Unit: Cell signaling and activation

Director: Israël Alain

The laboratory is involved in the study of two signaling pathways characterized by inducible proteolysis events that lead to the nuclear translocation of transcription factors. The first project deals with the NF-κB family of transcription factors, whose activity is controled by cytoplasmic retention through inhibitory molecules (IκB's) which get degraded in response to multiple signals. We have pursued our characterization of the events associated in T cells with TCR-mediated NF-κB activation. Another project involves the functional characterization of the protein NRP/optineurin, which shows very strong homologies with NEMO, the core element of the NF-κB signaling cascade.

The second signaling cascade we study centers around the Notch receptor whose signaling requires a series of three proteolytic steps which lead to the nuclear translocation of the intracellular part of the receptor, which behaves as a transcriptional co-activator. We have pursued 3 directions of research: first we undertook the functional characterization of a series of ubiquitin-ligases known to be involved in the early steps of the pathway. Then we have set up a genetic screen to identify new components of the γ-secretase activity, responsible for the last proteolysis step that affects the receptor. Finally we have pursued the study of the cell-autonomous function of the ligands of the Notch receptor.

TCR-mediated NF-κB activation (R. Weil, C Lobry, T. Lopez)

Our results allowed us to identify the first phosphorylation event by the IKK kinase complex which leads to the negative regulation of the NF-κB cascade. IKK is the central element of the cascade, containing 2 kinase (IKKα and IKKβ) and a regulatory subunit (NEMO/IKKγ). IKK normally phosphorylates the NF-κB inhibitors, leading to their degradation and to the nuclear transport of the NF-κB subunits. We have shown that following TCR stimulation of T cells, the IKK complex induces the phosphorylation of the Bcl10 protein, leading to its degradation and to the interruption of NF-κB activation. We have also identifed the phosphorylation sites as well as the ubiquitin-ligase involved in this degradation event.

Study of the NRP/optineurin protein (R. Weil, E. Laplantine, T. Lopez)

Despite strong homologies with the NEMO protein, NRP is not involved in the NF-κB signaling cascade, at least by the commonly used stimuli. We have demonstrated that it is associated (probably indirectly) with the Golgi apparatus, together with 2 unidentified kinases, and that it seems to be involved in Golgi to plasma membrane transport. We are now trying through genetic and biochemical approaches to better understand its function, and maybe to explain why mutations in the optineurin gene are linked to familial forms of primary open-angle glaucoma.

The Notch signaling cascade (F. Logeat, C. Brou, N. Gupta, E. Six, A. Olry, P. Chastagner, D. Ndiaye)

We have proposed a model according to which the activation of the Notch receptor involves a series of three proteolytic steps. The first cleavage is due to a furin-like convertase, and is required for surface expression of a functional Notch receptor. A second cleavage step takes place in the extracellular region of the receptor and involves the membrane metalloprotease TACE. The third and last cleavage is due to an activity called γ-secretase and results in the liberation of the intracellular region of the receptor, which is then transported to the nucleus where it behaves as a transcriptional coactivator.

One of our projects involves identifying new components or regulators of the γ-secretase activity, responsible for the last cleavage that affects Notch following ligand binding. For this we have designed a genetic screen based on the generation of cellular mutants which have lost γ-secretase activity. Complementation of these mutants with a cDNA libray will allow us to identify the affected gene. We have validated this approach by identifying cellular clones mutated in nicastrin, one of the 4 known components of the γ-secretase complex, and we are currently analyzing other types of mutants.

The second project aims at understanding the function of certain ubiquitin-ligases involved (on the basis of genetic approaches in invertebrates) in the Notch pathway, but whose actual function remains unknown. We focussed on the proteins Deltex (dtx) and Itch/AIP4, which seem to behave respectively as a positive and a negative regulator of the Notch pathway. We have shown that AIP4 is responsible for dtx degradation, through atypical polyubiquitin chains that lead to lysosomal degradation. We now try to understand the relationships that exist between these 2 proteins and the Notch receptor.

Finally we are dissecting the cell-autonomous function of the Notch ligands. The study of Delta1, one of these ligands, allowed us to show that this molecule, in a manner reminiscent of the Notch receptor, undergoes a series of cleavages resulting in the liberation of the intracelular region, which is partially found in the nucleus. We therefore study the events that regulate these cleavages, in particular the ubiquitination steps, as well as the consequences of the interactions between Delta1 and scaffolding proteins involved in cellular adhesion and motility. In parallel we analyze the transcriptome of cells that express the Delta1 molecule or mutants of it.

Keywords: Signalisation, phosphorylation, proteolysis, ubiquitination, NF-kappaB, Notch


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Signalisation moléculaire et Activation cellulaire

Responsable: Israël Alain

Les projets du laboratoire portent sur l'étude de deux systèmes de signalisation caractérisés par des événements inductibles de protéolyse, aboutissant au transport nucléaire de facteurs de transcription. Un premier projet concerne la famille de facteurs de transcription rel/NF-κB, dont l'activité est contrôlée par des mécanismes de rétention cytoplasmique impliquant des molécules inhibitrices (appelées IκB) dont la dégradation est induite par une variété de signaux. Nous avons poursuivi la caractérisation des événements qui accompagnent l'activation de NF-κB dans les cellules T par la voie du TCR. Un second projet porte sur la caractérisation fonctionnelle de la protéine NRP/optineurine, qui présente des homologies très fortes avec la protéine NEMO, l'élément central de la voie d'activation NF-κB.

La seconde voie de signalisation que nous étudions est centrée sur le récepteur Notch, qui transmet un signal à la suite de 3 étapes de protéolyse et du transport nucléaire de sa région intracellulaire qui se comporte alors comme un co-activateur transcriptionnel. Nos efforts ont porté dans 3 directions : nous avons d'une part poursuivi la caractérisation fonctionnelle d'une série d'ubiquitine-ligases impliquées dans les étapes précoces de cette voie. Puis nous avons mis au point un crible génétique pour identifier de nouveaux éléments de l'activité dite γ-secrétase, responsable de la troisième étape de coupure du récepteur. Finalement nous avons poursuivi l'étude de la fonction cellulaire-autonome des ligands du récepteur Notch.

Activation de NF-κB par la voie du TCR (R. Weil, C Lobry, T. Lopez)

Nos résultats nous ont permis d'identifier le premier substrat dont la phosphorylation par le complexe de kinases IKK mène à une régulation négative de la voie NF-κB. Le complexe IKK est l'élément central de cette voie et est formé de deux kinases (IKKα et IKKβ) et d'une sous-unité régulatrice (NEMO/IKKγ). La fonction principale d'IKK est de phosphoryler les inhibiteurs de NF-κB, amenant leur dégradation et la libération des sous-unités NF-κB. Nous avons montré que dans le contexte de la stimulation des cellules T par le TCR, le complexe IKK induit la phosphorylation de la protéine Bcl10, amenant ainsi sa dégradation et l'interruption de la signalisation NF-κB. Nous avons aussi identifié les sites de phosphorylation ainsi que l'ubiquitine ligase impliqués dans cette dégradation.

Etude de la protéine NRP/optineurine (R. Weil, E. Laplantine, T. Lopez)

Bien que présentant des homologies très fortes avec la protéine NEMO, la protéine NRP n'est pas impliquée dans la voie de signalisation NF-kB. Nous avons montré qu'il s'agissait d'une protéine associée (probablement indirectement) à l'appareil de Golgi, liée à deux kinases non identifiées, et qui semble impliquée dans le trafic entre le Golgi et la membrane plasmique. Nous tentons par des approches génétiques et biochimiques de mieux comprendre sa fonction, et peut-être d'expliquer pourquoi des mutations dans ce gène sont liées à certaines formes familiales de glaucome.

La voie de signalisation Notch (F. Logeat, C. Brou, N. Gupta, A. Olry, S. Heuss, P. Chastagner, D. Ndiaye)

Nous avons proposé un modèle selon lequel l'activation du récepteur Notch implique 3 étapes de maturation protéolytique. La première coupure est dûe à la furine et est nécessaire à l'expression à la membrane d'un récepteur fonctionnel. Une seconde étape de coupure, nécessaire à l'activation, a lieu dans la région extracellulaire de Notch et est dûe à la métalloprotéase TACE. L'étape finale est dûe à une activité nommée γ-secrétase, et aboutit à la libération de la région intracellulaire du récepteur qui est transportée dans le noyau où elle se comporte comme un co-activateur transcriptionnel.

Un de nos projets consiste à caractériser plus en détail l'étape de coupure par la γ-secrétase, et en particulier les divers éléments, cellulaires et moléculaires, qui la contrôlent. Pour ce faire nous avons mis en place un crible génétique consistant à générer des mutants cellulaires ayant perdu cette activité, et à les complémenter par des banques d'ADNc pour identifier le gène muté. Nous avons validé cette approche en clonant ainsi une des quatre protéines connues pour être impliquée dans cette activité, et nous étudions actuellement de nouveaux mutants.

Le second projet vise à comprendre la fonction d'un certain nombre d'ubiquitine-ligases impliquées (par des approches génétiques chez les invertébrés) dans la voie Notch, mais dont la fonction réelle est inconnue. Nous nous sommes focalisés sur les protéines deltex (dtx) et Itch/AIP4, qui semblent être respectivement des régulateurs positif et négatif de la voie Notch. Nous avons ainsi montré que AIP4 est responsable de la dégradation de dtx, par l'intermédiaire de chaines de polyubiquitine atypiques menant à la dégradation dans les lysosomes. Nous tentons actuellement de déterminer quelles interactions existent entre ces 2 protéines et le récepteur Notch lui-même.

Finalement nous disséquons la fonction cellulaire autonome des ligands de Notch. L'étude de Delta1, l'un de ces ligands, a montré que cette molécule subissait comme le récepteur Notch deux clivages libérant la région intracellulaire, dont une partie était retrouvée dans le noyau. Nous étudions d'une part les événements qui régulent ce clivage, et en particulier les étapes d'ubiquitination, ainsi que les conséquences des interactions entre la région intracellulaire de Delta1 et des protéines d'échafaudage impliquées dans la mobilité et l'adhésion cellulaire. D'autre part nous analysons le transcriptome de cellules exprimant ou non la molécule Delta1 ou des formes mutées de celle-ci.

Mots-clés: Signalisation, phosphorylation, protéolyse, ubiquitination, NF-kappaB, Notch


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr