Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Epidemiology of Emerging Diseases


  Director : FONTANET Arnaud (fontanet@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The Emerging Diseases Epidemiology Unit was founded on 1 July 2001. The main research topics of the Unit are: 1) transmission modes of and means of prevention against emerging disease agents; and 2) clinical research, in particular natural history cohorts and clinical trials. Most research projects take place in developing countries, preferably in collaboration with institutes from the International Network of Pasteur Institutes, and deal with the epidemiology of HIV, hepatitis C virus (HCV), hepatitis B virus (HBV), the SARS coronavirus, and the dengue virus.



  report

cale

Introduction

The Emerging Diseases Epidemiology Unit was founded on 1 July, 2001.

The main research topics of the unit are 1) the transmission modes of and means of prevention against emerging diseases agents; and 2) clinical research, and particularly natural history cohorts and clinical trials of treatments against the HIV, HCV, and HBV. "Emerging disease agents" are agents recently spread via epidemics in human populations (e.g., HIV), agents recently identified (e.g., HCV), and agents who recently covered new geographical areas (e.g., dengue virus).

Areas of expertise in the Unit include: contributing to the strategic thinking of the Institute in areas where epidemiology takes a leading role; providing epidemiological and biostatistical assistance to other research units of the Institute; and in participating in the teaching activities in epidemiology locally and as part of the international network. In this context, special effort has been dedicated to the preparation of epidemiology and biostatistics curriculum for the Pasteur School of Infectiology, and to the initiation of a training scheme in clinical research for institutes of the network.

Most of the Unit's research projects take place in developing countries, preferably in collaboration with institutes of the international Network of Pasteur Institutes.

On-going projects

1) Epidemiology and treatment of HCV infection in Egypt (A. Fontanet and C. Rekacewicz)

Egypt is the country with the highest HCV prevalence in the world, reaching 45% among adults older than 40 years of age in rural areas. The number of people infected with HCV was estimated at around 8 million in 1999 by the Egyptian Ministry of Health and Population. The origin of this epidemic has been attributed to mass treatment campaigns of intravenous injections for bilharziosis from 1960 to1982.

This project, headed by A. Fontanet and M.K. Mohamed, has just obtained renewed funding (2006-8) through ANRS (genetic epidemiology in collaboration with Laurent Abel, INSERM U550 and study of acute hepatitis C) and the Wellcome Trust (study of the association between hepatitis C and atherosclerosis in collaboration with Lish Chaturvedi, Imperial College, London). The project is based at two study sites: 1) a cohort study on HCV incidence and progression in a village north-west of cairo and 2) a surveillance system for acute hepatitis C in Cairo.

2) EPISARS: prevention of SARS re-emergence (Coordination: A. Fontanet and L. Baril)

Following the SARS outbreak in China, a project funded by the European Commission, the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Chinese Ministry of Science and Technology has been initiated to study the epidemiology of the SARS coronavirus. The main objectives of the project include: 1) the search for an animal reservoir for the SARS-like coronavirus; 2) the prevention of SARS re-emergence in human population; and 3) the study of long-term clinical complications and humoral immunity in Chinese convalescent patients. The research work for the search of an animal reservoir is carried out in close collaboration with the National Museum of Natural History (G. Véron) and the French Agency for Food Safety (F. Moutou). Other partners at Institut Pasteur are the CIBU (JC Manuguerra) and the Hong-Kong Pasteur Centre (R. Altmeyer).

3) Randomised clinical trial for the treatment of chronic hepatitis B in Senegal (Coordination: M. Vray and P.S. Mbaye).

HBV infection is a major public health problem in Senegal, where 15% of the population is chronically infected. The goal of the project is to assess a pragmatic treatment strategy appropriate for resource-poor countries. HEPADAK2 is an open randomised trial comparing the efficacy of the combination of lamivudine plus vaccinotherapy (12 intradermal Engerix B injections over 6 months) versus lamivudine alone. Patients will then be treated for one year, and then followed another year without treatment as part of the protocol. The study is carried out together with the Institut Pasteur de Dakar, and is funded by ANRS. Trial enrolment has started in September 2005.

4) DENFRAME : ‘Innovative Diagnostic Tools and therapeutic approaches for dengue disease'. (Coordination: L Baril et P Despres).

Dengue is a vector (Aedes) borne disease affecting most tropical areas. WHO estimates that 100 million cases take place every year, leading to 50 000 deaths. This project, DENFRAME, is funded by the EC (FP6-2003-INCO-DEV2) for 3 years (Nov 2005-Oct 2008). Thirteen institutions are involved, including 5 from the International Network of Instituts Pasteur (IP Paris, IP Ho Chi Minh Ville, IP Cambodge, Centre Pasteur de Hong Kong et IP de la Guyane). A clinical study involving families of patients with proven symptomatic dengue is being started in 4 countries (Cambodia, Vietnam, Brasil, and French Guyana). The objective is to better describe the immunological characteristics, particularly the innate immunity, among persons with symptomatic and pauci-symptomatic dengue in order to better understand the physiopathological mechanisms leading to fatal hemorrhagic manifestations. The project also aims at improving diagnostic tools and developing antiviral therapy.

5) Immunogenicity of EPI immunisations in HIV-infected children in Africa (Coordination: L. Baril, I. Gouandjika, M.C. Teijokem).

This project aims at assessing the response to vaccines used in the EPI among HIV-infected children compared to non-infected children in Sub-Saharan Africa. The project is done in collaboration with the Centre Pasteur du Cameroun and the Institut Pasteur de Bangui. Results have shown a lower response to all vaccines in children infected with HIV, suggesting that the immunisation schedule may need strengthening in these children. Longitudinal follow-up of infected children is considered to confirm these results (conditional on additional funding).

6) Response to HAART among HIV-infected patients in Cambodia (A. Fontanet et Y. Madec)

This project is carried out in collaboration with Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF) and Epicentre. It uses data from the treatment program run by MSF for HIV-infected patients in Phnom Penh, Cambodia. The analysis of data from the patients' cohort allows an assessment of the efficacy of HAART in developing countries.

7) HIV epidemic modelling in South Africa (M. Garenne, P. Leclerc and A Matthews).

Sub-saharan African countries account for 80% of HIV mortality in the world. In some areas of the South of Africa, close to 50% of women aged 25 years are infected. Such prevalence rates are not compatible with available knowledge on HIV transmission rates and data on number of sexual partners among these women. Innovative modelling strategies will be tested to reproduce the HIV epidemiological profile observed in these areas.

Keywords: epidemiology, clinical research, developing countries, HIV, HCV, HBV, SARS, dengue



  publications

puce Publications 2005 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Thépaut Sylvana, IP, sthepaut@pasteur.fr

Marie-Anne Lin (projet SRAS), IP, lin@pasteur.fr

Fontanet Arnaud, IP, fontanet@pasteur.fr

Baril Laurence, IP, baril@pasteur.fr

Garenne Michel, IRD, mgarenne@pasteur.fr

Vray Muriel, INSERM, vray@pasteur.fr

Lefrançois Rémi, public health resident, remaille@pasteur.fr

Leclerc Pauline, doctoral student in public health, mathematical modelling, leclerc@pasteur.fr

Paez Adela, doctoral student in epidemiology, hepatitis C Egypt.

Matias Gonçalo, master student in epidemiology, Cameroon.

Nicolay Nathalie, master student in epidemiology, hepatitis C Egypt.

Lydie Beniguel, clinical research monitor, beniguel@pasteur.fr

Marie-Hélène Chang, assistante base de données, mhchang@pasteur.fr

Chartier Loïc, IP, data manager, chartier@pasteur.fr

Madec Yoann, IP, biostatistician, ymadec@pasteur.fr


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Epidémiologie des Maladies émergentes


  Responsable : FONTANET Arnaud (fontanet@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'unité de recherche et d'expertise en épidémiologie des maladies émergentes a été créée le 1er juillet 2001. Les principaux thèmes de recherche de l'unité sont 1) les modes de transmission et les moyens de prévention des infections à agents pathogènes émergents et 2) la recherche clinique, avec notamment les cohortes d'histoire naturelle et les essais thérapeutiques. La majeure partie des projets de l'unité est réalisée dans les pays en développement, de préférence en collaboration avec les instituts du Réseau International des Instituts Pasteur et des Instituts Associés, et concerne l'épidémiologie du VIH, du virus de l'hépatite C (VHC), du virus de l'hépatite B (VHB), du coronavirus du SRAS, et du virus de la dengue.



  rapport

cale

Introduction

L'unité de recherche et d'expertise en épidémiologie des maladies émergentes a été créée le 1er juillet 2001.

Les principaux thèmes de recherche de l'unité sont 1) les modes de transmission et les moyens de prévention des infections à agents pathogènes émergents et 2) la recherche clinique, avec notamment les cohortes d'histoire naturelle et les essais thérapeutiques concernant le traitement des infections par le VIH, le VHC, et le VHB. " Agents pathogènes émergents " est pris au sens large du terme, à savoir les agents récemment apparus sous forme épidémique en population humaine (par exemple, le VIH et le coronavirus du SRAS), les agents récemment identifiés (par exemple, le VHC), et les agents ayant récemment gagné de nouvelles zones géographiques (par exemple, virus de la dengue).

Le travail d'expertise de l'unité consiste à contribuer à la réflexion stratégique de l'IP dans des domaines où l'épidémiologie joue un rôle prépondérant, à apporter un soutien méthodologique en épidémiologie et biostatistiques aux autres unités de l'IP, et à participer aux activités d'enseignement de l'épidémiologie au sein du campus et dans les instituts du réseau. Dans cette perspective, un effort important a été consacré à la préparation d'un enseignement en épidémiologie et biostatistiques au sein de l'Ecole Pasteurienne d'Infectiologie, et au développement d'un plan de formation en recherche clinique pour les instituts du réseau.

La majeure partie des projets de l'unité est réalisée dans les pays en développement, de préférence en collaboration avec les instituts du Réseau International des Instituts Pasteur (RIIP).

Projets en cours

1) Épidémiologie et traitement des infections par le VHC en Égypte (A. Fontanet et A. Paez)

L'Égypte est le pays où la prévalence de l'infection par le VHC est la plus élevée au monde, atteignant 45% chez les plus de 40 ans en zone rurale. Le nombre de personnes infectées par le VHC a été estimé à huit millions en 1999 (Ministère de la Santé Égyptien). L'origine d'une telle épidémie est attribuée au traitement de masse de la bilharziose par injections intraveineuses dans les années 1960-1982.

Ce projet, dont A. Fontanet et M.K. Mohamed sont les responsables scientifiques, vient d'obtenir une deuxième phase de financement (2006-8) par l'ANRS (projet d'épidémiologie génétique en collaboration avec Laurent Abel, INSERM U550 et étude des hépatites aiguës C au Caire) et par le Wellcome Trust (étude des interactions entre hépatite C et athérosclérose en collaboration avec Nishi Chaturvedi, Imperial College, Londres). Le projet est articulé autour de deux sites d'étude : 1) une cohorte villageoise de 4000 participants au nord-ouest du Caire, et 2) un système de surveillance des hépatites aiguës C au Caire.

2) Projet EPISARS : prévention de la réémergence du SRAS (Coordination : A. Fontanet et L. Baril).

Dans les suites de l'épidémie du SRAS en Chine, un projet financé conjointement par la Commission Européenne, le ministère des Affaires Etrangères français, et le Ministry of Sciences and Technology chinois a été mis en place pour prévenir la ré-émergence du SRAS. Les objectifs du projet sont l'identification du réservoir animal du SRAS, la prévention de sa réémergence en population humaine, et le suivi clinique et immunologique d'une cohorte de patients convalescents de l'épidémie de 2003 à Pékin. Le travail sur la recherche du réservoir animal se fait en étroite collaboration avec le Museum National d'Histoire Naturelle (G. Véron), et l'Agence Française de Sécurité des Aliments (F. Moutou). Nos autres partenaires à l'Institut Pasteur sont la CIBU (JC Manuguerra) et le Centre Pasteur de Hong-Kong (R. Altmeyer).

3) Essai randomisé de traitement de l'hépatite chronique B au Sénégal (Coordination : M. Vray et P.S. Mbaye).

L'infection par l'hépatite B est un problème majeur de santé publique au Sénégal avec une prévalence de sujets porteurs de l'AgHBs supérieure à 15 %. Le but du projet est d'évaluer une stratégie thérapeutique pragmatique applicable au Sénégal ou autres PED pour les patients relevant d'un traitement. L'objectif d'HEPADAK 2, étude randomisée, sans insu, est d'évaluer l'efficacité d'une stratégie thérapeutique associant LAM et vaccin thérapeutique (12 injections Engerix B en intradermique sur 6 mois) sur le contrôle de la réplication virale chez des patients porteurs d'une infection HBV réplicative avec perturbation des transaminases par rapport à un groupe sous Lamivudine seule. Les patients seront ensuite traités pendant une période de 1 an et suivis une année supplémentaire sans traitement dans le cadre du protocole puis pris en charge dans le cadre du programme national. Ce projet se fait en étroite collaboration avec l'Institut Pasteur de Dakar, et est financé par l'ANRS. L'étude a démarré en septembre 2005.

4) DENFRAME : ‘Innovative Diagnostic Tools and therapeutic approaches for dengue disease'. (Coordination: L Baril et P Despres).

La dengue est une pathologie virale à transmission vectorielle (Aedes) présente en milieu tropical. L'OMS estime le nombre de cas annuel autour de 100 millions et environ 50000 décès. Ce projet DENFRAME est financé par la CE (FP6-2003-INCO-DEV2) pour 3 années (Nov 2005-Oct 2008). Treize institutions sont impliquées dont 5 institutions du RIIP (IP Paris, IP Ho Chi Minh Ville, IP Cambodge, Centre Pasteur de Hong Kong et IP de la Guyane). La mise en place d'une étude clinique incluant les familles de patients ayant une dengue prouvée est en cours dans 4 pays (Cambodge, Vietnam, Brésil et Guyane). L'objectif est de connaître le profil immunologique, en particulier l'immunité innée, des personnes ayant une dengue symptomatique et des personnes infectées mais peu ou pas symptomatiques afin de mieux comprendre les mécanismes physiopathologiques qui conduisent à des formes hémorragiques létales. Le projet a également un versant qui concerne l'amélioration des outils du diagnostic virologique et une approche de développement thérapeutique antivirale.

5) Immunogénicité des vaccins du Programme Elargi de Vaccination (PEV) chez les enfants infectés par le VIH en Afrique (Coordination : L. Baril, I. Gouandjika, M.C. Teijokem).

Ce projet a pour objectif principal d'évaluer la réponse aux vaccins utilisés dans le PEV chez les enfants infectés par le VIH-1 par transmission verticale de la mère à l'enfant et de les comparer à des enfants non infectés par le VIH-1 en Afrique sub-saharienne. Le projet a été conduit dans le cadre d'une Action Concertée des Instituts Pasteur (ACIP) en collaboration avec le Centre Pasteur du Cameroun et l'Institut Pasteur de Bangui. Les résultats ont montré une moins bonne réponse des enfants infectés par le VIH sur l'ensemble des valences vaccinales ce qui pourrait conduire à un renforcement du calendrier vaccinal chez ces enfants. Une deuxième phase incluant un suivi prospectif des enfants infectés par le VIH est envisagée au Cameroun afin de confirmer ces premiers résultats (recherche de soutien financier en cours).

6) Réponse au traitement anti-rétroviral au Cambodge (A. Fontanet et Y. Madec)

Ce projet s'effectue en collaboration avec Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF) et Epicentre et repose sur les données du programme d'accès aux soins de MSF pour les patients infectés par le VIH à Phnom Penh (Cambodge). L'analyse des données de cette cohorte de patients permet d'étudier l'efficacité des trithérapies dans le contexte des pays en développement.

7) Modélisation mathématique de la transmission du VIH en Afrique sub-Saharienne (M. Garenne, P. Leclerc et A. Matthews)

Les pays d'Afrique sub-Saharienne comptabilisent plus de 80% des décès attribuables au VIH/SIDA. Dans certaines régions du sud de l'Afrique, près de 50% des femmes sont infectées à l'âge de 25 ans. De tels pourcentages ne sont pas compatibles avec les données épidémiologiques disponibles concernant les taux de transmission par rapport sexuel à risque, et le nombre de partenaires cumulé par femme. Des approches innovantes seront testées en modélisation pour tenter de reproduire par simulation le profil épidémique retrouvé dans ces régions.

Mots-clés: épidémiologie, recherche clinique, pays en développement, VIH, VHC, VHB, SRAS, dengue



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2005 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Thépaut Sylvana, IP, sthepaut@pasteur.fr

Marie-Anne Lin (projet SRAS), IP, lin@pasteur.fr

Fontanet Arnaud, IP, fontanet@pasteur.fr

Baril Laurence, IP, baril@pasteur.fr

Garenne Michel, IRD, mgarenne@pasteur.fr

Vray Muriel, INSERM, vray@pasteur.fr

Lefrançois Rémi, interne de santé publique, remaille@pasteur.fr

Leclerc Pauline, étudiante en doctorat de santé publique, modélisation VIH Afrique du Sud, leclerc@pasteur.fr

Paez Adela, étudiante en doctorat d’épidémiologie, hépatite C Egypte.

Matias Gonçalo, M2 épidémiologie, ulcère du Buruli Cameroun.

Nicolay Nathalie, M2 épidémiologie, hépatite C Egypte.

Lydie Beniguel, moniteur d’étude clinique, beniguel@pasteur.fr

Marie-Hélène Chang, assistante base de données, mhchang@pasteur.fr

Chartier Loïc, IP, responsable base de données, chartier@pasteur.fr

Madec Yoann; IP, biostatisticien, ymadec@pasteur.fr


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr