Unit: Cytokines and inflammation

Director: Cavaillon Jean-Marc

We study the early phase of innate immunity, namely, the mechanisms involved in cytokine induction by Gram-negative or Gram-positive bacteria and their pathogen-associated molecular patterns (PAMPs). While this response is a prerequisite to fight infection, its overwhelming activation may be associated with deleterious effects as those seen during septic shock or non-infectious systemic inflammatory response syndrome (SIRS). On another hand, the counteracting anti-inflammatory response may lead to an altered immune status (figure 1). We study the production of cytokines and their involvement in different inflammatory disorders in humans (sepsis, trauma, ischemia/reperfusion, cystic fibrosis). We investigate at the intracellular signaling pathways level, the reprogrammation of circulatory cells, reminiscent of the endotoxin tolerance phenomenon, that could be linked to the increased susceptibility of these patients to nosocomial infections.

1- CONTRIBUTION OF PHAGOCYTOSIS, TLR2, NOD1 AND NOD2 FOR MACROPHAGE RESPONSE TO STAPHYLOCOCCUS AUREUS (R. Kapetanovic, C. Fitting, M. Adib-Conquy, in collaboration with D. Philpott, Innate Immunity & Signaling, Inst. Pasteur)

Toll-like receptors (TLR) are involved in the sensing of microbial-derived compounds. Nod1 and Nod2 are intracytoplasmic sensors that recognize distinct peptidoglycan-derived muropeptides. We analyzed the contribution of these receptors to cytokine production by macrophages following stimulation with whole bacteria. Using knockout mice, we determined that TLR4 and TLR2 contribution was predominant in the induction of TNF and IL-10 by Gram-negative bacteria. In contrast, the absence of TLR2 and/or TLR4 or TLR9 did not affect the response to Gram-positive bacteria. In the absence of TLR2, phagocytosis was essential for cytokine production in response to heat-killed Staphylococcus aureus (HKSA). By transfecting Raw 264.7 macrophages with dominant negative (DN) forms of Nod1 and Nod2, we showed that both molecules inhibited NF-kB activation in response to HKSA. The unexpected interference of DN Nod1 in the response of macrophages to Gram-positive bacteria was confirmed with a Nod2 agonist (muramyl dipeptide, MDP) in transfection experiments in HEK293T cell. Finally, HKSA up-regulated the expression of Nod1 but not Nod2 mRNA in mouse Raw 264.7 macrophages, Our study shows the contribution of phagocytosis for cytokine production and that of Nod2 for macrophage response to HKSA. It also identifies a cross-talk between Nod1 and Nod2.

2- SYNERGISTIC STIMULATION OF MONOCYTES AND DENDRITIC CELLS BY TLR4, NOD1- AND NOD2-ACTIVATING AGONISTS (in collaboration with D. Philpott, Inst. Pasteur)

MDP mediates signaling by Nod2. It exerts adjuvant activity and synergizes with endotoxin (lipopolysaccharide, LPS) to induce pro-inflammatory responses in vitro and in vivo. Various Nod1 and Nod2 agonists stimulate CD14+ monocytes and CD1a+ immature dendritic cells to produce pro-inflammatory mediators. Cooperatively with LPS, Nod1 as well as Nod2 agonists stimulate release of both pro- and anti-inflammatory cytokines (IL-1β , TNF, IL-6, IL-8, IL-10, IL-12P40) in these myeloid cell subsets. Nod1 and Nod2 agonists synergize with low amounts of LPS to induce dendritic cell maturation, suggesting that Nod protein agonists instruct the onset of adaptive immune responses, cooperatively with molecules sensed by toll-like receptors (Fritz et al. Eur. J. Immunol., 2005, 35, 2459-2470).

3- ENDOTOXIN TOLERANCE (C. Fitting)

Endotoxin tolerance is characterized by a decreased production of pro-inflammatory cytokines by cultured leukocytes in response to LPS following a first exposure to the same stimulus. Gamma interferon (IFNg) and granulocyte monocyte-colony stimulating factor (GM-CSF) are immunostimulatory cytokines that prime monocytes and prevent endotoxin tolerance. We previously showed that in monocytes pretreated with IFNg or GM-CSF, IRAK-1 expression is up-regulated. IFNg and GM-CSF prevent endotoxin tolerance induced by low doses of LPS, by inhibiting IRAK-1 degradation and by promoting its association with MyD88 after a second LPS stimulation, which in turn leads to NF-k B activation and TNF production (Adib-Conquy & Cavaillon, J. Biol. Chem. 2002, 277: 27927). More recently we set up an ex vivo model of endotoxin tolerance. We showed that endotoxin tolerance is compartmentalized and that broncho-alveolar cells are less likely than peritoneal, splenic or marrow cells to develop endotoxin tolerance (Fitting et al. J. Infect. Dis. 2004, 189, 1295). We also showed that "cross-tolerance" with HKSA did not parallel the phenomenon of endotoxin tolerance as observed with LPS. We are now comparing the cross-tolerance phenomenon with conventional Escherichia coli LPS (Sigma) that contains trace amounts of lipoprotein contaminants, acting as TLR2 ligands, and a highly purified E. coli LPS. Conventional LPS tolerizes human monocytes for a further challenge by itself and also by highly purified LPS. In contrast, highly purified LPS has little or no capacity to tolerize monocytes to a challenge with conventional LPS. Pre-treatment with conventional LPS tolerizes cells to a challenge with a specific TLR2 ligand (Pam3CysSK4), whereas highly purified LPS primes the cells to a challenge by the TLR2 ligand.

4. MODULATION OF INTERLEUKIN-10 PROPERTIES BY ADHERENCE (A-F. Petit-Bertron, M. Adib-Conquy, in collaboration with T. Pedron and the plate forme 2 " puces à ADN " from Institut Pasteur)

We previously demonstrated that adherence is a parameter, which markedly affects the properties of IL-10 on TNF production, heme oxygenase-1 expression, and et by monocytes/macrophages (Adib-Conquy et al. Int. Immunol. 1999, 11, 689; Petit-Bertron et al. J. Leuk. Biol. 2003, 73, 145). We analyzed by macroarray the effect of IL-10 and adherence on the expression of 1050 genes. Interestingly, IL-10 modulated conversely on Teflon® and plastic the expression of 16 genes, of which SOCS2, SOCS3, coproporphyrinogen oxidase (an enzyme involved in heme biosynthesis), and several matrix metalloproteinases. The strong inhibition of coproporphyrinogen oxidase in adherent cells, could be one of the mechanisms by which IL-10 contributes to anemia. This study demonstrates that adherence has a profound modulatory effect on the properties and the signaling induced by IL-10. This observation may partially explain the dual role of this cytokine (Petit-Bertron et al. Cytokine 2005, 29, 1).

5- LEUKOCYTE RESPONSE IN PATIENTS WITH SEVERE INFLAMMATORY DISORDERS

A/ Molecular basis of leukocyte reprogramming during systemic inflammation

(M. Adib-Conquy, in collaboration with Dr. Christophe Adrie, Hôpital Delafontaine, Saint-Denis, and Rudi Beyaert, Ghent University, Belgium).

Since we first reported the in vitro hyporeactivity of circulating monocytes in sepsis patients in terms of cytokine production (Muñoz et al. J. Clin. Invest. 1991, 88, 1747), we have further characterized the immune-depression associated to this pathology. We have described a similar alteration in patients after surgery (Cabié et al. Cytokine 1992, 4, 576) and in patients resuscitated after cardiac arrest (Adrie et al. Circulation, 2002, 106, 562). We extended our observation to circulating neutrophils (Marie et al. Blood 1998, 91, 3439) and T-lymphocytes (Muret et al. Shock 2000, 13, 169). We study the intracellular molecular mechanisms responsible for the immune-depression observed in sepsis patients as well as in patients with non-infectious SIRS. A global decrease of nuclear factor -κB (NF-κB), an unbalance between its active (p65p50) and inactive (p50p50) forms and a weak cytoplasmic expression of its inhibitor (IκBα ) have been observed within mononuclear cells of sepsis patients (Adib-Conquy et al. Am. J. Respir. Crit Care Med. 2000, 162, 1877). A similar study undertaken in trauma patients revealed that the defect in NF-κB expression lasts for more than 10 days (Adib-Conquy et al. J. Leuk. Biol. 2001, 70, 30). The activation of the p38 MAPK and the Sp-1 transcription factor was increased in PBMC from trauma patients after ex vivo activation. This observation may explain the up-regulation of IL-10 production (Adib-Conquy et al. Am. J. Respir. Crit Care Med. 2003, 168, 158).

More recently, we showed that the TNF production in response to Pam3CysSK4, a specific TLR2 ligand, was also reduced in sepsis as compared to healthy controls. However, responsiveness to HKSA, heat-killed E. coli, and MDP was similar to that obtained with cells from healthy donors. MDP is sensed by Nod2 intracellular receptor. We found that the expression of Nod2 mRNA was unchanged in sepsis, as well as that of Nod1, a sensor of peptidoglycan from Gram-negative bacteria. In contrast to TNF, the production of IL-10 by monocytes of septic patients in response to LPS and Pam3CysSK4 was enhanced, whereas that induced by heat-killed bacteria was unchanged. We investigated the expression of various molecules regulating negatively the TLR4-dependent signaling. We showed by RT-PCR that in monocytes of sepsis patients, the expression of mRNA for Tollip and SOCS1 was similar to that of healthy controls, while MyD88s and SIGIRR expression was significantly enhanced (figure 2). The later results were confirmed by quantitative real-time PCR. We also included a group of resuscitated patients after cardiac arrest (RCA), in order to compared sepsis with non-infectious SIRS. Their monocytes responsiveness displayed a reduced production of TNF only in response to LPS, but not Pam3CysSK4 nor heat-killed bacteria. In contrast to sepsis patients, there was no increase in IL-10 production after ex vivo stimulation. The expression of SIGIRR mRNA was increased in the monocytes from RCA patients, but not that of MyD88s. Thus, leukocytes hyporesponsiveness to microbial agonists is not a generalized phenomenon in sepsis and SIRS, and the terms "leukocyte reprogramming" better define this phenomenon, rather than the terms often employed such as anergy, immunodepression, or immunoparalysis (Adib-Conquy et al submitted).

In a mouse model of hemorrhage and resuscitation, we have demonstrate that α2-adrenoceptor ligands contribute to the ex vivo "blood deactivation" to LPS (Asehnoune et al. submitted).

B/ Production of MIF (V. Maxime, C. Fitting, In collaboration with Prof., D. Annane, Hôp. Poincaré, Garches)

"Macrophage migration inhibitory factor" (MIF) is an inflammatory cytokine known to couterregulate the effects of glucocorticoids. We have studied the capacity of leukocytes of sepsis patients versus those of healthy controls to produce MIF in vitro in response to various activators. PBMC from patients contained significantly higher amounts of MIF than cells from healthy controls. In culture, spontaneous release and release induced by LPS and HKSA were significantly higher in patients than in controls. PBMC from patients treated with glucocorticoids showed a lower release of MIF in response to LPS, heat killed E. coli and peptidoglycan than PBMC from untreated patients, and had levels similar to those obtained with PBMC from healthy controls. Thus, MIF is the first pro-inflammatory cytokine, of which ex vivo release by circulating cells is shown to be enhanced in sepsis. Glucocorticoid treatment led to normalize the release of MIF by circulating PBMC from patients with septic shock (Maxime et al. J. Infect. Dis. 2005, 191, 138).

C/ Cytokines and cystic fibrosis (A-F. Petit-Bertron, M. Adib-Conquy, C. Fitting. This work is performed in collaboration with T. Pedron, Inst. Pasteur, and Drs J. Jacquot, O. Tabary, H. Corvol and A. Clément, Hôp. Trousseau, Paris; founded by Association Vaincre la Mucovosicidose)

We study neutrophils (PMN) derived from sputum of patients with cystic fibrosis (CF). CF PMN display a high ex vivo spontaneous IL-8 production which can neither be up-regulated by the addition of LPS nor down-regulated by dexamethasone in contrast to what was observed in blood neutrophils (Corvol et al. Am. J. Physiol. 2003, 284, L997). As well, IL-10, that inhibits IL-8 production by activated blood PMN, has no effect on sputum PMN. In CF patients, TLR2 expression is significantly reduced on blood PMN from CF patients and TLR4 expression is significantly enhanced on sputum PMN. The expression of CD64 (Fcγ receptor type I), a marker of cell activation, is increased on blood PMN of CF patients.

Comparative microArray analysis of PMN derived from sputum and blood from CF patients and from blood of healthy controls was performed. The expression of 42 genes in blood PMN of CF patients and 56 genes in sputum PMN (twenty common) was enhanced as compared to their respective expressions in PMN of healthy controls. The expression of 25 genes in blood PMN of CF patients and 16 genes in sputum PMN (twelve common) was reduced as compared to their respective expression in PMN of healthy controls. It is worth mentioning the up-regulation of numerous chemokine genes, growth factors and cytokine receptor genes. Most interesting is the up-regulation of 6 IFNγ -dependent genes in either CF blood or sputum PMN.

PMN from sputum of CF patients, kept in contact with respiratory epithelial cells, display an enhanced survival (reduced apoptosis) as compared to blood PMN from patients and healthy controls. A synergy in terms of IL-6 and IL-8 production is observed when PMN from CF patients are cultured in the presence of CF bronchial epithelial cells as compared to normal bronchial epithelial cells (Tabary et al. Am J Physiol. Lung Cell Mol. Physiol, in press).

6- WHY MICE ARE SO RESISTANT TO ENDOTOXIN ? (C. Fitting, M. Adib-Conquy, in collaboration with Prof. Shaw Warren, Boston Mass. Gen. Hosp., and founded by NIH)

Mice are often used as animal model for sepsis and endotoxin-induced shock. However, mice are 105 fold more resistant to endotoxin than humans. We decided to investigated what was the basis for this difference, and showed that the difference may be due to a soluble factor present in mouse serum. We showed that, in contrast to human serum or fetal calf serum, mouse serum inhibits TNF production by human monocytes, and by mouse peritoneal or bone marrow-derived macrophages in response to numerous PAMPs (endotoxin, peptidoglycan, peptidoglycan-associated lipoprotein, Pam3CysSK4, bacterial DNA, toxic shock syndrome toxin), to zymosan or whole heat-killed bacteria. Mouse serum inhibits NF-κ B activation by LPS in human cells. Exposure of mouse serum to trypsin removes all inhibitory activity, proving that the inhibitory substance is a protein. Pre-exposure of human peripheral mononuclear cells to media containing mouse (but not human serum) downregulates the cells, indicating that the inhibitory of the mouse serum factor(s) does not need concomitant action with the activating signal. Furthermore, mouse serum inhibits the activation of human umbilical vein endothelial cells in the presence of human serum or recombinant sCD14. Biochemical characterization of the factor(s) responsible of the effect is underway in Prof. Warren's laboratory. Our unit is in charge of the study of the mechanisms of action of this factor and its capacity to modulate cell signaling in monocytes.

Pictures :

Figure 1. From bacteria to disease. During infection, host cells sense bacterial derived products (lipopolysaccharide, LPS; peptidoglycan, PGN; DNA…] via specific receptors (Toll-like receptors, TLR; peptidoglycan recognition proteins, PGRP; nucleotide-binding oligomerization domain, Nod). The activation of leukocyte results in the production of numerous mediators of innate immunity and inflammation (tumor necrosis factor, TNF; interleukin-1, IL-1; nitric oxide, NO…). Other events triggered by bacterial derived products (complement activation, coagulation) amplify the inflammatory process. An exacerbated production of inflammatory mediators contribute to organ dysfunction and eventually death. Concomitantly, the inflammation process is counter-regulated by the induction of anti-inflammatory mediators (interleukin-10, IL-10; IL-1 receptor antagonist, IL-1ra; soluble TNF receptors, sTNFR…), acute phase proteins (including LPS binding protein, LBP; soluble CD14, sCD14…), neuropeptides and hormones. These mediators together with the occurrence of apoptosis of leukocytes contribute to an altered immune status (Annane D., Bellissant E., Cavaillon J-M. Septic Shock, The Lancet, 2005, 365, 63).

Figure 2. LPS-induced intracellular signaling cascade. Following its binding to CD14, LPS interacts with MD2 / TLR4 signaling complex. Two main pathways are activated either MyD88-dependent leading to NF-κ B activation and IL-1 and TNF production, or TRAM/TICAM-2 and TRIF/TICAM-1-dependent leading to the activation IRF3 and interferon-β (IFNβ ) production. Other down-stream pathways lead to the activation of Sp1, a prerequisite for IL-10 production, while pI-3 kinase is involved in IL-1ra induction. Numerous intracellular molecules (MyD88s, Tollip, IRAK-M, SOCS-1, pI-3-kinase) and cell surface molecules (ST2, SIGIRR) down-regulate the activating cascade. During sepsis, leukocyte reprogramming is associated with some altered (grey background), or enhanced (yellow background) cellular signaling pathways that lead to the modified production of TNF, IL-1β  IL-1ra and IL-10 in response to TLR4 ligands. This cartoon illustrates our published works (Adib-Conquy et al. Am. J. Respir. Crit Care Med. 2000, 162, 1877, Adib-Conquy et al J. Leuk. Biol. 2001; 70:30; Adib-Conquy et al. Am. J. Respir. Crit Care Med. 2003, 168, 158), unpublished work and other reports (Learn et al. J. Biol. Chem. 2001; 276:20234 ; Solomon et al. J. Clin. Invest. 1998; 102:2019). (adapted from Annane D., Bellissant E., Cavaillon J-M. Septic Shock, The Lancet, 2005, 365, 63).

Keywords: Toll-like receptor, sepsis, intracellular signaling, endotoxin, innate immunity


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Cytokines et Inflammation

Responsable: Cavaillon Jean-Marc

Nous étudions les phases précoces de l'immunité innée et tout particulièrement les mécanismes d'induction des cytokines par les bactéries à Gram négatif ou positif et par leurs produits dérivés (ou "PAMPs" pour pathogen-associated molecular patterns). Alors que cette étape est indispensable pour la mise en place de la réponse anti-infectieuse, son exacerbation peut générer des effets délétères tels que ceux rencontrés lors du choc septique ou durant les syndromes de réponse inflammatoire systémique (SIRS). Par ailleurs, la réponse anti-inflammatoire qui est alors naturellement initiée peut entraîner une altération du statut immunologique (figure 1). C'est dans ce contexte que nous étudions la production des cytokines et leur implication dans diverses pathologies inflammatoires systémiques (sepsis, traumatologie, ischémie-reperfusion, mucoviscidose). La reprogrammation des leucocytes circulants, réminiscence du phénomène de tolérance aux endotoxines, pourrait être associée à la susceptibilité accrue de ces patients aux infections nosocomiales. L'analyse de la signalisation intracellulaire au sein des monocytes des patients révèle de nombreuses modifications par rapport aux cellules de sujets sains.

1- CONTRIBUTION DE LA PHAGOCYTOSE, TLR2, NOD1 ET NOD2 À LA RÉPONSE DES MACROPHAGES À STAPHYLOCOCCUS AUREUS(R.Kapetanovic, C. Fitting, M. Adib-Conquy, en collaboration avec D. Philpott, Immunité Innée & Signalisation, Inst. Pasteur)

Les toll-like récepteurs (TLR) sont impliqués dans la détection des composés microbiens. Les molécules Nod1 et Nod2 sont des capteurs intracytoplasmiques qui reconnaissent des muropeptides dérivés du peptidoglycane. Nous analysons la contribution de ces récepteurs dans la production de cytokines par des macrophages après stimulation avec des bactéries entières. À l'aide de souris KO, nous avons déterminé que la contribution de TLR4 et de TLR2 était essentielle dans l'induction du TNF et de l'IL-10 par des bactéries à Gram-négatif. En revanche, l'absence de TLR2, de TLR4 ou de TLR9 n'affecte pas la réponse aux bactéries à Gram-positif. En l'absence de TLR2, la phagocytose apparaît jouer un rôle majeur dans la production de cytokine en réponse à des germes de Staphylococcus aureus tués par la chaleur (HKSA). La transfection des macrophages murins RAW 264.7 par les formes dominantes négatives (DN) de Nod1 et de Nod2 entraîne une inhibition de l'activation de NF-κ B en réponse aux HKSA. L'interférence inattendue du DN Nod1 dans la réponse des macrophages aux bactéries à Gram-positif a été confirmée avec un agoniste de Nod2 (le muramyl dipeptide, MDP) dans des expériences de transfection de cellules HEK293T. De plus, HKSA amplifie l'expression du mRNA de Nod1 mais pas de Nod2 dans les cellules RAW 264.7. Notre étude démontre la contribution de la phagocytose pour la production de cytokine et celle de Nod2 pour la réponse de macrophage aux HKSA. Il identifie également une interaction entre Nod1 et Nod2.

2- SYNERGIE ENTRE LIGANDS DE TLR4, NOD1- ET NOD2 LORS DE LA STIMULATION DES CELLULES DENDRITIQUES ET DES MONOCYTES HUMAINS (en collaboration avec D. Philpott, Inst. Pasteur)

Le MDP initie la signalisation via Nod2. Il exerce une activité adjuvante en synergie avec l'endotoxine (lipopolysaccharide, LPS) pour induire des réponses pro-inflammatoires in vitro et in vivo. Les différents agonistes Nod1 et Nod2 stimulent les monocytes CD14+ et des cellules dendritiques immatures CD1a+ pour produire les médiateurs pro-inflammatoires. En synergie avec le LPS, les agonistes Nod1 et Nod2 stimulent la production des cytokines pro- et anti-inflammatoires (IL-1β , TNF, IL-6, IL-8, IL-10, IL-12p40) par ces sous-populations de cellules myéloïdes. De même, les agonistes Nod1 et Nod2 agissent en synergie avec de petites quantités de LPS pour induire la maturation des cellules dendritiques. Ces observations suggèrent que les ligands des Nods contribuent à l'initiation de la réponse immunitaire adaptative, en partenariat avec des ligands des molécules TLR (Fritz et al. Eur. J. Immunol., 2005, 35, 2459).

3- TOLÉRANCE AUX ENDOTOXINES (C. Fitting)

La tolérance aux endotoxines est caractérisée par une production réduite des cytokines pro-inflammatoires par les leucocytes cultivés en réponse au LPS à la suite d'une première exposition au même stimulus. Nous avons étudié la capacité de l'interféron gamma (IFNγ ) ou du granulocyte monocyte-colony stimulating factor (GM-CSF) à lever l'état de tolérance. Ces cytokines permettent dans le cas d'une tolérance induite par une faible concentration de LPS, de rétablir dans les monocytes l'activation d'IRAK-1, son association avec MyD88, l'activation de NFκ B en réponse au LPS, et en final la production de TNF (Adib-Conquy & Cavaillon, J. Biol. Chem. 2002, 277, 27927).

Plus récemment, nous avons étudié un modèle ex vivo de tolérance aux endotoxines. Nous avons montré que la tolérance aux endotoxines est compartimentée et que les cellules bronchoalvéolaires sont moins sujettes à développer une tolérance que les cellules péritonéales, spléniques ou de moelle osseuse (Fitting et al. J. Infect. Dis. 2004, 189, 1295). Nous avons également montré que la "tolérance croisée" avec HKSA n'est pas parallèle à la tolérance observée avec le LPS. Nous comparons maintenant le phénomène de tolérance croisée entre des LPS conventionnels d'Escherichia coli qui contiennent des traces de contaminants en lipoprotéine, agissant en tant que ligands TLR2, et un LPS de E. coli hautement purifié (ligand TLR4) Le LPS conventionnel tolérise les monocytes humains pour une autre stimulation par lui-même et également par les LPS purifiés. En revanche, les LPS purifiés ont peu ou pas de capacité à toleriser les monocytes à une stimulation par le LPS conventionnel. Le prétraitement par les LPS conventionnels tolérise des cellules à une stimulation par un ligand spécifique de TLR2 (Pam3CysSK4), alors que les LPS purifiés amplifient la réponse ultérieure des cellules à une stimulation par le ligand TLR2.

4. MODULATION DES PROPRIÉTÉS DE L' INTERLEUKINE-10 PAR L' ADHERENCE (A-F. Petit-Bertron, M. Adib-Conquy, en collaboration avec T. Pedron et la plate forme 2 "puces à ADN", Institut Pasteur)

L'adhérence des monocytes influence les propriétés immunomodulatrices de l'IL-10 sur la production de TNF, l'hème oxygenase-1 et l'activation de NF-κB (Adib-Conquy et al. Int. Immunol. 1999, 11, 689; Petit-Bertron et al. J. Leuk. Biol. 2003, 73, 145). L'influence de l'adhérence et de l'IL-10 a été étudiée par macroarray sur l'expression de 1050 gènes. Seize gènes sont régulés différemment par l'IL-10 selon que les monocytes sont adhérents ou non. Certains résultats ont été confirmés par RT-PCR ou après analyse des protéines. Dans les cellules adhérentes, l'IL-10 inhibe fortement l'expression de la coproporphyrinogène oxidase (enzyme impliquée dans la biosynthèse de l'hème), ce qui pourrait être un des mécanismes par lesquels l'IL-10 contribue à l'anémie. En absence d'adhérence, l'IL-10 inhibe l'expression des gènes codant pour SOCS1, 2 et 3, ce qui pourrait contribuer à ses effets pro-inflammatoires observés dans ces conditions de culture. Enfin, en absence d'adhérence, l'IL-10 induit l'expression de plusieurs métalloprotéinases, molécules trouvées dans la circulation sanguine lors d'états inflammatoires. Ces observations illustrent les effets ambivalents de l'IL-10.

5- LA RÉPONSE DES LEUCOCYTES CHEZ DES PATIENTS PRÉSENTANT UNE PATHOLOGIE INFLAMMATOIRE SÉVÈRE

A/ Bases moléculaires de la reprogrammation leucocytaire au cours de l'inflammation systémique (M. Adib-Conquy, en collaboration avec le Dr. Christophe Adrie, Hôpital Delafontaine, Saint-Denis, et Rudi Beyaert, Ghent University, Belgique).

Depuis la découverte au laboratoire (Muñoz et al. J. Clin. Invest. 1991, 88, 1747) de l'altération de la production de cytokines ex vivo par les monocytes de sujets sepsis, nous nous sommes intéressés au processus d'immunodépression associé au SIRS. Nous avons décrit un phénomène semblable chez des patients après chirurgie (Cabié et al. Cytokine 1992, 4, 576), ou chez des patients réanimés après un arrêt cardiaque (Adrie et al. Circulation 2002, 106, 562). Nous avons étendu et précisé cette observation au niveau des neutrophiles (Marie et al. Blood 1998, 91, 3439) et des lymphocytes T (Muret et al. Shock 2000, 13, 169). Nous avons analysé les mécanismes moléculaires intracellulaires qui président à l'immunodépression observée chez les patients SIRS. Une diminution de la translocation du facteur nucléaire-κB (NFκ B), un déséquilibre entre les formes active (p65p50) et inactive (p50p50), et une très faible expression cytoplasmique de son inhibiteur (IκBα), ont été observés chez les patients sepsis (Adib-Conquy et al. Am. J. Respir. Crit Care Med. 2000, 162, 1877). La perturbation de l'expression de NF-κB perdure plus de 10 jours chez des patients de traumatologie (Adib-Conquy et al. J. Leuk. Biol. 2001, 70, 30). Par contre, la signalisation via TLR4 aboutissant à la production d'IL-10 (activation de la p38 MAPK et du facteur de transcription Sp-1) est amplifiée dans les cellules de sujets SIRS (Adib-Conquy et al. Am. J. Respir. Crit Care Med. 2003, 168, 158).

Plus récemment, nous avons montré chez les patients septiques que la production de TNF en réponse au Pam3CysSK4, un ligand spécifique de TLR2 était également réduite, alors que la réponse à des germes tués de E. coli, de S. aureus ou au muramyl dipeptide (MDP) était identique à celle obtenue avec des monocytes de sujets sains. Au cours du sepsis, l'expression monocytaire de l'ARNm de Nod1 et de Nod2 n'était pas modifiée. A l'inverse, la production d'IL-10 en réponse au LPS et à Pam3CysSK4 était augmentée tandis que celle induite par les bactéries entières était inchangée. Nous avons étudié différentes molécules qui régulent négativement la signalisation dépendante des récepteurs TLR. C'est ainsi que dans les monocytes des patients septiques, l'analyse par RT-PCR, n'a pas révélé de modification des ARNm de Tollip et de SOCS1. Par contre, nous avons montré une expression accrue des ARNm de SIGIRR et de MyD88s (figure 2), confirmée par PCR quantitative en temps réel. Pour étudier le SIRS d'origine non-infectieuse, nous avons inclus un groupe de patients réanimés après un arrêt cardiaque. Chez ces derniers, la production de TNF par leurs monocytes est altérée en réponse au LPS, alors qu'il n'en est pas de même en réponse au Pam3CysSK4 et aux germes entiers. A l'inverse de ce qui fut observé chez les patients sepsis, la production ex vivo d'IL-10 par les monocytes n'est pas accrue. Si l'augmentation de l'expression des ARNm de SIGIRR est également observée, ce n'était pas le cas de MyD88s. Il apparaît donc que l'altération de la réponse des monocytes à différents agonistes bactériens chez les sujets SIRS diffère selon la présence ou non d'une infection. En définitive, les termes "anergie", "immunodépression", ou "paralysie immunitaire" sont très excessifs et sans doute l'expression "reprogrammation leucocytaire" définit au mieux ce phénomène.

Dans un modèle murin de choc hémorragique réanimé, nous avons démontré que les ligands du β 2-adrenoceptor contribuent à la "désactivation" observée ex vivo au niveau des leucocytes sanguins en réponse au LPS (Asehnoune et al. soumis).

B/ Production de MIF (V. Maxime, C. Fitting, en collaboration avec le Prof. D. Annane, Hôp. Poincaré, Garches)

Le "macrophage migration inhibitory factor" (MIF) est une cytokine inflammatoire qui s'oppose aux effets des glucocorticoïdes. Nous avons analysé la production de MIF in vitro par les leucocytes sanguins de sujets normaux et de patients sepsis, en réponse à différents activateurs. Les cellules mononucléées du sang périphérique (PBMC) des patients sepsis contiennent des taux intracellulaires de MIF plus élevés que les cellules de sujets sains. Mises en culture, les PBMC de patients sepsis libèrent spontanément plus de MIF que les cellules de sujets sains ainsi qu'en réponse à certains stimuli. Ainsi, le MIF apparaît comme la première cytokine pro-inflammatoire décrite dont la libération ex vivo par les cellules circulantes est accrue au cours du sepsis. Le traitement des patients en choc septique par les glucocorticoïdes normalise la libération de MIF par leurs leucocytes (Maxime et al. J. Infect. Dis. 2005, 191, 138).

C/ Cytokines et mucoviscidose (A-F. Petit-Bertron, M. Adib-Conquy, C. Fitting. En collaboration avec T. Pedron, Inst. Pasteur, et J. Jacquot, O. Tabary, H. Corvol et le Prof. A. Clément, Hôp. Trousseau, Paris; financé par l'Association Vaincre la Mucoviscidose)

Nous étudions les neutrophiles (PMN) isolés du liquide d'expectoration d'enfants souffrant de mucoviscidose (CF). Ceux-ci présentent une production spontanée ex vivo très élevée d'IL-8 comparativement aux PMN sanguins. Cette production ne peut être ni accrue par le LPS, ni inhibée par la dexamethasone, contrairement à ce qui est observé avec les neutrophiles circulants (Corvol et al. Am. J. Physiol. 2003, 284, L997). De même, l'IL-10 qui inhibe la production d'IL-8 par les PMN sanguins de sujets sains et CF stimulés par des produits bactériens, est sans effet sur la production d'IL-8 par les PMN dérivés des liquides d'expectoration. Chez ces patients, l'expression de TLR2 est significativement réduite à la surface des PMN sanguins, tandis que l'expression de TLR4 est significativement accrue à la surface des PMN d'expectoration. L'expression de CD64, (récepteur Fcγ type I), marqueur d'activation, est fortement accrue à la surface des PMN circulants des patients CF.

Une analyse comparative par microarray de PMN dérivés du liquide d'expectoration et du sang des patients CF et du sang de sujets sains a été effectuée. L'expression de 42 gènes dans les PMN sanguins des patients CF et de 56 gènes dans les PMN de sujets sains (vingt en commun) était augmentée par rapport à leur expression respective dans les PMN de sujets sains. L'expression de 25 gènes dans les PMN sanguins des patients de CF et de 16 gènes dans les PMN des crachats (douze en commun) était réduite par rapport à leur expression respective dans les PMN de sujets sains. Signalons l'amplification de nombreux gènes de chémokines, de facteurs de croissance et de gènes de récepteurs de cytokines. Il est également intéressant de signaler l'augmentation de l'expression de 6 gènes sous le contrôle de l'IFNγ dans les PMN de sang ou de crachat de patients CF.

Les neutrophiles issus des voies aériennes de patients CF, en interaction avec des cellules épithéliales respiratoires CF présentent une durée de vie significativement augmentée comparativement aux neutrophiles sanguins des mêmes patients et aux neutrophiles collectés chez des sujets sains (réduction de l'apoptose). Par ailleurs, l'interaction entre neutrophiles de patients CF et cellules épithéliales bronchiques CF induit une amplification de la production de cytokines pro-inflammatoires (IL-6 et IL-8), comparativement à des co-cultures de neutrophiles de sujets sains avec des cellules épithéliales bronchiques normales (Tabary et al. Am J Physiol. Lung Cell Mol. Physiol, in press).

6- POURQUOI LES SOURIS SONT-ELLES SI RESISTANTES A L'ENDOTOXINE ? (C. Fitting, M. Adib-Conquy, en collaboration avec Shaw Warren, Boston Mass. Gen. Hosp.; financé par le NIH)

Les souris sont souvent employées en tant que modèle animal pour le sepsis et le choc endotoxinique. Cependant, les souris sont 105 fois plus résistantes à l'endotoxine que les humains. Nous étudions la raison d'une telle différence. Nous avons prouvé que la différence était due à un facteur soluble présent dans le sérum de souris. Nous avons montré que, contrairement au sérum humain ou au sérum de veau foetal, le sérum de souris empêchait la production de TNF par les monocytes humains, et par les macrophage murins péritonéaux ou dérivés de la moelle osseuse en réponse à de nombreux PAMPs (endotoxine, lipoprotéine, peptidoglycan-associed lipoprotein, Pam3CysSK4, ADN bactérien, toxine du syndrome de choc toxique), aux bactéries entières tuées par chaleur, ou au zymosan. Le sérum de souris inhibe l'activation de NF-κ B induite par le LPS. Le traitement du sérum de souris par la trypsine enlève toute l'activité inhibitrice, montrant que le substance inhibitrice est une protéine. La pré-exposition des cellules mononucléés périphériques humaines au sérum de souris (mais non au sérum humain) inhibe l'activation ultérieure des cellules, indiquant que l'inhibiteur présent dans le sérum de souris ne nécessite pas une action concomitante avec le signal de d'activation. Par ailleurs, le sérum de souris empêche l'activation des cellules endothéliales de veine ombilicale humaine en présence du sérum humain ou de sCD14. La caractérisation biochimique du (des) facteur(s) responsable(s) de l'effet est en cours dans le laboratoire du Prof. Warren. Notre unité est en charge de l'analyse des mécanismes de l'action ce facteur et de sa capacité à moduler la signalisation intracellulaire dans les monocytes.

Légendes des photos :

Figure 1. De la bactérie à la maladie. Au cours des infections, les cellules de l'hôte sont activées par les produits bactériens (LPS: lipopolysaccharide; PGN: peptidoglycane; ADN…) via des récepteurs spécifiques (TLR: Toll-like receptors; PGRP: peptidoglycan recognition proteins; Nod: nucleotide-binding oligomerization domain). Cette activation aboutit à la production de nombreux médiateurs de l'immunité innée et de l'inflammation (TNF: tumor necrosis factor; IL-1: interleukin-1; NO: monoxyde d'azote…). D'autres évènements, également actives par les produits bactériens (activation du complément, activation de la coagulation), amplifient le processus inflammatoire. La production exacerbée des médiateurs inflammatoires contribue à la défaillance organique et éventuellement au décès. De façon concomitante, l'inflammation est régulée par la production de médiateurs anti-inflammatoires (IL-10; IL-1Ra: interleukin-1 receptor antagonist; sTNFR: soluble TNF receptors…), des protéines de la phase aiguë de l'inflammation (LBP: LPS binding protein; sCD14: soluble CD14…), des neuromédiateurs et des hormones. Ces médiateurs ainsi que l'existence de phénomène d'apoptose des leucocytes contribuent à altérer le statut immunologique (Annane, Bellisant, Cavaillon, The Lancet, 2005, 365, 63)

Figure 2. Schéma des voies de signalisation induites par les LPS. Après son interaction avec son récepteur (le complexe CD14/MD2/TLR4) le LPS initie deux voie principales de signalisation dépendante ou indépendante de MyD88. Au cours du sepsis, la reprogrammation leucocytaire est associée à l'altération de la voie NF-κ B (sur fond gris), à l'amplification d'autres voies (Sp1) et à l'augmentation de molécules impliquées dans la régulation négative des voies TLR4 (SIGIRR, MyD88s) (sur fond jaune). Ce schéma tient compte de nos travaux (Adib-Conquy et al. Am. J. Respir. Crit Care Med. 2000, 162, 1877, Adib-Conquy et al J. Leuk. Biol. 2001; 70:30; Adib-Conquy et al. Am. J. Respir. Crit Care Med. 2003, 168, 158) ainsi que des travaux rapportés dans la littérature (Learn et al. J. Biol. Chem. 2001; 276:20234 ; Solomon et al. J. Clin. Invest. 1998; 102:2019). (adapté de Annane, Bellisant, Cavaillon, The Lancet, 2005, 365, 63).

Mots-clés: Toll-like receptor, sepsis, signalisation intracellulaire, endotoxine, immunité innée


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr