues (Rag°γc° mice). We have successfully demonstrated that Rag°γc° mice can be engrafted with human hematopoietic stem cells, human myoblasts, or human hepatocytes. In these cases, long-term engraftment (up to 6 months) and in situ differentiation of human tissues can be achieved.

Our current projects include i) development of Rag°γc° mice carrying human HLA transgenes and human cytokines in order to maximize the efficiency of human HSC engraftment and subsequent T cell development in mice, ii) derivation of Rag°γc° mice carrying a non-revertant dystrophin allele for human muscle cell progenitor engraftment, and iii) development of a humanized mouse harboring both human lymphocytes and human hepatocytes for use in testing vaccines for protection against hepatitis C virus. This last project was selected for funding by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation in the context of the Grand Challenges in Global Health program.

Keywords: cytokines, development, immune response, mutation, tumor, infection


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Cytokines et Développement Lymphoide

Responsable: DI SANTO James

Nos projets visent à mieux définir les rôles essentiels des cytokines et de leurs récepteurs lors de la lymphopoïèse, de l'homéostasie lymphoïde périphérique et des réponses immunes, en utilisant une approche génétique chez la souris. Nous avons développé une souche de souris alymphoïdes pour 1) étudier le programme génétique contrôlant la différenciation des cellules NK et 2) établir et étudier les xénogreffes de tissus humains. L'ensemble de ces études peuvent avoir d'importantes retombées en améliorant notre compréhension sur les réponses immunes normales et physiopathologiques.

1) Rôles des cytokines γc dans le développement, la différenciation et l'homéostasie lymphocytaire (G. Masse, E. Corcuff, H. Decaluwe, M. Garcia-Ojeda, C. Vosshenrich, & J.P. Di Santo en collaboration avec A. Cumano, P. Vieira, P. Bousso, G. Eberl)

Les cytokines jouent des rôles essentiels et non-redondants dans la survie, la prolifération et la différenciation de toutes les sous-populations de cellules lymphoïdes. Nous nous sommes tout particulièrement intéressés aux cytokines, dont l' IL-2, -4, -7, -9, -15 et -21, qui utilisent la chaîne gamma commune de récepteurs de cytokines (γc). Nous avons utilisé les modèles murins pour disséquer les rôles individuels joués par les cytokines γc dans le développement et l'homéostasie des cellules T, B et NK.

Notre projet actuel comprend i) l'analyse du rôle de la lymphopoïétine dérivée des cellules stromales thymiques (TSLP) dans le développement précoce des thymocytes, ii) l'analyse de l'IL-7, un facteur de survie pour les cellules T naïves, iii) l'analyse du rôle des cytokines γc dans la différenciation des cellules T effectrices, et iv) la caractérisation de la " niche " lymphocytaire grâce à la technique d'imagerie dynamique in vivo.

2) Développement et fonction des cellules NK (M. Hasan, O. Richard, N. Huntington, M. Garcia-Ojeda, C. Vosshenrich, & J.P. Di Santo)

Les cellules " Natural Killer " jouent un rôle essentiel dans la réponse immunitaire innée et peuvent aider à orienter l'immunité adaptative après l'infection par des microorganismes pathogènes. Nous nous intéressons au développement des cellules NK à partir de cellules souches hématopoïétiques. En utilisant des souris mutantes pour les gènes codant pour les facteurs de transcription impliqués dans la lymphopoïèse, nous essayons d'identifier les facteurs responsables pour l'engagement des précurseurs hématopoïétiques vers la lignée NK et les mécanismes qui maintiennent les fonctions effectrices des cellules NK matures.

3) Réponse immunitaire contre des mélanomes spontanés murins (S. Lesjean-Pottier, & C. Vosshenrich en collaboration avec L. Larue, Institut Curie, M. Giovannini, Cancéropole Ile-de-France)

Le mélanome est le plus létal des cancers de la peau et vient de la transformation maligne des mélanocytes. Bien que ce cancer soit connu depuis plus de 200 ans, les traitements actuels tels que la radio-, chimio-, et immunothérapies ne sont pas efficaces contre le mélanome. Afin d'améliorer les traitements immuno-thérapeutiques, nous étudions la réponse immunitaire contre le mélanome spontané en utilisant un modèle murin. Celui-ci présente des caractéristiques cliniques et pathologiques identiques au mélanome humain. De plus, nous développons de nouveaux modèles qui permettront de visualiser de façon non invasive les différentes étapes du développement du mélanome et d'étudier la réponse immunitaire pendant ces étapes.

Grâce à l'utilisation de ces différents modèles murins nous avons les objectifs suivants : i) analyse de la réponse innée et adaptative contre le mélanome spontané in situ, ii) analyse de la contribution de la réponse spécifique des cellules T contre le mélanome : visualisation de la réponse contre un antigène modèle du mélanome, iii) définir les mécanismes cellulaires de l'immunosurveillance contre le mélanome spontané, et iv) améliorer la thérapie cellulaire et la vaccination prophylactique pour le traitement du mélanome spontané.

4) Le circuit de migration des lymphocytes muqueux (D. Guy-Grand, J.P. Di Santo avec P. Vassalli, G. Eberl, F. Lemaitre)

Nous avons poursuivi nos recherches sur la circulation des lymphocytes peuplant la muqueuse digestive. Les lymphocytes situés dans l'épithélium (LIE) comprennent, outre des lymphocytes T conventionnels, TCRαβ CD4 ou CD8αβ, des lymphocytes particuliers à l'épithélium, TCRαβ CD8αα(TCRαβ de type β) ou TCRγ. Il est connu que, chez les souris incapables d'exprimer l'adressine α4β7, dont le ligand est MadCAM porté par les veinules localisées dans le territoire digestif, les lymphocytes sont exceptionnels dans la muqueuse digestive. Nous avions montré que les précurseurs des lymphocytes muqueux T circulaient comme cellules en division dans la lymphe du canal thoracique.

Nous avons tenté de répondre à deux questions principales : i) Les précurseurs des lymphocytes muqueux expriment-ils α4β7 ? Où acquièrent-ils cette adressine ? et ii) Chez les souris euthymiques, les quatre types de LIE sont issus de précurseurs thymiques. Cependant, après une thymectomie effectuée à l'âge adulte, le nombre et le pourcentage des sous-populations de LIE ne sont pas altérés. Où s'effectue alors le renouvellement des précurseurs des LIE ?

5) Souris " humanisées " (H. Strick-Marchand, O. Richard, E. Corcuff, & J.P. Di Santo en collaboration avec F. Lemonnier, P. Charneau, GPH Stem Cells)

Nous avons développé une souche murine alymphoïde comportant des mutations dans le gène Rag (Recombinase activating gene) et la chaîne commune γc (souris Rag°γc°) pour établir les xenogreffes de tissus humains chez la souris. Nous avons réussi à montrer que les souris Rag°γc° peuvent être greffées avec des cellules souches hématopoïétiques humaines, des myoblastes humains ou des hépatocytes humains. Dans ces cas, les greffes des tissus humains sont acceptés à " long-terme " (jusqu'à six mois) et elles maintiennent un phénotype normal et différencié in situ.

Nos projets en cours comprennent i) le développement de souris Rag°γc° portant des transgènes HLA et des cytokines humains pour maximiser l'efficacité de greffes CSH humaines et leur développement en cellules T, ii) la génération de souris Rag°γc° portant un allèle dystrophine non-révertant, permettant les greffes de tissus musculaires humains, et iii) le développement de souris chimériques d'une part pour les cellules immunitaires, d'autres part pour les cellules hépatiques pour tester des vaccins contre le virus de l'hépatite C. Ce dernier projet a été sélectionné pour une subvention de la Fondation Bill et Melinda Gates dans le contexte du programme " Grand Challenges in Global Health ".

Mots-clés: cytokines, développement, réponse immunitaire, mutation, tumeur, infection


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr