Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Oncogenic Virus Epidemiology and Pathophysiology


  Director : GESSAIN Antoine (agessain@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our group works on the human oncogenic retroviruses HTLV-1/HTLV-2 and on the human herpesvirus HHV-8 and their simian related counterparts. During the year 2005, we have continued ongoing projects and developed new studies on both the clinical, analytical and molecular epidemiology of these viruses and on the physiopathology of the tumoral (Kaposi's sarcoma, adult T cell leukemia and primary effusion lymphoma) and inflammatory associated diseases (tropical spastic paraparesis and myositis). Furthermore, we have discovered a new human retrovirus : HTLV-3.



  report

cale

The Unit of Epidemiology and Physiopathology of Oncogenic Viruses has developed the following projects.

Epidemiology of the Human Herpesvirus 8 (HHV-8) and of the Human T Cell Leukemia Virus type 1 (HTLV-1) in endemic areas of French Guyana and Cameroon (Central Africa). These long term projects concern the intra-familial modes of transmission of these oncogenic viruses and the search for an host genetic susceptibility for acquiring such viruses. Other epidemiological studies regarding HTLV-1 and its associated diseases (Adult T cell leukemia and Tropical spastic paraparesis/HTLV-1 associated myelopathy) are also in progress in French Guyanese populations, especially in a large cohort of pregnant women.

Molecular epidemiology and genetic variability of HTLV-1/2 and related simian retroviruses (STLV). We have continued our studies on the genetic variability of HTLV and STLV in Central Africa. These data strenghten the hypothesis of interspecies transmission from STLV-1, present in monkeys, to humans in these regions leading to the foci of HTLV-1 in some human populations of central Africa. A large epidemiological study on HTLV-2 infection is ongoing both at a clinical and at a molecular level in various ethnic populations, living in a rain forest area of South Cameroon. We also continue our studies on the signification of HTLV-1/2 indeterminate serologies in the Pacific and in central Africa. In this field, we have discovered a new human retrovirus HTLV-3, closely related to the STLV-3, which are widespread in several monkey species of the African continent.

Genetic variability of HHV-8. We have studied the genetic variabilty of the K1 region of HHV- 8 of 35 novel viral strain from Moroccan patients suffering of Kaposi's sarcoma and of several other HHV-8 strains originating from isolated populations as Amerindians and Polynesians. We have aslo discovered a novel β herpesvirus in a chimpanzee.

Studies on the pathogenesis of HTLV-1 have been performed. This includes viro-molecular studies of the central nervous system in patients suffering of TSP/HAM as well as the development of in vitro and ex vivo studies aiming to better understand the role of the Tax protein in the pathogenesis of the polymyositis and inclusion body myositis associated with HTLV-1. A study of the role of activated HTLV-1 infected lymphocytes in the alteration of the blood brain barrier has also been initiated.

Relationship between localisation of the Tax 1 and Tax 2 and their pathogenicity : HTLV-1 and HTLV-2 retroviruses infect CD4+ and CD8+ T cells respectively. Unexpectedly since a viral transactivator must enter the nucleus in order to drive the transcription from the viral promoter, we have recently shown that HTLV-1 and HTLV-2 Tax proteins do not have the same intracellular localization. Tax1 is mainly nuclear while Tax2 is predominant in the cytoplasm. In addition, there is a nice correlation between the activation of the CREB/ATF and NF-kB pathways and the Tax localization, i.e. Tax2 activates more efficiently the NF-kB pathway, while Tax1 is a better activator of the CREB/ATF pathway. Since the publication of these data, two other laboratories reported the same observations.

We have now demonstrated that the sequence of the first 110 amino acids of Tax is critical for the protein localization, and that the minimal domain that drives Tax localization corresponds to the 90-100 amino-acids. Finally, we have also demonstrated that Tax2 sequence encompasses a Nuclear Export Signal (NES) in the 188-200 amino acid sequence. We are currently investigating both, in vivo and in vitro, whether there is a correlation between the Tax localization and the viral pathogenicity.

In vivo clonality of HHV-8 associated diseases. Studies are focused on the different forms of Kaposi's sarcoma and on the multifocal aspects of such disease as well as on the primary effusion lymphomas. Our studies are aimed to a better understanding of the role of the latent HHV-8 in the causal relationship of HHV-8 and the associated tumors in vivo.

For most of these studies, the collaboration with numerous colleagues of the Network of the Institut Pasteur and Instituts associés (especially Cameroon, Central African Republic and French Guyana) has been crucial. We have also collaborated with several clinicians from the Paris Hospitals.

Keywords: Retroviruses, HTLV, STLV, herpesviruses, epidemiology, genetic variability, pathogenesis



  publications

puce Publications 2005 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  ZIANI Isma iziani@pasteur.fr GESSAIN Antoine, IP, Head of Laboratory, Unit Chief, agessain@pasteur.fr

OZDEN Simona, IP, Head of Laboratory , sozd@pasteur.fr

KAZANJI Mirdad, IP, Research Assistant, mkazanji@pasteur-cayenne.fr (detached in Gabon at the CIRMF)

CECCALDI Pierre-Emmanuel, IP, Research Assistant, ceccaldi@pasteur.fr

MAHIEUX Renaud, INSERM, Research Assistant, rmahieux@pasteur.fr

AFONSO Philippe, Thésard, pafonso@pasteur.fr

BLAUDIN de THÉ, DRE CNRS, dethe@pasteur.fr

CALATTINI Sara, Thésarde, scalatt@pasteur.fr

CASSAR Olivier, Thésard, ocassar@pasteur.fr

CHEVALIER Sebastien, MA and PhD student, schevalier@pasteur.fr

DUPREZ Renan, PhD student, rduprez@pasteur.fr

WALIC Marine, Master student, mwalic@pasteur.fr

TORTEVOYE Patricia, Engineer IP, ptortevo@pasteur.fr

BASSOT Sylviane, Superior Technician, sybassot@pasteur.fr

JOSEPH Bosco Vidje Mar, Aide de laboratoire

PALMYRE Jocelyne, Aide de laboratoire


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Epidémiologie des virus oncogènes


  Responsable : GESSAIN Antoine (agessain@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre groupe travaille sur les rétrovirus humains HTLV-1/HTLV-2, sur l'herpèsvirus KSHV/HHV-8 ainsi que sur les virus simiens apparentés (STLV d'une part et rhadinovirus d'autre part). Durant l'année 2005, nous avons poursuivi les travaux en cours et développé de nouveaux projets dans le domaine d'une part de l'épidémiologie aussi bien clinique et moléculaire que génétique de ces virus et d'autre part au niveau de la physiopathologie des maladies tumorales associées (sarcome de Kaposi, leucémie T de l'adulte, lymphome des cavités) et inflammatoires : neurologiques (paraplégie spastique) et musculaires (myosite). Nous avons de plus découvert un nouveau rétrovirus humain l'HTLV-3.



  rapport

cale

L'Unité d'Epidémiologie et Physiopathologie des Virus Oncogènes, créée en janvier 2001, a poursuivi et développé ses travaux dans les domaines suivants :

1. Epidémiologie de l'infection par l'herpèsvirus humain 8 et l'HTLV-1 dans les zones de forte endémie. Ces travaux à long terme qui portent d'une part sur l'étude des modes de transmissions intra-familiales et d'autre part sur la recherche d'une susceptibilité génétique à ces infections virales se poursuivent en Guyane Française et se développent au Cameroun dans des populations villageoises. Par ailleurs, nous poursuivons en Guyane Française des travaux d'épidémiologie clinique et analytique des infections par le virus HTLV-1 (en particulier chez les femmes enceintes) et les maladies associées leucémiques et neurologiques.

2. Epidémiologie moléculaire des virus de type HTLV-1/2 et des virus simiens STLV, découverte d'un nouveau rétrovirus humain l'HTLV-3. Nous avons continué nos travaux sur les modes de transmission interespèces en Afrique centrale des virus simiens STLV aux hommes. Ces résultats confortent l'origine simienne des HTLV-1 présents dans les populations humaines de ces régions. Une vaste étude d'épidémiologie clinique et moléculaire HTLV-2 est en cours dans différentes populations (en particulier des Pygmées) vivant en zones forestières au Cameroun. Nous continuons aussi des travaux sur la signification des sérologies HTLV-1/2 indéterminées dans certaines régions du Pacifique et en Afrique centrale. Dans ce cadre, nous avons pu découvrir un nouveau rétrovirus humain, l'HTLV-3, très proche de virus STLV-3 connus depuis plus de 10 ans et présents dans de nombreuses régions d'Afrique.

3. Variabilité génétique du virus HHV-8. Nous avons étudié la variabilité génétique de la région K1, du génome de l'HHV-8, de 35 nouvelles souches virales originaires du Maroc et d'autre souches de population isolées (Indiens de Guyane et Polynésiens). Nous avons de plus découvert et caractérisé un nouveau β herpèsvirus de chimpanzé.

4. Des travaux concernant la pathogènèse de l'HTLV-1 ont été réalisés : étude immuno-virologique des lésions chez des patients ayant des maladies neurologiques associées (TSP/HAM). D' autre part, nous avons développé un programme d'étude de la pathogenèse des maladies musculaires associées à HTLV-1 (polymyosite et myosite à inclusion) associant des études in vitro et ex vivo visant à mieux comprendre le rôle de l'HTLV-1, en particulier de la protéine Tax. Une étude sur le rôle des lymphocytes infectés et activés par l'HTLV-1 dans l'altération de la barrière hémato-encéphalique a été intiée.

5. Relation entre la localisation des protéines Tax 1 et Tax 2 et la pathogénèse virale : HTLV-1 et HTLV-2 infectent respectivement et préférentiellement les cellules T CD4+ et CD8+ in vivo. De façon inattendue puisqu'il s'agit de protéines virales transactivatrices qui doivent avoir la capacité de pénétrer dans le noyau de la cellule afin d'activer la transcription virale, nous avons montré que le protéines Tax1 et Tax2 n'avaient pas la même localisation intracellulaire: Tax1 est retrouvée de façon préférentielle dans le noyau, tandis que Tax2 présente une localisation principalement cytoplasmique. La localisation des protéines Tax1 et Tax2 est très bien corrélée avec l'activation des voies NF-B et/ou CREB: Tax2, préférentiellement cytoplasmique active mieux la voie NF-B que Tax-1. En revanche, Tax1 active mieux la voie CREB/ATF que Tax2. Depuis la publication de notre travail, 2 équipes ont obtenu des résultats similaires aux nôtres.

Par ailleurs, nous avons aussi montré que les 110 premiers acides aminés de Tax contiennent une information déterminante pour la localisation de la protéine et que la région minimale de Tax critique pour sa localisation correspond aux acides-aminés 90 à 100. Enfin, nous avons démontré qu'il existait une séquence d'export nucléaire (NES) dans la protéine Tax-2 dans la région 188-200.

Notre projet a désormais pour but de déterminer à la fois in vivo et in vitro si il existe une corrélation entre la localisation de la protéine et le pouvoir pathogène du virus étudié.

6. Clonalité virale et cellulaire in vivo de l'HHV-8 dans les différentes tumeurs associées. Ces travaux

portent principalement sur les différentes formes cliniques et épidémiologiques du sarcome de Kaposi et sur les fréquentes formes multifocales de cette maladie ainsi que sur les lymphomes des cavités. Nos travaux visent à mieux comprendre le lien de causalité entre la présence de l'HHV-8 sous sa forme latente et la pathogenèse de ces tumeurs.

Pour la plupart de ces travaux, les collaborations avec de nombreux collègues du Réseau International des Instituts Pasteur et Instituts Associés (en particulier Guyane, Cameroun et République Centrafricaine) ont été absolument cruciales. Nous avons de plus collaboré avec de nombreux collègues cliniciens des hôpitaux, en particulier de la région parisienne, dans le cadre de ces travaux.

Mots-clés: Rétrovirus, HTLV, STLV, herpèsvirus, épidémiologie, variabilité génétique, pathogenèse



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2005 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  ZIANI Isma iziani@pasteur.fr GESSAIN Antoine, IP, Chef de laboratoire, Chef d'Unité, agessain@pasteur.fr

OZDEN Simona, IP, Chef de Laboratoire, sozd@pasteur.fr

KAZANJI Mirdad, IP, Chargé de Recherche, mkazanji@pasteur-cayenne.fr (détaché au CIRMF au Gabon)

CECCALDI Pierre-Emmanuel, IP, Chargé de Recherche, ceccaldi@pasteur.fr

MAHIEUX Renaud, INSERM, Chargé de Recherche, rmahieux@pasteur.fr

AFONSO Philippe, thésard, pafonso@pasteur.fr

BLAUDIN de THÉ, DRE CNRS, dethe@pasteur.fr

CALATTINI Sara, Post-doctorant, scalatt@pasteur.fr

CASSAR Olivier, thésard, ocassar@pasteur.fr

CHEVALIER Sebastien, DEA puis doctorant, schevalier@pasteur.fr

DUPREZ Renan, doctorant, rduprez@pasteur.fr

WALIC Marine, Etudiante de Master, mwalic@pasteur.fr

TORTEVOYE Patricia, Ingénieur IP, ptortevo@pasteur.fr

BASSOT Sylviane, Technicienne Supérieure, sybassot@pasteur.fr

JOSEPH Bosco Vidje Mar, Aide de laboratoire,

PALMYRE Jocelyne, Aide de laboratoire


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr