Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Molecular Genetics of Development - CNRS URA 2578


  Director : BUCKINGHAM Margaret (margab@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our research focusses on the study of myogenesis, with the aim of understanding how muscle cells are specified in the embryo and how this leads to the formation of different skeletal muscles. These studies extend to muscle progenitor cells in the adult and the potential contribution of stem cells to skeletal muscle regeneration. We are also interested in cardiogenesis, with the analysis of the origin and behaviour of different populations of myocardial precursor cells and how they contribute to heart morphogenesis. The animal model is the mouse, using experimental approaches on gene manipulation.



  report

cale

Myf5 and Mrf4 genes, as well as Pax3 and its paralogue Pax7, act upstream in the genetic hierarchy that determines the entry of a cell into the myogenic differentiation programme. Myf5 and Mrf4 are members of the family of b-HLH myogenic regulatory factors (Myf5, Mrf4, MyoD and Myogenin), while Pax3 belongs to the Pax family of homeo-domain transcription factors, members of which play a key role in organogenesis and in the appearance of specialized cell types during development.

Pax genes and myogenic progenitor cells in the embryo

[F. Relaix, D. Rocancourt, in collaboration with A. Mansouri (Göttingen)]

The nlacZ and GFP reporters that we have introduced into Pax3 label the cells that express this gene during development. In the case of Pax7, the existence of reliable antibodies as well as a Pax7LacZ/+ mouse line provide tools for following its expression. We have observed the presence of Pax3+, Pax7+ cells, which do not express myogenic markers and which divide, within muscle masses. Such cells are initially present in the central region of the dermomyotome, the epithelial structure that gives rise to muscle cells, and then in all late embryonic and fœtal muscles. The stability of the GFP reporter, which acts as a chase, shows that cells that have expressed Pax3, become myoblasts with activation of the myogenic determination genes, Myf5 and MyoD, and then differentiate into muscle fibres. In Pax3-/-/Pax7-/- double mutants, these cells do not enter the myogenic programme but die or become incorporated into other tissues. In the absence of these muscle progenitor cells there is a major deficit in skeletal muscle ; the only muscles present are those formed during the first wave of myogenesis which can occur in the absence of Pax3/7. This depends on Myf5 and also Mrf4, but all the subsequent formation and growth of skeletal muscles depends on the Pax3+, Pax7+ progenitor cell population.

The role of Pax3 and Pax7 in the satellite cells of postnatal muscle

[D. Montarras, F. Relaix, S. Zaffran, en collaboration avec A.Mansouri (Göttingen), S. Tajbakhsh et B. Gayraud-Morel (IP) et A. Cumano (IP)]

Postnatal muscle growth and regeneration depend on satellite cells. Like pre-natal muscle progenitor cells, which assume a satellite cell position under the basal lamina of the fibre just prior to birth, they express Pax7. In Pax7 mutant mice, satellite cells are initially present and therefore specified, but are progressively lost. Pax3, which is also expressed in the satellite cells of most muscles, as visualised by targeted reporter genes, does not save the situation. We show that satelllite cells die in the absence of Pax7. The anti-apoptotic action of Pax7 is illustrated by the death of cultured satellite cells infected with an adenovirus expressing Pax7-En, a dominant-negative form of Pax7. Pax3-En does not show the same effect. We conclude that Pax7 plays an anti-apoptotic role and that Pax3 does not perform this function in these adult muscle progenitor cells. In contrast, the manipulation of dominant negative forms of both Pax proteins shows that Pax3 and Pax7 play a role in the activation of MyoD, thus regulating the entry of a satellite cell into the myogenic programme. Myf5 also plays this role, independently of Pax3/7 ; and it is only in satellite cells from Myf5-/- mutant mice, in the presence of Pax3-En/Pax7-En, that myogenesis does not take place.

Isolation of satellite cells from Pax3GFP/+ mice

[D. Montarras, F. Relaix, in collaboration with A. Cumano (IP), J. Morgan and T. Partridge (London)]

In Pax3GFP/+ mice many satellite cells are GFP positive, permitting for the first time their purification. We have isolated these cells by flow cytometry and analysed their properties in vitro and in vivo. In culture, a clonal analysis shows that they form muscle cells (>95%). In vivo grafting experiments into mdx mice demonstrate the efficiency of their contribution to regenerating fibres, marked by the expression of dystrophin, absent in mdx mice. The reserve of satellite cells is also reconstituted by these GFP+ cells, which self renew. A comparison of different preparations of GFP+ cells shows a loss of efficiency with crude preparations and/or after cell culture. The isolation of fluorescent satellite cells from Pax3GFP/+ mice has led to the definition of parameters of cell size and granulosity which have been used to isolate satellite cells from wild type mice. These cells behave like satellite cells both in vitro and in vivo. We conclude that purified satellite cells have the properties of adult muscle progenitor cells, with considerable regenerative potential.

The regulation of Myf5 and Pax3 targets

[L. Bajard, C. Crist, P. Daubas, M. Lagha, F. Relaix, D. Rocancourt, S. Vincent]

The analysis of Pax3Pax3-En-IRESnlacZ/+ embryos, in which it is possible to examine the role of Pax3 in the hypaxial somite and its derivatives in the absence of pronounced cell death, as well as our analysis of Myf5 regulatory sequences, suggest that Pax3 acts directly upstream of Myf5 in this domain of myogenesis.

We are also pursuing the regulation of Myf5 in adult skeletal muscle and its unexpected transcription in cells of the central nervous system.

We are characterising Pax3 targets in muscle progenitor cells which migrate into the limb bud, as well as the co-factors which interact with Pax3.

Blimp1 and myogenesis

[S. Vincent]

Blimp1 plays a definitive role in the emergence of the slow muscle cell lineage in the zebrafish embryo. Blimp1 is also expressed in the mouse myotome where we are styding its function.

The smooth muscle cells of the dorsal aorta derive from the same progenitor cells as the skeletal muscle of the myotome

[M. Esner, F. Relaix, in collaboration with J.-F. Nicolas (IP) and G. Cossu (Milan)]

A retrospective clonal analysis led to the demonstration that cells in the dorsal aorta and cells in the skeletal muscle of the myotome derive from the same progenitor cell. Different classes of clone reflect the developmental time when this event took place. In particular, clones present in the hypaxial dermomyotome of a single somite and in the dorsal aorta at the same axial level suggest a recent somitic origin (Figure 1A). This suggestion is reinforced by observations on Pax3GFP/+ embryos. Pax3 protein is only present in the dermomyotome and in myogenic progenitor cells that have left this structure. GFP, on the other hand, is also detected in cells located between the somite and the aorta as well as in all the smooth muscle cells of the aorta (Figure 1B,C). These are not neural crest cells and we conclude that the smooth muscle of the dorsal aorta is derived from a progenitor cell that expressed Pax3, consistent with a somitic/paraxial mesoderm origin. These results have implications for the source of mesoangioblasts, mesodermal stem cells present in the wall of the aorta with the potential to form smooth or skeletal muscle.

Cardiogenesis

[F. Bajolle, D. Galli, E. Pecnard (S. Zaffran), Y. Watanabe, in collaboration with N. Brown (London), R. Kelly (Marseilles) and S. Meilhac (Cambridge)]

The second heart field

We have shown by retrospective clonal analysis that two cell lineages participate in the formation of the myocardium of the mouse embryo. Their contributions can be distinguished by the absence of cells from the second lineage in the left ventricle, while the outflow tract of the heart is formed exclusively from the second lineage. This correlates with the presence of two heart fields, identified by explant experiments and Di-I labelling. The second heart field is characterised by the expression of a network of genes, which when mutated give phenotypes expected of interference with the second lineage.

We are currently investigating the posterior extent of the second heart field and its contribution to the venous pole of the heart. This also involves looking at the acquisition of right/left identity of cells which contribute to the atria. Where the anterior part of the second heart field is concerned, we are examining Fgf signalling in this sub-region which is characterised by the expression of Fgf8 and Fgf10. Fgf10-/- mutant embryos do not have an early cardiac phenotype, probably due to the presence of Fgf8. Mutants for the receptor of Fgf10, Fgfr2-IIIb, do have a number of cardiac malformations including some hypoplasia of the right ventricle which may reflect a second heart field effect. We are constructing Fgf8-/-/Fgf10-/- double mutants, with a conditional Fgf8 allele targeted to the second heart field, with the expectation that we should see more pronounced effects on the outflow tract and right ventricle.

Morphogenesis of the outflow tract

[F. Bajolle, E. Pecnard, S. Zaffran, in collaboration with D. Bonnet (Necker Hospital) and R. Kelly (Marseilles)]

Two transgenic mouse lines which mark sub-regions of outflow tract myocardium have led us to examine the morphogenesis of this region of the heart. They mark myocardial cells that will contribute to the base of the aorta or pulmonary trunk respectively. These marked cells undergo a counterclock-wise rotation, confirmed by Di-I labelling. In embryos with mutations that affect the neural crest cell contribution (Pax3-/-) or left/right signalling (Pitx2-/-), we observe that rotation is arrested. In these mutants the outflow tract does not undergo correct morphogenesis and there are malformations of the outflow region. This observation suggests that myocardial rotation is influenced by both contributions and that it is probably important for the correct morphogenesis of this region of the heart.

Photos :

Figure 1 : Cells in the dorsal aorta originate from somites. A. A section showing clonally related β-galactosidase positive cells in the skeletal muscle of the hypaxial myotome (HM) and the smooth muscle of the dorsal aorta (DA). Muscle is marked by an actin antibody (red). B. Pax3-GFP positive cells in the dermomyotome (DM) of the somite and in the intervening region between the somite and dorsal aorta (DA). C. A section from a Pax3GFP/GFP embryo showing that the smooth muscle cells of the dorsal aorta (DA) are GFP positive (green).

Keywords: Myogenesis, Pax3, Pax7, Myf5, Dordal Aorta, Cargiogenesis, Fgfs



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications 2005 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  TAISNE Myriam mtaisn@pasteur.fr DAUBAS Philippe pdaubas@pasteur.fr

MONTARRAS Didier dmontarr@pasteur.fr

RELAIX Frédéric frelaix@pasteur.fr

VINCENT Stéphane svincent@pasteur.fr

BAJARD Lola lbajard@pasteur.fr

BAJOLLE Fanny fbajolle@pasteur.fr

CRIST Colin cgcrist@pasteur.fr

ESNER Milan esner@pasteur.fr

LAGHA Mounia mounia@pasteur.fr

WATANABE Yusuke yusuke@pasteur.fr

BODIN Catherine cbodin@pasteur.fr

MARCHISET Sophie smarchou@pasteur.fr

PECNARD Emmanuel pecnard@pasteur.fr

PERREAU Jacqueline jperreau@pasteur.fr

ROCANCOURT Didier drocanco@pasteur.fr


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Génétique Moléculaire du Développement - CNRS URA 2578


  Responsable : BUCKINGHAM Margaret (margab@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Nos recherches sont centrées d'une part sur l'étude de la myogenèse dans le but de comprendre comment les cellules progénitrices sont spécifiées chez l'embryon pour permettre la mise en place de différentes masses musculaires du squelette. Nous sommes également intéressés par les cellules progénitrices du muscle chez l'adulte et l'éventuelle contribution de cellules souches à la régénération. D'autre part, nous étudions la cardiogenèse avec l'analyse des différentes populations précurseurs du myocarde et leur contribution à la morphogenèse du cœur. Le modèle expérimental est la souris, manipulée par les approches de génétique moléculaire.



  rapport

cale

La formation du muscle de squelette

Les gènes Myf5 et Mrf4, ainsi que Pax3 et son paralogue Pax7, se situent en haut de la hiérarchie génétique qui détermine l'entrée d'une cellule dans la voie de différenciation musculaire. Myf5 et Mrf4 font partie de la famille de facteurs de régulation myogénique (Myf5, Mrf4, MyoD, Myogénine) à motif b-HLH, tandis que Pax3 appartient à la famille des facteurs de transcription à boîte homéo, les Pax, dont différents membres jouent un rôle clé dans l'organogenèse et l'apparition de cellules spécialisées, pendant le développement.

Les gènes Pax et les cellules progénitrices du muscle chez l'embryon

[M. Lagha, F. Relaix, D. Rocancourt, en collaboration avec A. Mansouri (Göttingen)]

Les rapporteurs nlacZ et GFP que nous avons introduits dans Pax3, marquent les cellules qui expriment ce gène pendant le développement. Dans le cas de Pax7, l'existence d'un anticorps fiable, ainsi que la disponibilité de souris Pax7LacZ/+ fournit les outils pour suivre son expression. Nous avons constaté la présence de cellules Pax3+, Pax7+, qui n'expriment pas les marqueurs myogéniques et qui se divisent, à l'intérieur des masses musculaires. Ces cellules sont présentes d'abord dans la région centrale du dermomyotome, structure épithéliale du somite dorsal dont dérivent les cellules musculaires, puis dans toutes les masses musculaires de l'embryon tardif et du fœtus. La stabilité du rapporteur GFP permet de démontrer que les cellules qui ont exprimé Pax3 deviennent les myoblastes, avec activation des gènes de détermination myogéniques, Myf5 et MyoD, et se différencient ensuite en fibres musculaires. Chez les doubles mutants, Pax3-/-/Pax7-/-, ces cellules ne réalisent pas leur destin myogénique, mais meurent ou sont incorporées dans d'autres tissus tel l'os des côtes. En l'absence de ces cellules progénitrices il y a un déficit majeur du muscle de squelette ; seuls les muscles issus de la première vague de myogenèse chez l'embryon se forment, indépendamment des gènes Pax3/7. Cette myogenèse précoce dépend de Myf5 et aussi de Mrf4, mais ensuite la formation et la croissance musculaires dépendent des cellules progénitrices Pax3+/Pax7+.

Le rôle de Pax3 et Pax7 dans les cellules satellites du muscle adulte

[D. Montarras, F. Relaix, S. Zaffran, en collaboration avec A. Mansouri (Göttingen), S. Tajbakhsh et B. Gayraud-Morel (Institut Pasteur) et A. Cumano (Institut Pasteur)]

La croissance postnatale et la régénération du muscle adulte dépendent des cellules satellites. Comme les cellules progénitrices du muscle fœtal, qui assument la position "satellite" sous la lame basale des fibres musculaires, ils expriment Pax7. Chez les mutants Pax7-/- les cellules satellites sont initialement présentes, donc spécifiées, mais progressivement perdues. Pax3, qui est également exprimé dans les cellules satellites de la plupart des muscles, visualisé par l'expression des gènes rapporteurs, ne sauve pas cette situation. Nous démontrons que les cellules satellites meurent en l'absence de Pax7. L'effet anti-apoptotique de Pax7 est démontré par la mort de cellules satellites en culture après infection avec un adénovirus exprimant Pax7-En qui agit comme une forme dominante négative de Pax7. Pax3-En n'a pas les mêmes effets. Nous concluons que Pax7 joue un rôle anti-apoptotique et que Pax3 n'exerce pas cette fonction dans ces cellules progénitrices adultes. Par contre, Pax3 et Pax7 jouent un rôle dans l'activation de MyoD, régulant ainsi l'entrée d'une cellule satellite dans le programme myogénique. Myf5 joue également ce rôle indépendemment des Pax et c'est seulement dans les cellules satellites provenant de souris Myf5-/-, en présence de Pax3-En/Pax7-En que la myogenèse n'a pas lieu.

Isolement des cellules satellites à partir des souris Pax3GFP/+

[D. Montarras, F. Relaix, en collaboration avec A. Cumano (Institut Pasteur), J. Morgan et T. Partridge (Londres)]

Chez la souris Pax3GFP/+ les cellules satellites de la plupart des muscles sont GFP+. Nous avons séparé ces cellules par cytométrie de flux et analysé leurs propriétés à la fois in vitro et in vivo. En culture, l'analyse clonale montre qu'il s'agit d'une population qui forme les cellules musculaires à >95%. In vivo, après greffe de ces cellules dans les muscles dégénérés de la souris mdx, nous constatons une forte contribution à la régénération du muscle, marqué par l'expression de la dystrophine, absente chez les souris mdx. La réserve de cellules satellites du muscle est également reconstituée. La comparaison d'efficacité régénérative après greffe de différentes préparations de cellules GFP+ démontre l'intérêt d'utiliser les cellules purifiées avant leur mise en culture. L'isolement des cellules Pax3+ nous a permis de définir les paramètres de taille et granulosité, utilisés ensuite pour isoler les cellules provenant des souris sauvages. Ces cellules se comportent comme les cellules satellites à la fois in vitro et in vivo. Nous concluons que les cellules satellites sont les cellules progénitrices du muscle adulte avec un fort potentiel régénératif.

La régulation du gène Myf5 et les cibles de Pax3

[L. Bajard, C. Crist, P. Daubas, M. Lagha, F. Relaix, D. Rocancourt, S. Vincent]

L'analyse des embryons Pax3Pax3-En-IRESnlacZ/+ qui permet d'étudier le rôle de Pax3 dans le somite hypaxial et ses dérivés, sans qu'il y ait de mort cellulaire prononcée, ainsi que notre analyse des séquences qui régulent l'expression de Myf5, suggèrent que Pax3 active directement Myf5 dans ce domaine de myogenèse.

Nous étudions également la régulation d'expression de Myf5 dans le muscle adulte, ainsi que sa transcription inattendue dans le système nerveux central.

Nous recherchons les cibles de Pax3 dans les cellules progénitrices du muscle présentes dans les bourgeons des membres, ainsi que les co-facteurs qui interagissent avec Pax3.

Blimp1 et myogenèse

[S. Vincent]

Blimp1 joue un rôle définitif dans l'émergence du lignage de cellules musculaires lentes chez l'embryon du poisson zèbre. Blimp1 est également exprimé dans le myotome de la souris où nous étudions sa fonction.

Les cellules du muscle lisse de l'aorte dorsale dérivent des mêmes cellules progénitrices que le muscle de squelette du myotome

[M. Esner, F. Relaix, D. Rocancourt, en collaboration avec J.-F. Nicolas (IP) et G. Cossu (Milan)]

Par une analyse clonale rétrospective, nous avons démontré que les cellules de l'aorte dorsale et du myotome sont dérivées de la même cellule progénitrice. Différentes classes de clones reflètent le moment pendant le développement embryonnaire quand cet événement a lieu. En particulier les clones présents dans le myotome hypaxial d'un seul somite et dans l'aorte dorsale au même niveau axial, suggèrent une origine somitique récente (Figure 1A). Cette proposition est renforcée par les observations sur les embryons Pax3GFP/+. La proteine Pax3 n'est présente que dans le dermomyotome et dans les cellules progénitrices qui ont quitté cette structure. Le GFP par contre est détecté, en plus, dans les cellules situées entre le somite et l'aorte ainsi que dans toutes les cellules du muscle lisse de l'aorte (Figure 1B,C). Il ne s'agit pas de cellules de la crête neurale et nous concluons donc que le muscle lisse de l'aorte dorsale est dérivé des cellules progénitrices qui avaient exprimé Pax3 dans les somites/mésoderme présomitique. Ces résultats ont des implications pour l'origine des mésoangioblastes, cellules souches mésodermales, présentes dans l'aorte, qui ont le potentiel de former les cellules du muscle lisse et du muscle de squelette.

Cardiogenèse. Le deuxième champ cardiaque

[F. Bajolle, D. Galli, E. Pecnard, S. Zaffran, Y. Watanabe, en collaboration avec N. Brown (Londres), R. Kelly (Marseille) et S. Meilhac (Cambridge)]

Nous avons démontré, par analyse clonale rétrospective, que deux lignages de cellules participent à la formation du myocarde chez l'embryon de la souris. Leurs contributions se distinguent par l'absence de cellules du deuxième lignage dans le ventricule gauche, tandis que la voie efférente du cœur est formée uniquement à partir du deuxième lignage. Ceci est en accord avec la présence de deux champs cardiaques, identifiés par les expériences d'explants et de marquage par le Di-I. Le deuxième champ cardiaque est caractérisé par l'expression d'un réseau de gènes dont les mutations donnent les phénotypes attendus d'une atteinte à la contribution du deuxième lignage.

Nous nous intéressons actuellement à la partie postérieure du deuxième champ cardiaque et à sa contribution au pôle veineux du cœur. Nous étudions l'acquisition d'une identité droite ou gauche des cellules qui contribuent au myocarde des deux oreillettes. En ce qui concerne la partie antérieure du deuxième champ, nous étudions le rôle de la voie de signalisation Fgf dans cette sous-région qui est caractérisée par l'expression de Fgf8 et Fgf10. Les embryons Fgf10-/- n'ont pas un phénotype cardiaque précoce, probablement dû à la présence de Fgf8. Par contre en l'absence du récepteur de Fgf10, Fgfr2-IIIb, il y a un phénotype cardiaque plus prononcé avec une légère hypoplasie du ventricule droit. Actuellement, nous construisons les doubles mutants Fgf8-/-/Fgf10-/-, avec la perte de fonction de Fgf8 ciblé au deuxième champ cardiaque qui devrait donner un phénotype plus prononcé de la voie efférente et du ventricule droit.

La morphogenèse de la voie efférente du coeur

[F. Bajolle, E. Pecnard, S. Zaffran, en collaboration avec D. Bonnet (Hôpital Necker) et R. Kelly (Marseille)]

Nous avons effectué une analyse de la morphogenèse de la voie efférente. Les lignées transgéniques qui marquent les sous-régions du myocarde de cette partie du cœur destinées à contribuer à la base de l'aorte et du tronc pulmonaire respectivement, nous ont permis de mettre en évidence une rotation du myocarde. Ce phénomène a été confirmé par le suivi de cellules marquées par le Di-I. Chez les embryons avec des mutations qui affectent la contribution de la crête neurale (Pax3-/-) ou la signalisation droite/gauche (Pitx2-/-), nous constatons un arrêt de rotation avec des malformations du positionnement des grandes artères. Cette observation suggère d'une part que la rotation du myocarde est influencée par ces deux contributions et d'autre part qu'elle est importante pour la morphogenèse de la voie efférente du cœur.

Légendes des photos :

Figure 1 : L'origine somitique des cellules de l'aorte dorsale. A. Les cellules β-galactosidase positives, de même origine clonale, dans le muscle squelettique du myotome hypaxial (HM) et dans le muscle lisse de l'aorte dorsale (DA). Le muscle est marqué par un anticorps anti-actine (rouge). B. Les cellules Pax3-GFP positives (vertes) dans le dermomyotome (DM) du somite et dans la région entre le somite et l'aorte dorsale (DA). C. Chez un embryon Pax3GFP/GFP, les cellules du muscle lisse de l'aorte dorsale (DA) sont GF positives (vertes).

Mots-clés: Myogenèse, Pax3, Pax7, Myf5, Aorte dorsale, Cardiogenèse, Fgfs



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2005 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  TAISNE Myriam mtaisn@pasteur.fr DAUBAS Philippe, CNRS (CR1) pdaubas@pasteur.fr

MONTARRAS Didier, Chef de labo (IP) dmontarr@pasteur.fr

RELAIX Frédéric, INSERM (CR1) frelaix@pasteur.fr

VINCENT Stéphane, INSERM (CR2) svincent@pasteur.fr

BAJARD Lola (étudiante en thèse) lbajard@pasteur.fr

BAJOLLE Fanny (étudiante en thèse) fbajolle@pasteur.fr

CRIST Colin (postdoc) cgcrist@pasteur.fr

ESNER Milan (postdoc) esner@pasteur.fr

LAGHA Mounia (étudiante en thèse) mounia@pasteur.fr

WATANABE Yusuke (postdoc) yusuke@pasteur.fr

BODIN Catherine (technicienne IP) cbodin@pasteur.fr

MARCHISET Sophie (aide de laboratoire IP) smarchou@pasteur.fr

PECNARD Emmanuel (technicien CNRS) pecnard@pasteur.fr

PERREAU Jacqueline (ingénieur CNRS) jperreau@pasteur.fr

ROCANCOURT Didier (technicien IP) drocanco@pasteur.fr


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr