Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Production of monoclonal antibodies and recombinant proteins (Platform)


  Director : BÉGUIN Pierre (beguin@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The Platform Production of Recombinant Proteins and Antibodies produces and purifies recombinant proteins as well as monoclonal antibodies. It participates in programmes dealing with the structural genomics of pathogenic Mycobacteria and the search for new drugs and diagnoses for tuberculosis, and produces monoclonal antibodies for research, diagnosis and therapy.



  report

cale

The Platform n° 5 comprises three modules : a) Production of monoclonal antibodies (manager : Farida Nato, fnato@pasteur.fr); b) Production of recombinant proteins (manager : Jacques Bellalou, bellalou@pasteur.fr): purification of proteins and production of proteins in the baculovirus system (manager : Stéphane Pêtres, spetres@pasteur.fr)

Monoclonal Antibodies

In collaboration with various research units of the Institute, this module produces monoclonal antibodies and characterizes their properties (binding constant, isotype, epitope mapping etc.). Such antibodies are used for research and diagnosis and for the development of new therapies.

Concerning research, several projects deal with the detection of antigens present on the surface of merozoites of Plasmodium falciparum or on the surface of parasitized red blood cells. Monoclonal antibodies raised against these antigens will serve to test in vitro their ability to inhibit infection, thus validating the choice of the corresponding antigens as vaccine candidates. Other projects deal with the development of an immunoassay for sialorphine, a peptide inhibitor of enkephalinase, which modulates nociceptive signalling, and the production of antibodies against NEMO, an important mediator of the NF-κB pathway. Furthermore, we are involved in the development of antibodies specifically recognizing β-1,3/1,6-glucan branchings within the fungal cell wall.

Concerning diagnosis, the module has specialized in the development of immunochromatographic strips, which enable the detection of pathogen-specific antigens in biological fluids. Such tests are very rapid, reliable and may be carried out in the scantiest conditions. Our current projects involve the development of tests for plague, meningitis and bloody diarrhoeas. Strips are currently undergoing field evaluation for plague, meningitis caused by Neisseria meningitidis serovars A, C, Y, and W135 and for dysenteria cause by Shigella dysenteriae and Shigella flexneri. Other tests are being developed for the diagnosis of Pneumococcus, Haemophilus influenzae type B, Entamoeba histolytica, and of enterohemorrhagic strains of E. coli.

Concerning therapy, we have an ongoing project to generate antibodies neutralizing botulism toxins. Indeed, immunotherapy is currently the only cure available against this disease.

Production of recombinant proteins

The module Production of Recombinant Proteins performs the production of bacterial cultures in 1- to 300-liter fermenters and the preparation of crude extracts from the corresponding cell pellets. On demand, it provides expertise for optimizing the production of recombinant proteins. Since this year, the module also operates an Äkta chromatograph and participates in the purification of proteins.

A common objective of these activities is to reach high yields of soluble, correctly folded recombinant proteins produced in Escherichia coli. These proteins, if needed labelled with selenomethionine, are used for the determination of their 3-D structure by X-ray crystallography or by NMR or for functional studies. In order to optimize growth parameters rapidly and ensure high-throughput production, we use a battery comprising 8 miniaturized bioreactors. A computerized system controls the growth parameters of each culture independently. Sequences of growth temperature can be programmed as a function of cell density, which is measured on line. Thus, the technology is well adapted to optimize the production of poorly soluble proteins. Using High Density medium, yields of biomass and recombinant proteins obtained in one 70-ml bioreactor are similar to those obtained in 1-liter shake flasks with conventional media. Furthermore, growth conditions established in the battery may be transposed directly to cultures in classical fermenters if larger volumes are needed.

Besides numerous short-term requests for optimization and production of recombinant proteins, the module participates in a project devoted to the structural genomics of Mycobacterium tuberculosis and Mycobacterium leprae, and in a Great Horizontal Programme on tuberculosis by producing target proteins for drug screening, vaccine production, and diagnosis. Furthermore, we use the microfermentor battery to optimize culture conditions for other microorganisms beside E. coli. Thus, some target proteins of the tuberculosis program are produced in Mycobacterium smegmatis, which affords a higher yield in soluble and native protein than E. coli. Another program deals with the development of a culture medium enabling faster growth of Legionella pneumophila, in order to speed up the diagnosis of this bacterium. Besides running parallel cultures in the microfermentor battery, the project involves HPLC analysis of the medium in order to monitor the consumption of substrate and the production of metabolites.

Production and Purification of Proteins in the Baculovirus System

This module undertakes the production of proteins encoded by recombinant viruses infecting insect cells. The baculovirus system is better adapted than E. coli for the production of animal proteins, due to more closely related patterns of folding and post-translational modifications (glycosylation). Since last year, the module also uses Drosophila cells, particularly for producing viral proteins. Furthermore, it also takes on a large fraction of the purification tasks, starting either from bacterial cell pellets or from cultures of insect cells.

Besides short-term requests, the module collaborates to several mid- and long-term projects. Concerning parasitology, we strive to develop the production of the Plsmodium vivax subtilisins PvSub1 and PvSub2, which are essential to the life cycle of the parasite and represent promising drug and vaccine targets. We are also involved in the production of domains of the Plasmodium falciparum varO adhesin. Concerning cancer therapy, we have been asked to produce and purify transglycosylases derived from tumour cells, which will be used for the in vitro synthesis of glycosylated derivatives of mucin that will be assessed as anti-tumour vaccines. Concerning virology, we are involved in the production of proteins form the dengue fever virus whose three-dimensional structure is to be determined. Finally, we participate in a project studying the mechanisms of adaptation of the inner ear to sound intensity by producing proteins involved in the process, such as myosin 1c or the protein PhretB. These will be used to produce monoclonal antibodies and to identify interacting partners by co-immunoprecipitation.

Photo : Battery of parallel fermenters for high-throughput bacterial cultures. The fermentor unit is on the left, the control unit is on the right.

Keywords: Fermentors, recombinant proteins, automated cultures , protein purification, baculovirus, monoclonal antibodies, structural genomics



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications 2005 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  ESNARD Muriel (mesnard@pasteur.fr) BÉGUIN Pierre (beguin@pasteur.fr) JAUNASSE Lydie, DESS Cell Engineering, U. Henri Poincaré, Nancy 1

MAHAMANE, Ali Elhadji, Biological Engineer, CERMES, Niger

MARIMOUTIN Karine, Licence Professionnelle de Biologie Appliquée, U. Paris-Sud 11

BELLALOU Jacques, Engineer, (bellalou@pasteur.fr)

BONDET Vincent, Engineer, (vbondet@pasteur.fr)

DARTEVELLE Sylvie, Technician, (sdarteve@pasteur.fr)

FOURNIE-AMAZOUZ Edith, Technician, (serpu@pasteur.fr)

FRACHON Emmanuel, Engineer, (efrachon@pasteur.fr)

LAURET Marie-Reine, Laboratory Assistant (mrlauret@pasteur.fr)

MARCHAND Françoise, Technician, Institut Pasteur (fmarch@pasteur.fr)

NATO Farida, Engineer, (fnato@pasteur.fr)

NOWAKOWSKI Mireille, Technician (mnowak@pasteur.fr)

PETRES Stéphane, Technician, Institut Pasteur, (spetres@pasteur.fr)


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Production de Protéines recombinantes et d'anticorps (Plate-forme)


  Responsable : BÉGUIN Pierre (beguin@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

La Plate-forme Production de Protéines Recombinantes et d'Anticorps a pour mission la production et la purification de protéines recombinantes ainsi que la production d'anticorps monoclonaux. Elle participe au programme de génomique structurale des Mycobactéries pathogènes et au Grand Programme Horizontal sur la tuberculose. Elle produit et caractérise des anticorps monoclonaux pour la recherche, le diagnostic et la thérapeutique



  rapport

cale

La Plate-forme n° 5 comporte trois modules : a) Production d'anticorps monoclonaux (resp. Farida Nato, fnato@pasteur.fr); b) Production de protéines recombinantes (responsable Jacques Bellalou, bellalou@pasteur.fr); c) Purification de protéines et production de protéines dans le système baculovirus (resp. Stéphane Pêtres, spetres@pasteur.fr).

Anticorps Monoclonaux

Ce module est chargé de développer la production d'anticorps monoclonaux et leur caractérisation fine (détermination de constante d'affinité, "mapping" d'épitopes etc) en collaboration avec différentes unités de l'Institut. Les anticorps sont utilisés comme outils de recherche et de diagnostic ainsi que pour le développement de nouvelles thérapies.

Dans le domaine de la recherche, plusieurs projets concernent la détection d'antigènes présents à la surface des mérozoites de Plasmodium falciparum ou à la surface de globules rouges infectés par le parasite. Des anticorps monoclonaux contre ces antigènes serviront à tester in vitro leur pouvoir inhibiteur contre l'infection et à valider le choix des antigènes correspondants comme candidats vaccins. D'autres projets concernent la mise au point d'un dosage immunologique de la sialorphine, un inhibiteur peptidique de l'enképhalinase modulant la transmission des signaux nociceptifs, et la production d'anticorps reconnaissant la protéine NEMO, un médiateur important de la voie NF-κB. Par ailleurs, nous essayons également de produire des anticorps monoclonaux qui reconnaîtraient spécifiquement les branchementsβ1,3/1,6-glucanes de la paroi fongique.

Dans le domaine du diagnostic, le module s'est spécialisé dans la mise au point de tests immunochromatographiques sur bandelettes. Ces tests permettent l'identification dans les fluides biologiques d'antigènes spécifiques d'un pathogène. Ils sont très rapides, fiables et peuvent être exécutés dans les conditions les plus rustiques. Nos projets actuels visent à développer des tests pour la peste, les méningites et les diarrhées hémorragiques. Des bandelettes de détection sont en cours d'évaluation sur le terrain pour la peste, les méningites dues aux sérovars de Neisseria meningitidis A, C, Y et W135 et pour les dysentries dues à Shigella dysenteriae et à Shigelle flexneri. D'autres tests sont en cours de mise au point pour le diagnostic du pneumocoque, d'Haemophilus influenzae type B, d'Entamoeba histolytica et des Escherichia coli entérohémorrragiques.

Dans le domaine de la thérapie, le projet en cours consiste à obtenir des anticorps neutralisant les toxines du botulisme. L'immunothérapie est en effet le seul remède connu à l'heure actuelle contre cette pathologie.

Production de Protéines Recombinantes

Le module de Production de Protéines Recombinantes assure la production de cultures bactériennes en fermenteurs de 1 à 300 litres et la préparation d'extraits bruts des culots de cellules qui en dérivent. Il offre à la demande une activité d'expertise pour optimiser la production de protéines recombinantes. Depuis cette année, le module s'investit également dans la purification des protéines grâce à l'acquisition par la Plate-forme d'un second chromatographe Äkta.

L'objectif commun de ces activités est de produire chez Escherichia coli des quantités élevées de protéines recombinantes sous forme soluble et correctement repliée. Ces protéines, au besoin marquées à la sélénométhionine, sont utilisées afin de déterminer leur structure par cristallographie aux rayons X ou par RMN ou d'étudier leur fonction. Afin d'optimiser rapidement les paramètres de croissance et permettre une production à haut débit, nous utilisons une batterie constituée de 8 réacteurs miniaturisés, pilotés par un système informatique qui contrôle les principaux paramètres de chaque culture dans des conditions définies et totalement indépendantes. En fonction de l'évolution de la densité bactérienne mesurée en ligne, des séquences de température de croissance avant et après induction peuvent être programmées et réalisées automatiquement. Cette technologie est donc tout à fait adaptée à l'optimisation et à la production de protéines peu solubles. Grâce à l'utilisation de milieu Haute Densité, les rendements en biomasse totale et en protéine recombinante obtenus dans chaque réacteur de 70 ml sont similaires à ceux obtenus pour un litre de culture en fiole agitée. De plus, les conditions ainsi établies peuvent être directement transposées à des cultures en fermenteurs classiques de volume plus élevé.

En plus de nombreuses demandes ponctuelles d'optimisation et de production de protéines recombinantes, le module participe à un programme de génomique structurale de Mycobacterium tuberculosis et Mycobacterium leprae ainsi qu'à un Grand Programme Horizontal sur la tuberculose. Notre rôle dans ce programme consiste à produire des protéines cibles pouvant servir au diagnostic, à la vaccination ou au criblage de nouveaux agents thérapeutiques. Par ailleurs, nous utilisons la batterie de microfermenteurs pour mettre au point les conditions de culture d'autres microorganismes qu'E. coli. Ainsi, dans le cadre du projet de génomique structurale de M. tuberculosis, certaines protéines sont produites chez Mycobacterium smegmatis car cet hôte permet un meilleur rendement en protéine native et soluble qu'E. coli. Nous participons en outre à un programme transversal de recherche visant à développer un milieu de culture permettant d'accélérer la croissance de Legionella pneumophila afin de diagnostiquer plus rapidement cette bactérie. En plus des cultures en batterie de microfermenteurs, ce projet comporte l'analyse du milieu par HPLC afin de suivre la consommation de substrat et la production de métabolites.

Purification et Production de Protéines dans le Système Baculovirus.

Ce module prend en charge la production de protéines codées par des baculovirus recombinants infectant des cellules d'insectes. Ce système est en effet mieux adapté qu'E. coli à la production de protéines d'origine animale, tant pour ce qui est du repliement que des modifications post-traductionnelles (glycosylation). Depuis l'année dernière, le module pratique également la production dans des cellules de drosophile, particulièrement pour les protéines virales. Par ailleurs, il continue d'assumer une grande partie des tâches de purification de protéines, tant à partir de culots de bactéries qu'à partir de cultures de cellules d'insectes.

Outre les demandes ponctuelles, le module collabore à plusieurs projets à moyen et à long terme. Dans le domaine de la parasitologie, il participe aux efforts visant à produire les subtilisines PvSub1 et PvSub2 de Plasmodium vivax, qui sont indispensables au cycle de propagation du parasite et représentent des cibles thérapeutiques et vaccinales prometteuses. Il est également impliqué dans la production de domaines de l'adhésine varO de Plasmodium falciparum. Dans le domaine de la thérapie du cancer, il a été chargé de produire des transglycosylases d'origine tumorale servant à la synthèse in vitro de dérivés glycosylés de la mucine qui seront évalués comme vaccins anti-tumoraux. En ce qui concerne la virologie, il est impliqué dans la production de protéines du virus de la dengue en vue de leur caractérisation structurale. Pour terminer, il participe à un projet visant à élucider les mécanismes d'adaptation de l'oreille interne à l'intensité du son en produisant les protéines impliquées dans le processus, telles que la myosine 1c ou la protéine PhretB, qui serviront soit à produire des anticorps monoclonaux, soit à identifier par co-immunoprécipitation les partenaires avec lesquels elles interagissent.

Photo : Batterie de fermenteurs en parallèle pour les cultures bactériennes à haut débit. A gauche, unité de réacteurs; à droite, unité de contrôle.

Mots-clés: Fermenteurs, protéines recombinantes, cultures automatisées, purification de protéines, baculovirus, anticorps monoclonaux, génomique structurale



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2005 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  ESNARD Muriel (mesnard@pasteur.fr) BÉGUIN Pierre, Institut Pasteur (Chef de Laboratoire, beguin@pasteur.fr) JAUNASSE Lydie, DESS en Génie Cellulaire, U. Henri Poincaré, Nancy 1

MAHAMANE, Ali Elhadji, Ingénieur biologiste, CERMES, Niger

MARIMOUTIN Karine, Licence Professionnelle de Biologie Appliquée, U. Paris-Sud 11

BELLALOU Jacques, Ingénieur 3 Institut Pasteur, (bellalou@pasteur.fr)

BONDET Vincent, Ingénieur 2 Institut Pasteur, (vbondet@pasteur.fr)

DARTEVELLE Sylvie, Technicienne Supérieure 2D Institut Pasteur, (sdarteve@pasteur.fr)

ESNARD Muriel Secrétaire 2D Institut Pasteur(mesnard@pasteur.fr)

FOURNIE-AMAZOUZ Edith, Technicienne Supérieure 2D Institut Pasteur, (serpu@pasteur.fr)

FRACHON Emmanuel Ingénieur 2 Institut Pasteur, (efrachon@pasteur.fr)

LAURET Marie-Reine, Aide de Laboratoire Institut Pasteur (mrlauret@pasteur.fr)

MARCHAND Françoise, Technicienne Supérieure de Laboratoire 1D Institut Pasteur (fmarch@pasteur.fr)

NATO Farida, Ingénieur 4 Institut Pasteur, (fnato@pasteur.fr)

NOWAKOWSKI Mireille, Technicienne Supérieure de Laboratoire 1D Institut Pasteur (mnowak@pasteur.fr)

PETRES Stéphane, Technicien Supérieur 2D Institut Pasteur, (spetres@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr