Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Malaria Biology and Genetics


  Director : Robert Ménard (rmenard@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our laboratory focuses on Plasmodium, the agent of malaria, and particularly on two distinct phases of the parasite life cycle that are targets of vaccine strategies. The first is the migration of the parasite (called ookinete at this stage) through the intestinal barrier of the mosquito. This phase of infection is the target of so-called ‘transmission blocking vaccines', which do not protect the vaccinated individual but its community by blocking parasite transmission. The second is the pre-erythrocytic phase of the parasite life cycle. This phase includes the journey of the sporozoite (the stage of the parasite inoculated by the mosquito) from the mosquito site of bite to a hepatocyte, as well as the phase of parasite differentiation in the liver into the parasite form that infect erythrocytes and causes the symtoms of the disease. We want to gain functional understanding of these steps of the parasite life cycle. In our studies, we use P. falciparum, the species the mots deadly to humans, and P. berghei, a species that infects rodents.



  report

cale

Several lines of research are developed in the laboratory

1. Characterization of Anopheles gambiae genes whose expression is modified by mosquito interaction with Plasmodium falciparum (C. Lavazec, M. Gendrin, R. Lacroix, C. Bourgouin)

In conditions of natural transmission of P. falciparum, the Plasmodium species deadliest to humans, an important reduction in the parasite numbers occurs in the mosquito intestinal lumen so that only a few oocysts become mature. We have characterized two genes encoding midgut carboxypeptidases and demonstrated that these genes are involved in P. falciparum development in the mosquito. Antibodies directed against one carboxypeptidase strongly reduce the sporogonic development of both P. falciparum and P. berghei and also reduce mosquito fecundity. Therefore, An. gambiae midgut carboxypeptidases could constitute components of a vaccine that would block Plasmodium transmission, by reducing Plasmodium sporogonic development and mosquito populations. Elucidating the role of these carboxypeptidases in Plasmodium development is under way using both biochemical and RNAi approaches

2. Functional genomics by RNA interference in An. gambiae (B. Boisson, J.-C. Jacques, C. Bourgouin, Program GPH Anopheles)

Before being transmitted to the mammalian host, sporozoites reside in the salivary glands of the mosquito. We have established the conditions for efficiently silencing gene expression in the mosquito salivary glands by RNA interference. These conditions are different from those used for silencing gene expression in the mosquito midgut, fat body and hemocytes. Using this approach, we are now assessing the role of saliva components in the transmission of Plasmodium sporozoites to the mammalian host. In particular, we will examine the role of salivary gland genes whose expression is modified by the presence of sporozoites, which have been identified by SAGE analysis by the I. Chupin's group in the GPH program.

3. In vivo imaging of the Plasmodium sporozoite (R. Amino, S. Thiberge, D. Giovannini, R. Ménard, Program GPH Anopheles)

The parasite is inoculated in the dermis of the mammalian host by the mosquito vector. The parasite journey from the site of bite to the target hepatocyte, however, remains elusive. To better understand the natural history of the sporozoite in the mammalian host, we are using a rodent system, sporozoites that express fluorescent proteins, and various in vivo imaging approaches (in collaboration with the " Centre d'Imagerie Dynamique "). In vivo studies have shown the importance of sporozoite motility not only for invading target cells, but also as a means of locomotion in the mosquito as well as in the mammalian hosts. They have also revealed numerous unexpected host-parasite interactions, including invasion of lymphatic vessels in the mammalian dermis, infection of the draining lymph node, intra-vascular gliding and complex leucocyte-parasite interactions in the liver sinusoids. We are now trying to characterize the host-parasite interactions in the lymph nodes, their consequences on the infection process, as well as the role of traversal of host cells on sporozoite infectivity.

4. Molecular basis of the sporozoite cell invasion capacity (A. Combe, D. Giovannini, S. Thiberge, R. Ménard)

The final destination of the sporozoite is the hepatocyte, which the sporozoite invades in a parasitophorous vacuole and inside which it develops in the parasite stage that invades erythrocytes. Invasion of the host cell by the sporozoite is a rapid and active process, and the force that drives the parasite inside the cell depends on the actin cytoskeleton in the parasite, and not in the host cell. The parasite ligands and the host cell receptors involved in the process remain elusive; in particular, the parasite ligands, which are common to other invasive stages of the parasite, cannot be genetically inactivated using the available transfection technology. To study the function of the sporozoite surface proteins that are potentially involved in host cell invasion, we have developed conditional mutagenesis in P. berghei, which now allows us to mutagenize specifically at the sporozoite stage any gene of interest. We are currently focusing our attention on the function of MSP-1, AMA-1, RON-4, and TLP.

5. Mutagenesis of Plasmodium genes expressed in pre-erythrocytic stages (P Baldacci, B Boisson, S Akerman, C Lacroix, S Thiberge, H Sakamoto, R Ménard).

The liver is the first organ of the mammalian host targeted by Plasmodium parasites. Although no pathology is associated with the liver phase of infection, it has been demonstrated that this phase can induce an immune response that protects the host against a challenge with infectious sporozoites. Little is known about the molecular biology of Plasmodium in liver stages (LS) due to the difficuty in obtaining parasite material from this stage of development. Our main objective is to identify and characterize the parasite-hepatocyte interactions which are important for the intra-hepatocytic development of P. berghei. To this end, we are identifying parasite genes expressed specifically in liver stages, and will be creating the corresponding P. berghei mutants. An in silico analysis of published transcription profiles and proteomics databases has allowed us to identify about 50 P. berghei genes that are potentially expressed exclusively in liver stages. The candidate genes have been analyzed by qPCR and are undergoing systematic mutagenesis via a technique of shuttle mutagenesis recently published by our laboratory. The mutant parasites will be characterized for their capacity to invade/develop in the liver, and their ability to protect the host against a subsequent challenge with infectious sporozoites will be analyzed..

Photos :

Plasmodium berghei sporozoites gliding in the dermis of a mouse. The parasite is shown in yellow at t0. During the next 10 minutes, the movement of the parasite is represented by a maximal projection in red. The blood vessel is represented in blue.

Keywords: Plasmodium, malaria, Anopheles, transmission blocking vaccine, invasion, differentiation



  publications

puce Publications 2005 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Dupiat Armelle (adupiat1@pasteur.fr) Bourgouin Catherine, Institut Pasteur, (cabourg@pasteur.fr)

Patricia Baldacci, Institut Pasteur, (baldacci@pasteur.fr)

Bertand Boisson, Institut Pasteur, (boisson@pasteur.fr)

Akerman Susan, Fondation Recherche Médicale, (akerman@pasteur.fr)

Donatella Giovannini Biomalpar, (giovad@pasteur.fr)

Combe Audrey, Ecole B2M, (combe@pasteur.fr)

Sara Brega, Institut Pasteur
Thiberge Sabine, Institut Pasteur, technicienne de laboratoire 1er degré (thiberge@pasteur.fr)

Lacroix Céline, Institut Pasteur, technicienne de laboratoire 1er degré (clacroix@pasteur.fr)

Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Biologie et Génétique du Paludisme


  Responsable : Robert Ménard (rmenard@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre laboratoire travaille sur Plasmodium, l'agent du paludisme, et plus particulièrement sur deux phases du cycle de vie du parasite qui sont des cibles de stratégies vaccinales. La première est la transmigration du parasite (ou ookinète) à travers la barrière intestinale du moustique. Cette phase est la cible de vaccins dits ‘altruistes', qui ne protègent pas l'individu vacciné mais bloquent la transmission du parasite. La seconde est la phase ‘pré-érythrocytaire'. Elle comporte le voyage du sporozoïte depuis le site de piqûre par le moustique jusqu'à un hépatocyte, ainsi que la différenciation intra-hépatocytaire du parasite dans la forme qui infectera les globules rouges et causera les symptômes de la maladie. Les vaccins pré-érythrocytaires visent à empêcher l'entrée du sporozoïte dans l'hépatocyte et/ou son développement intra-hépatocytaire. Notre approche est fonctionnelle, et consiste à caractériser les interactions hôte-parasite qui sont importantes pour la vie du parasite. Pour cela, nous étudions P. falciparum, l'espèce la plus pathogène pour l'homme, et P. berghei, une espèce qui infecte les rongeurs.



  rapport

cale

Plusieurs axes de recherche sont développés au laboratoire 

1. Caractérisation de gènes d'Anopheles gambiae dont l'expression est modulée par l'interaction du moustique avec Plasmodium falciparum (C. Lavazec, M. Gendrin, R. Lacroix, C. Bourgouin)

Dans les conditions naturelles de transmission de P. falciparum, parasite de l'homme, une forte réduction parasitaire intervient dans la lumière intestinale du moustique de sorte que seule une dizaine d'oocystes arrivent à maturité. Nous avons caractérisé deux gènes codant des carboxypeptidases intestinales et démontré leur implication dans le développement de P. falciparum chez le moustique. Des anticorps dirigés contre l'une des carboxypeptidases limitent fortement le développement sporogonique de P. falciparum et de P. berghei et affectent la fécondité des moustiques. Ces carboxypeptidases pourraient donc constituer des composants d'un vaccin bloquant la transmission de Plasmodium, en bloquant d'une part le développement du parasite et d'autre part en réduisant les populations de moustiques. Nous poursuivons la caractérisation de ces carboxypeptidases et l'analyse de leur rôle dans le développement de Plasmodium en associant des approches biochimiques et fonctionnelles par ARN interférence.

2. Génomique fonctionnelle par ARN interférence chez An. gambiae (B. Boisson, J.-C. Jacques, C. Bourgouin, Programme GPH Anophèle)

Nous avons établi les conditions expérimentales nécessaires à l'inactivation spécifique de gènes exprimés dans les glandes salivaires du moustique, où résident les sporozoites de Plasmodium avant leur transmission à l'hôte vertébré. Ces conditions sont différentes de celles requises pour inactiver l'expression de gènes dans d'autres tissus du moustique, tels le tube digestif ou le corps gras. Nous appliquons maintenant cette méthode pour tester l'effet de gènes exprimés dans les glandes salivaires sur l'infectivité des sporozoïtes, et en particulier l'effet des gènes qui sont différentiellement exprimés en l'absence ou en présence des sporozoites plasmodiaux. Ces gènes de glandes salivaires de moustiques dont le niveau d'expression dépend de la présence des parasites ont été identifiés par analyse SAGE dans le cadre du GPH (Equipe I. Chupin).

3. Imagerie in vivo du sporozoïte plasmodial (R. Amino, S. Thiberge, D. Giovannini, R. Ménard, Programme GPH Anophèle)

Le parasite est inoculé dans le derme de l'hôte mammifère par le moustique vecteur, mais son processus infectieux depuis le site de piqûre jusqu'à l'hépatocyte cible reste mal connu. Pour mieux comprendre l'histoire naturelle du sporozoïte chez l'hôte mammifère, nous utilisons un modèle rongeur, des sporozoïtes exprimant diverses protéines fluorescentes, et des approches d'imagerie in vivo (en collaboration avec le Centre d'Imagerie Dynamique). L'étude in vivo a démontré l'importance de la mobilité de ces parasites non seulement pour l'invasion des cellules cibles, mais aussi comme moyen de locomotion chez le moustique et le mammifère. Elle a aussi révélé de nombreuses interactions hôte-parasite inattendues, notamment l'invasion des capillaires sanguins et lymphatiques dans la peau du mammifère, l'infection du ganglion lymphatique proximal, le glissement intra-vasculaire, et des interactions leucocyte-parasite complexes dans les capillaires sinusoïdes du foie. Nous tentons actuellement de caractériser les interactions entre les sporozoïtes et les ganglions drainants, et leurs conséquences sur l'infection parasitaire, ainsi que le rôle de la traversée des cellules hôtes sur le pouvoir infectieux des sporozoïtes.

4. Bases moléculaires de la capacité d'invasion cellulaire des sporozoïtes (A. Combe, D. Giovannini, S. Thiberge, R. Ménard)

La destination finale du sporozoïte est l'hépatocyte, que la parasite pénètre dans une vacuole parasitophore et à l'intérieur duquel il se développe dans les stades qui infectent les érythrocytes. L'invasion de la cellule hôte par le sporozoïte est un processus rapide et actif, puisque la force qui permet la pénétration du parasite semble reposer exclusivement sur son propre cytosquelette et non pas sur celui de la cellule hôte. Les ligands parasitaires et les récepteurs cellulaires impliqués dans le processus, restent mal connus; en particulier, les ligands parasitaires, qui sont communs à d'autres stades invasifs du parasite, ne peuvent être étudiés par inactivation constitutive des gènes qui les codent, car ces mutations sont létales. Pour étudier la fonction des protéines de surface du parasite possiblement impliqués dans l'invasion cellulaire, nous avons développé une technique de mutagnèse conditionnelle qui nous permet désormais de mutagéniser spécifiquement au stade sporozoite tout gène d'intérêt. Nous étudions plus particulièrement la fonction de protéines MSP-1, AMA-1, TLP, et RON-4, et nous tentons d'identifier les récepteurs cellulaires qui lient ces protéines parasitaires lors du processus d'invasion.

5. Mutagénèse des gènes de Plasmodium berghei exprimés dans les stades pré-erythrocytaires (P Baldacci, B Boisson, S Thiberge, S Akerman, C Lacroix, H Sakamoto, R Ménard)

Chez le mammifère, le foie est le premier organe qui est ciblé par Plasmodium. Bien qu'il n'y ait pas de pathologie associée à la progression du parasite dans le foie, les formes intra-hépatocytaires du parasite peuvent néanmoins induire une immunité solide et durable contre une infection ultérieure, notamment lorsque leur développement intra-hépatique est bloqué. L'arsenal moléculaire des formes intra-hépatocytaires du parasite est peu connu, en partie en raison de la difficulté d'obtenir ces stades parasitaires. Notre objectif majeur est d'identifier et de caractériser les interactions parasite-hépatocyte qui sont importantes pour le développement du parasite. Dans ce but, nous tentons d'identifier les gènes du parasite qui sont spécifiquement exprimés aux stades intra-hépatocytaires du parasite, pour créer les parasites P. berghei mutants correspondants. L'analyse des profils transcriptomes et protéomiques publiés, ainsi qu'une analyse in silico et par RT-PCR menée dans le laboratoire, ont permis d'identifier environ 50 gènes dont l'expression semble restreinte aux stades intra-hépatocytaires. Ces gènes font actuellement l'objet d'une mutagenèse systématique, en utilisant une technique de mutagenèse par ‘transposition navette' récemment mise au point au laboratoire. Les mutants déficients seront ensuite caractérisés, à la fois quant à leur aptitude à infecter leur cellule cible qu'à leur capacité à induire une réponse immunitaire protectrice.

Légendes des photos :

Des sporozoïtes de Plasmodium berghei glissant dans le derme de souris. Le parasite est représenté en jaune à t = O. Pour les 10 minutes suivantes, le mouvement du parasite est représenté par une projection maximale en rouge. Le vaisseau sanguin est représenté en bleu.

Mots-clés: Plasmodium, paludisme, Anopheles, vaccin bloquant la transmission, invasion, différenciation



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2005 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Dupiat Armelle (adupiat1@pasteur.fr) Bourgouin Catherine, Institut Pasteur, (cabourg@pasteur.fr)

Patricia Baldacci, Institut Pasteur, (baldacci@pasteur.fr)

Bertand Boisson, Institut Pasteur, (boisson@pasteur.fr)

Akerman Susan, Fondation Recherche Médicale, (akerman@pasteur.fr)

Donatella Giovannini Biomalpar, (giovad@pasteur.fr)

Combe Audrey, Ecole B2M, (combe@pasteur.fr)

Sara Brega, Institut Pasteur
Thiberge Sabine, Institut Pasteur, technicienne de laboratoire 1er degré (thiberge@pasteur.fr)

Lacroix Céline, Institut Pasteur, technicienne de laboratoire 1er degré (clacroix@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr