Unit: Structural Bioinformatics - CNRS URA 2185

Director: Nilges Michael

The principal role of structural bioinformatics is to complement experimental structural studies in various ways by in silico studies. We are involved on the areas of calculation methods for structure determination with NMR; prediction of protein structure by comparative modelling to answer specific biological questions; and genomic analysis from large-scale structure prediction of genomic DNA. A focal point is the study of protein-protein interactions and protein ligand interactions, where we try to contribute to the fundamental understanding of binding mechanisms on the one hand, and to the search for potential therapeutic agents on the other, by including docking and virtual screening calculations. Most of the work is based on computer simulations, but we are directly involved in experimental work (X-ray crystal structure determination, neutraon scattering).

Development of a probabilistic structure determination method for NMR (M. Habeck, M. Nilges, W. Rieping)

Macromolecular structure determination is an inference problem: the measured quantities are noisy and incomplete, therefore insufficient to determine the structure uniquely. The objective should therefore be to explore all regions of conformational space compatible with the information at hand. Currently, this is attempted in a rather approximate way by repeated structure calculations with the same data (NOE-derived distances, torsion angles/ scalar couplings, residual dipolar couplings).

We have developed a probabilistic method that directly generates a posterior probability distribution. The latter represents the full knowledge about the target structure. The calculation of the probability distribution is computationally much more demanding than minimization because of its very high dimensionality. We could show that by a combination of several sampling methods the probability distribution can be simulated for medium-sized proteins by means of a new Markov Chain Monte Carlo strategy (so far these strategies had been used to simulate small peptides. A major advantage of the new method is that additional parameters necessary for the modelling but that cannot be measured (such as weighting factors) need not be guessed but can be determined in parallel with the structure. The method is the only method to date that gives a reliable estimate of the precision of a structure determined from NMR data. We used the method with several experimental and synthetic data sets, and we are working on several extensions and generalizations. We expect that in the long run, in particular with ever faster computers, the method will replace standard methods.

Study of 6--phosphogluconolactonase (6PGL) from T. Brucei by NMR and X-Ray crystallography (V. Stoven)

The parasitic protozoa Trypanosoma brucei are the causative agents of African sleeping sickness. The pentose phosphate pathway plays a crucial role in the host--parasite relationship. In order to evaluate this pathway as a potential drug target, it is necessary to study the associated enzymes in detail. Very little information was available for 6PGL (6--phosphogluconolactonase) the second enzyme in the cycle. In order to better understand the specificity and the mechanism of this enzyme, we have undertaken 3D structure determination of 6PGL, by NMR and by X-Ray crystallography (collaboration with Marc Delarue, Unité de Biochimie Structurale, Institut Pasteur). We have obtained X--ray diffraction data at 2.8 angstrom, and additional data on a mercury derivative was obtained at 2.1 angstrom. Structure refinement is currently in progress. An NMR study was undertaken in parallel, in order to perform structural and dynamic studies, in absence and in presence of the substrate (collaboration with the group of Geoffrey Bodenhausen, Ecole Normale Supérieure).

Complementarity of structure ensembles in protein-protein binding (R. Grünberg, J. Leckner, M. Nilges)

Protein-protein association is often accompanied by changes in receptor and ligand structure. This interplay between protein flexibility and protein-protein recognition is currently the largest obstacle both to our understanding of and to the reliable prediction of protein complexes. We performed two sets of molecular dynamics simulations for the unbound receptor and ligand structures of 17 protein complexes and applied shape-driven rigid body docking to all combinations of representative snapshots. The crossdocking of structure ensembles increased the likelihood of finding near-native solutions. The free ensembles appeared to contain multiple complementary conformations. These were in general not related to the bound structure. We suggest that protein-protein binding follows a three-step mechanism of diffusion, free conformer selection, and refolding. This model combines previously conflicting ideas and is in better agreement with the current data on interaction forces, time scales, and kinetics. The current model combines aspects from the induced fit model and the free conformer selection model, which in turn is based on the model of allosteric transitions by Jaques Monod, Jeffery Wyman and Jean-Pierre Changeux. Using extended molecular dynamics calculations we are currently investigating the dynamic properties of protein interaction surfaces in more detail. We also study the entropic costs of complex formation.

Elucidating factors governing ligand-repeptor interactions (Pak-Lee Chau)

My research aims to elucidate the factors governing ligand-receptor interactions in two model systems: (1) the interaction of small molecules with proteins (2) the interaction of small molecules with cell membranes.

Most drugs are small molecules, which interact with proteins in the human body. Using molecular dynamics simulations, we have developed unbinding methods and novel analysis procedures to unbind small ligands from protein receptors, to evaluate the free energy change of unbinding, and to define the role of water in the unbinding process. This method has been successfully applied to the retinol/serum retinol-binding protein complex and the complex formed between 5-HT_3 receptor and its agonists or antagonists. I am now extending this work to the GABA_A receptor, in collaboration with Kenji Mizuguchi (Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics, University of Cambridge), Ian Martin (Department of Pharmacology, Aston University, Birmingham), Vasiliy Bavro (Department of Biochemistry, University of Cambridge), Nikolay Todorov (De Novo Pharmaceuticals Ltd, Cambridge) and Susan Dunn (Department of Pharmacology, University of Alberta, Canada).

A small number of drugs, the general anaesthetics, probably exert their action partly through interaction with the cell membrane. We are performing neutron scattering experiments to define the localisation of general anaesthetics in the cell membrane. The experiments are complemented by molecular dynamics simulations. This work is a collaboration with Nobuyuki Matubayasi (Institute for Chemical Research, University of Kyoto), Steven Roser (Department of Chemistry, University of Bath) and Paul Hoang (Universite de Franche-Comte, Besancon, France).

New free energy methods to analyze protein-ligand associations (L. Masgrau, A. Blondel)

The aim of this work is to analyze and predict the affinity of therapeutic molecules to propose new ligands of high affinity. The application systems are enzymes implied in the pathogenicity of parasites. For that purpose, we have developed modeling methods and programs in the laboratory. These developments were motivated was motivated by an in depth study of the association of the protomers of R67 DHFR by both experimental and theoretical approaches (see previous rapports from the "Protein Folding and Modeling" and "Structural BioInformatics" units). It is thus possible to better predict the strength of the associations with a new formalism to optimize the ensemble fluctuations during the thermodynamic integration, which allows to significantly reduce the uncertainties and to accelerate the numerical convergence. A detailed analysis of the results showed that the uncertainties were lower than 1 kcal/mol and a good agreement with the experimental results (~0.4 kcal/mol differences). The comparison with experimental data showed that it is possible to reach similar accuracy than the experiments provided that the structural relaxations are taken into account correctly.

Receptor conformation and ligand affinity (L. Masgrau, A. Blondel)

For its function, a protein may change its "shape" or conformation. These conformation changes may be local or extended. At the binding site of the ligand, they change the strength of the association. Thus, we try to identify conformations that are important for protein-ligand association for various reasons. The first one is to better understand enzymatic reactions involving steps. An other reason is to better determine the protein conformation against which it is most advantageous to design of a new drug. Hence, we studied the free energy profiles of the sugar transfer reaction of an enzyme that is essential for the pathogenicity of the causative agents of the sleeping sickness and of the Chagas disease (collaboration with Pedro Alzari, laboratory of Structural Biochemistry). Similarly, we studied the motion that an other enzyme of one of these parasites has to undergo to identify intermediate conformations offering new binding possibilities and thus allow the quest for new type of inhibitors. For these studies, we have developed powerful reaction path calculation methods allowing the treatment of mechanisms of complex geometry.

Docking and virtual screening of potential therapeutic agents (N. Duclert-Savatier, V. Stoven)

Whereas a very high accuracy can be achieved in state-of-the-art free energy calculation, these calculations are not suitable and too slow to screen the large compound data bases to find a potential binding partner for a protein with known 3D structure. This speed is offered by less accurate docking methods that characterize protein--ligand interactions empirically and use approximate rules to calculate binding free energies from molecular conformation. We employ different empirical docking strategies in combination with the aim to perform virtual screening. A first target is a subtilisin that is essential for the malaria parasite to enter the host cell. We also take part in the project coordinated by Stewart Cole, with the aim to identify lead compounds against Mycobacterium Tuberculosis. Methods developments aim at integrating results from several different docking strategies in an intelligent way (by machine learning techniques).

Keywords: Protein structure, protein function, protein dynamics, molecular recognition, sequence analysis


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Bioinformatique structurale - CNRS URA 2185

Responsable: Nilges Michael

Le rôle principal de la bioinformatique structurale est de compléter des études expérimentales des structures par des études in silico. Nous développons des méthodes pour le calcul des structures à partir de données RMN ; pour la prévision de structures de protéine par modélisation comparative pour répondre à des questions biologiques spécifiques ; et pour l'analyse des génomes en utilisant une prédiction de la structure de l'ADN à grande échelle. Un point focal est l'étude des interactions entre protéines et des interactions des protéines et leurs ligands. Nous essayons, d'une part, de contribuer à la compréhension des mécanismes fondamentaux de la liaison, et, de l'autre, à la recherche des agents thérapeutiques potentiels (" docking " et criblage virtuel). La plus grande partie de la recherche du groupe est basée sur les simulations sur ordinateur, mais nous sommes directement impliqués dans des études expérimentales (utilisation des rayons des neutrons, détermination des structures des protéines par rayons X).

Développement d'une méthode probabiliste de détermination de structure par RMN (M. Habeck, M. Nilges, W. Rieping)

La détermination des structures macromoléculaires est un problème d'inférence : les quantités mesurées sont incomplètes et imprécises, donc insuffisantes pour déterminer la structure d'une façon unique. L'objectif devrait donc être d'explorer toutes les régions de l'espace conformationnel compatible avec l'information mesurée. Actuellement, ceci est essayé d'une manière plutôt approximative par des calculs répétés de structure avec les mêmes données (les distances / NOEs, les constantes de couplage scalaire, les constantes de couplage dipolaire résiduel).

Nous avons développé une méthode probabiliste qui produit directement une distribution de la probabilité postérieure d'une structure. Cette distribution représente la connaissance maximale de la structure qu'on peut inférer à partir des données expérimentales. Le calcul de la distribution de probabilité est beaucoup plus exigeant en terme de puissance de calcul nécessaire que la minimisation, en raison de sa dimensionnalité très élevée.Nous pourrions démontrer que par une combinaison de plusieurs méthodes d'échantillonnage, la distribution de probabilités peut être simulée pour les protéines de taille moyenne au moyen d'une nouvelle stratégie de Monte Carlo à chaînes de Markov (jusqu'ici ces stratégies avaient été employées seulement pour simuler de petits peptides). Un avantage important de la nouvelle méthode est qu'elle détermine les paramètres additionnels nécessaires pour la modélisation (mais qui ne peuvent pas être mesurés) en parallèle avec la détermination de la structure. La méthode est la seule qui donne une évaluation fiable de la précision d'une structure déterminée à partir des données RMN. Nous avons employé la méthode avec plusieurs jeux de données expérimentales et synthétiques, et nous travaillons à plusieurs extensions et généralisations. Avec les ordinateurs toujours plus rapides, le temps de calcul élevé posera moins de problèmes, et nous croyons que notre méthode remplacera les méthodes qui sont utilisés aujourd'hui.

Étude structurale de la 6--phosphogluconolactonase (6PGL) de T. Brucei par RMN et cristallographie (V. Stoven)

Le parasite Trypanosoma brucei est l'agent responsable de la maladie Africaine du sommeil. La voie des pentoses-phosphate joue un rôle crucial dans la relation hôte-parasite. Afin d'évaluer cette voie en tant que cible thérapeutique, il est nécessaire d'étudier en détail les enzymes associées. Très peu d'information était disponible sur 6PGL (6-phosphogluconolactonase), la seconde enzyme du cycle. Afin de mieux comprendre la spécificité et le mécanisme de cette enzyme, nous avons entrepris la détermination de la structure 3D de 6PGL, par RMN et diffraction des RX (collaboration avec Marc Delarue, Unité de Biochimie Structurale, Institut Pasteur). Nous avons obtenu des données de diffraction à 2.8 angstrom, et un jeu de données sur un dérivé lourd au mercure à 2.1 angstrom. L'affinement de la structure est en cours. Parallèlement, une étude RMN a été entreprise pour obtenir des informations dynamiques, en présence et en absence de substrat (collaboration avec le groupe de Geoffrey Bodenhausen, Ecole Normale Supérieure).

Complémentarité des ensembles des structures dans l'association entre protéines (R. Grünberg, J. Leckner, M. Nilges)

L'association de protéines avec d'autres protéines est souvent accompagnée des changements de structure du récepteur et du ligand. Cette combinaison de la flexibilité d'une protéine et la reconnaissance d'un partenaire pour former un complexe est actuellement le plus grand obstacle à notre compréhension des interactions entre protéines et à la prévision fiable des complexes de protéines. Nous avons exécuté des simulations de dynamique moléculaire pour les structures non liées de récepteurs et ligands des 17 complexes de protéines, et des calculs d'amarrage (docking) de corps rigide avec des combinaisons des structures représentatives. Cette procédure d'amarrage croisé entre membre des deux ensembles de structure a augmenté la probabilité de trouver des solutions proches de leur arrangement correct. Les ensembles libres contenaient des conformations complémentaires multiples. Ceux-ci n'étaient en général pas plus similaires à la structure connue dans le complexe, que les structures libres.

Nous proposons que la reconnaissance entre protéines suive un mécanisme en trois étapes : diffusion, choix de conformer, adaptation - repliement. Ce modèle combine des idées précédemment contradictoires et est dans un meilleur accord avec les données courantes sur des forces d'interactions, des échelles de temps, et de la cinétique. Le modèle nouveau combine les aspects du modèle de " induced fit " et du modèle de choix de conformer, qui est basé sur le modèle des transitions allostériques par Jaques Monod, Jeffery Wyman et Jean-Pierre Changeux. En utilisant des calculs prolongés de dynamique moléculaires nous étudions actuellement les propriétés dynamiques des surfaces d'interaction de protéine de manière plus détaillée. Nous étudions également les coûts entropiques de formation d'un complexe.

Nouvelles méthodes de calcul de l'énergie libre des associations protéine-ligand (L. Masgrau, A. Blondel)

Ces travaux visent à analyser et prédire l'affinité de molécules à visées thérapeutiques pour proposer de nouveaux ligands de haute affinité. Les systèmes d'application de ces méthodes sont des enzymes impliquées dans la pathogénicité de parasites. Pour cela, nous avons développé des méthodes et programmes de modélisation au laboratoire. Ces développements ont été motivés par une étude expérimentale et théorique approfondie de l'association des sous-unités de la DHFR R67 (voir les rapports précédents des unités de Repliement et Modélisation des Protéines et de BioInformatique Structurale). Il est ainsi possible de mieux prédire la force de ces associations protéine-ligand en utilisant un nouveau formalisme pour optimiser les fluctuations d'ensemble lors de l'intégration thermodynamique, ce qui permet de réduire significativement les incertitudes et d'accélérer la convergence numérique. L'analyse détaillée des résultats montre une incertitude inférieure à 1 kcal/mol et un excellent accord avec les expériences (écarts de ~0.4 kcal/mol). La confrontation avec les données expérimentales montre qu'il est possible d'atteindre une précision comparable à celle des expériences à condition de bien prendre en compte les relaxations structurales.

Conformation de la protéine réceptrice et affinité pour le ligand (L. Masgrau, A. Blondel)

Lors de son fonctionnement, une protéine peut modifier sa "forme", changer de conformation. Ces changements de conformation peuvent être très locaux ou étendus selon les cas. Au niveau de la poche de fixation d'un ligand, ils modifient la force de l'association. Nous cherchons à identifier les conformations importantes pour les associations protéine-ligand avec plusieurs objectifs. Le premier est de mieux comprendre les réactions enzymatiques comportant des étapes. Un autre objectif est de mieux déterminer la "forme" de l'enzyme contre laquelle il est le plus avantageux de dessiner un inhibiteur à visée thérapeutique. Dans cette optique, nous avons étudié le profil énergétique de la réaction de transfert de sucre d'une enzyme essentielle pour la pathogénicité des agents de la maladie du sommeil et de la maladie de Chagas (collaboration avec Pedro Alzari, laboratoire de Biochimie Structurale). De façon similaire, nous nous sommes intéressés au mouvement que devait suivre une autre enzyme de l'un de ces parasites afin d'identifier les conformations intermédiaires offrant de nouveaux potentiels de fixation et ainsi permettre la recherche d'inhibiteurs de type nouveaux. Pour ces études, nous avons développé des méthodes de calcul de chemin réactionnel très puissantes permettant de traiter des mécanismes ayant une géométrie complexe.

"Docking" et criblage virtuel d'agents thérapeutiques potentiels (D. Giganti, N. Duclert-Savatier, V. Stoven)

Bien qu'il soit possible d'atteindre une très grande précision avec les méthodes actuelles de calcul d'énergie libre, ces calculs ne conviennent pas et sont trop lents pour cribler de grandes bases de molécules afin de rechercher un partenaire capable de se lier à une structure 3D donnée. La rapidité adéquate est fournie par les méthodes de docking qui caractérisent empiriquement les interactions protéines-ligands, et utilisent des règles approximatives pour calculer les énergies d'interaction d'une conformation donnée du complexe. Nous employons en parallèle différentes stratégies de docking pour réaliser un criblage virtuel. L'une des cibles thérapeutiques est une subtilisine essentielle à la pénétration dans le globule rouge, du parasite responsable du paludisme. Nous participons également à un projet (dont le coordinateur est Stewart Cole), dans le but d'identifier des composés actifs contre Mycobacterium Tuberculosis. Les développements méthodologiques visent à inclure des techniques d'apprentissage (machine learning) dans les stratégies de docking.

Mots-clés: Structure de protéine, fonction de protéine, dynamique des protéines, reconnaissance moléculaire, analyse de séquence


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr