Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Cyanobacteria - CNRS URA 2172


  Director : TANDEAU de MARSAC Nicole (ntmarsac@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Cyanobacteria, oxygenic photosynthetic procaryotes, largely contribute to the balance between CO2 and O2 in the atmosphere. Adapted to a wide range of environmental conditions, including extreme ones, they colonise most aquatic and terrestrial ecosystems. For the last decades, the occurrence of waterblooms of planktonic cyanobacteria greatly increased in continental aquatic ecosystems as a consequence of pollution generated by humans. These proliferations disrupt ecosystem equilibrium and may be harmful to animals and Man due to the large number of secondary metabolites (hepato- and/or neurotoxins) some cyanobacteria may produce.



  report

cale

Our research programme aims at increasing our knowledge of the biodiversity and physiology of cyanobacteria, in particular toxic strains. These studies from gene to ecosystem apply a multidisciplinary approach that relies on the analysis of environmental samples and on The PCC, a collection of axenic strains that our laboratory has developed over the years.

1. The PCC or "Pasteur Culture Collection of Cyanobacteria"

The PCC is internationally recognised both for the quality of the strains (axenic cultures) and for the diversity of their morphological and physiological properties.

The PCC has several missions that include both service and research activities:

Preservation and development of biological resources (R. Rippka, I. Iteman, M. Herdman, T. Coursin and T. Laurent)

The PCC houses 750 axenic strains representing about sixty morphotypes isolated from very diverse ecosystems; 475 strains are presented in a catalogue (http://www.pasteur.fr/recherche/banques/PCC/). Anticipating the future integration of the PCC in the Centre for Biological Resources at the Institut Pasteur (CRBIP), steps towards quality control are in progress. A large number of cyanobacteria are cryosensitive even in the presence of a cryoprotectant such as dimethylsulfoximide. We have shown that addition of desferrioxamine, an iron chelator that indirectly acts as an antioxydant, improves the survival of two strains of the genus Arthrospira ("Spirulina"). This chelator is presently being tested on other strains in order to generalize its use if possible.

Consultation and sale of strains (R. Rippka)

In 2005, about 300 strains have been provided to research and industrial laboratories all over the world, including teaching institutions in France. Consultation is another important activity associated with the PCC.

Databases (I. Iteman, R. Rippka and M. Herdman)

"CYANOBANK" (Windows 98, Microsoft Access): properties of the strains in the PCC; "ITS size database": number and size of ITS amplicons (300 entries); "Photographic database" (610 entries); "Storage database": list of strains preserved in liquid nitrogen; the last three modules interact with Cyanobank. Other databases are independent of CYANOBANK: "ITS sequence database" with ~300 aligned sequences; "Cyanobacterial 16S rRNA sequence database" (software ARB) with more than 900 aligned sequences; "Bacterial 16S rRNA sequence database" with more than 13000 sequences, permitting the design of oligonucleotide primers and probes; database (software GelCompare) of profiles generated by ITS-RFLP and amplification with HIP1 extended primers; photographic database of environmental samples (~700 entries). A majority of the strain information from the PCC has been transferred from CYANOBANK to a new database shared by all the culture collections of the CRBIP and a new edition of the catalogue of the PCC appeared in 2005.

Research and characterisation of toxic and bioactive secondary metabolites

Neurotoxic alkaloids (A. Méjean, C. Peyraud-Thomas and R. Rippka). Cyanobacteria synthesize different types of neurotoxic alkaloids, harmful to animals and humans. In order to quantify anatoxin-a in neurotoxic cyanobacterial strains and in environmental samples, we have synthesized in vivo anatoxin-a labelled with 13C and 15N isotopes using the strain Oscillatoria PCC 6506. Collection of environmental samples was conducted in summer in the South of France where mortality of dogs has been reported each year since 2002. The presence of anatoxin-a has been detected by gas chromatography coupled to mass spectrometry in most of the samples. Several filamentous nonheterocystous cyanobacteria have been isolated from these samples, including two strains belonging to the genera Geitlerinema and Oscillatoria. These strains have been axenized in order to determine their toxicity.

Toxic or bioactive oligopeptides (S. Cadel, M. Welker, V. Gaget, I. Iteman, A.M. Castets et N. Tandeau de Marsac). Cyanobacteria of the genus Microcystis synthesize hepatotoxic oligopeptides (microcystins) and inhibitors of serine proteases (cyanopeptolins and aeruginosins) by nonribosomal pathways. Cyanopeptolins also display cytotoxic activity and promote cell differentiation. In the context of the European project PEPCY "Toxic and bioactive peptides in cyanobacteria"  (http://www.pepcy.de/) and in collaboration with the team of E. Dittmann (Humboldt Universität, Berlin, Germany), we have characterized peptide synthetases and polyketide synthases involved in the synthesis of these oligopeptides and constructed mutants in order to elucidate their role. Depending on strains, cyanopeptolins and aeruginosins are chlorinated or non-chlorinated and, in a given strain, chlorination of one of these two types of oligopeptides is exclusive. Accordingly, the genes encoding halogenases are present or absent in the genome. When present, these genes are flanked by direct and inverted repeated sequences characteristic of mobile elements, while in their absence, a genomic print of these elements remain. Cyanobacterial halogenases form a monophyletic group among bacteria suggesting their unique and ancient acquisition during evolution (Collaboration with C. Dauga, Plate-form 4 - Integration et Genome analysis). Moreover, the further division in two sub-groups indicates the high specificity of these enzymes for their respective substrate: 4-hydroxyphenyl lactate for the halogenase of aeruginosins and tyrosine for that of cyanopeptolins. These enzymes are FADH2-dependent and belong to the halogenase family that chlorinates phenols and pyrrol derivatives. The biochemical characterization of these halogenases and the determination of their function in Microcystis are underway. Finally, in the context of a Research and Development Project (Tripartite contract Veolia-Eau/Genesystems/Institut Pasteur), we are developing a system for the rapid and reliable detection and identification of three genera of potentially hepatotoxic cyanobacteria (Microcystis, Anabaena and Planktothrix). This device will be used to monitor health risk in drinking-water reservoirs.

2. Biodiversity and ecology of aquatic microbial communities (J.F. Humbert)

Monitoring of the Planktothrix rubescens populations in lake of Bourget: by a comparative approach, we have shown that red-pigmented Planktothrix strains that colonize lake of Bourget are particularly well adapted to their ecological niche. Indeed, this ecotype displays high competitiveness at low temperature and under low light enriched in green wavelengths. Moreover, since zooplankton do not graze on these cyanoabacteria, predation does not seem to directly control the dynamics of these populations (Collaboration with Pr. B. Pinel-Alloul, Université du Québec, Montréal, Canada).

Composition and structure of bacterial communities in continental aquatic ecosystems: we have determined the relative influence of the trophic control and the volumetric characteristics of water reservoirs, as well as other parameters such as the climate, on the composition and structure of bacterial communities in continental aquatic ecosystems. Several libraries of clones have been constructed using amplicons of 16S rRNA sequences obtained by PCR amplification of total DNA extracted from water samples collected from Alpine lakes and African reservoirs. Results indicate that all these communities are dominated by actinobacteria. It also appears that the bacterial composition in small-size West-African ecosystems may deeply vary (drift effect?). In contrast, in large Alpine lakes, despite contrasted trophic status, no significant difference has been observed in the structure of these communities (Collaboration with P. Cecchi and M. Bouvy, IRD, France).

3. Genome structure and acclimation in cyanobacteria (P. Quillardet, A.M. Castets, D. Mourier des Gayets et N. Tandeau de Marsac)

In the environment, planktonic cyanobacteria of the genus Microcystis form waterblooms potentially harmful to animals and Man. In order to elucidate the developmental cycle of these microorganisms and their acclimation capabilities to variations in environmental parameters, we have chosen the hepatotoxic strain Microcystis aeruginosa PCC 7806 as a model system. The finishing of its genome sequence is underway in collaboration with the teams of C. Bouchier (Plate-form 1 - Génomics), and L. Frangeul and S. Bun (Plate-form 4 - Integration et Genome Analysis). Mining of the genome sequence has already revealed genes encoding proteins of particular interest: a lectin (microvirin) and a RuBisCO-like protein (RbcLIV). Lectins are targets for intercellular signalling in bacteria that form biofilms. Similarly, the interactions between microcystins, lectins, and lipopolysaccharides may be involved in the formation and/or the maintenance of colonies, structures that largely contribute to the high competitiveness of these cyanobacteria in their environment (Collaboration with the team of E. Dittmann, Humboldt Universität, Berlin, Germany). RbcLIV is a form IV member of the superfamily of ribulose-1,5-diphosphate carboxylases/oxygenases (RuBisCOs). It shares similarities with the large subunit of the RuBisCO of form I that fixes carbon dioxide in photosynthetic organisms. In Microcystis cells, the expression of rbcLIV increases under sulphur limitation suggesting a role of this protein in sulphur metabolism. Moreover, this enzyme has no carboxylase but an enolase activity. Therefore it perfoms only the first of the three reactions catalysed by the RubisCO of form I. Finally, complementation of a MtnW mutant in B. subtilis indicated that it might be involved in the recycling of methionine (Collaboration with A. Yokota, Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan). This metabolic pathway so far unknown in cyanobacteria may benefit to Microcystis cells exposed to high light intensity and to elevated oxygen concentration at the surface of dense waterblooms. Cyanobacteria are presently the only microorganisms in which both a photosynthetic RubisCO and a RuBisCO-like protein of form IV are demonstrated to coexist.

Cyanobacteria belonging to the genera Prochlorococcus and Synechococcus are ubiquitous and dominant in the marine phytoplankton. They highly contribute to the photosynthetic primary production on our planet. In central regions of members of Prochlorococcus are more abundant than those of Synechococcus. Conversely, the latter are preponderant in nutrient-rich and coastal areas. In 2005, the sequence of the genome of Synechococcus RCC307 (http://www.cns.fr/externe/Francais/Projets/Projet_HP/organisme_HP.html), a strain isolated from an oligotrophic area, has been determined at the Génoscope (Evry, France), by an international consortium of five laboratories including ours (Coordination: F. Partensky, Station Biologique de Roscoff, France). The genome sequence of the coastal strain Synechococcus WH7803 determined last year has been annotated. Comparative analysis of ten genomes of marine Synechococcus strains (from upwelling zones and central or coastal areas) and three Prochlorococcus members revealed the structure diversity of their genome (different degrees of compactness or plasticity), as well as specific traits of their evolution depending on the ecological niches they colonize.

Legend of the pictures : Anabaena sp. (left), Microcystis sp. (centre), Planktothrix sp. (right).

Keywords:



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications 2005 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  LENOIR Lucile (llenoir@pasteur.fr) HERDMAN Michael, CNRS (Researcher, mherdman@pasteur.fr)

HERDMAN-RIPPKA Rosmarie, IP (Researcher, rrippka@pasteur.fr)

HUMBERT Jean-François, INRA (Researcher, humbert@pasteur.fr)

ITEMAN Isabelle, IP (Researcher, iiteman@pasteur.fr)

MEJEAN Annick, Université Paris 7 (Researcher, amejean@pasteur.fr)

QUILLARDET Philippe, IP (Researcher, philqui@pasteur.fr)

TANDEAU de MARSAC Nicole, CNRS, IP (Researcher, ntmarsac@pasteur.fr)

BUN Somaly, IP (Contrat d’apprentissage en Informatique)

CADEL Sabrina (PhD Student)

GAGET Virginie (PhD student)

KEHR Jan-Christoph (Student)

MOURIER des GAYETS Daphné (Student)

PEYRAUD-THOMAS Caroline (Postdoctoral fellow)

TOLONEN Andrew (Postdoctoral fellow)

CASTETS Anne-Marie, CNRS (Assistant-Engineer, acastets@pasteur.fr)

COURSIN Thérèse, IP (Technician, tcoursin@pasteur.fr)

LAURENT Thierry, IP (Technician, tlaurent@pasteur.fr)


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Cyanobactéries - CNRS URA 2172


  Responsable : TANDEAU de MARSAC Nicole (ntmarsac@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les cyanobactéries, procaryotes oxyphototrophes, jouent un rôle important dans le maintien de l'équilibre entre le CO2 et l'oxygène dans l'atmosphère. Adaptées à des environnements variés, même extrêmes, elles colonisent la plupart des écosystèmes aquatiques et terrestres. Au cours des dernières décennies, les efflorescences de cyanobactéries planctoniques se sont multipliées dans les écosystèmes aquatiques continentaux, conséquence des pollutions introduites par l'Homme. Outre les dysfonctionnements environnementaux qu'elles engendrent, ces proliférations peuvent être dangereuses pour la santé animale et humaine, en raison du grand nombre de métabolites secondaires (hépato- et/ou neurotoxines) que certaines cyanobactéries produisent.

Nos travaux de recherche visent à accroître notre connaissance de la biodiversité et de la physiologie des cyanobactéries, en particulier des souches toxiques. Ces études, du gène à l'écosystème, sont abordées par des approches multidisciplinaires qui s'appuient sur des échantillons collectés dans l'environnement et sur une collection de souches axéniques, la PCC, développée depuis de nombreuses années dans notre laboratoire.



  rapport

cale

1. La PCC ou "Pasteur Culture Collection of Cyanobacteria"

La PCC est internationalement reconnue tant pour la qualité (cultures axéniques) que pour la diversité des propriétés morphologiques et physiologiques de ses souches.

Les missions de la PCC comprennent à la fois des activités de service et de recherche :

Préservation et accroissement des ressources biologiques (R. Rippka, I. Iteman, M. Herdman, T. Coursin et T. Laurent)

La PCC comprend environ 750 souches axéniques représentatives d'une soixantaine de morphotypes provenant d'écosystèmes très divers ; 475 souches sont disponibles sur catalogue (http://www.pasteur.fr/recherche/banques/PCC/). Dans l'optique d'une intégration de la PCC dans le Centre de Ressources Biologiques de l'Institut Pasteur (CRBIP), la mise en place du contrôle qualité est en cours. Un grand nombre de cyanobactéries planctoniques sont sensibles à la conservation en azote liquide, même en présence d'un cryoprotecteur, le diméthylsulfoximide. Nous avons montré que l'ajout de desferrioxamine, un chélateur de fer ayant indirectement un effet antioxydant, améliore la survie de deux souches du genre Arthrospira ("Spiruline"). Ce chélateur est actuellement testé sur d'autres souches pour en élargir l'utilisation si possible.

Distribution et ventes de souches (R. Rippka)

En 2005, environ 300 souches ont été envoyées à des laboratoires de recherche et des industriels dans le monde entier, ainsi que pour l'enseignement en France et au Sénégal. Une importante activité de conseil est également associée à la PCC.

Bases de données (I. Iteman, R. Rippka et M. Herdman)

"CYANOBANK" (Windows 98, Microsoft Access) : propriétés des souches de la PCC ; "ITS size database" : nombre et taille des amplicons des ITS (300 entrées) ; "Photographic database" (610 entrées) ; "Storage database" : inventaire des souches conservées dans l'azote liquide ; les trois derniers modules interagissent avec CYANOBANK. D'autres bases de données sont indépendantes de CYANOBANK : "ITS sequence database" avec ~300 séquences d'ITS de cyanobactéries alignées ; "Cyanobacterial 16S rRNA sequence database", maintenue sous le logiciel ARB avec plus de 900 séquences alignées ; "Bacterial 16S rRNA sequence database", qui permet de choisir des amorces oligonucléotidiques ou des sondes et comprend plus de 13000 séquences ; bases de données (sous GelCompare) des profils RFLP des ITS et des profils obtenus par amplification avec des amorces basées sur les séquences HIP1 ; banque photographique (~700 entrées) basée sur l'observation d'échantillons naturels. La majorité des données concernant les propriétés des souches de la PCC ont été transférées de "CYANOBANK" dans une nouvelle base de données commune aux collections du CRBIP et une nouvelle édition du catalogue de la PCC est parue en 2005.

Recherche et caractérisation de métabolites secondaires, toxiques ou bioactifs

Alcaloïdes neurotoxiques (A. Méjean, C. Peyraud-Thomas et R. Rippka). Les cyanobactéries synthétisent différents types d'alcaloïdes neurotoxiques mortels pour les animaux et dangereux pour l'Homme. Afin de pouvoir quantifier l'anatoxine-a dans les souches de cyanobactéries neurotoxiques et dans des échantillons prélevés dans l'environnement, nous avons synthétisé in vivo de l'anatoxine-a marquée par les isotopes 13C et au 15N à partir de la souche Oscillatoria PCC 6506. Des campagnes d'échantillonnage ont été effectuées en été dans le sud de la France sur des sites où des mortalités de chiens avaient été répertoriées chaque année depuis 2002. La présence d'anatoxine-a dans la majorité des échantillons a été détectée par chromatographie gazeuse couplée à la spectrométrie de masse. Plusieurs cyanobactéries filamenteuses non-hétérocystées ont été isolées de ces échantillons, dont deux appartenant aux genres Geitlerinema et Oscillatoria Ces souches ont été rendues axéniques, afin de pouvoir déterminer leur toxicité.

Oligopeptides toxiques ou bioactifs (S. Cadel, M. Welker, V. Gaget, I. Iteman, A.M. Castets et N. Tandeau de Marsac). Les cyanobactéries du genre Microcystis synthétisent par voie non ribosomale des oligopeptides hépatotoxiques (microcystines) et des inhibiteurs de protéases à sérine (cyanopeptoline et aéruginosine). La cyanopeptoline a en outre une activité cytotoxique et promotrice de la différenciation cellulaire. Dans le cadre du projet européen PEPCY "Toxic and bioactive peptides in cyanobacteria"  (http://www.pepcy.de/) et en collaboration avec le groupe de E. Dittmann (Humboldt Universität, Berlin, Allemagne), nous avons caractérisé les peptides synthétases et les polykétides synthases impliqués dans la synthèse de ces oligopeptides et des mutants ont été construits en vue de comprendre le rôle de ces oligopeptides. Selon les souches, la cyanopeptoline et l'aéruginosine sont chlorées ou non-chlorées et, chez une même souche, la chloration de l'un de ces deux oligopeptides est exclusive. Au niveau génomique, les gènes codant les halogénases sont flanqués de séquences répétées directes et inversées caractéristiques des éléments d'ADN mobiles, et une empreinte génomique demeure en place lorsque ces gènes sont absents. Au sein des halogénases bactériennes, les enzymes cyanobactériennes forment un groupe monophylétique pouvant suggérer une acquisition unique et ancienne au cours de l'évolution (Collaboration avec C. Dauga, Plate-forme 4 - Intégration et Analyse génomique). De plus, la division de ce groupe en 2 sous-groupes révèle la haute spécificité de ces enzymes pour leur substrat : le 4-hydroxyphenyl lactate pour l'halogénase des aéruginosines et la tyrosine pour celle des cyanopeptolines. Ces enzymes sont FADH2-dependantes et appartiennent à la famille des halogénases qui chlorent les phénols et les dérivés pyrroles. La caractérisation biochimique de ces halogénases et la détermination de leur rôle chez Microcystis font l'objet de recherches en cours. Enfin, dans le cadre d'un projet de Recherche et Développement (Contrat tripartite Veolia-Eau/Genesystems/Institut Pasteur), nous mettons au point un système de détection et d'identification rapide et fiable de trois genres cyanobactériens potentiellement hépatotoxiques (Microcystis, Anabaena et Planktothrix) dans l'environnement, afin de prévenir un risque sanitaire au niveau des réserves d'eau destinées à la consommation humaine.

2. Biodiversité et écologie des communautés microbiennes aquatiques (J.F. Humbert)

Contrôle des populations de Planktothrix rubescens dans le lac du Bourget : Nous avons montré par une approche comparée, que les souches de Planktothrix pigmentées en rouge proliférant dans le lac du Bourget sont tout à fait bien adaptées à la niche écologique qu'elles occupent. En effet, cet écotype s'est révélé particulièrement compétitif à des températures peu élevées et dans des conditions d'éclairement faible et dominé par les longueurs d'onde verte. D'autre part, il est apparu que ces cyanobactéries étaient peu consommées par le zooplancton et donc que la prédation ne semblait pas exercer un contrôle direct sur la dynamique de ses populations (Collaboration avec Pr. B. Pinel-Alloul, Université du Québec, Montréal, Canada).

Composition et structure des communautés bactériennes dans les écosystèmes aquatiques continentaux : L'influence relative du niveau trophique des plans d'eau, de leurs caractéristiques volumétriques et d'autres paramètres tels que le climat sur la composition et la structure des communautés eubactériennes des écosystèmes aquatiques continentaux a été déterminée. Pour cela, nous avons procédé à la constitution de plusieurs banques de clones après amplification par PCR d'un fragment d'ADNr 16S sur des ADN provenant d'échantillons d'eau prélevés dans des lacs alpins et des réservoirs africains. Le séquençage de ce fragment dans près de 1000 clones issus de ces banques a fourni des résultats originaux sur la structure de ces communautés. Ainsi, il apparaît que toutes ces communautés sont dominées par les actinobactéries et que les écosystèmes de petites tailles peuvent subir de fortes divergences dans leur composition bactérienne (effets de dérives ?). En revanche dans les grands lacs alpins, malgré des statuts trophiques contrastés, aucune différence significative n'est apparue dans la structure de ces communautés (Collaboration avec P. Cecchi et M. Bouvy, IRD, France))).

3. Structure des génomes et potentiels adaptatifs chez les cyanobactéries (P. Quillardet, A.M. Castets, D. Mourier des Gayets et N. Tandeau de Marsac)

Les cyanobactéries planctoniques du genre Microcystis forment des efflorescences très nuisibles pour l'Homme et les animaux. Afin de comprendre le cycle de développement de ces organismes et leurs capacités d'adaptation aux variations de paramètres environnementaux, nous avons choisi comme modèle d'étude la souche hépatotoxique Microcystis aeruginosa PCC 7806. Le séquençage de son génome est en cours de finition en collaboration avec l'équipe de C. Bouchier (Plate-forme 1 - Génomique), et avec L. Frangeul et S. Bun (Plate-forme 4 - Intégration et Analyse génomique). L'analyse génomique a d'ores et déjà révélé l'existence de plusieurs gènes codant des protéines permettant de mieux comprendre le mode de vie de Microcystis et notamment ses capacités à proliférer. Il s'agit tout d'abord d'une lectine, la microvirine qui se lie spécifiquement à des sucres de type mannane. Les lectines sont les cibles de signaux intercellulaires chez les bactéries qui forment des biofilms. Par analogie, les interactions entre microcystines, lectines et lipopolysaccharides chez les souches de Mircocystis pourraient assurer la formation et/ou le maintien des colonies dont l'état d'agrégation contribue de façon très significative au succès de ces cyanobactéries dans leur environnement (Collaboration avec l'équipe de E. Dittmann, Humboldt Universität, Berlin, Allemagne). La seconde protéine (RbcLIV) appartient à la forme IV de la superfamille des ribulose-1,5-bisphosphates carboxylases/oxygénases (RuBisCO). Cette protéine présente une faible similarité avec la grande sous-unité (RbcLI) de l'enzyme qui catalyse la fixation du dioxyde de carbone. Chez Microcystis, l'expression du gène rbcLIV augmente en carence en soufre, ce qui suggère que RbcLIV joue un rôle dans le métabolisme du soufre. Cette enzyme a une activité énolase, mais n'a pas d'activité carboxylase ; elle n'effectue donc que la première des trois réactions chimiques catalysées par la RuBisCO de forme I. Enfin, la complémentation d'un mutant MtnW de Bacillus subtilis, a montré que RbcLIV pourrait être impliqué dans le recyclage de la méthionine (Collaboration avec l'équipe de A. Yokota, Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japon). Cette capacité métabolique inconnue jusqu'alors chez les cyanobactéries représente vraisemblablement un avantage adaptatif pour Microcystis dans des périodes de son cycle où elle forme des efflorescences denses, les cellules en surface étant alors exposées à un fort éclairement et à des concentrations élevées en oxygène. Microcystis est le premier microorganisme chez lequel il est démontré qu'une RuBisCO de forme I, intervenant dans la photosynthèse, coexiste avec une RuBisCO de form IV.

Les cyanobactéries des genres Prochlorococcus et Synechococcus sont ubiquistes et dominantes dans le phytoplancton marin. Elles contribuent de façon majeure à la production primaire photosynthétique sur notre planète. Dans les régions centrales des océans pauvres en nutriments, les Prochlorococcus sont plus abondants que les Synechococcus. Inversement, ces derniers sont prépondérants dans les zones plus riches en nutriments et dans les régions côtières. En 2005, le séquençage du génome de Synechococcus RCC307 (http://www.cns.fr/externe/Francais/Projets/Projet_HP/organisme_HP.html, souche isolée d'une zone oligotrophe, a été réalisé au Génoscope d'Evry (France) en collaboration avec un consortium international de cinq laboratoires (dont notre Unité) coordonné par F. Partensky (Station Biologique de Roscoff, France). Le génome de la souche WH7803 séquencé par le même consortium en 2004 a été annoté. L'analyse comparative des dix génomes de Synechoccoccus marins (provenant de zones de remontées d'eaux profondes et de zones océaniques centrales ou côtières) et de trois souches de Prochlorococcus (adaptées à des fortes ou faibles intensités lumineuses) a permis de mettre à jour la diversité de structure de leur génome (différents degrés de compacité et de plasticité), ainsi que leurs caractéristiques évolutives selon les niches écologiques qu'elles occupent.

Légendes des photos : Anabaena sp. (gauche), Microcystis sp. (centre), Planktothrix sp. (droite).

Mots-clés: Collection de cyanobactéries (PCC), Bases de données, Biodiversité, Toxines, Métabolisme, Génome



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2005 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  LENOIR Lucile (llenoir@pasteur.fr) HERDMAN Michael, CNRS (Chargé de Recherche 1, mherdman@pasteur.fr)

HERDMAN-RIPPKA Rosmarie, IP (Chargé de Recherche, rrippka@pasteur.fr)

HUMBERT Jean-François, INRA (Directeur de Recherche, humbert@pasteur.fr)

ITEMAN Isabelle, IP (Chargé de Recherche, iiteman@pasteur.fr)

MEJEAN Annick, UP7 (Maître de Conférences, amejean@pasteur.fr)

QUILLARDET Philippe, IP (Chargé de Recherche, philqui@pasteur.fr)

TANDEAU de MARSAC, CNRS (Directeur de Recherche 1) IP (Chef de Laboratoire, ntmarsac@pasteur.fr)

BUN Somaly, IP (Contrat d’apprentissage en BioInformatique)

CADEL SIX Sabrina, UP6 (Doctorante)

GAGET Virginie, UP7 (Doctorante)

KEHR Jan-Christoph (Etudiant)

MOURIER des GAYETS Daphné (Etudiante)

PEYRAUD-THOMAS Caroline (Chercheur post-doctoral)

TOLONEN Andrew (Chercheur post-doctoral)

CASTETS Anne-Marie, CNRS (Assitante-Ingénieur, acastets@pasteur.fr)

COURSIN Thérèse, IP (Technicienne Supérieure de Laboratoire, tcoursin@pasteur.fr)

LAURENT Thierry, IP (Technicien de Laboratoire, tlaurent@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr