Unit: Anaerobe Bacteria and Toxins

Director: Popoff Michel R.

Regulation of the toxinogenesis in Clostridium botulinum and Clostridium tetani, evidence that BotR and TetR are alternative sigma factors controlling the expression of toxin and associated protein genes. Study of large clostridial toxins (C. sordellii toxins) which glucosylate Rho and Ras GTPases and investigation of signaling pathways involved in the control of the actin cytoskeleton and intercellular junctions.

The National Reference Center for Anaerobes and Botulism is involved in the survey of botulism and identification of anaerobe isolates (see CNR for anaerobic bacteria and botulism.

BotR/A and TetR are alternative RNA polymerase sigma factors controlling the expression of the neurotoxin and associated protein genes in Clostridium botulinum type A and Clostridium tetani

Clostridium botulinum and Clostridium tetani produce potent toxins, botulinum neurotoxin (BoNT) and tetanus neurotoxin (TeTx), which are responsible for severe deseases, botulism and tetanus, respectively. Neurotoxin synthesis is a regulated process in Clostridium. The genes botR/A in C. botulinum A and tetR in C. tetani, have been found to positively regulate the expression of BoNT/A and associated non toxic proteins (ANTPs), as well as TeTx genes, respectively. botR/A lies in the close vicinity of the two operons which contain bont/A and antps genes in C. botulinum A, and tetR immediately preceeds the tetx gene in C. tetani. Here we show that BotR/A and TetR are alternative sigma factors specific of the two operon promoters (Pntnh-bont/A and Pha34) of the botulinum locus, and of the tetx gene promoter (Ptetx), respectively : i) BotR/A and TetR associated with target DNAs only in the presence of the RNA polymerase core enzyme (RNAP), ii) BotR/A and TetR bound to RNAP, iii) BotR/A-RNAP recognized -35 and -10 regions of Pntnh-bont/A by footprinting analysis, and iv) BotR/A and TetR triggered in vitro transcription fron the target promoters. In C. botulinum A, bont/A and antps genes are transcribed as bi-and tri-cistronic operon controled by BotR/A. BotR/A and TetR were functionally interchangeable in in vitro transcription, and are related to the alternative sigma factors TxeR and UviA, which regulate the production of toxins A and B in C. difficile and bacteriocin bcn in C. perfringens, respectively. Sequence of -35 region is highly conserved in the promoter of target toxin genes in C. botulinum, C. tetani, C. difficile and C. perfringens. An overall regulation mechanism probably controls toxin gene expression in these four toxigenic Clostridium.

Antibiotic-induced expression of a cryptic cpb2 (Clostridium perfringens Beta-2 toxin) gene in equine b2-toxigenic Clostridium perfringens.

The cpb2 gene of b2-toxigenic Clostridium perfringens isolated from horses, cattle, sheep, human and pigs was sequenced. The cpb2 gene of equine and other non-porcine isolates differed from porcine isolates by the absence of an adenine in a poly A tract immediately downstream of the start codon in all nonporcine C. perfringens strains. This deletion involved formation of a cryptic gene harbouring a premature stop codon after only nine amino acid codons, while the full b2-toxin protein consists of 265 amino acids. Immunoblots carried out with antibodies directed against a recombinant b2-toxin showed the absenceof expression of the b2-toxin in equine and the othernon-porcine strains under standard culture conditions. However, treatment of C. perfringens with the aminoglycosides gentamicin or streptomycin was able to induce expression of the cpb2 gene in a representative equine strain of this group, presumably by frameshifting. The presence of the b2-toxin was revealed by immunohistology in tissue samples of small and large intestine from horses with severe typhlocolitis that had been treated before with gentamicin. This result may explain the finding that antibiotic treatment of horses affected by b2-toxigenic C. perfringens leads to a more accentuated and fatal progression of equine typhlocolitis. Clinical observations show a reduced appearance of strong typhlocolitis in horses with intestinal complications admitted to hospital care since the standard use of gentamicin has been abandoned. This is the first report on expression of a bacterial toxin gene by antibiotic-induced ribosomal frameshifting.

Modification of epithelial cell barrier permeability and intercellular junctions by Clostridium sordellii lethal toxins

C. sordellii lethal toxin (LT) is a glucosyltransferase which inactivates small GTPases from the Rho and Ras families. In the present work, we studied the effects of two variants, LT82 and LT9048, on the integrity of epithelial cell barrier using polarized MCCD and MDCK cells. Our results demonstrate for the first time that LTs have very limited effects on tight junctions. In contrast, we show that both toxins modified the paracellular permeability within 2-4 hours. Concomitantly LT82 and LT9048 induced a disorganization of basolateral actin filaments, without modifying apical actin (Photo 1). Both toxins mainly altered adherens junctions by removing E-cadherin-catenin complexes from the membrane to the cytosol. Similar effects on adherens junctions have been observed with other toxins, which directly or indirectly depolymerize actin. Thereby, Rac, a commun substrate of both LTs, might play a central role in LT-dependent adherens junction alteration. Here, we show that adherens junction perturbation induced by LTs neither results from a direct effect of toxins on adherens junction proteins nor from an actin-independent Rac pathway, but rather from a Rac-dependent disorganization of basolateral actin cytoskeleton. This further supports that a dynamic equilibrium of cortical actin filaments is essential for functional E-cadherin organization in epithelia.

Use of clostridial toxins which target RhoGTPases or actin monomers to dissect cellular physiology processes involving regulation of the actin cytoskeleton such as cyclic AMP-dependent modulation of vascular smooth muscle cell morphology by inhibiting a Rac-independent signaling pathway, complementary effects of ERK2 and p38 in platelet adhesion, role of RhoGTPases (mainly Cdc42) involved in cortical actin dynamics in HIV-1 release, and participation to the characterization of a new GAP of RhoA and Cdc42 that controls of E-cadherin junctions and has a key role in Listeri monocytogenes entry.

Oribacterium sinus gen. nov., sp. nov., within the family. "Lachnospiraceae" (phylum Firmicutes) (Carlier JP, K'Ouas G, Bonne I, Lozniewski, Mory F. Int J Syst Evol Microbiol. 2004, 54: 1611-1615)

A hitherto unknown anaerobic bacillus isolated from sinus pus in a young child (strain AIP 354.02T) was characterized by using phenotypic and genotypic methods (Photo 2). 16S rRNA gene sequence analysis indicated that this strain was phylogenetically affiliated with several sequences of cloned 16S rRNA gene inserts previously deposited in the public databases. According to their 16S rRNA gene sequence similarities, these uncultivated bacteria, together with strain AIP354.02T, formed a separate subgroup belonging to the family ‘Lachnospiraceae' within the phylum Firmicutes. Oribacterium gen. nov. is proposed for this group of organisms and Oribacterium sinus gen. nov. sp. nov. for strain AIP354.02T (=CIP 107991T=CCUG 48084T).

Photos :

Photo 1. The two variants, LT82 and LT9048, of Clostridium sordellii lethal toxin preferentially disorganize the basolateral actin filaments whereas the architecture of apical actin of polarized MDCK cell monolayers is preserved.

Photo 2. Transmission electron micrograph of Oribacterium sinus gen. nov. sp. nov. AIP 354.02T. (a) general Morphology after negative staining; (b) ultrathin section showing the Gram-positive cell wall (CW) and the cytoplasmic membrane (CM). Bars, (a) 500 nm; (b) 100 nm

Keywords:


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Bactéries anaérobies et Toxines

Responsable: Popoff Michel R.

Régulation de la toxinogénèse chez Clostridium botulinum et Clostridium tetani; évidence que BotR/A et TetR sont des facteurs sigma alternatifs contrôlant l'expression des gènes de la neurotoxine et des protéines associées. Régulation de la production de toxine Beta12 chez C. perfringens. Etude des toxines clostridiennes de grande taille qui glucosylent des Rho et Ras GTPases; voies de signalisation impliquées dans le contrôle de la polymérisation de l'actine et des jonction intercellulaires.

Le CNR Bactéries anaérobies et botulisme est impliqué dans la surveillance du botulisme et l'identification des souches de bactéries anaérobies (voir CNR bactéries anaérobies et botulisme).

BotR/A et TetR sont des facteurs sigma alternatifs contrôlant l'expression des gènes de la neurotoxine et des protéines associées chez Clostridium botulinum A et Clostridium tetani

Clostridium botulinum et Clostridium tetani produisent de puissantes toxines, la neurotoxine botulique (BoNT) et la toxine tétanique (TeNT), respectivement, qui sont responsables de maladies sévères, le botulisme et le tétanos<. La synthèse de neurotoxine st une processus régulé chez Clostridium. Les gènes botR/A chez C. botulinum A et tetR chez C. tetani régulent positivement l'expression des gènes codant pour BoNT/A et les protéines non toxiques associées (ANTPs), ainsi que TeNT respectivement. Le gène botR/A est localisé à proximité de deux opérons qui contiennent les gènes bont/A et antps chez C. botyulinum A, et tetR précède immédiatement le gène tetx chez C. tetani. Nous avons montré que BotR/A et TetR agissent comme des facteurs sigma alternatifs plutôt que comme des régulateurs positifs d'après les résultats suivants: i) BotR/A et TetR s'associent à l'ADN cible seulement en présence du core enzyme de la RNA polymerase (Core); ii) BotR/A et TetR se fixent sur le core enzyme; iii) BotR/A-Core reconnaît les régions -35 et -10 du proomoter ntnh-bont/A, at iv) BotR/A et TetR stimulent la transcription in vitro des promoters cibles. Chez C. botulinum A, les gènes bont/A et antps sont transcrits comme des opréons bi- et tri-cistroniques sous le contrôle de BotR/A. BotR/A et TetR sont certainement apparentés à un nouveau de facteurs sigma de la famille 70 incluant TcdR et UviA, qui régulent respectivement la production des toxines A et B de C. difficile et une bactériocine chez C. perfringens. Les séquences des régions -35 sont hautement conservées dans les promoteurs des gènes cibles des toxines chez C. botulinum, C. tetani, C. difficile et C. perfringens. Ainsi, un mécanisme commun de régulation contrôle probablement l'expression des gènes de toxines chez ces quatre espèces de Clostridium.

Expression induite par antibiotique du gène de la toxine Beta2 de Clostridium perfringens (cpb2) chez les souches toxinogènes d'origine équine

Le gène de la toxine Beta2 (cpb2) des souches de Clostridium perfringens isolées de chevaux, bovins, ovins, porcs et homme a été séquencé. Le gène cpb2 des souches d'origine équine et des autres espèces excepté le porc, diffère de celui des souches porcines par l'absence d'une adénine dans une séquence de polyA immédiatement en aval du codon initial présente chez toutes les souches de C. perfringens non porcines. Cette délétion entraîne la formation d'un gène cryptique portant un codon stop prématuré seulement après les 9 premiers codons, alors que la toxine Beta2 entière contient 265 acides aminés. La technique d'immunoblots à l'aide d'anticorps préparés contre la toxine beta2 recombinante a révélé l'absence d'expression du gène cpb2 chez les souches de C. perfringens d'origine équine et les autres souches non-porcines dans des conditions de culture standard. Cependant, l'addition d'aminoglycoside tel que gentamycine ou streptomycine était capable d'induire l'expression de cpb2 chez un groupe représentatif de souches d'origine équine, probablement par changement de phase. La présence de la toxie Beta2 a été révélée par immunohisotlogie dans des échantillons du petit et gros intestin de chevaux atteints de typhlocolite sévère qui avaient été traités auparavant avec de la gentamycine. Ce résultat explique le fait que le traitement antibiotique des chevaux contaminés par une souche toxinogène de C. perfringens Beta2 conduit à une évolution grave et fatale de la typhlocolite équine. Les observation cliniques montrent une réduction des typhlocolites graves chez les chevaux admis en soins hospitaliers pour troubles intestinaux depuis que l'utilisation de gentamycine a été abandonnée. C'est le premier rapport de l'expression d'une gène de toxine bactérienne induite par un antibiotique produisant un changement de phase dans la traduction des codons en acides aminés au niveau des ribosomes.

Modification de la perméabilité et des jonctions intercellulaires de la barrière de cellules épithéliales par les toxines létales de Clostridium sordellii

La toxine létale de Clostridium sordellii (LT) est une glycotransferase qui inactive les GTPases de la famille Rho et Ras. Dans le présent travail, nous avons étudié les effets de deux variants, LT82 et LT9048, sur l'intégrité de la barrière de cellules épithéliales en utilisant des cellules MDCK ou MCCD polarisées. Nos résultats montrent pour la première fois que le toxines LTs ont un effet limité sur les jonctions serrées, alors que les deux toxines modifient altèrent la perméabilité paracellulaire en 2-4 h. De façon concomitante, LT82 et LT9048 induisent une désorganisation des filaments d'actine basolatérale, sans modifier l'actine apicale (Photo 1). Les deux toxines affectent principalement les jonctions adhérentes en mobilisant les complexes de E-cadherine-catenine de la membrane vers le cytosol. des effets similaires sur les jonctions adhérentes ont été observés avec d'autres toxines bactériennes, qui directement ou indirectement dépolymérisent les filaments d'actine. Ainsi, Rac, un substrat commun à LT82 et LT9048, joue probablement un rôle central dans l'altération des jonctions adhérentes induite par LTs. Nous avons montré que la perturbation des jonctions adhérentes induites par LTs ne résulte pas d'un effet direct des toxines sur les protéines des jonctions adhérentes et ni d'une signalisation de Rac indépendante de l'actine, mais plutôt d'une désorganisation du cytosquelette d'actine basolatérale dépendant de Rac. Ces résultats supportent qu'un équilibre dynamique de des filaments d'actine corticale est essentiel pour l'organisation fonctionnelle des jonctions à E-cadhérine dans les épitheliums.

Utilisation des toxines qui ciblent les RhoGTPases ou l'actine monomérique pour disséquer des processus physiologiques cellulaires impliquant la régulation du cytosquelette d'actine tel que la modulation de la morphologie des cellules musculaires lisses par l'AMP cyclique en inhibant une voie de signalisation indépendante de Rac, effets complémentaires de ERK2 et p38 dans l'adhésion plaquetaire, rôle des RhoGTPases (principalement Cdc42) impliqués dans la dynamique de l'actine corticale dans la sortie cellulaire de HIV-1, et particpation à la caractérisation d'une nouvelle GAP spécifique de RhoA et Cdc42 qui contrôle les jonctions à E-cadhérine et a un rôle clé dans l'entrée de Listeria monocytogenes.

Oribacterium sinus gen. nov., sp. nov., de la famille "Lachnospiraceae" (phylum Firmicutes) (Carlier JP, K'Ouas G, Bonne I, Lozniewski, Mory F. Int J Syst Evol Microbiol. 2004, 54: 1611-1615)

Un bacille anaérobie inconnu isolé d'un échantillon de pus de sinus chez un jeune enfant young child (strain AIP 354.02T) a été caractérisé par des méthodes phénotypiques et génotypiques (Photo 2). Le séquençage du gène ARN ribosomal 16s indique que ce gène est affilié phylogénétiquerment à d'autres gènes dont les séquences ont été déposées dans les bases de données. D'après le séquençage du gène ARN 16s, ces bactéries non cultivables ainsi que la souche AIP354.02T forment un sous groupe distinct appartenant à la famille des Lachnospiraceae au sein du phylum Firmicute. Oribacterium gen. nov. est proposé pour ce groupe de microorganismes et Oribacterium sinus gen. nov. sp. nov. pour la souche AIP354.02T (=CIP 107991T=CCUG 48084T).

Légendes des photos :

Photo 1. Les deux variants de toxine léthale de Clostridium sordellii, LT82 et LT9048, désorganisent préférentiellement les filaments d'actine baso-latérale, tandis que l'architecture de l'actine apicale des monocouches de cellules MDCK polarisées est préservée.

Photo 2. Microcopie électronique en transmission de Oribacterium sinus gen. nov. sp. nov. AIP 354.02T. (a) morphologie générale en coloration négative; (b) section ultrafine montrant la paroi de bactérie Gram-positive (CW) et la membrane cytoplasmique (CM). Barres, (a) 500 nm; (b) 100 nm.

Mots-clés: Clostridium, botulisme, toxines, Rho-GTPases, cytosquelette, actine


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr