Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Molecular and Cellular Allergology


  Director : Daëron, Marc (daeron@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our works aims 1) at investigating the molecular mechanisms which regulate, positively and negatively, cell activation in allergies; 2) at assessing the respective roles of the various human FcRs and FcR-expressing cells in murine models of allergies and inflammatory diseases, in mice whose FcRs will have been replaced by the corresponding human FcRs; and 3) at searching whether negative regulation is or not deficient in allergic patients.



  report

cale

The activation of hematopoietic cells is under the control of membrane receptors that trigger positive and negative signals. These signals are integrated through the sequential interactions of intracellular molecules recruited within signaling complexes that build up underneath co-engaged receptors. As a consequence, immune responses are tightly controlled. We demonstrated previously that FcγRIIB, a family of receptors for the Fc portion (FcRs) of IgG antibodies, can inhibit activation signals triggered by immunoreceptors such as high-affinity IgE Receptors (FcεRI) expressed by mast cells and basophils. Inhibition depends on an Immunoreceptor Tyrosine-based Inhibition Motif (ITIM) that we first identified in the intracytoplasmic domain of murine and human FcγRIIB and that was subsequently found in a large number of other inhibitory receptors. When FcγRIIB are co-aggregated with activating receptors on the same cell by a common extracellular ligand such as immune complexes, their ITIM is phosphorylated and recruits the phosphatidylinositol 5-phosphatase SHIP1 which accounts for inhibition. These results were confirmed in vivo using FcγRIIB-/- and SHIP1-/- mice.

The research project of the unit lies on the hypothesis that allergic diseases can arise as a consequence of defects of negative regulation that prevents the outcome of allergic manifestations in normal individuals and/or of their integration. It aims at evaluating the possible contribution of negative regulation defects in allergic diseases, and at characterizing putative defects in order to correct them and/or to utilize negative regulation as a new therapeutic tool in allergies. Our work focuses on FcγRIIB-dependent negative regulation of activating FcR-dependent activation of the effector cells of allergy. This project comprises three simultaneous approaches: an in vitro analysis of the molecular interactions which negatively regulate cell activation, an in vivo analysis of interactions between human Fc Receptors in models of allergies in mice whose FcRs will have been "humanized", and an ex vivo exploration of negative regulation of cell activation in allergic patients. The main results obtained in 2005 are as follows.

Human FcγRIIB also recruit SHIP1, but not through the same mechanism as murine FcγRIIB

We showed previously that, when recruited to the ITIM of murine FcγRIIB, SHIP1 needs to be stabilized through an interaction with the cytosolic adapter Grb2, which is itself recruited to a second tyrosine-based motif (Isnardi et al. J. Biol. Chem. 2004). Human FcγRIIB lack this motif. We showed that they nevertheless recruit SHIP1, whose recruitment is stabilized by another mechanism that depends on C-terminal sequences of the human receptor (Isnardi et al., Immunol. Letters, in press).

The actin cytoskeleton, an inhibitory compartment for activation signals in mast cells

We demonstrated that, in mast cells, the recruitment of SHIP1 by FcγRIIB occurs in the actin cytoskeleton which functions as an inhibitory compartment. When FcεRI are aggregated or coaggregated with FcγRIIB, FcR aggregates associate with the cytoskeleton where the high molecular-weight isoform of SHIP1 is constitutively bound to the actin-binding protein filamin. Filamin then releases SHIP1 which remains bound to the phosphorylated ITIM of FcγRIIB. FcγRIIB thus concentrate the inhibitory phosphatase close to its substrate, in signaling complexes generated by FcεRI with which they are coaggregated (Lesourne et al. J. Immunol. 2005).

Integration of positive and negative signals by the transmembrane adapters LAT and NTAL

The transmembrane adapters LAT and NTAL are coexpressed in mast cells. Their intracytoplasmic domain contains numerous tyrosines which, when phosphorylated, concur to the organization of signaling complexes underneath aggregated FcεRI. A collaborative work with Marie and Bernard Malissen demonstrated that the dominant positive effects of LAT result from an integration of positive and negative signals which depend on distinct tyrosines (Malbec et al. J. Immunol. 2004). We also observed that NTAL has a dominant negative effect on FcεRI signaling in mast cells. Using mice deficient for one, the other or both adapters, we are analyzing the interactions between LAT and NTAL, aiming at elucidating how they these adapters generate positive and negative signals and how these signals can modulate allergic reactions.

A new model of cultured murine primary mast cells

Bone Marrow-derived Mast Cells (BMMCs) are the only available model of cultured murine primary mast cells. Their main disadvantage is that they have no physiological in vivo equivalent. We established the conditions which enable an in vitro expansion of differentiated mast cells. Under these conditions a homogeneous population of mature serosal-type mast cells can be obtained within a few weeks. These cells closely resemble peritoneal mast cells. Biological responses induced by and transduction pathways used by FcRs are not the same in these cells as in BMMCs.

A new murine receptor for IgG

We identified a new FcR, FcγRIV, encoded by a gene which maps between the genes encoding FcγRIIB and FcγRIII on mouse chromosome 1. This receptor has two glycosylated extracellular domains, a transmembrane domain and an intracytoplasmic domain which contains no activation or inhibition motif. It exists in mice only, but it is highly homologous to human FcγRIIIA. In order to be expressed at the membrane, it requires to associate with the activation motif-containing common subunit FcRγ and, when aggregated by immune complexes, it triggers activation signals. It is expressed by monocytes/macrophages and neutrophils. Using immunofluorescence on transfected cells and, in collaboration with P. England, by surface plasmon resonance on a Biacore, we showed that FcγRIV binds, with an intermediate affinity, mouse IgG2 a and IgG2b, but not IgG1 or IgG3. We demonstrated an in vivo role of FcγRIV in a model of autoimmune thrombocytopenia. When injected in normal mice, anti-platelet antibodies induce a loss of 85% blood platelets. We observed that an injection of anti-FcγRIV blocking antibodies prior to anti-platelet antibodies decreases thrombocytopenia by 60%, whereas the deletion of either one of the two other activating FcγRs (FcγRI or FcγRIII) has no effect (Bruhns et al. Immunity 2005).

In vivo roles of human FcRs in murine models of allergies in "humanized" mice

We learnt much of FcR physiology from FcR-KO mice. Due to significant differences between murine and human FcRs, results obtained in mice cannot be simply applied to humans. We have therefore undertaken the project of constructing mice whose FcRs will have been replaced by human FcRs. To express human FcRs in mice, we will use Bacterial Artificial Chromosomes (BACs) containing fragments of human chromosomes in which genes encoding human FcRs, such as, for instance, FcγRIIA, are located. When the FcγRIIA gene is isolated from other DNA sequences of the BAC, it is injected into C57BL/6 mice pronuclei. This will be done in collaboration with the Transgenese platform of the Institute directed by F. Langa-Vives. The FcγRIIATg mice thus obtained will be crossed with FcγRI/II/III-triple deficient mice (generated by S. Verbeek in the Netherlands), in order to study the role of FcγRIIA, in the absence of any endogenous FcγRs. The same strategy will be applied to other human FcγRs and FcεRs, in order to obtain mice in which all the FcRs for IgG and IgE will have been "humanized". These mice will then be injected with human IgE and IgE antibodies, and we will examine the respective roles of these receptors and of cells on which they are expressed in experimental models of inflammatory and allergic diseases.

Expression and function of FcRs on human basophils

FcRs expressed by effector cells of allergy are not well known. We have therefore started to identify these receptors, and especially, to determine the relative expression of activating and inhibitory FcRs on blood basophils from normal donors and, in collaboration with M.-T. Guinnepain and J. Laurent, at the Medical Center of the Institute, from patients suffering from various allergic diseases.

Keywords: Allergies, Immunoregulation, Antibodies, Fc Receptors, Transmembrane adapters, Intracellular signaling



  publications

puce Publications 2005 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Papelard, Solange, (papelard@pasteur.fr) Daëron, Marc, DR1 INSERM, (daeron@pasteur.fr)

Bruhns, Pierre, CR2 INSERM, (bruhns@pasteur.fr)
Schiffer, Cécile, Post-doc (cecile.schiffer@pasteur.fr)

Meknache, Nihad, Post-doc , (meknache@pasteur.fr)

Roget, Karine, PhD student, Univ. Paris 6, (kroget@pasteur.fr)

Mancardi, David, PhD student, Univ. Paris 6, (mancardi@pasteur.fr)

Schreiber, Joseph, Etudiant, Univ. Wisconsin, ( jjschreiber@students.wisc.edu)
Malbec, Odile, Engineer (IE2 INSERM), (omalbec@pasteur.fr)

Iannascoli, Bruno, Qualified Technician Pasteur, (biannasc@pasteur.fr)


Activity Reports 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Allergologie moléculaire et cellulaire


  Responsable : Daëron, Marc (daeron@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Le travail de l'Unité d'Allergologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire a pour objectifs 1) d'analyser les mécanismes moléculaires qui régulent, positivement et négativement, l'activation des cellules effectrices de l'allergie, 2) de déterminer les rôles des différents RFc humains et des cellules qui les expriment dans des modèles murins de maladies allergiques et inflammatoires chez des souris dont les RFc auront été remplacés par les RFc humains correspondants et 3) de rechercher des anomalies de régulation chez des patients allergiques.



  rapport

cale

L'activation des cellules hématopoïétiques est contrôlée par des récepteurs membranaires qui délivrent des signaux positifs et des signaux négatifs. Ces signaux sont intégrés dans des complexes de signalisation qui s'organisent autour d'adaptateurs transmembranaires. En conséquence, les réponses immunitaires normales sont étroitement contrôlées. Nous avions démontré que les RFcγIIB, des récepteurs pour la portion Fc (RFc) des IgG, peuvent inhiber l'activation cellulaire induite par les immunorécepteurs comme les récepteurs pour les IgE (RFcεI) exprimés par les mastocytes et les basophiles. Cette propriété dépend d'un Immunoreceptor Tyrosine-based Inhibition Motif (ITIM) que nous avons identifié dans le domaine intracytoplasmique des RFcγIIB murins et humains et qui a été, par la suite, retrouvé dans un grand nombre d'autres récepteurs inhibiteurs. Lorsque les RFcγIIB sont co-agrégés avec des récepteurs activateurs sur la même cellule par des complexes immuns, leur ITIM est phosphorylé et recrute la phosphatidylinositol 5-phosphatase SHIP1 qui est responsable des effets inhibiteurs. Ces résultats ont été validés in vivo chez des souris RFcγIIB-/- et chez des souris SHIP1-/-.

Le projet de recherche de l'unité repose sur l'hypothèse que les allergies puissent résulter de défaut(s) des régulations négatives qui préviennent la survenue des manifestations allergiques chez les individus normaux et/ou de leur intégration. Il a pour objectif d'évaluer la contribution de tels défauts dans les allergies et de les caractériser afin de développer des moyens de les corriger ou d'utiliser la régulation négative comme une nouvelle approche thérapeutique. Notre travail porte particulièrement sur la régulation, par les RFcγIIB, de l'activation des cellules effectrices de l'allergie par les RFc activateurs. Ce projet comprend trois approches menées simultanément : une analyse in vitro des interactions moléculaires régulant l'activation cellulaire, une étude in vivo des interactions entre les RFc humains dans des modèles d'allergies chez des souris dont les RFc endogènes auront été " humanisés ", et une exploration ex vivo de la régulation négative de l'activation cellulaire chez des patients allergiques. Les principaux résultats obtenus en 2005 sont les suivants.

Les RFcγIIB humains recrutent également SHIP1, mais par un autre mécanisme

Dans un travail précédent, nous avions montré que le recrutement de SHIP1 sur l'ITIM des RFcγIIB murins nécessite sa stabilisation par l'adaptateur cytosolique Grb2, lui même recruté sur un second motif à tyrosine (Isnardi et al. J. Biol. Chem. 2004). Ce motif manque dans les RFcγIIB humains. Nous avons montré que ceux-ci recrutent néanmoins SHIP1, dont le recrutement sur l'ITIM est stabilisé par un autre mécanisme dépendant de séquences C-terminales du récepteur humain (Isnardi et al. Immunol. Letters, in press).

Le cytosquelette d'actine, un compartiment inhibiteur des signaux d'activation dans les mastocytes

Nous avons montré que, dans les mastocytes, le recrutement de SHIP1 par les RFcγIIB murins a lieu dans le cytosquelette d'actine qui fonctionne comme un compartiment inhibiteur. Lorsque les RFcεI sont agrégés ou lorsqu'ils sont coagrégés avec les RFcγIIB, les agrégats de RFc s'associent au cytosquelette où l'isoforme de haut poids moléculaire de SHIP1 est constitutivement associée à la filamine. Celle-ci libère SHIP1 qui reste lié à l'ITIM phosphorylé des RFcγIIB. Ainsi, les RFcγIIB concentrent la phosphatase inhibitrice à proximité de son substrat, dans le complexe de signalisation engendré par les RFcεI avec lesquels ils sont co-agrégés (Lesourne et al., J. Immunol. 2005).

Intégration des signaux positifs et négatifs par les adaptateurs transmembranaires LAT et NTAL

Les adaptateurs transmembranaires LAT et NTAL sont co-exprimés dans les mastocytes. Leur domaine intracytoplasmique contient de nombreuses tyrosines qui, lorsqu'elles sont phosphorylées, contribuent à organiser le complexe de signalisation qui se constitue sous les RFcεI agrégés. En collaboration avec Marie et Bernard Malissen, nous avions montré que les effets dominants positifs de LAT sont en fait la somme de signaux positifs et de signaux négatifs qui dépendent de tyrosines distinctes (Malbec et al., J. Immunol., 2004). Nous avons également observé qu'NTAL exerce un effet dominant négatif dans les mastocytes. A l'aide de souris déficientes pour l'une, l'autre ou les deux adaptateurs, nous analysons les interactions entre ces deux molécules afin de déterminer comment elles engendrent des signaux négatifs et des signaux positifs et comment ces signaux modulent les réactions allergiques.

Un nouveau modèle de mastocytes primaires chez la souris

Les Bone Marrow-derived Mast Cells (BMMC) sont le seul modèle disponible de mastocytes murins primaires en culture. Ces cellules immatures ont l'inconvénient de ne pas avoir d'équivalent physiologique in vivo. Nous avons établi les conditions permettant l'expansion in vitro de mastocytes différencies. Nous obtenons en quelques semaines une population homogène de mastocytes matures de type séreux, très semblables aux mastocytes péritonéaux. Les réponses biologiques et les voies de transduction mises en œuvre par les RFc dans ces cellules et dans les BMMC ne sont pas identiques.

Un nouveau récepteur pour les IgG chez la souris

Nous avons identifié un nouveau RFc, le RFcγIV, dont le gène est situé entre les gènes codant le RFcγIIB et le RFcγIII sur le chromosome 1 de la souris. Ce récepteur possède deux domaines extracellulaires glycosylés, un domaine transmembranaire et un domaine intracellulaire dépourvu de motif d'activation ou d'inhibition. Il n'existe que chez la souris, mais il est très semblable au RFcγIIIA humain. Pour être exprimé à la membrane le RFcγIV doit s'associer à la sous-unité commune FcRγ qui contient des motifs d'activation et, lorsqu'il est agrégé par des complexes immuns, il induit des signaux d'activation. Il est exprimé par les monocytes/macrophages et les neutrophiles. Par immunofluorescence sur des cellules transfectées d'une part, et par résonance plasmonique de surface sur Biacore (en collaboration avec P. England) d'autre part, nous avons montré que le RFcγIV fixe avec une affinité intermédiaire, les IgG2a et les IgG2b de souris, mais pas les IgG1 ou les IgG3. Nous avons démontré un rôle in vivo du RFcγIV dans un modèle de thrombopénie autoimmune. L'injection à des souris normale d'anticorps anti-plaquettes induit une chute de 85% des plaquettes. Nous avons observé que l'injection d'anticorps anti-RFcγIV bloquants avant l'injection des anticorps anti-plaquettes réduit la thrombopénie de 60%, alors que la délétion de l'un ou l'autre des deux autres RFcγ activateurs (RFcγI ou RFcγIII) n'a pas d'effet (Bruhns et al., Immunity, 2005).

Rôles in vivo des RFc humains dans des modèles murins d'allergie chez des souris " humanisées ".

Nos connaissances sur la physiologie des RFc ont progressé grâce à l'étude de souris KO pour ces récepteurs. Des différences notables empêchent de transposer chez l'homme les résultats obtenus chez la souris. Nous avons donc entrepris de construire des souris dont les RFc auront été remplacés par des RFc humains. Afin d'exprimer des RFc humains chez la souris, nous utilisons des Chromosomes Bactériens Artificiels (BAC) contenant des fragments de chromosomes humains où sont localisés des gènes codant les RFc humains, comme le RFcγIIA, par exemple. Une fois le gène du RFcγIIA isolé du reste du BAC, il est ensuite injecté dans un pronucleus de souris C57BL/6, en collaboration avec la Plateforme de Transgénèse de l'Institut dirigée par F. Langa-Vives. Les souris RFcγIIATg ainsi obtenues seront croisées avec des souris triplement déficientes pour les RFcγI/II/III murins (produites par S. Verbeek aux Pays-Bas) afin d'étudier le rôle du RFcγIIA en absence des autres RFcγ endogènes. Cette stratégie sera appliquée aux autres RFcγ et RFcε humains afin d'obtenir une souris dans lequel tous les RFc pour les IgG et pour les IgE auront été " humanisés ". En injectant des anticorps humains à ces souris, nous rechercherons les rôles respectifs de ces récepteurs et des cellules qui les expriment dans des modèles expérimentaux de maladies inflammatoires et allergiques.

RFc exprimés par les basophiles humains

Les RFc exprimés par cellules effectrices de l'allergie sont mal connus. Nous avons donc entrepris d'identifier ces récepteurs et, notamment, de déterminer l'expression relative des RFc activateurs et des RFc inhibiteurs sur des basophiles circulants, chez des donneurs normaux et, en collaboration avec M.-T. Guinnepain et J. Laurent, au Centre Médical de l'Institut, chez des patients atteints de diverses affections allergiques.

Mots-clés: Allergies, immunorégulation, anticorps, récepteurs de Fc, adaptateurs transmembranaires, signalisation intracellulaire



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2005 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Papelard, Solange, (papelard@pasteur.fr) Daëron, Marc, DR1 INSERM, (daeron@pasteur.fr)

Bruhns, Pierre, CR2 INSERM, (bruhns@pasteur.fr)
Schiffer, Cécile, Post-doc (cecile.schiffer@pasteur.fr)

Meknache, Nihad, Post-doc , (meknache@pasteur.fr)

Roget, Karine, PhD student, Univ. Paris 6, (kroget@pasteur.fr)

Mancardi, David, PhD student, Univ. Paris 6, (mancardi@pasteur.fr)

Schreiber, Joseph, Etudiant, Univ. Wisconsin, ( jjschreiber@students.wisc.edu)
Malbec, Odile, Engineer (IE2 INSERM), (omalbec@pasteur.fr)

Iannascoli, Bruno, Qualified Technician Pasteur, (biannasc@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2005 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr