Unit: Regulation of Retroviral Infections

Director: Françoise BARRE-SINOUSSI

Our Unit is conducting research on mechanisms involved in innate or induced regulations of HIV/SIV infections within the host and/or host cells and tissues.

I - Regulation of HIV-1 infection at the level of the placenta barrier. Group leader: Elisabeth MENU

Our studies aim to investigate the mechanisms involved in the efficient control of in utero mother-to-child transmission (MTCT) of HIV-1. We have shown that placental trophoblast cells are not permissive to infection with cell-free virus and that the restriction occurs at the early steps of the viral replication cycle before the integration. This restriction is also observed at the level of the placental tissue, according to the lack of detection of productive infection in the absence of any exogenous activation. We are actually studying the mechanisms and the factors involved in this restriction. We have also shown that the passage of the virus through the trophoblast barrier after cell-to-cell infection is regulated by the cytokines of the placental environment, in particular the TNF-α whose expression is increased during co-infections. These findings might explain the increased risk of MTCT observed in a multicentric study, performed in collaboration with the " Centre Pasteur " of Cameroon and the PHPT ("Perinatal HIV Prevention Trial") group in Thailand. In this study, we found that the efficiency of MTCT preventive antiretroviral treatment might be partially explained by the impact of the therapy on placental cytokine expression. These observations are further supported by data showing that AZT is reducing the level of expression of placental TNF-αin vitro.

Overall, our research is contributing to a better understanding of multiple parameters involved in innate and/or therapeutic control of HIV-1 MTCT and, consequently, to the development and evaluation of new therapeutic strategies to prevent HIV-1 MTCT. For example, we are now studying the efficacy of viral entry inhibitors on cell-to-cell infection at the level of the placental barrier in vitro.

II - Regulation of HIV-1 replication and of the survival of infected thymocytes within the thymic environment. Group leader: Nicole ISRAEL.

Defects in both intrathymic and extrathymic pathways have been proposed to explain the progressive decline of CD4+ T cells in HIV-1 infection. Our study aims to identify mechanisms that impact HIV-1 infection and survival of infected cells within the thymic environment. We previously demonstrated that two cytokines (IL-7 and TNF) are critical for HIV-1 replication and survival of thymic target cells in vitro and that IL-7 favors X4 HIV-1 replication over R5 viruses in mature thymocytes and protects them from apoptosis. Immature thymocytes might also participate to the viral spreading in the context of an inflammatory TNF response, but they remain sensitive to virus-induced apoptosis, and consequently, their infection might contribute to a defect in T cell renewal. According to these findings, we studied the beneficial or adverse effects of IL7 therapy in macaques infected by SIV. We recently demonstrated that IL-7 is inducing a renewal of T cells in the animals despite its impact on X4-HIV-1 replication and on the survival of infected thymocytes. Our data are encouraging immunotherapy trials in humans with IL-7.

Recently, we also studied whether an alteration of thymic function is responsible or not for the low CD4+ T cell regeneration observed in some patients with undetectable viral load under antiretroviral therapy, presenting a high frequency of X4-HIV-1. We found that the sustained CD4+ lymphopenia observed in these patients is related to a persisting high level of T cell activation and of apoptosis rather to a defect in thymic function. These findings raise the question of the implication of X4-Gp120 on the persistent T cell activation.

Finally, we also showed recently that HIV-1, in particular R5 viruses are able to replicate at high level in thymic dendritic cells (DC). In addition, we found that HIV-1 is inducing thymic DC death as well as modifications of their phenotypes that might impact their functions, in particular in terms of negative selection of T cells.

III- Early host determinants of protection against AIDS in African Green Monkeys. Group leader: Michaela C.MULLER-TRUTWIN.

We are studying the infection by a simian lentivirus (SIV) in African Green monkeys (AGM) as a model for natural protection against AIDS. Our previous data revealed a high replication of SIVagm in these monkeys, both in blood and the intestine, indicating that virus replication is necessary but not sufficient to induce CD4 T cell depletion. In the same line, data of the literature show that the CD4 T cell depletion in HIV-infected humans is only indirectly associated with viral load, but directly with T cell activation levels. We have shown that chronically infected AGMs do not show increased T cell activation despite high viremia levels. By performing a kinetic study starting from day 1 post-infection in blood and lymph nodes, we demonstrate that AGMs are able to control T cell activation very early on after infection. This control is associated with a preferential induction of anti-inflammatory cytokines (TGF-β, IL-10) during the first week post-infection. The increase of TGF-β correlates with an early augmentation of FoxP3 expression and of CD25+ T cell frequencies in vivo. These findings indicate that regulatory CD25+ T cells might play a role in the control of T cell activation. Early interactions between dendritic cells and T cells might be determinant for these profiles. We are thus presently investigating the maturation profiles and function of dendritic cells and T lymphocytes during SIVagm infection ex vivo. These studies are conducted using classical (flow cytometry, real time PCR...) and global approaches (microarrays).

IV - Factors of natural resistance to HIV-1 infection. Group leader: Gianfranco PANCINO.

Our research aims to identify host factors involved in the control of HIV-1 infection. In collaboration with the Institut Pasteur of Hô Chi Minh City (Vietnam), Cambodia and Bangui (CAR), we studied the mechanisms of resistance to infection in intravenous drug users (IDU) or partners of HIV-1+ individuals who, despite repeated exposures to HIV-1, are not infected (exposed uninfected, EU). We previously reported a decreased susceptibility of EU peripheral blood mononuclear cells to in vitro infection by HIV-1 compared to control individuals. This relative resistance to infection was associated either to an inhibitory activity of CD8 T cells or to restrictions of viral replication in EU CD4 T lymphocytes. We identified three distinct restriction phenotypes that affect HIV-1 entry or post-entry steps of the viral replication cycle. Using an in vitro model for studying HIV-1 replication in primary macrophages, we also demonstrated that macrophage activation through FcγR, mimicking the stimulation by immune complexes, suppresses HIV-1 replication by blocking viral integration into the host genome. FcγR-mediated inhibition also affects other lentiviruses, including HIV-2 and SIV. In the context of these studies, we developed a bioluminescence imaging method allowing real-time quantification of HIV-1 gene expression in infected primary single living cells, in collaboration with the Dynamic Imaging Platform (Figure).

Our present work aims to identify the molecular mechanisms responsible for the restriction of viral replication observed in EU CD4 T cells as well as in activated macrophages. In parallel, we are studying the mechanisms of control of HIV-1 replication in individuals who do not have detectable plasma viral load, in spite of being infected for more than 10 years (HIV-controllers). Altogether these studies might contribute to the identification of new anti-HIV mechanisms and to new therapeutic and vaccine strategies.

V - Regulations of HIV infection by Innate Immunity. Group leader: Daniel SCOTT-ALGARA.

We are studying the role of the innate immunity, in particularly NK cells, in the control of HIV infection. In collaboration with the Institut Pasteur of Ho Chi Minh city, Vietnam and with G. Pancino's team, we previously reported an enhanced NK cell cytotoxic and cytokine in a cohort of Vietnamese intravascular drug users, which remained uninfected by HIV despite their high-risk exposure (EU). We are now analyzing the expression of NK cell markers that may characterize NK cell activation in EUs compared to HIV seronegative individuals and to HIV+ individuals in Vietnam using flow cytometry analysis and real time PCR (collaboration with P. Paul, Marseille). Our results demonstrate that NK cell subsets bearing particular activating and inhibitory receptors are abnormally elevated in some EU, suggesting a selective expansion of NK cell subsets that might represent an advantage for NK cells in better resolving early HIV infection in EU. We are now further investigating the impact of the cross talk between NK cells and dendritic cells (or macrophages) on the expansion of NK cell subsets to gain insights on the role of NK cells in controlling viral spreading and/or disease progression.

Photo

Real-time quantification of HIV-1 gene expression in infected single living cells.

A. Bioluminescent image superimposed with the bright field image showing photon emission of a macrophage after infection with HIV-1 particles bearing the luciferase gene. B. Real-Time imaging (up) and quantification (down) of rescue of viral gene expression in a latently infected primary CD4+ T cell after PHA stimulation (1, blue). HIV-1 replication in a pre-activated CD4+ T cell already emitting photons before stimulation (2, green).

Keywords: HIV/SIV, AIDS, African Green Monkey model, innate regulation, T cell activation, T cell regeneration, restriction factors


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Biologie des Rétrovirus

Responsable: Françoise BARRE-SINOUSSI

L'unité se consacre à la recherche de mécanismes impliqués dans la régulation innée ou induite des infections VIH/SIV chez l'hôte et/ou au niveau cellulaire et tissulaire chez l'hôte.

I - Régulation de l'infection VIH-1 au niveau d ‘une barrière cellulaire : le placenta. Responsable : Elisabeth MENU

Nos études visent à appréhender les mécanismes impliqués dans le contrôle de la transmission mère-enfant (TME) in utero du VIH-1. Nous avons montré que les cellules trophoblastiques placentaires ne sont pas permissives à l'infection par des virions libres, à cause d'un blocage précoce du cycle viral avant l'intégration du virus dans le génome cellulaire. Cette restriction cellulaire est également observée au niveau du tissu placentaire, comme l'indique l'absence d'infection productive détectable sans activation exogène. Nous étudions actuellement les mécanismes et les facteurs impliqués dans cette restriction. Nous avons également montré que le passage de virus au travers de la barrière trophoblastique est régulé par des cytokines présentes dans l'environnement placentaire, notamment le TNF-α dont l'expression est augmentée lors de co-infections. Ces observations pourraient expliquer le risque accru de TME observé dans le cadre d'une étude multicentrique, réalisée en collaboration avec le Centre Pasteur du Cameroun et l'équipe PHPT ("Perinatal HIV Prevention Trial") en Thaïlande. Lors de cette même étude, nous montrons que l'efficacité des traitements antirétroviraux préventifs de la TME pourrait en partie s'expliquer par leur action sur les profils de cytokines placentaires. Nos études in vitro consolident d'ailleurs ces observations puisque l'AZT diminue le niveau d'expression du TNF-α placentaire.

Ces études permettent de mieux comprendre les paramètres impliqués dans le contrôle de la TME du VIH-1 et de contribuer au développement et à l'évaluation de nouvelles stratégies thérapeutiques d'intervention en termes de prévention de la TME. Nous étudions dans ce cadre, l'inhibition de l'infection cellule à cellule au niveau de la barrière placentaire in vitro par des inhibiteurs d'entrée.

II -Régulation de la réplication du VIH-1 et de la survie des thymocytes infectés au sein de l'environnement thymique. Responsable : Nicole ISRAEL

La disparition des cellules T CD4+, observée lors de l'infection VIH-1, est associée à des altérations extra et intra-thymique. Nos recherches visent à identifier les mécanismes impliqués dans l'infection et la survie de cellules infectées au sein de l'environnement thymique. Nous avions précédemment démontré que deux cytokines (IL-7 et TNF) sont essentielles pour la réplication du virus et la survie de thymocytes infectés in vitro et que l'IL-7 favorise la réplication des virus X4 dans les thymocytes matures et les protège de l'apoptose. Les thymocytes immatures infectés pourraient également participer à la propagation du VIH-1 dans un contexte inflammatoire (en présence de TNF), mais ils restent sensibles à l'apoptose viro-induite et leur infection pourrait donc contribuer à un défaut de régénération des cellules T. Ces données nous ont conduites à étudier l'effet bénéfique ou délétère d'un traitement IL-7 chez des macaques infectés par du SIV in vivo, traités ou non par des antirétroviraux (ARV). Nous montrons ainsi que, malgré son impact sur la réplication des virus X4 et sur la survie des cellules infectées, l'IL-7 induit un renouvellement des cellules T chez l'animal, ce qui plaide en faveur de l'utilisation de cette cytokine en thérapeutique chez l'homme. Nous avons également abordé l'étude de l'impact de l'atteinte thymique chez certains patients sous anti-rétroviraux, en succès virologique, qui présentent une fréquence élevée de virus X4 associée à un défaut de restauration de cellules T-CD4+ sous traitement. Nous montrons que la lymphopénie T-CD4+ persistante chez ces patients est plutôt liée au maintien de niveaux élevés d'activation et d'apoptose lymphocytaire T qu'à un défaut de leur fonction thymique, ce qui soulève la question du rôle éventuel de la gp120 des virus X4 dans l'hyperactivation lymphocytaire T observée chez ces patients sous traitement.

Enfin, nous montrons récemment que le VIH-1, en particulier les virus R5 se répliquent à haut niveau dans les cellules dendritiques (DC) thymiques et que l'infection induit une déplétion et modifie le phénotype des DC thymiques. L'infection pourrait donc provoquer des modifications fonctionnelles des DC thymiques, en particulier en termes de sélection négative des cellules T.

III- Déterminants précoces de la protection du singe vert d'Afrique. Responsable : Michaela C. MULLER-TRUTWIN.

L'infection par un lentivirus simien (SIV) chez le singe vert d'Afrique (AGM) constitue un modèle d'étude de protection naturelle contre le SIDA. Nous avons précédemment décrit des niveaux très élevés d'ARN viral dans le sang et les tissus intestinaux, ce qui suggère que la réplication virale est certes nécessaire, mais pas suffisante en elle-même pour induire la déplétion des cellules T CD4+. Ces observations sont à rapprocher des données chez l'homme qui montrent que la déplétion T CD4+ est indirectement liée à la charge virale, mais directement corrélée au niveau d'activation T. Nous avons montré que les AGM chroniquement infectés par le SIVagm ne présentent pas d'activation lymphocytaire T chronique et généralisée contrairement à l'homme infecté par le VIH-1, et ceci en dépit de niveaux similaires de virémie. Plus récemment, nous avons démontré l'existence d'un contrôle extrêmement rapide de l'activation T chez l'AGM en réponse à l'infection par du SIVagm in vivo. Ce contrôle est associé à une induction très précoce, dès la première semaine post-infection, de cytokines anti-inflammatoires (TGF-β, IL-10). Les augmentations de TGF-βque nous observons sont corrélées à des augmentations de FoxP3 et de cellules T CD25+, ce qui pose la question du rôle de cellules T CD25+ régulatrices dans le contrôle précoce de l'activation T chez l'AGM. Nous envisageons donc d'étudier la fonction des cellules Treg CD25+ chez l'AGM ainsi que le rôle potentiel des cellules dendritiques dans l'activation précoce de réponses immunes bénéfiques chez l'AGM. Les méthodologies utilisées comprennent des approches classiques (cytométrie fe flux, PCR en temps réel...) et globales (puces à ADN).

IV - Déterminants de résistance naturelle à l'infection par le VIH-1. Responsable : Gianfranco PANCINO

Nos recherches visent à identifier des facteurs d'hôte impliqués dans le contrôle de l'infection par le VIH-1. En collaboration avec les Instituts Pasteur d'Hô Chi Minh Ville (Vietnam), du Cambodge et de Bangui (RCA), nos travaux sur les mécanismes de résistance à l'infection chez des toxicomanes i.v. ou des partenaires de sujets séropositifs exposés au VIH-1 de façon répétée, mais non infectés (exposés non infectés, ENI) ont révélé une réduction de la sensibilité à l'infection in vitro  par le VIH-1 des cellules mononuclées circulantes des ENI comparativement à celles de sujets témoins. Cette résistance relative à l'infection est associée soit à une activité inhibitrice des cellules T CD8 soit à des restrictions de la réplication virale dans les lymphocytes T CD4. Nous avons identifié trois phénotypes distincts de restriction dans les cellules T CD4 qui affectent l'entrée du VIH-1 ou des étapes postérieures de la réplication virale. Grâce à l'établissement d'un modèle d'étude in vitro de la réplication du VIH-1 dans des macrophages primaires, nous avons également montré que l'activation de macrophages par l'agrégation des récepteurs Fcγ, mimant la stimulation par des complexes immuns, inhibe la réplication du VIH-1 en bloquant son intégration dans le génome de l'hôte. L'inhibition induite par les FcγR affecte aussi d'autres lentivirus, y compris VIH-2 et SIV. Dans le cadre de ces études, nous avons développé une méthode d'imagerie par bioluminescence qui permet la quantification en temps réel de l'expression du VIH-1 dans des cellules primaires vivantes à niveau d'une seule cellule infectée, en collaboration avec la Plate-forme d'Imagerie Dynamique de l'Institut Pasteur (Figure).

Nos recherches sont maintenant orientées vers l'identification des mécanismes moléculaires responsables des restrictions de la réplication virale observées dans les lymphocytes T CD4 et dans les macrophages. En parallèle, nous étudions les mécanismes de contrôle de la réplication du VIH-1 chez des individus que, bien qu'infectés depuis plus de 10 ans, ne présentent pas de charge virale plasmatique détectable (" HIV-controllers "). Ces études se situent dans la perspective d'identifier de nouveaux mécanismes et molécules à activité anti-VIH susceptibles d'applications cliniques et vaccinales.

V - Régulation de l'infection à VIH par l'immunité innée. Responsable : Daniel Scott-Algara.

Nous étudions le rôle de l'immunité innée, en particulier des cellules NK, dans le contrôle de l'infection par le VIH. En collaboration avec l'Institut Pasteur d'Hô Chi Minh ville et de G. Pancino, nous avons démontré une augmentation de la réponse cytotoxique et sécrétoire des cellules NK dans une cohorte de drogués par voie intravasculaire au Vietnam qui sont restés non infectés par HIV en dépit de leur haut risque d'exposition au virus (ENI). Nous nous intéressons maintenant à l'expression de marqueurs de cellules de NK qui peuvent caractériser le statut ENI comparativement à une population vietnamienne non exposée au VIH ou à des individus vietnamiens séropositifs pour le VIH en utilisant les techniques de cytometrie de flux et la PCR en temps réel (collaboration avec P. Paul, Marseille). Nos résultats montrent une expansion des sous-populations NK exprimant des récepteurs inhibiteurs et/ou activateurs chez les ENI. Ces résultats suggèrent que l'expansion sélective des sous populations NK pourrait représenter un avantage pour la résolution de l'infection par le VIH. Nous envisageons de définir le rôle des sous populations NK en particulier l'impact de leurs interactions avec d'autres acteurs de l'immunité innée (cellules dendritiques et macrophages), notamment leurs implications dans la régulation de la propagation virale et/ou de la progression de la maladie.

Légende de la photo

Quantification en temps réel de l'expression du VIH-1 à niveau d'une seul cellule vivante infectée

A. Image de bioluminescence, superposée à l'image en lumière transmise, montrant l'émission en photons d'un macrophage infecté avec des particules virales du VIH-1 contenant le gène luciférase. B. Image en temps réel (en haut) et quantification en photons (en bas) de l'induction de l'expression génique virale dans une cellule T CD4+ primaire infectée de façon latente, après stimulation par PHA (1, bleu). Réplication du VIH-1 dans une cellule T CD4+ pré-activée qui émettait déjà des photons avant stimulation (2, vert).

Mots-clés: VIH/SIV, SIDA, singe vert, régulation innée, activation T, régénération T, restriction cellulaire


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr