Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Immune Regulation and Vaccinology - INSERM E 352


  Director : LECLERC Claude (cleclerc@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The activity of our laboratory is focused on the understanding of the mechanisms that control the activation and regulation of T cell responses and on the development of new strategies of vaccination against tumors and infections. We have recently developed several strategies of activation of CTL responses as well as fully synthetic glycopeptide carrying saccharidic epitopes to induce anti-tumoral immune responses. We are also investigating the biology of dendritic cells, in adults and neonates.



  report

cale

A. The adenylate cyclase toxin (CyaA) of Bordetella pertussis: a new vector targeting dendritic cells (C. Fayolle, P. Berraondo et L. Mascarell, in collaboration with D. Ladant, IP and P. Sebo, Prague)

The adenylate cyclase toxin (CyaA) of Bordetella pertussis is a major virulence factor, which can invade eukaryotic cells. We previously demonstrated that CyaA uses the integrin CD11b/CD18 as a cell receptor. These results will help us to design a highly efficient vector capable of targeting a wide range of antigens to CD11b+ antigen presenting cells, leading to a more efficient immune responses.

The Tat protein from HIV-1 was inserted in recombinant CyaA and its ability to induce specific humoral responses against Tat as well as cellular responses was assessed. Mice immunized with CyaA-Tat developed a Tat specific neutralizing humoral response as well as CD8+ T cell responses. In addition, the induced cellular polarization is of Th1 type. These promising results were extended to non-human primates. Indeed, the injection of CyaA-Tat into green monkeys elicited strong humoral responses capable to neutralize the transactivating activity of Tat and in addition induced a Th1 cellular response.

CyaA targets CD8α-, CD11c+, CD11b+ DC with a high efficiency, and dendritic cells (DC) are the only APC capable of presenting CyaA to CD8+ T and CD4+ T cells. After the encounter with various stimuli, DC increase the expression of MHC molecules and several co-stimulatory molecules, which are necessary to trigger an immune response and in particular, a CTL response. We thus analyzed if this high immunogenicity of CyaA was linked to its capacity to induce DC maturation. We have shown that in vitro very low doses of wild type CyaA, but not a catalytic inactive mutant, trigger DC maturation as probed by increase in surface levels of maturation markers: MHC I and II, costimulatory molecules CD80, CD86 and IL-2 receptor. In parallel, intravenous injection of CyaA, but not its inactive mutant, triggers splenic DC maturation. We are currently investigating the mechanisms responsible for the high immunogenicity of detoxified CyaA.

B. Analysis of immunological properties of viral pseudo-particles (D. Briard and S. Hervas in collaboration with P. Rueda, Madrid)

Chimeric porcine parvovirus virus-like particles (PPV-VLPs), prepared by self-assembly of the VP2 capsid protein of this virus and carrying heterologous epitopes at its N terminus is an efficient antigen delivery system that elicits strong CD4+ and CD8+ T cells responses specific for the foreign epitopes in the absence of adjuvant. As usually exogenous antigens cannot enter into the MHC Class I pathway, PPV-VLPs represent a very interesting antigen carrier to trigger CTL response. We have shown in mice that DC capture these particles very efficiently in vivo and are the only cells capable to present PPV-VLPs to specific CD8+ hybridoma.

We currently analyze the capture of PPV-VLPs in different lymphoid organs either in naive mice or following immunization with these vectors in order to determine if the immunity against a vector affects its capacity to be delivered to DC. We have also deciphered the mechanisms by which the particles induce strong T cell responses.

C. Analysis of CTL and Th responses induced by dendritic cell subpopulations (G. Dadaglio, J. Mouries and M. Rojas)

Plasmacytoid DC (pDC) have recently been identified in mouse lymphoid organs. To assess their in vivo function on adaptive responses, purified immature or activated pDCs were loaded with a synthetic peptide containing a CD8+ T cell epitope and then transferred by i.v. route into naive syngeneic hosts. We show that immature and CpG-activated pDC do not induce specific CTL response nor regulatory activity, suggesting that they cannot prime CD8+ T cells. Nevertheless, CpG-activated pDC were able to recall memory T cells, in contrast to immature pDC. However, after stimulation by heat-inactivated influenza virus, pDC produced IFN-α and induced antigen-specific effector/memory T cells. Thus, pDC differentiate into professional APC in the context of viral infection, demonstrating that they can play a role in both innate and adaptive anti-viral immunity. We are currently investigating the role of pDC in induction of innate and adaptive responses during viral infection using influenza virus as viral model.

Furthermore, we have previously shown that pDC present endogenous antigen, suggesting that pDC have the capacity to induce anti-viral immunity if directly infected. However, induction of protective anti-viral responses may require cross presentation of viral antigen to generate CTL responses against viruses that do not infect pDC. We are currently investigating the ability of pDC to cross present exogenous antigens.

D. Ontogeny, functions and regulation of neonatal dendritic cells (R. Lo-Man and X. Zhang)

We are investigating how the dendritic cell compartment may contribute to the high susceptibility to infections observed in newborns and to biased Th2 responses that are often induced. We recently described the ontogeny of mouse DC and showed that they are fully functional at the level of innate responses and in their capacity to prime T cells in vitro and in vivo. However, if neonatal DC are fully competent, we were able to demonstrate for the first time that B cells can control the capacity of neonatal DC to prime Th1 responses and therefore dampen their immune functions. We are currently investigating the ins and outs of this regulation process.

E. Investigation of mechanisms of anti-mycobacterial immunity (L. Majlessi, C. Nouzé and S. Hervas in collaboration with S. Cole and collaborators)

Induction of Th1 responses to mycobacterial antigens is essential in protection against infection with Mycobacterium tuberculosis, the ethiologic agent of tuberculosis. We study the capacity of recombinant CyaA, bearing mycobacterial antigens, as sub-unit vaccine, to induce T-cell responses and to confer protection against infection with M. tuberculosis. The antigens inserted into CyaA for this investigation are proteins known for their strong immunogenicity in both mice and human or a protein we identified as a potent immunogen for CD4+ or CD8+ T-cell subsets in mice. We currently investigate the potential of these vectors, injected alone or in the presence of appropriate adjuvants, as sub-unit vaccine candidates against infection with M. tuberculosis.

In collaboration with the Unit of Génétique Moléculaire Bactérienne, we recently demonstrated that introduction of a virulence-associated chromosomal region of M. tuberculosis into M. bovis BCG markedly modifies the interactions between the host immune system and mycobacteria. Indeed, BCG complemented with this chromosomal region induces preferential recruitments of dendritic cells and of CD4+ or CD8+ activated/effector T cells. In contrast to the parental BCG, this BCG is able to induce in vivo at the level of dendritic cells an inflammation program as it activates production of inflammatory chemokines and cytokines. More recently, we characterized the impact of the expression of each individual gene of this M. tuberculosis chromosomal region on the immunogenicity of the most promising antigens coded in this region.

Due to generation of CD4+ ou T CD8+ T- cell hybridomas specific to mycobacterial immunogens, we investigate the cellular and molecular mechanisms of the presentation of mycobacterial antigens via MHC-class I or class II pathway.

F. Elaboration of a fully synthetic immunogen bearing a carbohydrate tumor marker for immunotherapy (R. Lo-Man and E. Dériaud in collaboration with S. Bay, T. Freire and S. Vichier-Guerre from Unité de Chimie Organique)

We have developed multiple antigenic glycopeptides (MAG) based on a lysine core extended with peptidic arms displaying a carbohydrate tumor antigen (Tn antigen). The resulting dendrimeric MAGs were able to induce anti-Tn IgG antibodies in a T cell dependent manner that recognized murine as well as human tumor cell lines that express Tn. In mice, therapeutic vaccination using these MAG provided a 70% survival rate of tumor-bearing mice. Together, these results demonstrate that the MAG represents a safe and highly efficient system to induce anti-carbohydrate antibodies and is a potent alternative strategy to the traditional carbohydrate-protein conjugates, which are developed for vaccine and therapeutic purposes. We recently developed new MAGs potentially active in humans and the immunogenicity of these molecules has been demonstrated in non-human primates.

Keywords: Vaccines, CTL, dendritic cells, cancer, T cells, immunotherapy, anti-mycobacterial immunity



  publications

puce Publications 2005 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  DEMOND Anne: ademond@pasteur.fr DADAGLIO Gilles, IP (Researcher, gdadag@pasteur.fr)

LECLERC Claude, IP (Head of Unit, cleclerc@pasteur.fr)

LO-MAN Richard, IP (Researcher, rloman@pasteur.fr)

MAJLESSI Laleh, IP (Researcher, lmajless@pasteur.fr)

BERRAONDO-LOPEZ Pedro, Postdoc

BRIARD Diane, Postdoc

GROSEIL-OLIVIER Aurélie, Postdoc

HERVAS Sandra, Postdoc

JARON Barbara, Master Student

MASCARELL Laurent, Postdoc

MOURIES Juliette, PhD student

ZHANG Xiaoming, PhD student

DERIAUD Edith (Ingeneer, ederiaud@pasteur.fr)

FAYOLLE Catherine (Ingeneer, cfayolle@pasteur.fr)

NOUZE Clémence (Technician, cnouze@pasteur.fr)

ROJAS Marie (Technician, mrojas@pasteur.fr)


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Régulation Immunitaire et Vaccinologie - INSERM E 352


  Responsable : LECLERC Claude (cleclerc@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'activité de l'Unité est centrée sur la compréhension des mécanismes qui contrôlent l'activation et la régulation des réponses lymphocytaires T et sur la mise au point de nouvelles stratégies vaccinales anti-tumorales ou anti-infectieuses. Nous avons développé plusieurs stratégies d'activation des réponses lymphocytaires T ainsi que des glycopeptides synthétiques portant des motifs saccharidiques afin d'induire des réponses anti-tumorales. De plus, nos travaux portent sur la compréhension de la biologie des cellules dendritiques, chez l'adulte et le nouveau-né.



  rapport

cale

A. L'adénylcyclase de Bordetella pertussis: un nouveau vecteur ciblant les cellules dendritiques (C. Fayolle, P. Berraondo et L. Mascarell, en collaboration avec D. Ladant, Unité de Biochimie Cellulaire, et P. Sebo, Prague)

L'adénylcyclase (CyaA) est l'une des toxines essentielles de Bordetella pertussis et possède la capacité de pénétrer dans les cellules eucaryotes. Nous avons démontré que CyaA utilise l'intégrine CD11b/CD18 comme récepteur cellulaire. L'ensemble de nos résultats permet de concevoir un vecteur vaccinal capable de cibler une grande variété d'antigènes vers les cellules CD11b+ présentatrices d'antigène.

La protéine Tat du virus VIH-1 a été insérée dans la CyaA (CyaA-Tat) et sa capacité à induire des réponses humorales et cellulaires dirigées contre Tat a été étudiée. Les souris immunisées par la CyaA-Tat ont développé des réponses anticorps anti-Tat neutralisantes élevées ainsi que des réponses cellulaires T CD8+. De plus, la polarisation de la réponse cellulaire induite contre Tat était de type Th1. Ces résultats très prometteurs ont été étendus aux primates non-humains. En effet, les singes verts immunisés avec CyaA-Tat ont développé des réponses anticorps capables de neutraliser l'activité transactivatrice de Tat, ainsi que des réponses T, CD4+ de type Th1.

La présentation préférentielle aux cellules T, CD4+ et CD8+, des Ag couplés à CyaA par les cellules dendritiques (CD) d'origine myéloïde nous a conduit à tester directement l'effet de la CyaA sauvage ou détoxifiée sur la maturation de ces cellules. L'analyse in vitro a permis de démontrer que l'incubation des CD dérivées de la moëlle osseuse avec de faibles concentrations de CyaA sauvage (pourvue de l'activité adénylcyclase) induit une augmentation de l'expression des molécules de CMH-I et II et de co-stimulation telles que CD80 et CD86 ainsi que celle du récepteur à l'IL-2 . A l'inverse, des CD incubées avec les mêmes doses de CyaA détoxifiée conservent un phénotype immature. En parallèle, des expériences réalisées in vivo

après injection i.v. avec une dose équivalente de CyaA sauvage et de CyaA détoxifiée, dose suffisante pour activer des lymphocytes T CD8+ et CD4+, nous ont permis de confirmer que seule la CyaA sauvage conférait aux CD purifiées de la rate (CD11c+, CD11b+) un phénotype mature. Nous étudions actuellement les mécanismes cellulaires et moléculaires qui confèrent à CyaA son exceptionnelle capacité à induire des réponses cellulaires.

B. Etude des propriétés immunologiques des pseudo-particules virales du parvovirus (PPV-VLPs) (D. Briard et S. Hervas en collaboration avec P. Rueda, Madrid).

Les pseudo-particules virales du parvovirus (PPV-VLPs) produites par l'auto-assemblage de la protéine VP2 et portant des épitopes hétérologues sont capables d'induire de fortes réponses T CD4+ et CD8+ en l'absence d'adjuvant. Compte-tenu que les antigènes exogènes ne sont pas normalement délivrés dans la voie CMH-I, ces PPV-VLPs représentent un système très intéressant pour l'activation des réponses T cytotoxiques. Nous avons montré chez la souris que seules les cellules dendritiques capturent ces particules, et ceci de façon très efficace, et sont capables de les présenter à des hybridomes T spécifiques. Nous avons analysé les mécanismes de capture in vivo du vecteur PPV-VLPs dans différents organes lymphoïdes après une ou plusieurs injections de ces vecteurs et ainsi démontré que l'immunité contre le vecteur affecte sa capacité à être délivré aux CD. De plus, nous avons analysé les mécanismes impliqués dans l'induction des réponses T par ces particules.

C. Analyse des réponses CTL et Th induites par différentes sous-populations de cellules dendritiques (G. Dadaglio, J. Mouriès et M. Rojas)

Les CD plasmacytoïdes (CDp) ont été récemment identifiées chez la souris. Pour caractériser leur fonction in vivo, des CDp immatures ou activées ont été purifiées et chargées de peptide antigénique restreint par les molécules de CMH-I, puis transférées dans des souris syngéniques naïves par voie intraveineuse. Les CDp immatures ou activées par du CpG n'induisent ni réponse cytotoxique spécifique de l'antigène ni activité régulatrice, suggérant que ces cellules ne sont pas capables d'initier des réponses T CD8+. Néanmoins, les CDp activées par le CpG sont capables de réactiver des cellules T mémoires in vivo. Par contre, suite à leur stimulation par le virus de la grippe inactivé, les CDp acquièrent la capacité d'activer des cellules T effectrices/mémoires spécifiques de l'antigène. Ainsi, les CDp se différencient en CPA professionnelles dans un contexte d'infection virale, ce qui montre qu'outre leur implication dans les réponses immunitaires innées, les CDp peuvent intervenir dans les réponses adaptatives anti-virales. Actuellement, nous étudions le rôle des CDp dans l'induction de réponses innées et adaptatives lors d'une infection virale en utilisant comme modèle le virus de la grippe.

Par ailleurs, nous avons montré que les CDp présentent des antigènes endogènes, suggérant que les CDp ont la possibilité d'induire une réponse antivirale si elles sont directement infectées. Cependant, l'induction d'une réponse protectrice peut nécessiter la génération de réponses CTL contre des virus qui n'infectent pas les CD. Dans ces conditions, les antigènes doivent être apprêtés et présentés par un mécanisme appelé présentation croisée. Nous analysons actuellement la capacité des CDp à réaliser la présentation croisée.

D. Ontogénie, fonctions et régulation des cellules dendritiques du nouveau-né murin (R. Lo-Man et X. Zhang)

La période néonatale est caractérisée par une forte susceptibilité aux infections et par des réponses immunitaires de type Th2. Après avoir caractérisé le compartiment des cellules dendritiques au cours de la période néonatale, nous avons pu démontrer que celui-ci est pleinement fonctionnel. Toutefois, si les CD sont compétentes au cours de la période néonatale, leur environnement ne leur permet pas d'exprimer pleinement leur potentiel. En effet, nous avons pu montrer pour la première fois que, dans certaines circonstances, les cellules B néonatales peuvent contrôler la capacité des CD à induire des réponses T CD4+ de type Th1. Nous étudions actuellement les implications de ce schéma de régulation sur l'immunité du nouveau-né.

E. Etude des mécanismes de l'immunité anti-mycobactérienne (L. Majlessi, C. Nouzé et S. Hervas en collaboration avec S. Cole et collaborateurs, IP)

L'induction des réponses immunes cellulaires de type Th1 contre les antigènes mycobactériens est essentielle dans la protection contre l'infection par Mycobacterium tuberculosis, l'agent étiologique de la tuberculose. Nous étudions la capacité du vecteur CyaA recombinant, portant des antigènes mycobactériens, comme vaccin sous-unitaire, à générer des réponses lymphocytaires T et à contrôler l'infection par M. tuberculosis. Les antigènes insérés dans le vecteur CyaA sont des protéines mycobactériennes connues pour leur forte immunogénicité chez l'homme et chez la souris ou une protéine mycobactérienne dont nous avons montré l'immunogénicité pour les compartiments T CD4+ et T CD8+ chez la souris. Nous étudions actuellement la capacité de ces vecteurs, administrés seuls ou en présence d'adjuvants appropriés, à induire une protection contre l'infection par M. tuberculosis.

En collaboration avec l'Unité de Génétique Moléculaire Bactérienne, nous avons montré que l'introduction d'une région chromosomique de M. tuberculosis, associée à la virulence, dans le génome de M. bovis BCG modifie profondément l'interaction entre le système immunitaire de l'hôte et les mycobactéries. Ainsi le BCG complémenté par cette région chromosomique induit, chez l'hôte, des recrutements préférentiels de cellules dendritiques et de lymphocytes T CD4+ et T CD8+ de type activé et effecteur. Ce BCG, contrairement au BCG parental, est capable d'induire in vivo au niveau des cellules dendritiques un programme d'inflammation en activant la production de chemokines et de cytokines inflammatoires. Nous avons plus récemment caractérisé l'impact de l'expression de chacun des gènes de cette région chromosomique de M. tuberculosis, sur l'immunogénicité des antigènes les plus prometteurs codés par cette même région.

Grâce à la génération d'hybridomes T CD4+ ou T CD8+ spécifiques des immunogènes mycobactériens, nous caractérisons les mécanismes cellulaires et moléculaires de la présentation des antigènes mycobactériens par les voies de présentation CMH-I ou CMH-II.

F. Elaboration d'un composé synthétique portant un motif saccharidique d'origine tumorale à des fins thérapeutiques et vaccinales (R. Lo-Man et E. Dériaud en collaboration avec S. Bay, T. Freire et S. Vichier-Guerre, Chimie Organique, IP)

Parmi les marqueurs saccharidiques associés aux cellules tumorales, on retrouve le motif Tn (alpha-N-acetyl-galactosamine) associé aux protéines de type mucine. Nous avons développé un immunogène synthétique utilisant la structure d'un MAP (multiple antigenic peptide) contenant ce motif Tn sous forme de trimère capable d'induire des réponses immunitaires anti-tumorales thérapeutiques. Ce MAG s'est révélé très immunogène et une vaccination thérapeutique réalisée avec ce composé permet de protéger les souris contre un adénocarcinome mammaire exprimant l'antigène Tn. Sur la base de ces résultats, nous avons développé des composés utilisables chez l'homme et démontré leur immunogénicité chez le primate non-humain.

Mots-clés: Vaccin, cellules dendritiques, cancer, réponses T cytotoxiques, immunothérapie, immunité anti-myobactérienne



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2005 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  DEMOND Anne: ademond@pasteur.fr DADAGLIO Gilles, IP (Chargé de Recherche, gdadag@pasteur.fr)

LECLERC Claude, IP (Professeur, cleclerc@pasteur.fr)

LO-MAN Richard, IP (Chargé de Recherche, rloman@pasteur.fr)

MAJLESSI Laleh, IP (Chargée de Recherche, lmajless@pasteur.fr)

BERRAONDO-LOPEZ Pedro, Chercheur post-doctoral

BRIARD Diane, Chercheur post-doctoral

GROSEIL-OLIVIER Aurélie, Chercheur post-doctoral

HERVAS Sandra, Chercheur post-doctoral

JARON Barbara, Etudiante en Master 2

MASCARELL Laurent, Chercheur post-doctoral

MOURIES Juliette, Etudiante en Thèse

ZHANG Xiaoming, Etudiant en Thèse

DERIAUD Edith (Ingénieur, ederiaud@pasteur.fr)

FAYOLLE Catherine (Ingénieur, cfayolle@pasteur.fr)

NOUZE Clémence (Technicienne, cnouze@pasteur.fr)

ROJAS Marie (Technicienne, mrojas@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr