Unit: Lymphocyte Cell Biology

Director: Andres ALCOVER

The research of the unit focuses on the study of the mechanisms of T lymphocyte polarization, which is triggered by antigen recognition and leads to the formation of the immunological synapse. We study the role of the actin cytoskeleton and of polarized intracellular vesicle trafficking in the formation of the immunological synapse and in T cell activation. We also investigate how viruses that infect T lymphocytes hijack the mechanisms of T cell polarization to modulate T cell responses and to spread more efficiently from cell to cell.

T cell polarization and the formation of the immunological synapse.

A crucial step of the immune response is the recognition by T lymphocytes of antigens on the surface of antigen presenting cells. Following antigen recognition, T cells polarize towards the antigen presenting cell. This polarization is characterized by morphological changes of the T lymphocyte, and by the concentration at the cell-cell contact zone of a number of molecules, such as the T cell receptor, adhesion molecules, signaling effectors and cytoskeleton components. This organized cell-cell junction has been called the immunological synapse, since ensures the complex communication between the T cell and the antigen presenting cell. We study the molecular mecanisms that generate this synapse, as well as its role in T cell activation. We analyze the role of the actin cytoskeleton and of intracellular vesicle trafficking. We also study how lymphotropic viruses, like human immunodeficiency virus, hijack the mechanisms of T cell polarization to modulate the immune response and to propagate from cell to cell.

1) Role of the actin cytoskeleton in the formation of the immunological synapse and in T cell activation (S. Charrin, C. Cuche and A. Alcover).

We have shown that ezrin, a protein that links the membrane with the actin cytoskeleton transiently polarizes towards the antigen presenting cell (Figure 1). Moreover, we observed that over-expression of a truncated form of ezrin inhibited T cell receptor clustering at the immunological synapse, as well as later events of T cell activation, such as IL-2 gene activation. These data provide evidence for an important role of ezrin in T lymphocytes. By linking membrane and actin cytoskeleton components, ezrin may help molecular clustering at the immunological synapse and modulate T cell activation. We are currently studying the involvement of ezrin in T cell receptor signaling pathways.

2) Role of intracellular vesicle trafficking in T cell receptor polarization at the immunological synapse (V. Das, M. I. Thoulouze and A. Alcover).

We have shown that intracellular vesicular trafficking is a key process in the formation of the immunological synapse. By using confocal microscopy, time-lapse digital imaging and quantitative image analysis, we showed that recycling endosomes can transport T cell receptors to the immunological synapse, and that this transport is necessary for their efficient accumulation at the synapse (Figure 2). Moreover, we showed that SNARE proteins that control the fusion between recycling vesicles and the plasma membrane are required for this process. These results show that intracellular vesicular transport is a key mechanism to transport T cell receptors, and to promote its polarization at the immunological synapse. This mechanism likely involves other molecules that cluster in the immunological synapse.

3) Modulation of T cell polarization and immunological synapse formation by human immunodeficiency virus (M. I. Thoulouze and A. Alcover, in collaboration with N. Sol-Foulon, F. Blanchet and O. Schwartz from the Virus and Immunity Group).

Human immunodeficiency virus type-1 (HIV-1) is able to modulate a variety of cellular processes in order to ensure its survival and replication inside the host cell, and its transmission to other cells. HIV-1 infection modulates surface expression and intracellular trafficking of several surface receptors, as well as signaling pathways. Since T cell polarization and immune synapse formation depends on signaling and intracellular trafficking processes, we studied the effect of HIV-1 infection of T lymphocytes in the formation of the immunological synapse. By means of confocal microscopy and quantitative image analysis, we showed that HIV-1-infected T lymphocytes display a reduced capacity to form immunological synapses. Thus, the number of conjugates between T cells and antigen presenting cell is reduced and the immunological synapses formed are abnormal. The intracellular trafficking of the T cell receptor and the protein tyrosine kinase Lck is altered leading to the retention of these molecules in the recycling endosomal compartment, and to their impaired clustering in the synapse. These phenomena are due to Nef, a viral protein known to affect intracellular trafficking and signaling processes. Finally, infected T lymphocytes have a reduced activation capacity, as depicted by the lower levels of protein tyrosine phosphorylation. Alteration of intracellular trafficking and signaling processes at the immunological synapse likely influences the function and fate of HIV-1-infected T lymphocytes.

Photos :

Figure 1. Interaction of a T lymphocyte (Tc) with a B lymphocyte presenting a bacterial superantigen (APC) observed by confocal microscopy. The actin cytoskeleton associated protein ezrin (red) and the T cell antigen receptor (green) are polarized towards the antigen presenting cell (immunofluorescence, right). On the left, the morphology of the two cells is observed by differential interference contrast.

Figure 2. Polarized transport of T cell receptors towards the immunological synapse via endosomal vesicles. Human T lymphocyte (Tc) encountering a cell presenting a bacterial superantigen (APC). T cell receptors present in endosomal vesicles were traced using a fluorescent anti-T cell receptor antibody. The picture shows the merge between the fluorescence image (green) and the differential interference contrast image (gray). Endosomes containing T cell receptors appear polarized and closely apposed to the cell-cell contact zone where the immune synapse forms.

Figure 3. HIV-1-infected T lymphocyte. Immunofluorescence and confocal microscopy image showing the presence of the viral protein Nef (green) and the cellular tyrosine kinase Lck (red), in a tubulo-vesicular intracellular compartment. Both proteins co-localized in the pericentriolar region (co-localization is depicted by the yellow color in the immunofluorescence image (right image). Ce

Keywords: T cell antigen receptor, immunological synapse, polarisation, endosomes, intracellular traffic, SNARE, ezrin, T cell activation, actin cytoskeleton, cell biology, immunology, virology, AIDS


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Biologie cellulaire des Lymphocytes

Responsable: Andres ALCOVER

Les travaux de l'unité sont consacrés à l'étude des mécanismes de polarisation cellulaire déclenchés dans les lymphocytes T par la reconnaissance antigénique, et qui conduisent à la formation de la synapse immune. Nos études portent en particulier sur le rôle du cytosquelette d'actine et du trafic vésiculaire polarisé dans la formation de la synapse immune et dans l'activation des lymphocytes T. Nous étudions également comment des rétrovirus qui infectent les lymphocytes T peuvent détourner le mécanisme de polarisation et de trafic moleculaire intracellulaire de ces cellules pour moduler la réponse immune et pour se propager d'une cellule à une autre.

Polarisation des lymphocytes T et formation de la synapse immune

Une étape fondamentale de la réponse immune est la reconnaissance par les lymphocytes T des antigènes exposés à la surface de cellules présentatrices d'antigène. Suite à la reconnaissance de l'antigène, le lymphocyte T se polarise vers la cellule présentatrice d'antigène, ce qui se traduit par des changements de morphologie du lymphocyte T et par la concentration à l'interface cellulaire des nombreuses molécules, dot le récepteur à l'antigène des lymphocytes T (récepteur T), des molécules d'adhérence, du cytosquelette et de signalisation cellulaire. Cette jonction cellulaire organisée, a été appelée synapse immune car elle assure la communication entre le lymphocyte T et la cellule présentatrice d'antigène. Nous étudions les mécanismes de formation de cette synapse ainsi que son rôle dans l'activation du lymphocyte T. Nous analysons plus particulièrement le rôle du cytosquelette d'actine et du trafic intracellulaire dans ce processus. Enfin, nous étudions comment des rétrovirus lymphotropes, tel le virus de l'immunodéficience humaine, détournent le mécanisme de polarisation des lymphocytes T pour moduler la réponse des lymphocytes T et se transmettre de façon plus efficace d'une cellule à une autre.

1) Rôle du cytosquelette d'actine dans la formation de la synapse immune et dans l'activation des lymphocytes T (S. Charrin, C. Cuche et A. Alcover).

Nous avons montré que l'ezrine, une protéine qui lie la membrane plasmique et le cytosquelette d'actine, se polarise transitoirement vers la synapse immune (Figure 1). De plus, la sur-expression d'une forme tronquée de l'ezrine inhibe le rassemblement des récepteurs T à la synapse immune, ainsi que des étapes ultérieures de l'activation des lymphocytes T, comme l'activation du gène de l'IL2. Ces résultats montrent un rôle important pour l'ezrine dans les lymphocytes T : grâce à sa capacité à relier des composants membranaires au cytosquelette d'actine, l'ezrine pourrait contrôler la formation de la synapse immune et moduler le mécanisme d'activation des lymphocytes T. Nous étudions actuellement le rôle de l'ezrine dans la transmission du signal d'activation du récepteur T.

2) Rôle du trafic vésiculaire intracellulaire dans la polarisation du récepteur T vers la synapse immune (V. Das, M. I. Thoulouze et A. Alcover).

Nous avons montré que le trafic intracellulaire polarisé de vésicules endosomiales est un processus clé pour la formation de la synapse immune. Ainsi, par microscopie confocale, microscopie en temps réel et analyse d'image quantitative, nous avons mis en évidence que des vésicules d'endocytose transportent le récepteur T vers la synapse immune, facilitant ainsi son accumulation à la synapse (Figure 2). Ce mécanisme dépend des molécules SNARE qui contrôlent la fusion des vésicules de recyclage à la membrane plasmique. Nos données montrent que le transport intracellulaire par des vésicules d'endocytose est un mécanisme clé pour la polarisation du récepteur T à la synapse immune. Ce mécanisme est probablement mis en œuvre de façon plus générale lors de la polarisation d'autres molécules à la synapse immune.

3) Modulation du mécanisme de polarisation des lymphocytes T et de formation de la synapse immune par le virus de l'immunodéficience humaine (M. I. Thoulouze, et A. Alcover, en collaboration avec N. Sol-Foulon, F. Blanchet et O. Schwartz du Groupe Virus et Immunité).

Le virus de l'immunodéficience humaine du type 1 (VIH-1) est capable de détourner des nombreux processus cellulaires pour assurer sa survie et sa multiplication dans les cellules infectées, ainsi que sa propagation à d'autres cellules. L'infection des lymphocytes T par VIH-1 conduit à des altérations importantes des voies de signalisation intracellulaire, de l'expression de récepteurs membranaires et de leur trafic intracellulaire. Nous avons étudié l'impact de l'infection par VIH-1 sur la formation de la synapse immune. Par des approches de microscopie confocale et analyse d'image quantitative, nous avons montré que les lymphocytes T infectés par VIH-1 forment des synapses immunes défectueuses : le nombre des conjugués cellulaires est réduit et la structure de synapses formées est modifiée, présentant des concentrations du récepteur T et de tyrosine kinase Lck fortement diminuées. Ces diminutions sont dues à une altération du trafic intracellulaire de ces molécules, et à leur rétention dans le compartiment endosomial (Figure 3). Nous avons montré que Nef, une protéine virale impliquée dans des phénomènes de trafic et signalisation intracellulaires, est la principale responsable de ces altérations. Enfin, les lymphocytes T infectés ont une capacité réduite à transmettre des signaux d'activation, ce qui se traduit par des taux réduits des protéines phosphorylées. Des altérations de l'endocytose et de la signalisation dans la synapse immune ont probablement des conséquences sur les fonctions et le devenir des lymphocytes T infectées par le VIH-1.

Légendes des photos :

Figure 1. Interaction d'un lymphocyte T humain (Tc) avec un lymphocyte B présentant un superantigène bactérien (APC). On observe par microscopie confocale l'ezrine, protéine associée au cytosquelette d'actine (rouge) et le récepteur à l'antigène du lymphocyte T (vert) qui sont polarisés vers la cellule présentatrice d'antigène (immunofluorescence ; figure de droite). A gauche, on observe la morphologie de ces deux cellules par contraste interférentiel

Figure 2.Transport polarisé du récepteur T vers la synapse immune par des vésicules d'endocytose. Lymphocyte T humain (Tc) interagissant avec une cellule qui présente un superantigène bactérien (APC). Les récepteurs T présents dans des vésicules d'endocytose sont marqués par des anticorps fluorescents anti-récepteur T préalablement internalisés. La figure montre la superposition entre l'image de fluorescence (vert) et celle de contraste interférentiel (grise), permettant d'observer la polarisation et l'accumulation de vésicules qui contiennent le récepteur T dans la zone du contact cellulaire où se forme la synapse immune.

Figure 3.Lymphocyte T infecté par HIV-1. On observe par microscopie confocale la présence de la protéine virale Nef (vert) et la tyrosine kinase Lck (rouge) dans un compartiment vésiculaire intracellulaire. La co-localisation des deux protéines est signalée par la couleur jaune. Le panneau de gauche montre la morphologie cellulaire observée par contraste interférentiel.

Mots-clés: récepteur à l’antigène des lymphocytes T, synapse immunologique, polarisation, endosomes, trafic intracellulaire, SNARE, ezrine, activation de lymphocytes T, cytosquelette d’actine, biologie cellulaire, immunologie, virologie, SIDA


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr