Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Mouse functional Genetics


  Director : PANTHIER Jean-Jacques (panthier@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The clinical outcome of infectious diseases in humans and domestic animals is determined by complex interactions between the pathogen and the host genomes, under the influence of environmental and stochastic factors. The discovery of mechanisms of host defence that are crucial to effective and protective responses to infections is a major medical challenge. We develop research programmes with the aim of understanding the mechanisms of susceptibility or resistance to viral and bacterial infections taking advantage of the mouse as model animal.



  report

cale

The laboratory focuses its scientific activity on three main topics:

Development of interspecific recombinant congenic (IRCS) or consomic (ICS) strains

[Gaëtan Burgio, Xavier Montagutelli, Marek Szatanik (collaboration with Daniel Vaiman (INSERM)]

We developed a set of 55 Interspecific Recombinant Congenic strains (IRCS) derived from Mus musculus domesticus C57BL/6 and Mus spretus SEG parents. Each IRCS contains from 1 to 4% of DNA from the SEG parent on the background of DNA from the C57BL/6 parent and altogether 40% of the Mus spretus genome have been transferred in independent IRCS. These 55 IRCS have proved extremely useful to analyse quantitative traits. Several quantitative traits are currently studied using these tools.

The host genetic determinism of susceptibility to Yersinia pestis infection

[Charlne Blanchet, Jean Jaubert, Xavier Montagutelli, Jean-Jacques Panthier, Marek Szatanik (collaboration with Elisabeth Carniel (IP), Jean-Marc Cavaillon (IP), Michel Huerre (IP), Genevive Milon (IP)]

The plague has left an indelible mark in the human mind, although it is mainly a disease of rodents, which is transmitted by fleabites. We have found that the clinical outcome of infection with Y. pestis, the etiologic agent of the plague, differs widely with the genotype of the inoculated mice, demonstrating the existence of genetic determinants for mouse susceptibility to plague. We are using genetic approaches to identify critical region(s) and candidate genes responsible for the resistance and susceptibility to Yersinia pestis infection.

The host genetic determinism of susceptibility to arbovirus infection

[Xavier Montagutelli, Jean-Jacques Panthier, Dominique Simon (collaboration with MichŽle Bouloy (IP), Yann Herault (OrlŽans), Philippe Desprs (IP),]

West Nile (WN) virus was first isolated in 1937 from the blood of a patient in Uganda with mild febrile illness. Birds are the natural reservoir (amplifying) hosts, and WN virus is maintained in nature in a mosquito-bird-mosquito transmission cycle primarily involving Culex sp mosquitoes. Recent epidemics have been reported and the strain associated with the latter outbreaks is characterized by a high avian death rate and an increased neurovirulence. The variable outcome to WN virus infection in mice and humans suggests that host genetic factors may explain the differing degrees of severity observed following exposure. In support of this hypothesis, we have identified the Oas1b gene encoding 1b isoform of the 2'-5' oligoadenylate synthase as a candidate gene underlying the susceptibility of classical inbred strains of mice to WN virus. To establish that Oas1b gene is able to confer to susceptible mice the resistance to WN virus and to analyze the function of individual Oas genes, we are preparing mice with various alleles at the Oas1b locus. It is well established that resistance to WN infection is mediated by other pathways. Hence we are currently searching additional resistance genes for WN virus infection. Susceptibility of mice to Rift Valley fever virus is also being considered.

Keywords: experimental infection, innate response, arbovirus, Yersinia pestis, resistance/susceptibility



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications 2005 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  FLEURANCE Isabelle (ifleur@pasteur.fr) JAUBERT Jean, Institut Pasteur (Scientist, jjaubert@pasteur.fr)

MONTAGUTELLI Xavier, Institut Pasteur (Scientist, xmonta@pasteur.fr)

PANTHIER Jean-Jacques, Université Pierre & Marie Curie-Paris VI (Professor PR1, panthier@pasteur.fr)

AUBIN Isabelle, PhD student

BURGIO Gaëtan, PhD student

SOUEID Jihane, Master 2 student

BLANCHET Charlene, Master 2 Student

SIMON Dominique (Research Engineer, simondo@pasteur.fr)

SZATANIK Marek (Technician, szamar@pasteur.fr)


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Génétique fonctionnelle de la souris


  Responsable : PANTHIER Jean-Jacques (panthier@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'issue clinique des maladies infectieuses de l'homme et des animaux domestiques est le résultat d'interactions complexes entre le génome du pathogène et le génome de l'hôte, sous l'influence de facteurs environnementaux et stochastiques. La découverte de mécanismes de défense de l'hôte impliqués dans des réponses efficaces et protectrices aux infections est un enjeu majeur en médecine humaine et animale. Nous développons des programmes de recherche dans le but de comprendre les mécanismes de sensibilité et de résistance à des infections virales et bactériennes. Nous utilisons la souris comme modèle expérimental.



  rapport

cale

L'activité du laboratoire est organisée autour de trois thématiques :

Le développement de lignées congéniques recombinantes interspécifiques (IRSC) et consomiques (ICS)

[Gaëtan Burgio, Xavier Montagutelli, Marek Szatanik (collaboration avec Daniel Vaiman (INSERM)]

Nous avons développé un jeu de 55 lignées congéniques recombinantes interspécifiques dérivées des lignées consanguines parentales C57BL/6 (Mus musculus domesticus) et SEG (Mus spretus). Chacune de ces lignées contient de 1 à 4% d'ADN dérivé la lignée parentale SEG dans un fonds génétique d'ADN dérivé de la lignée parentale C57BL/6. Au total, 40% du génome Mus spretus ont été transférés dans des lignées IRCS indépendantes. Ces 55 lignées IRCS s'avèrent très utiles pour analyser des caractères quantitatifs. Plusieurs caractères à déterminisme complexe sont actuellement étudiés grâce à ces lignées.

Le déterminisme génétique de la sensibilité à l'infection par Yersinia pestis

[Charlne Blanchet, Jean Jaubert, Xavier Montagutelli, Jean-Jacques Panthier, Marek Szatanik (collaboration avec Elisabeth Carniel (IP), Jean-Marc Cavaillon (IP), Michel Huerre (IP), Genevive Milon (IP)]

La peste a laissé une marque indélébile dans la mémoire de l'humanité, bien qu'elle soit en tout premier lieu une maladie des rongeurs transmise par piqûre de puces. Nous avons découvert que l'issue clinique d'une infection expérimentale par Yersinia pestis, l'agent étiologique de la peste, varie selon le génotype de la souris inoculée, ce qui démontre l'existence de facteurs génétiques contrôlant la sensibilité de la Souris à la peste. Nous utilisons des approches génétiques pour identifier les régions chromosomiques critiques, ainsi que des gènes candidats responsables d'une résistance ou d'une sensibilité à une infection par Yersinia pestis.

Le déterminisme génétique de la sensibilité à l'infection par les arbovirus.

[Xavier Montagutelli, Jean-Jacques Panthier, Dominique Simon (collaboration avec Michèle Bouloy (IP), Yann Herault (Orléans), Philippe Desprès (IP),]

Le virus du Nil occidental (WN) a été isolé en 1937 à partir du sang d'un patient présentant un syndrome grippal. Le virus WN se maintient dans la nature grâce à un cycle faisant intervenir principalement les oiseaux comme réservoir et les moustiques hématophages du genre Culex comme vecteurs. Plusieurs épidémies ont récemment été signalées et la souche associée aux épidémies les plus récentes est caractérisée par une mortalité élevée chez les oiseaux et une neurovirulence accrue. La variabilité de l'issue clinique d'une infection par le virus WN chez l'Homme et la Souris suggère que des facteurs génétiques de l'hôte pourraient expliquer les différences de sévérité observées. En accord avec cette hypothèse, nous avons identifié le gène Oas1b qui code l'isoforme 2'-5'-oligo adénylate synthétase (OAS) comme un gène responsable de la sensibilité des souris consanguines classiques au virus WN. Nous souhaitons démontrer que le gène Oas1b est capable de conférer une résistance au virus WN à des souris sensibles. Dans ce but, nous fabriquons des souris portant des allèles variés au locus Oas1b. La protéine OAS1b est une enzyme induite par l'interféron α/β, impliquée dans la dégradation des molécules d'ARN simple brin, cellulaires ou viraux. Il est démontré qu'une résistance à une infection par le virus WN peut être médiée par d'autres voies de signalisation que la voie de l'interféron. Nous recherchons d'autres gènes de résistance à une infection par le virus WN. Nous étudions également la résistance de souris consanguines au virus de la fièvre de la Vallée du Rift.

Mots-clés: infection expérimentale, réponse innée, arbovirus, zoonose, Yersinia pestis, résistance/sensibilité



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2005 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  FLEURANCE Isabelle (ifleur@pasteur.fr) JAUBERT Jean, Institut Pasteur (Chargé de recherche, jjaubert@pasteur.fr)

MONTAGUTELLI Xavier, Institut Pasteur (Chef de laboratoire, xmonta@pasteur.fr)

PANTHIER Jean-Jacques, Université Pierre & Marie Curie-Paris VI (Professeur PR1, panthier@pasteur.fr)

AUBIN Isabelle, doctorante

BURGIO Gaëtan, doctorant

SOUEID Jihane, étudiante en Master 2

BLANCHET Charlène, étudiante en Master 2

SIMON Dominique (Ingénieur, simondo@pasteur.fr)

SZATANIK Marek (Technicien, szamar@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr