Unit: Cytokine Signalling - CNRS URA 1961

Director: Pellegrini Sandra

Our projects aim at understanding the complex signaling networks induced by type I interferons (IFN-α/β). What distinguishes these cytokines from other helical cytokines is the existence of a multiplicity of IFN subtypes that bind to the same ubiquitous receptor and the extreme pleiotropy and cell specificity of the biological responses. By studying receptor dynamics in response to different subtypes and in distinct cellular backgrounds, we hope to unravel molecular mechanisms underlining the pleiotropic responses to the IFNs. The ongoing functional and biochemical characterization of novel Jak-interacting proteins will broaden our understanding of signaling pathways initiated by cytokines and may also reveal additional functions of Jak enzymes.

IFN-α/β in the control of human CD4+ T lymphocyte homeostasis (E. Dondi)

Upon infection, IFN-α/β is rapidly secreted and participates in building up the early innate response. IFN-α/β also modulate adaptive immune responses, notably T cell-mediated responses, indirectly via its effects on dendritic cells. We sought to characterize the direct impact that IFN-α/β have on human T lymphocytes and to this end we measured proliferative and apoptotic signals in naïves T CD4+ T cells purified from umbilical cord blood, before and after their in vitro activation. We found that IFN-α protects T cells from mitochondrial-dependent apoptosis early upon TCR/CD28 activation. IFN-α acts by delaying entry of cells into the G1 phase of the cell cycle as well as by modulating proteins of the Bcl2 family. We also found that, at later time post-activation, T cells exposed to IFN-α showed increased levels of surface Fas associated with partially processed caspase-8, a key component of the extrinsic apoptotic pathway. Overall, our findings support a model whereby IFN-α favors clonal expansion, yet it primes cells to antigen-induced cell death occurring at the end of an immune response. This study further demonstrates that IFN-α exerts different effects according to the activation state of the T lymphocyte.

Dynamics and traffic of the type I IFN receptor: a role of the Jaks (J. Ragimbeau, Z. Marijanovic)

The four members of the mammalian Janus or Jak family of tyrosine kinases are non-covalently associated with cell surface receptors of helical bundled cytokines. In the heterodimeric type I IFN receptor, Tyk2 associates with the IFNAR1 subunit and positively influences its plasma membrane expression. We are interested in the intracellular fate of the IFN receptor subunits following ligand binding and in the role that Jak proteins play in post-binding events. Binding of IFN-α stimulates internalization of IFNAR1, a process that requires its serine phosphorylation and the recruitment of a ubiquitin E3 ligase. We have studied the dynamics of IFNAR1 upon ligand stimulation, with the aim to determine whether Tyk2 regulates it at any step. Using various approaches, we have shown that IFN-induced internalization of IFNAR1 does not require active Tyk2. Conversely, Tyk2 kinase activity is required to efficiently direct ligand-engaged IFNAR1 towards the lysosomal compartment and we are presently looking into the precise role exerted by Tyk2 in this context. The traffic of the other subunit of the IFN receptor (IFNAR2) is also being analyzed. Particular attention will be given to analyses of the receptor dynamics in different cell types and in response to two IFN subtypes (α2 and β), as we think that these aspects may critically account for the pleiotropic responses to the IFNs.

Study of Jamip1 in T lymphocytes (V. Libri and G. Pizza)

We identified Jamip1 (Jak and microtubule interacting protein) for its ability to bind to the FERM homology domain of Tyk2. Jamip1 belongs to a novel family of three genes conserved in vertebrates and predominantly expressed in neural tissues and lymphoid organs. These proteins lack known domains and are rich in coiled coils. Jamip1 comprises a N-ter region that targets the protein to microtubule polymers and, when overexpressed in fibroblasts, profoundly perturbs the microtubule network. The C-ter domain interacts with Jak kinases and can be target of multiple phosphorylation. The restricted Jamip1expression in lymphocytes and neurons, and its association with the microtubule cytoskeleton suggest a specialized function in dynamic processes such as cell polarization, local segregation of molecules or complexes, and/or in trafficking of secretory organelles/endocytic vesicles along microtubule tracks towards the immune synapse in lymphocytes and from/towards the neuronal synapse. We are interested in elucidating the function of Jamip1 in T lymphocytes. Activation of helper and cytotoxic T lymphocytes by antigen-presenting cells involves polarization of the lymphocyte towards the contact area and the formation of the immunological synapse. Cytoskeletal rearrangements are necessary for the stability of this interaction, for the maturation of the immunological synapse and for sustained T cell signaling. The microtubule organizing center (MTOC) reorients towards the synapse after TCR engagement and this may play a crucial role in the accumulation of TCR at the central synapse, the segregation of signaling proteins and the relocation of the secretory machinery that leads to polarized delivery of lymphokines, cytolytic granules. We are presently exploring the involvement of Jamip1 in early and late events occurring upon TCR stimulation of CD4+ T lymphocytes, by using an RNAi approach and by localizing fluorescently labeled Jamip1.

Study of Pot1, a novel interactor of Tyk2 (Milica Gakovic)

From a yeast two-hybrid screen using as bait the FERM-homology domain of Tyk2, a novel ubiquitously expressed gene was identified and provisionally named Pot1 (Partner of Tyk2). No close homologues are found in the human genome, but Pot1 encodes several isoforms. Pot1 is a novel Jak-interactor, involved in IFN signaling and associated to raft-containing microdomains. An exhaustive two-hybrid screening of highly complex human libraries is being performed in order to identify potential Pot1 interactors of known function. Subcellular localization studies will help to identify the nature of the cytoplasmic vesicles where Pot1 accumulates.

Keywords: signaling, cytokine, interferon-alpha/beta, receptor, tyrosine kinase, trafic, cytoskeleton, lymphocyte, immunology


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Signalisation des Cytokines - CNRS URA 1961

Responsable: Pellegrini Sandra

Nos projets s'inscrivent dans l'effort de compréhension des circuits de signalisation mis en jeu par les interférons de type I (IFN-α/β). Une singularité de cette famille de cytokines est l'existence d'un grand nombre de sous-types d'IFN, tous reconnaissant un même récepteur ubiquitaire. Aussi, une très grande pléiotropie et spécificité cellulaire caractérisent les réponses biologiques induites par les IFN-α/β. A travers l'analyse de la dynamique intracellulaire du récepteur de l'IFN-α/β en réponse à différents sous-types et dans différents contextes cellulaires, nous souhaitons éclairer les mécanismes moléculaires à la base de cette diversité. Nous progressons dans la caractérisation fonctionnelle et biochimique de nouvelles protéines associées aux kinases Jak, afin d'accroître notre compréhension, encore fragmentaire, des voies de signalisation des cytokines et de mettre en évidence des fonctions accessoires des kinases Jak.

Rôle de l'IFN-α dans l'homéostasie des lymphocytes T CD4+ humains (E. Dondi)

Lors d'infections, l'IFN-α/β est rapidement secrété et participe à la réponse innée. L'IFN-α/β produit par les cellules dendritiques en stimule la maturation et la capacité de polariser les lymphocytes T naïfs, reliant ainsi les réponses innée et adaptative. Dans l'effort de caractériser les activités directes de l'IFN sur les lymphocytes T humains, nous avions comparé les réponses proliférative et transcriptionnelle à l'IFN-α/β des cellules T CD4+ naïves, issues de sang de cordons ombilicaux, avant et après leur stimulation in vitro. Nous avons ainsi montré que la stimulation TCR/CD28 des cellules naïves engendre une modulation très significative de ces réponses. Dans le même modèle expérimental, nous avons étudié l'impact de l'IFN-α sur la mort cellulaire induite par l'engagement TCR/CD28. Nous avons mesuré le taux de mort cellulaire et détaillé les modifications morphologiques et moléculaires qui l'accompagnent. L'ensemble des paramètres analysés permet de conclure que, suite à l'engagement du TCR/CD28, une voie intrinsèque d'apoptose de type mitochondriale est activée et que l'IFN-α exerce un effet protecteur de l'intégrité mitochondriale en modulant le ratio Bcl-2/Bax. Cependant, l'IFN-α augmente la sensibilité des cellules à une mort cellulaire plus tardive qui passe par la voie extrinsèque impliquant le récepteur Fas et la caspase 8. L'ensemble de ces données suggère un modèle où l'IFN soutient l'expansion clonale, tout en sensibilisant les lymphocytes à une mort cellulaire plus tardive. Cette étude renforce le concept que l'IFN exerce différents effets selon l'état d'activation des lymphocytes T.

Dynamique et trafique du récepteur de l'IFN de type I : le rôle des Jak (J. Ragimbeau et Z. Marijanovic)

Les quatre membres de la famille de tyrosine kinases Jak se trouvent associés aux récepteurs des cytokines hélicoïdales. Au sein du récepteur de l'IFN de type I, Tyk2 interagit avec la sous-unité IFNAR1 et en influence positivement le niveau à la membrane plasmique. Nous nous intéressons au devenir des sous-unités du récepteur suite à la fixation du ligand et à l'élucidation du rôle des kinases Jak dans la modulation négative, ie internalisation et dégradation, du complexe récepteur. La fixation de l'IFN-α induit l'internalisation d'IFNAR1 via un processus qui implique sa phosphorylation sur résidu serine et le recrutement d'une protéine de type E3 ligase. Nous avons suivi la dynamique d'IFNAR1 et étudié si Tyk2 y contribue par son activité kinase. Par diverses approches complémentaires, nous montrons que l'internalisation d'IFNAR1 induite par le ligand ne nécessite pas de l'activité kinase de Tyk2. Par contre, l'activité catalytique de Tyk2 contribue à l'acheminement d'IFNAR1 vers le compartiment lysosomial. Nous étudions le rôle précis joué par Tyk2 dans ce contexte. Le trafic d'IFNAR2, la deuxième sous-unité du récepteur de l'IFN, est aussi à l'étude. Un regard particulier sera porté sur l'analyse de la dynamique du récepteur dans différents types cellulaires ainsi qu'en réponse à deux différents sous-types d'IFN (α2 versus β). Notre travail repose sur l'hypothèse que ces deux aspects, jusqu'ici peu étudiés, pourraient façonner les réponses pléiotropiques de cette famille de cytokines.

Jamip, une nouvelle famille de protéines associées aux tyrosine kinases Jak et aux microtubules (V. Libri et G. Pizza)

La protéine Jamip1 a été identifiée par son interaction avec le domaine FERM de la tyrosine kinase Tyk2. Jamip1, qui appartient à une nouvelle famille de 3 gènes conservés chez les vertébrés, est exprimé dans les neurones et les lymphocytes. Riches en ‘coiled coils', les protéines Jamip sont associées au réseau de microtubules, d'où leur nom (Jak and microtubule interacting proteins). Par sa portion N-ter, Jamip1 s'associe aux microtubules et en influence l'équilibre dynamique. La portion C-ter a une fonction régulatrice et porte de multiples sites de phosphorylation. L'ensemble des propriétés de la protéine Jamip1 suggèrent une fonction spécialisée dans des processus dynamiques (polarisation cellulaire, ségrégation de complexes de signalisation, trafic vésiculaire), certains d'entre eux pouvant impliquer les kinases Jak. Nous nous intéressons à l'étude de Jamip1 dans les lymphocytes T. L'activation des lymphocytes T par les cellules présentatrices d'antigène implique la polarisation du lymphocyte vers la région de contact et la formation de la synapse immunologique. Les réarrangements du cytosquelette sont nécessaires à la stabilité et maturation de la synapse, ainsi qu'à une signalisation soutenue. Suite à l'engagement du TCR, le centre organisateur des microtubules (MTOC) se re-oriente vers la synapse et pourrait jouer un rôle clé dans la ségrégation des molécules de signalisation, dans la relocalisation de l'appareil sécrétoire nécessaire à l'accumulation des TCR vers la synapse et au relargage polarisé des lymphokines et des granules cytolytiques. Par l'approche de RNAi et par l'étude de la localisation de formes fluoréscentes de Jamip1, nous explorons son implication dans les événements précoces et tardifs induits par la stimulation du TCR chez les lymphocytes T CD4+.

Etude de Pot1, un nouveau interacteur de Tyk2 (Milika Gakovic)

Par criblage double hybride avec le domaine FERM de Tyk2, nous avions identifié un nouveau gène exprimé de façon ubiquitaire, que nous appelons provisoirement Pot1 (Partner of Tyk2). Il existe plusieurs isoformes de la protéine Pot1, mais pas de gènes homologues. Pot1 est un interacteur des kinases Jak, associé aux radeaux lipidiques et impliqué dans la signalisation de l'IFN. Un criblage exhaustif chez la levure est en cours afin d'identifier des partenaires de Pot1 à fonction connue.

Mots-clés: signalisation, cytokine,alpha/beta, récepteur, tyrosine kinase, trafic, cytosquelette, lymphocyte, immunologie


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr