Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Apoptosis and Immune System - CNRS URA 1961


  Director : SUSIN, Santos A. (susin@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Programmed cell death (PCD) or apoptosis is part of the normal physiology of an organism. PCD deregulation may give rise to several pathologies (cancer, neurodegenerative and autoimmune diseases). In several models, this highly controlled process is linked to the activation of a family of cysteine proteases called caspases. However, there is a considerable amount of data pointing out the existence of alternative caspase-independent cell death pathways. The Apoptosis and Immune System team is devoted to research on these new cell death mechanisms in the immune system. The main objectives of our scientific project are to: 1) Unravel the biochemical mechanisms that regulate cell death mediated by CD47 in B-chronic lymphocytic leukaemia (B-CLL); 2) Identify the molecular mechanisms of AIF mitochondrial protein (one of the essential agents of caspase-independent apoptosis).



  report

cale

I. Mechanisms regulating cell death mediated by CD47 in B-chronic lymphocytic leukemia (Marlène Bras, Nadine Robert & Clémence Virely).

The involvement of antigen CD47 (IAP) via its physiological ligand, thrombospondin, or via an anti-CD47 agonist antibody, induces a form of caspase-independent cell death. Using a multi-parametrical cell analysis we have shown that, in B-chronic lymphocytic leukaemia (B-CLL) cells, the programmed cell death (PCD) mechanism induced by the stimulation of CD47 receptor has several biochemical characteristics which are typical of apoptosis: reduction in mitochondrial transmembrane potential (DYm), production of reactive oxygen species (ROS), aberrant outlet exposure of phosphatidylserine in the plasma membrane, and lysosomal permeabilization. An ultrastructure cell analysis by means of an electronic microscope has also revealed that these cytosolic alterations are accompanied by swelling of the endoplasmic reticulum and Golgi apparatus, as well as by a change in mitochondrial inner membrane morphology. These data have allowed us to identify the cytosolic programmed cell death mediated by CD47 as type III PCD or necrosis-like PCD. Importantly, the functionality of this death pathway is preserved even in B-CLL cells which are often resistant to other types of apoptosis.

PCD mediated by CD47 seems to be independent from the main Bcl-2 family members. Indeed, after inducing cell death via anti-CD47 antibody, we observe neither the active forms of Bax, Bak proteins, nor the mitochondrial relocation of Bim, a "BH3-only" protein. Furthermore, while overexpression of anti-apoptotic members of this family (Bcl-XL, Bcl-2, and Mcl-1) efficiently protects leukemic cells from death induced by agents affecting mitochondria, such as etoposide (a topoisomerase II inhibitor), no protective effect has been evidenced in death mediated by CD47. Similarly, downregulation of the main anti-apoptotic members of the Bcl-2 family (Bax, Bak and Bim) through siRNA technique does not modulate death induced by CD47 mAb. Downstream of mitochondria, we do not observe release of the pro-apoptotic mitochondrial proteins AIF, cytochrome c, EndoG, Omi/HtrA2 or Smac/Diablo. In contrast, treatment of B-lymphocytes with hydrocortisone induces a cell death that is characterized by DYm loss, release of cytochrome c and AIF, and caspase-3 activation. These events, which depend on this protease activity, are no longer observed when z-DEVD.fmk, a caspase-3 specific inhibitor, is used. In contrast, death induced by CD47 ligation is inhibited neither by the pan caspase inhibitor z-VAD.fmk nor by specific caspase 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 inhibitors.

On the other hand, ultrastructural alterations observed in B-CLL cells treated with CD47 mAb suggest a total cytoskeleton disorganization. A more detailed immunofluorescence study of its different components (actin microfilaments, microtubules, and intermediate filaments) has enabled us to detect a specific disorganization of the actin microfilament network.

We currently analyse the effectors that could play a role in the mitochondrial alterations and cytoskeleton disorganization that was observed when CD47 was involved. Simultaneously, we seek to identify the elements involved in the death signal transduction characterizing necrosis-like PCD.

II. Expansion of the knowledge of cell regulation in AIF mitochondrial protein (Jeanne Lesbordes-Brion, Sophie Laine, Rana Moubarak & Victor J. Yuste-Mateos)

AIF is a mitochondrial protein that has both oxidoreductase and apoptotic functions. Although AIF functions have already been described, several questions about the mode of action of AIF still remain unanswered. The aim of our study is to define the molecular mechanisms that determine AIF functions, and to expand our knowledge of the cell regulation mechanism in caspase-independent "apoptosis-like" death, as well as of the role AIF plays in this regulation.

- Characterization of AIF isoforms: there are two AIF isoforms issued from the alternate splicing of exon 2 (variant 1) and exon 2b (variant 2). Using RT-PCR analysis, we identified two new forms of AIF resulting from the alternate splicing of a new identified exon. In order to better understand the role of these new variants in the apoptotic process, we characterized their tissue distribution in human as well as their cell location. One of these variants is the consequence of an alternative transcriptional start site which results in the loss of the N-terminal part of the AIF protein. This new form of AIF, which lacks the oxidoreductase region of the protein, triggers caspase-independent death and induces DNA fragmentation into 50kb fragments. We presently seek to expand our analysis of the function of these new variants inside the cell, as well as their role in caspase-independent cell death.

- Identification of factors that interact with AIF before and after the apoptotic stimulus: Based on an AIF-FLAG construction and with the help of immunoprecipitation assays, we obtained the sequences of several proteins that could be potential AIF partners in close collaboration with the Proteomic Platform at Pasteur Institute. Studies of the links between these proteins and AIF are being performed in order to demonstrate their functional interaction.

Furthermore, throughout 2004 our group was able to determine the minimal AIF domain that is responsible for inducing apoptosis. In this context, we have used a yeast double-hybrid approach in order to identify the molecules that are involved in the caspase-independent, AIF-dependent, cell death pathway. The resulting data will be completed by functional tests that will enable us to select the AIF partners.

- Description of cell death involving AIF: First, we determined the role of effector caspases along with Bid and other "BH-3-only"proteins in AIF release from mitochondria. In this way, we showed that a large spectrum of pro-apoptotic drugs induced AIF release from mitochondria of caspase -3 and -9 deficient mouse embryonic fibroblasts (MEFs). Therefore, AIF release from mitochondria to cytosol is indeed a caspase-independent process. On the other hand, we are studying the implication of Bid in AIF release within the context of a Pasteur-Wiezmann project prepared with Dr. Atan Gross's team at Weizmann Institute. We currently study the role of Bax and Bak in the AIF-related cell death pathway through Bax and/or Bak deficient MEF cells. Furthermore, stable cell lines expressing AIF under an inducible promoter have been generated in order to elucidate the biochemical consequences of AIF overexpression. In this way, we will establish the effect of AIF overexpression upon cell functions (oxidative/non-oxidative glucolysis, respiratory chain function, cell cycle and proliferation), as well as cell sensitivity to undergo apoptosis.

- AIF elimination by RNAi technique, effects on apoptosis: RNAi technique (RNA interference) makes it possible to reduce protein expression by introducing a small double-chained ARN specific to the ARN messenger to destroy. We outlined 19-nucleotide siRNAs (short interference RNA) that correspond to region 5'of AIF's ARN messenger. After the transfection of these oligonucleotides into HeLa cells, we were able to observe, by Western blot and by immunofluorescence, an 80% reduction in AIF expression. Having confirmed these results by RT-PCR, we are now working on the apoptosis signalling pathways that could be affected by a lower level of AIF expression.

- AIF anti-tumoral activity: In an effort to further analyze AIF's implication in different types of cancer, we are also studying AIF expression in different tumoral cell lines treated with apoptotic inducers such as oxidative stress inducers, chemotherapeutic agents, or irradiation. We currently seek to demonstrate the cause and effect relationship between AIF deficit and oncogenesis.

The results obtained will provide the necessary data to know AIF partners, thereby paving the way for evaluating the role of AIF in tumour development and determining whether it can be a diagnosis and prognosis marker for cancer.

Keywords: Apoptosis, Apoptosis Inducing Factor (AIF), Cancer, B-CLL, Caspase-independent cell death



  publications

puce Publications 2005 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  AYTAC, Marie-Dominique, (mdaytac@pasteur.fr) SUSIN, Santos A., CR1 CNRS (susin@pasteur.fr) LESBORDES-BRION, Jeanne, Stagiaire post-doctorale (jbrion@pasteur.fr)

YUSTE-MATEOS, Victor J., Stagiaire post-doctoral (vyuste@pasteur.fr)

BRAS, Marlène, Doctorante (mbras@pasteur.fr)

MOUBARAK, Rana, Doctorante (moubarak@pasteur.fr)

VIRELY, Clémence, Stagiaire Master 2 (cvirely@pasteur.fr)

ROBERT, Nadine TS Pasteur (nadou@pasteur.fr)

LAINE, Sophie TS-CDD (laine@pasteur.fr)


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Apoptose et système immunitaire - CNRS URA 1961


  Responsable : SUSIN, Santos A. (susin@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

La mort cellulaire programmée (MCP) ou apoptose fait partie intégrante de la physiologie normale d'un organisme. Une dérégulation de la MCP peut-être à l'origine de nombreuses pathologies (cancers, maladies neurodégénératives et auto-immunes). Dans de nombreux modèles, ce processus hautement contrôlé est lié à l'activation d'une famille de protéases à cystéine, les caspases. Néanmoins, de nombreuses données se sont accumulées en faveur de l'existence de voies de mort alternatives indépendantes des caspases. L'équipe Apoptose et Système Immunitaire se consacre à l'étude de ces nouveaux mécanismes de mort cellulaire dans le contexte du système immunitaire. Notre projet de recherche vise deux objectifs majeurs: 1) Définir les mécanismes biochimiques qui régulent la mort cellulaire médiée par CD47 dans la leucémie lymphoïde chronique B (LLC-B); 2) Identifier les mécanismes moléculaires de l'un des agents essentiels de l'apoptose caspase-indépendante, la protéine mitochondriale AIF



  rapport

cale

I. Identification des mécanismes qui régulent la mort cellulaire médiée par CD47 dans la leucémie lymphoïde chronique B (Marlène Bras, Nadine Robert & Clémence Virely).

L'engagement de l'antigène CD47 (IAP) par son ligand physiologique, la thrombospondine, ou par un anticorps agoniste anti-CD47 mimant les effets du ligand, induit une forme de mort cellulaire indépendante des caspases. À travers une analyse cellulaire multi-paramétrique, nous avons montré que la mort des cellules B de LLC-B induite par la stimulation du récepteur CD47 présente de nombreuses caractéristiques biochimiques typiques de l'apoptose: chute du potentiel membranaire mitochondrial (DYm), production d'espèces réactives de l'oxygène (ROS), exposition des résidus de phosphatidylsérine dans le feuillet externe de la membrane plasmique et perméabilisation des lysosomes. Une analyse de l'ultrastructure cellulaire par microscopie électronique a également montré que ces altérations cytosoliques sont accompagnées d'un gonflement du réticulum endoplasmique et de l'appareil de Golgi ainsi que d'un changement de la morphologie des crêtes mitochondriales. L'ensemble de ces données nous permet donc d'identifier la mort cytosolique médiée par CD47 comme une mort cellulaire de type "necrosis-like". La fonctionnalité de cette voie de mort est conservée dans les cellules de LLC-B alors que celles-ci se montrent fréquemment résistantes à d'autres types d'apoptose.

La MCP médiée par CD47 semble indépendante des principaux membres de la famille de Bcl-2. En effet, après induction de la mort par l'engagement de l'anticorps anti-CD47, nous n'observons pas les formes conformationnellement actives des protéines Bax, Bak, ni la re-localisation mitochondriale de la protéine "BH3-only" Bim. De plus, alors que la surexpression des membres anti-apoptotiques de cette famille (Bcl-XL, Bcl-2 et Mcl-1) protège efficacement les cellules leucémiques de la mort induite par des agents affectant la mitochondrie tel que l'étoposide (inhibiteur de la topoisomérase II) aucun effet protecteur n'a été mis en évidence dans la mort médiée par CD47. De même, l'extinction protéique des principaux membres anti-apoptotiques de la famille Bcl-2 (Bax, Bak et Bim) par la technique de siRNA ne module pas la mort induite par l'engagement de CD47. En aval de la mitochondrie, nous n'observons pas de relargage des protéines pro-apoptotiques mitochondriales AIF, cytochrome c, EndoG, Omi/HtrA2 ou Smac/Diablo. Par comparaison, le traitement des lymphocytes B de patients atteints de LLC-B par l'hydrocortisone, un glucocorticoïde auquel ces cellules sont restées sensibles, induit une mort cellulaire caractérisée par une altération du DYm, un relarguage des protéines pro-apoptotiques mitochondriales cytochrome c et AIF ainsi qu'une activation de la caspase 3. Ces évènements, dépendants de l'activité de cette protéase, ne sont plus observés dès lors que l'on utilise un inhibiteur spécifique de la caspase 3, le z-DEVD.fmk. En revanche, la mort induite par CD47 n'est inhibée ni par des inhibiteurs généraux des caspases ni par des inhibiteurs spécifiques des caspases 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9 et 10.

D'autre part, les altérations ultrastruturales observées dans les cellules avec l'anticorps anti-CD47 suggèrent une complète désorganisation du cytosquelette. Une étude, réalisée par immunofluorescence, de ses différents constituants (microfilaments d'actine, microtubules et filaments intermédiaires) nous a permis de mettre en évidence une désorganisation spécifique du réseau de microfilaments d'actine.

Nous étudions actuellement les effecteurs qui pourraient être impliqués dans la survenue des altérations mitochondriales et la désorganisation du cytosquelette observées lors de l'engagement de CD47. En parallèle, nous cherchons à identifier les protéines impliquées dans la transduction du signal de mort initié lors de la stimulation de CD47.

II. Approfondissement des connaissances de la régulation cellulaire de la la protéine mitochondriale AIF (Jeanne Lesbordes-Brion, Sophie Laine, Rana Moubarak & Victor J. Yuste-Mateos)

AIF est une protéine mitochondriale possédant à la fois une fonction oxydo-réductase et une fonction apoptotique. Bien que ces fonctions aient été déjà caractérisées, de nombreuses questions relatives au mode d'action de la protéine restent encore sans réponse. L'objectif de notre projet est ainsi de définir les mécanismes moléculaires qui déterminent les fonctions de AIF et d'approfondir les connaissances du mécanisme de régulation cellulaire de la mort caspase-indépendante "apoptosis-like" et du rôle de AIF dans cette régulation.

-Caractérisation des isoformes de AIF: Il existe deux isoformes de AIF issues respectivement de l'épissage alternatif de l'exon 2 (variant 1) et de l'exon 2b (variant 2). Par une approche de RT-PCR nous avons identifié deux nouvelles formes de AIF dû à l'epissage alternatif d'un nouvel exon découvert dans un intron. Afin de mieux comprendre le rôle de ces nouveaux variants dans le processus d'apoptose, nous avons caractérisé d'une part leur distribution tissulaire chez l'homme ainsi que leur localisation cellulaire et d'autre part leurs fonctions dans la mort cellulaire programmée. L'un de ces variants résulte de l'apparition d'un nouveau site de départ de la traduction entraînant la perte de la partie N-terminale de la protéine. Cette nouvelle forme de AIF qui ne possède pas la région oxydoréductase de la protéine entraîne une mort indépendante des caspases et induit une fragmentation de l'ADN en fragments de 50Kb. Nous cherchons à approfondir actuellement la fonction de ces nouveaux variants au sein de la cellule ainsi que leur rôle dans la mort cellulaire indépendante des caspases.

-Identification des facteurs qui interagissent avec AIF avant et après un stimulus apoptotique: À partir d'une construction AIF-FLAG et à l'aide d'expériences d'immunoprécipitation, nous avons obtenu, en collaboration avec la plate-forme de protéomique de l'Institut Pasteur, les séquences de plusieurs protéines potentiellement partenaires de AIF. Des études de liaisons entre ces protéines et AIF sont actuellement effectuées afin de démontrer leurs interactions potentielles.

De plus, au cours de cette année, notre groupe a pu déterminer le domaine minimal de AIF responsable de l'induction de l'apoptose. Dans ce contexte, nous avons entrepris une approche de double-hybride chez la levure afin d'identifier des molécules intervenant dans la voie de mort cellulaire indépendante des caspases.

Les données ainsi obtenues seront complétées par des expériences fonctionnelles qui nous permettrons de sélectionner des cofacteurs d'AIF.

-Description de la voie de mort impliquant AIF: En premier lieu, nous avons déterminé l'implication des caspases effectrices ainsi que Bid et d'autres protéines à domaine "BH-3-only" dans le relargage de AIF de la mitochondrie. Ainsi, nous avons démontré qu'un large spectre de drogues pro-apoptotiques induisait le relargage de AIF de la mitochondrie de fibroblastes embryonnaires murins (MEFs) déficients en caspase-3 et -9. La sortie de AIF de la mitochondrie au cytosol est donc effectivement un processus caspase-indépendant. Par ailleurs, nous étudions l'implication de Bid dans le relargage de AIF dans le cadre d'un projet Pasteur-Weizmann établi avec l'équipe du Dr Atan Gross au Weizmann Institute. Nous étudions actuellement le rôle de Bax et Bak dans la voie de mort impliquant AIF au moyen de cellules MEF déficientes en Bax et/ou Bak. De plus, afin d'élucider les conséquences biochimiques de la surexpression d'AIF, des lignées cellulaires stables exprimant AIF sous le contrôle d'un promoteur inductible ont été générées. Ainsi, nous établirons l'effet de la surexpression d'AIF sur les fonctions cellulaires (glucolyse oxydative/non-oxydative, fonction de la chaine respiratoire, cycle cellulaire et prolifération), ainsi que sur la susceptibilité des cellules à entrer en apoptose.

-Élimination de AIF par la technique de RNAi, effets sur l'apoptose: La technique de RNAi (RNA interférence) permet de diminuer l'expression d'une protéine au moyen de l'introduction dans la cellule d'un petit ARN de double chaîne, spécifique de l'ARN messager à détruire. Nous avons dessiné des siRNA (short interference RNA) de 19 nucléotides qui correspondent à la région 5' de l'ARN messager de AIF. Après la transfection de ces oligonucléotides dans des cellules HeLa, nous avons pu observer par Western blot et par immunofluorescence une diminution de 80% de l'expression de AIF. Après la confirmation de ces résultats par RT-PCR, nous travaillons actuellement sur les voies de signalisation de l'apoptose qui pourraient être affectées par la diminution du niveau d'expression de AIF.

-Activité anti-tumorale de AIF: Dans le but d'approfondir l'implication de AIF dans les cancers, nous étudions également l'expression de la protéine dans différentes lignées cellulaires tumorales traitées avec des inducteurs de stress oxydatif, des agents chimiothérapeutiques ou par irradiation. Nous cherchons actuellement à démontrer le lien de cause à effet entre déficit d'AIF et oncogénèse.

Les résultats obtenus fourniront les données nécessaires pour connaître les partenaires de AIF et permettront aussi d'évaluer l'implication de AIF dans le développement des tumeurs et de déterminer s'il peut être un marqueur diagnostique et pronostique des cancers.

Mots-clés:



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2005 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  AYTAC, Marie-Dominique, (mdaytac@pasteur.fr) SUSIN, Santos A., CR1 CNRS (susin@pasteur.fr) LESBORDES-BRION, Jeanne, Stagiaire post-doctorale (jbrion@pasteur.fr)

YUSTE-MATEOS, Victor J., Stagiaire post-doctoral (vyuste@pasteur.fr)

BRAS, Marlène, Doctorante (mbras@pasteur.fr)

MOUBARAK, Rana, Doctorante (moubarak@pasteur.fr)

VIRELY, Clémence, Stagiaire Master 2 (cvirely@pasteur.fr)

ROBERT, Nadine TS Pasteur (nadou@pasteur.fr)

LAINE, Sophie TS-CDD (laine@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr