Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Fungal Biology and Pathogenicity - INRA USC 2019


  Director : d’Enfert, Christophe (bpf@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

We study several biological processes in fungi of the genus Candida and Aspergillus with the aim of developing new strategies for the control of fungal growth. We are in particular interested in evaluating the genetic diversification of Candida albicans and how it contributes to the virulence of this species. Furthermore, we are deciphering the molecular mechanisms that are responsible for the formation of biofilms by Candida albicans (adhesion, morphogenesis, extracellular matrix production) and the original physiology of these three-dimensional microbial structures (antifungal resistance). To this aim, we use both genomic and molecular genetic approaches. Furthermore, we have pursued a detailed study of a critical process in the life cycle of filamentous fungi, namely spore germination, and are conducting an exhaustive search of essential genes in the fungal pathogen of humans, Aspergillus fumigatus.



  report

cale

Candida albicans: genomics, biofilms and epidemiology (M.-E. Bougnoux, M. Chauvel, D. Diogo, A. Firon, S. Goyard, E. Moreno-Ruiz, G. Ortu and C. d'Enfert)

Candida albicans is currently the main fungal pathogen of humans. In particular, C. albicans is responsible for systemic infections in patients, which are severely immuno-compromized and receive broad-spectrum antibiotherapy. Systemic candidiasis are associated with a high mortality despite the availability of antifungal treatments. A better management of C. albicans infections will require an understanding of their epidemiology and physio-pathology as well as the development of new drugs. Our research is therefore interested in the epidemiology of C. albicans infections and in the study of processes related to pathogenicity through genomic approaches.

We are also involved in the in silico analysis of fungal genomes: the maintenance and curation of the C. albicans genome database CandidaDB and re-annotation of the C. albicans genome; the analysis of the genomes of Aspergilli (A. nidulans, A. fumigatus, A. oryzae and more recently A. niger) in the framework of international consortia.

Furthermore, our group is coordinating the Marie Curie Research and Training Network Galar Fungail 2 that studies the interaction of Candida albicans with the host using genomic, molecular and cellular approaches.

a. Biofilm formation in Candida albicans [M. Chauvel, A. Firon, S. Goyard, E. Moreno-Ruiz and G. Ortu]

Biofilms are microbial communities that develop in association with a surface (Photo 1). They form a protected environment where microorganisms adopt a specific physiology. In the case of pathogenic yeasts, biofilm formation has been observed on different medical devices (prosthesis, catheters) and is directly associated to several forms of disease (e.g. stomatitis). Inside the biofilm, Candida cells have an elevated resistance to antifungals and this often results in sequels following an apparently successful antifungal treatment. Therefore, a better understanding of the molecular mechanisms underlying bofilm formation is necessary in order to develop novel strategies for the detection or prevention of biofilms. and achieve a better management of Candida infections.

Comparative transcript profiling of planktonic cultures and biofilms of C. albicans has resulted in the identification of a large number of genes that are over-expressed in biofilms. We are currently evaluating the contribution of these genes through the construction and analysis of C. albicans strains with corresponding null mutations. We have focused on the inactivation of 48 over-expressed genes and phenotypic characterization of the resulting mutant strains has been accomplished in 2005. Our results show that the yeast-to-hypha transition is critical for biofilm formation by C. albicans. However, several mutant strains produce biofilms with a reduced cohesiveness, suggesting that the corresponding genes might be involved in the production of the biofilm extracellular matrix. The detailed characterization of genes that are necessary for efficient biofilm formation will be pursued.

G. janbon et I. Iraqui (Molecular Mycology Unit) have established a role for the Yak1 protein kinase in biofilm formation by C. glabrata. Yak1 appears to regulate telomeric silencing and consequently the expression of genes encoding adhesins necessary for biofilm formation. We have investigated the role of Yak1 in C. albicans and shown that yak1 is necessary for morphogenesis and consequently biofilm formation by C. albicans. We are pursuing the characterization of Yak1 in the framework of a Transversal Research Program involving the Molecular Mycology Unit, the Organic Chemistry Unit, the Structural Biochemistry Unit and the Production of antibodies and recombinant proteins platform. We are also attempting the identification of Yak1 targets through proteomics in collaboration with the Proteomics platform.

d. Molecular epidemiology of C. albicans [M.-E. Bougnoux, D. Diogo and C. d'Enfert]

We have established Multi Locus Sequence Typing (MLST) for C. albicans and shown that it is highly reproducible and discriminatory. The MLST scheme is based on the sequencing of six or seven loci which show intra-specific variations. MLST is highly portable and data can be exchanged through a database for C. albicans MLST data (http://calbican.mlst.net) that we have established and maintain in collaboration with the group of B. Spratt (Imperial College, London).

MLST has been applied to several collections of clinical and commensal C. albicans strains through a collaboration with the Sequencing platform of Pasteur Génopole® Ile-de-France. Our results indicate that loss-of-heterozygosity events are frequent and responsible for microevolution of diploid C. albicans within clonal groups. Our results also suggest that mating of C. albicans that was recently demonstrated in the laboratory could also occur in Nature. The occurrence of a high level of heterozygosity in natural populations of C. albicans suggests that loss-of-heterozygosity events are counter-selected in the environment and we aim to investigate this hypothesis. Interestingly, our analysis of commensal isolates of C; albicans has enabled the identification of closely related strains that differ through micro-evolutions in a single individual or in individuals within a family, indicating rapid evolution of C. albicans within the gastro-)intestinal tract. The nature and extent of these micro-evolutions is currently investigated.

Aspergillus nidulans spore germination (A. Lafon and C. d'Enfert)

Filamentous fungi of the genus Aspergillus have been widely used for biotechnological processes but are also responsible for human disease. Spore germination is a key developmental step in the fungal life cycle and is critical for the establishment of the fungus in a new environmental niche. Our aim is to define the molecular and biochemical events that are involved during the early stages of spore germination. In particular, we have characterized the signaling pathways mediating the recognition of environmental signals triggering germination and their transduction towards the resumption of various metabolic processes that are necessary for germination.

Recent work has focused on the characterization of the mechanisms regulating the activity of adenylate cyclase and cAMP-dependent protein kinase at the onset of spore germination. We have conducted an in silico analysis of the A. nidulans, A. fumigatus and A. niger genomes in order to identify components of G-protein and cAMP-mediated signaling. This study has shown a striking diversity of the putative G protein-couple receptors (GPCRs, 13-16 according to the species). A similar observation is made in other filamentous ascomycetes in contrast to yeasts that have only a limited number of GPCRs. Other signaling components acting downstream of GPCRs are highly conserved in structure and numbers. These observations probably reflect the abilities of filamentous ascomycetes to adapt to various ecological niches and to integrate diverse environmental cues into highly conserved cellular processes. Additionally, we have shown that only one of the three A. nidulans Gα subunits, namely GanB, is important for the control of spore germination in response to a carbon source. GanB activates cAMP synthesis at the very onset of germination. This function of GanB requires the SfaD/Gβ et GpgA/Gγ subunits and is modulated by the RGS protein RgsA (Collaboration J. Yu, U. Wisconsin, USA). Finally, we have completed the characterization of the regulatory subunit of the cAMP-dependent protein kinase - PkaR - and shown that it regulates various aspects of A. nidulans development including germination, hyphal growth and conidiogenesis.

Systematic identification of essential genes in the fungal pathogen of humans, Aspergillus fumigatus (M. Lecomte, L. Simon and C. d'Enfert)

Aspergillus fumigatus is the causative agent of invasive aspergillosis, which represents the second cause of death resulting from fungal infections in hospitals. Invasive aspergillosis is associated with a high mortality. This is mostly due to the poor sensitivity of the currently available diagnostic tests and the sole use of amphotericin B therapy, which has deleterious side effects. Analysis of candidate virulence factors by reverse genetics has not been successful for the understanding of the pathogenic processes. We have therefore focused our interest towards the development of novel molecular tools that could be used to identify through insertional mutagenesis genes that are essential for growth of A. fumigatus under laboratory conditions and may hence serve as antifungal targets. We have established a novel technology for the identification of essential genes in A. fumigatus that combines transposon mutagenesis of an artificial diploid with haploidization through parasexual genetics. This approach is now partially automated and is used to systematically identify A. fumigatus essential genes.

Photo :

Photo 1 : Top-view of a biofilm formed by Candida albicans on a plastic surface. Hyphal cells are embedded in exopolymeric matrix material (Scanning Electron Microscopy; collaboration Adeline Mallet et Marie-Christine Prévost, Plate-forme de Microscopie électronique)

Keywords: Aspergillus nidulans, Aspergillus fumigatus, Candida albicans, cAMP, kinase, signal transduction, germination, spore, conidia, antifungal, target, transposon, DNA chip, DNA array, biofilm, epidemiology, Multi-Locus Sequence Typing, genomics, transcriptome, transcript profiling



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications 2005 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Dugast, Christine (cdugast@pasteur.fr) Bougnoux, Marie-Elisabeth, Université Paris V (Assistant Professor, clinician, bougnoux@pasteur.fr)

d’Enfert, Christophe, Institut Pasteur (Associate Professor, denfert@pasteur.fr)

Goyard, Sophie, Institut Pasteur (Assistant Professor, goyard@pasteur.fr)

Arsenault, Geneviève (Master student, Laval University, Canada)

Diogo, Dorothée (PhD student, ddiogo@pasteur.fr)

Firon, Arnaud (post-doctoral fellow, afiron@pasteur.fr)

Lafon, Anne (PhD student, alafon@pasteur.fr)

Moreno-Ruiz, Emilia (post-doctoral fellow, emorrui@pasteur.fr)

Ortu, Giuseppe (PhD student, Sassari University, Italy)

Simon, Laurence (post-doctoral fellow)

Chauvel, Murielle (technician, mchauvel@pasteur.fr)

Lecomte, Maud (technician, mlecomte@pasteur.fr)


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Biologie et Pathogénicité fongiques - INRA USC 2019


  Responsable : d’Enfert, Christophe (bpf@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Nos travaux ont pour objectif une meilleure compréhension du fonctionnement de la cellule fongique afin d'élaborer des stratégies de contrôle de la croissance chez les champignons pathogènes. Nous nous intéressons plus particulièrement à la levure pathogène Candida albicans dont nous étudions d'une part la diversification génétique naturelle et sa contribution à la virulence, et d'autre part, différents facteurs nécessaires à la formation de biofilms (adhésion, morphogenèse, matrice) et à l'acquisition de leur particularités physiologiques (résistance aux antifongiques). Par ailleurs, nous avons poursuivi l'étude détaillée d'un processus clef dans la biologie des champignons filamenteux, la germination des spores, et une recherche exhaustive de gènes essentiels à la croissance du champignon pathogène Aspergillus fumigatus.



  rapport

cale

Candida albicans : génomique, biofilms et épidémiologie (M.-E. Bougnoux, M. Chauvel, D. Diogo, A. Firon, S. Goyard, E. Moreno-Ruiz, G. Ortu et C. d'Enfert)

Candida albicans est actuellement le principal pathogène fongique humain. En particulier, C. albicans est responsable d'infections systémiques chez des patients présentant un déficit immunitaire important et recevant une antibiothérapie à large spectre. Les candidoses systémiques sont associées à une forte mortalité malgré la disponibilité de traitements. Il est donc nécessaire de mieux comprendre l'épidémiologie des candidoses et la physio-pathologie de ces infections et de définir de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques si l'on veut à terme être en mesure de réduire l'incidence et les conséquences de ces infections. Les projets que nous développons s'inscrivent donc à la fois dans une recherche en épidémiologie et dans une étude de processus liés aux infections à l'aide d'outils de génomique.

Une partie de notre activité est consacrée à l'étude in silico des génomes fongiques : curation de la base de donnée génomique de C. albicans, CandidaDB et réannotation du génome de C. albicans ; analyse des génomes de différentes espèces d'Aspergillus, A. nidulans, A. fumigatus, A. oryzae, et plus récemment A. niger, dans le cadre de consortia internationaux.

Par ailleurs, notre groupe coordonne le réseau Marie Curie de recherche et formation Galar Fungail 2 qui étudie les interactions entre Candida albicans et l'hôte à l'aide d'approches génomiques, moléculaires et cellulaires.

a. Formation de biofilms par Candida albicans [M. Chauvel, A. Firon, S. Goyard, E. Moreno-Ruiz et G. Ortu]

Les biofilms sont des communautés de micro-organismes qui se développent en association avec une surface (Photo 1). Ils constituent un environnement protégé au sein duquel les micro-organismes adoptent une physiologie particulière. Dans le cas des levures pathogènes telles Candida albicans, la formation de biofilms a été observée sur différents implants médicaux (prothèses, catheters) et est directement responsable de certaines pathologies (stomatites). Les levures présentes au sein du biofilm développent une résistance accrue aux antifongiques et peuvent donc constituer une source de ré-infection après le traitement apparemment efficace d'une candidémie. Etant donnée l'importance croissante des infections à Candida en santé humaine et la mortalité importante qui leur est associée, une meilleure compréhension de la formation des biofilms en vue de développer des moyens de détection ou de prévention s'avère nécessaire.

L'étude comparative des transcriptomes de cultures planctoniques et de biofilms de C. albicans nous avait permis d'identifier un grand nombre de gènes dont l'expression est augmentée dans les biofilms. Nos travaux actuels ont pour objectif d'évaluer le rôle de plusieurs de ces gènes dans la formation de biofilms par construction et analyse de souches présentant des mutations nulles pour l'un ou l'autre de ces gènes. L'inactivation de 48 de ces gènes a été entreprise et la caractérisation phénotypique des souches mutantes obtenues a été poursuivie en 2005. L'étude de ces souches montre que la capacité de C. albicans a former des hyphes est un déterminant important de la formation de biofilms. De plus, certains mutants restent capables de former un biofilm dont la cohésion est altérée, indiquant un rôle possible de certains des gènes mutés dans la production de la matrice extracellulaire du biofilm. La caractérisation détaillée des gènes dont l'inactivation a pour conséquence un altération de la structure du biofilm est actuellement poursuivie.

G. Janbon et I. Iraqui dans l'Unité de Mycologie Moléculaire ont montré que la kinase Yak1 régule la formation de biofilm par Candida glabrata, du fait du contrôle qu'elle exerce sur le silencing télomérique et l'expression de certaines adhésines. Nous avons poursuivi ce travail en étudiant le rôle de la kinase Yak1 chez C. albicans. Nos résultats montrent que cette kinase est impliquée dans le contrôle de la différentiation hyphale et par conséquent dans la formation de biofilm. Nous poursuivons actuellement la caractérisation de Yak1 dans le cadre d'un Programme Transversal de Recherche impliquant outre l'Unité de Mycologie Moléculaire, l'Unité de Chimie Organique, l'Unité de Biochimie Structurale et la Plate-forme Production de Protéines Recombinantes et Anticorps de Pasteur Génopole® Ile-de-France. Par ailleurs, nous tentons d'identifier les cibles de Yak1 par une approche protéomique en collaboration avec la Plate-forme de Protéomique.

b. Diversité moléculaire de C. albicans [M.-E. Bougnoux, D. Diogo et C. d'Enfert]

La technique de Multi Locus Sequence Typing (MLST) mise au point dans notre laboratoire permet un typage reproductible et extrêmement discriminant des souches de C. albicans. Cette méthode est basée sur le séquençage de six ou sept loci indépendants qui présentent des variations intra-spécifiques. Un des avantages du typage par MLST réside dans la possibilité d'échange des données produites dans différents laboratoires. Ces échanges sont facilités par l'existence d'une base publique pour les données de typage de C. albicans par MLST (http://calbican.mlst.net) que nous entretenons en collaboration avec le groupe de B. Spratt (Imperial College, Londres).

La technique de MLST a été appliquée à l'étude de différentes collections de souches infectieuses et commensales avec l'aide de la Plate-forme Génomique de Pasteur Génopole® Ile-de-France. Nos résultats indiquent à la fois des évènements de micro-évolution par perte d'hétérozygotie au sein des différents groupes clonaux qui constituent l'espèce C. albicans et des évènements probables de sexualité entre isolats de groupes clonaux différents. Le maintien d'un fort taux d'hétérozygotie au sein de la population de C. albicans suggère que les évènements de perte d'hétérozygotie sont contre-sélectionnés dans l'environnement, hypothèse que nous tenterons de valider. De façon remarquable, l'application de la technique de MLST à des isolats commensaux nous a permis de détecter des souches reliées par des phénomènes de micro-évolution soit chez un même individu, soit chez des individus issus d'une même famille. Ceci suggère une évolution rapide de l'espèce lors de la colonisation du tractus gastro-intestinal. La nature exacte et l'ampleur de ces micro-évolutions est en cours de détermination.

Germination des spores chez Aspergillus nidulans (A. Lafon et C. d'Enfert)

Les champignons filamenteux du genre Aspergillus sont connus tant pour leurs applications biotechnologiques que pour les pathologies dont ils sont responsables. La germination des spores (conidies) représente une étape clef dans le cycle de développement du champignon et constitue la première étape dans la colonisation d'un nouvel environnement. Les recherches effectuées visent à caractériser les évènements moléculaires et biochimiques intervenant au cours des phases précoces de la germination et en particulier la compréhension du signal déclenchant le processus germinatif et sa transduction au niveau cellulaire.

Nos travaux ont eu pour objectif de mieux comprendre les mécanismes de régulation de l'adénylate cyclase et de la protéine kinase AMPc-dépendante lors de l'initiation de la germination. Une analyse in silico des génomes de A. nidulans, A. fumigatus et A. oryzae nous a permis de montrer l'existence d'une diversité notable de récepteurs transmembranaires putatifs couplés aux protéines G (entre 13 et 16 selon l'espèce), comparable à celle observée chez d'autres ascomycètes filamenteux mais plus importante que celle décrite chez les levures. Les composants de la signalisation agissant en aval des GPCRs - protéines G hétérotrimériques, adénylate cyclase, etc… - sont par contre très conservés en structure et en nombre. Cette observation reflète probablement une adaptation des champignons filamenteux à des niches écologiques variées et leur capacité à intégrer des stimuli externes divers via des processus cellulaires convergents. Nous avons par ailleurs montré qu'une seule des trois sous-unités Gα de A. nidulans, GanB, intervient dans le contrôle des étapes précoces de la germination. GanB contrôle la production d'AMPc lors de l'induction de la germination et cette fonction de GanB nécessite les protéines SfaD/Gβ et GpgA/Gγ(Collaboration J. Yu, U. Wisconsin, USA). Enfin, nous avons achevé la caractérisation de la sous-unité régulatrice de la protéine kinase AMPc-dépendante de A  nidulans, désignée PkaR et démontré son rôle de régulateur pléiotrope dans le développement du champignon, en particulier au niveau de la germination, de la croissance hyphale et de la reproduction asexuée.

Identification de gènes essentiels chez le champignon pathogène Aspergillus fumigatus (L. Simon, M. Lecomte et C. d'Enfert)

Aspergillus fumigatus est actuellement le principal champignon filamenteux pathogène de l'homme, responsable d'infections systémiques fatales (aspergillose invasive) chez le patient immuno-déprimé, infections pour lesquelles on ne dispose pas de traitement à la fois efficace et avec peu d'effets secondaires. Les approches de génétique réverse ciblées sur différentes protéines dont on pouvait postuler une implication dans le processus infectieux ne s'étant pas révélées fructueuses, il nous a semblé nécessaire de développer de nouvelles stratégies plus exhaustives permettant l'identification de gènes essentiels à la croissance du champignon. Nous avions ainsi mis au point une méthode d'identification de gènes essentiels chez A. fumigatus couplant mutagenèse insertionnelle par un transposon sur des souches diploïdes et haploïdisation par génétique parasexuelle. Cette méthode désormais automatisée sur certaines de ses étapes nous a permis de démarrer un programme d'identification systématique des gènes essentiels de A. fumigatus.

Légende :

Photo 1 : Biofilm de Candida albicans formé sur un support plastique. Les cellules formant le biofilm sont incluses dans une matrice extracellulaire (Microscopie électronique à balayage ; collaboration Adeline Mallet et Marie-Christine Prévost, Plate-forme de Microscopie électronique)

Mots-clés: Aspergillus nidulans, Aspergillus fumigatus, Candida albicans, AMPc, kinase, transduction du signal, germination, spore, conidie, antifongique, cible, transposon, puce à ADN, biofilm, épidémiologie, Multi-Locus Sequence Typing, génomique, transcriptome



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2005 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Dugast, Christine (cdugast@pasteur.fr) Bougnoux, Marie-Elisabeth, Université Paris V (Maître de Conférence/Praticien Hospitalier, bougnoux@pasteur.fr)

d’Enfert, Christophe, Institut Pasteur (Chef de Laboratoire, denfert@pasteur.fr)

Goyard Sophie, Institut Pasteur (Chargée de recherche, goyard@pasteur.fr)

Arsenault, Geneviève (Master 1, Université Laval, Canada)

Diogo, Dorothée (Etudiante en thèse, ddiogo@pasteur.fr)

Firon, Arnaud (Stagiaire post-doctoral, afiron@pasteur.fr)

Lafon, Anne (Etudiante en thèse, alafon@pasteur.fr)

Moreno-Ruiz, Emilia (Stagiaire post-doctorale, emorrui@pasteur.fr)

Ortu, Giuseppe (Etudiant en thèse, Université de Sassari, Italie)

Simon, Laurence (Stagiaire post-doctorale)

Chauvel, Murielle (technicienne, mchauvel@pasteur.fr)

Lecomte, Maud (technicienne, mlecomte@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr