Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Biological Software and Databases


  Director : Bernard Caudron (caudron@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The "Biological Software and Databanks" Group is in charge of the installation, maintenance and interfacing of biological software for researchers, as well as the maintenance and access to a choice of international biological databanks. We provide the concept of scientific databases that enable to place laboratory results online. The interfaces used to present the biological software are in full release; their installation on the new cluster is under way. The group takes part in teaching activities: bioinformatics for the continuing education courses, initiation to bioinformatics for the Genome Analysis and the Cell and Molecular Genetics courses and the organisation of the course in Informatics for Biology of the Institut Pasteur.



  report

cale

Software for biology:

The whole software available for biology is divided into 340 packets including about 1500 programs. Installation, release and maintenance of this software represent the major part of the group work. The packet software is being installed on the new cluster. The migration began during the 4th quarter of 2005 and we still have 6 months left to work.

To make the access to this software more convivial, we have constructed 380 Web interfaces that guide the user in the choice of the programs and parameters related that enables him to start by the Web and to retrieve results by email. This service is opened on the campus and from outside, it is comparable to the one that is provided reciprocally by the NCBI, the EBI or the SIB to the researchers worldwide. Software is sometimes spoilt by mistakes, our mission is to detect these mistakes and analyse them in order to send the authors either a report, or a corrective when we have found one.

Our group interacts in a constructive way with the following centres: NCBI (for Blast programs), Washington University (phred, phrap, consed, phylip) and the EMBOSS developers (European Molecular Biology Open Software Suite).

The project Mobyle, which relies on studies made since end 2003, intended to improve the current portal of bioinformatics analysis is at 75 % of its implementation.

Biological databanks: (person in charge: N. Joly)

Since 1999, the biological databases are updated with an automate that has been developed by Nicolas Joly, Marc Baudoin and myself. We have made software that updates automatically biological databanks currently available on our servers. The important data volume remained the most difficult constrain to manage. The space used on disks for the whole formats represents for GenBank 650 Go, for Embl 600 Go and for the other databanks 150 Go, in total 1400 Go are reserved for databanks. Today 36 banks, including Embl, GenBank, RefSeq, Uniprot, Nrprot, Genpept, Pdb, Pir are locally copies of original banks that are searched periodically by the automate on their respective production sites.

Databases: (persons in charge: Louis Jones, C. Jorge)

In 2005, new databases have been added according to the model "GenoList" to present on the web the eukaryotic genome Candida albicans (CanidaDB), the genome Aspergilus Fumigatus (AspergiList) and the genome Mycobacterium Smegmatis (SmegmaList). A database for biodiversity has been developed by

L. Jones for Ph. Glaser. This work resulted in a presentation during the departmental days of June 2005 (The Biodiversity database, L. Jones).

The ARPAS software that manages and interrogates the CRBIP's database is being running for 3 years, its adaptation is under way to integrate a web access.

A database has been developed for the Mouse Molecular Genetics Unit, to analyse, compare and label the X-chromosome regions around the mouse and bovine gene Xist.

Currently C. Jorge works in collaboration with the "Centre of resources in biostatistics, epidemiology and pharmaco-epidemiology" (D. Guillemot, C. Toneatti-Lemare, L. Lafitte) to the development and experimentation of data collection tools via secured databases and via the Internet (eCRF) adapted to the pharmaco-epidemiology research.

Electronic mail help:

Since the year 2005, a new electronic address pi-bioinfo at pasteur.fr enables the researchers at the campus to ask about the software, databanks and databases applied to biology. We also answer to the questions of external users connected by the Internet on our Bioweb server.

Bioinformatics training sessions: (person in charge: C. Maufrais)

We suggest since 1993, with the continuing education department, theoretical and practical training sessions for the autonomous and critical use of biological data analysis software. A training session is held each year, during 3 weeks in November and in December, that is to say fifteen 1/2 days that can be followed by about thirty researchers, technicians or trainees.

Courses: (persons in charge C. Letondal, C. Maufrais, K. Schuerer, E. Deveaud)

The informatics in biology course takes place from January 6th to April 29rd, 2005. This course aims at giving the biologists autonomy in the creation of software tools. After a theoretical part that introduces the informatics bases and implies about twenty lecturers in total (half of them belongs to the Institut Pasteur), 16 trainees have succeeded in applying their knowledge to the completion of a bioinformatics project. The theme of this project is a real problem set either by the student laboratory, or by one of the lecturer.

Scientific animation:

The year 2005 was the opportunity, for Catherine Letondal in collaboration with Thierry Rose and F. Hantraye, to coordinate a little group of scientific and technical discussions that includes 70 subscribers, a part of them meets about twice a month to present their works and share their experience on bioinformatics.

Keywords: bioinformatics, biological software, databases, databanks



  publications

puce Publications 2005 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Boussin, Marie-Christine, mcb@pasteur.fr     Caudron Bernard, caudron@pasteur.fr

Deveaud Éric, edeveaud@pasteur.fr

Joly Nicolas, njoly@pasteur.fr

Jones Louis, lmj@pasteur.fr

Jorge Catherine, cjorge@pasteur.fr

Letondal Catherine, letondal@pasteur.fr

Maufrais Corinne, maufrais@pasteur.fr

Néron Bertrand, bneron@pasteur.fr


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Logiciels et Banques de données


  Responsable : Bernard Caudron (caudron@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Le groupe " Logiciels et Banques de données " est responsable de l'installation, la maintenance et l'interfaçage de logiciels biologiques pour les chercheurs, ainsi que la maintenance et la mise à disposition d'un choix de banques de données biologiques internationales. Nous assurons la conception de bases de données scientifiques permettant la mise en ligne des résultats des laboratoires. Les interfaces utilisées pour présenter les logiciels de biologie sont en pleine refonte et sont en cours d'installation sur le nouveau cluster. Le groupe participe à des activités d'enseignement : la bioinformatique pour la formation continue, l'initiation à la bioinformatique pour les cours d'Analyse des Génomes et de Génétique Cellulaire et Moléculaire, et l'organisation du cours d'Informatique en Biologie de l'Institut Pasteur.



  rapport

cale

Logiciels pour la biologie:

L'ensemble des logiciels disponibles pour la biologie est réparti en 340 paquetages regroupant environ 1500 programmes. L'installation, la mise à jour et le suivi de ces logiciels représentent la majeure partie du travail du groupe. Les paquetages logiciels sont en cours d'installation sur le nouveau cluster. La migration a commencé au 4e trimestre de 2005 et il reste encore 6 mois de travail.

Pour rendre l'accès plus convivial à ces logiciels, nous avons construit 380 interfaces Web qui guident l'utilisateur dans le choix des programmes et des paramètres associés, lui permettant de lancer par le Web et de récupérer ses résultats par email. Ce service est ouvert sur le campus et sur l'extérieur, il est comparable à celui que fournissent réciproquement le NCBI, l'EBI ou le SIB aux chercheurs du monde entier. Les logiciels sont parfois entachés d'erreurs, notre mission est de détecter ces erreurs, d'en faire l'analyse pour envoyer aux auteurs soit un rapport, soit un correctif quand nous en avons trouvé un.

Notre groupe interagit de manière constructive avec les centres suivants : NCBI (pour les programmes Blast), Washington University (phred, phrap, consed, phylip) et les développeurs d'EMBOSS (European Molecular Biology Open Software Suite).

Le projet Mobyle, s'appuyant sur des études réalisées depuis fin 2003, destiné à améliorer l'actuel portail d'analyses bioinformatiques, est arrivé aux 75% de sa réalisation.

Les banques de données biologiques : (responsable N. Joly)

Depuis 1999, la mise à jour des banques de séquences biologiques est assurée par un automate mis au point par Nicolas Joly, Marc Baudoin et moi-même. Nous avons produit un logiciel qui effectue la mise à jour automatique des banques biologiques actuellement disponibles sur nos serveurs. La difficulté de la tâche résidait dans le volume important des données à gérer. La place occupée sur disques pour la totalité des formats représente pour GenBank 650 Go, pour Embl 600 Go et pour les autres banques 150 Go, au total 1400 Go sont réservés pour les banques. Actuellement 36 banques, dont Embl, GenBank, RefSeq, Uniprot, Nrprot, Genpept, Pdb, Pir sont localement des copies des banques originales que l'automate va chercher périodiquement sur leurs sites de production respectifs.

Bases de données : (responsables L. Jones, C. Jorge)

En 2005, de nouvelles bases de données ont été ajoutées selon le modèle " GenoList " pour présenter sur le web le génome eucaryote Candida albicans (CandidaDB ), le génome d'Aspergilus Fumigatus (AspergiList) et le génome de Mycobacterium Smegmatis (SmegmaList). Une base de données pour la biodiversité a été développée par L. Jones pour Ph. Glaser. Ce travail a donné lieu à une présentation  aux journées départementales de juin 2005 (La base de données de Biodiversité, L. Jones).

Le logiciel ARPAS, qui gère et interroge la base de données du CRBIP est fonctionnel depuis 3 ans, son adaptation est en cours pour y intégrer un accès par le web.

Une base de donnée a été développée pour l'unité de Génétique Moléculaire Murine, pour analyser, comparer et annoter les régions du chromosme X autour du gène Xist, de souris et de bovin.

C. Jorge travaille actuellement en collaboration avec le " Centre de ressources en biostatistiques, épidémiologie et pharmaco-épidémiologie " (D. Guillemot, C. Toneatti-Lemare, L. Lafitte ) au développement et à l'expérimentation d'outils de recueils d'informations via des bases de données sécurisées et via internet (eCRF) adaptés à la recherche pharmaco-épidémiologique.

Aide par courrier électronique :

Depuis l'année 2005, une nouvelle adresse électronique pi-bioinfo at pasteur.fr permet aux chercheurs du campus de poser des questions sur les logiciels, les banques et les bases de données appliquées à la biologie. Nous répondons aussi aux questions provenant d'utilisateurs externes connectés par l'Internet sur notre serveur Bioweb.

Formation de bioinformatique : (responsable C. Maufrais)

Nous proposons depuis 1993, avec le Département Formation, des séances d'enseignement théorique et pratique pour l'utilisation autonome et critique des logiciels d'analyse de données biologiques. Une session de formation a lieu chaque année, pendant 3 semaines en novembre et décembre, soit quinze 1/2 journée qui peuvent être suivies par une trentaine de chercheurs, techniciens ou stagiaires.

Enseignements : (responsables C. Letondal, C. Maufrais, K. Schuerer, E. Deveaud)

Le cours d'informatique en biologie a eu lieu du 6 janvier au 29 avril 2005. Ce cours a comme objectif de donner à des biologistes une autonomie dans la création d'outils logiciels. Après une partie théorique introduisant les bases de l'informatique et impliquant une vingtaine d'enseignants au total (pour moitié appartenant à l'Institut Pasteur), 16 élèves, encadrés par leurs tuteurs, ont appliqué leurs connaissances à la réalisation d'un projet bioinformatique. Le thème de ce projet est un problème réel proposé soit par le laboratoire de l'étudiant, soit par l'un des tuteurs du cours.

Animation scientifique :

L'année 2005 a été l'occasion, pour C. Letondal en collaboration avec T. Rose, et F. Hantraye, de coordonner un groupe de discussions scientifiques et techniques qui regroupe au total 70 personnes abonnées, dont une partie participe 2 fois par mois à une réunion pour y présenter leurs travaux et communiquer leur expérience sur le thème de la bioinformatique.

Mots-clés: bioinformatique, logiciels scientifiques, banques de données, bases de données



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2005 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Boussin, Marie-Christine, mcb@pasteur.fr     Caudron Bernard, cadre informaticien, IP, caudron@pasteur.fr

Deveaud Éric, cadre informaticien, IP, edeveaud@pasteur.fr

Joly Nicolas, cadre informaticien, IP, njoly@pasteur.fr

Jones Louis, cadre informaticien, IP, lmj@pasteur.fr

Jorge Catherine, cadre informaticien, IP, cjorge@pasteur.fr

Letondal Catherine, cadre informaticien, IP, letondal@pasteur.fr

Maufrais Corinne, cadre informaticien, IP, maufrais@pasteur.fr

Néron Bertrand, cadre informaticien, IP, bneron@pasteur.fr

Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr