Unit: Transcriptional Regulations - CNRS URA 2172

Director: Kolb, Annie

Our aim is to analyse the reprogramming of genetic expression in response to stress and starvation. σ S, the stationary phase sigma factor of RNA polymerase, encoded by the rpoS gene is the master regulator of the general stress response and controls Salmonella virulence. Our studies are focussed on both a functional analysis of the rpoS regulon in Salmonella with the isolation and characterisation of mutants in σS-responsive genes and a mechanistic analysis of σS-dependent promoter recognition.

The σS factor of RNA polymerase

RNA polymerase is responsible for the first step of gene expression and the target of numerous regulations. The bacterial holoenzyme consists of the core enzyme E and a σ factor that enables the specific

recognition of promoters and transcription initiation. The Enterobacteria Escherichia coli and Salmonella enterica have seven σ factors which compete for core binding. σ 70, the "house-keeping" σ factor, controls the transcription of all the essential functions of the bacteria. As cells reach the end of the exponential phase or are subjected to various environmental stresses, σS, also called σ38, comes into play. σS is responsible for the transcription of more than 100 genes, important for acquisition of the generalised stress resistance status and for survival in the stationary phase. σS is involved in resistance to osmotic, acid and oxidative stresses, biofilm formation and expression of virulence factors. Up to now, the exact function of nearly half of the genes regulated by σS is still unknown.

Identification and functional analysis of the genes of the rpoS regulon in Salmonella (F. Norel, V. Robbe-Saule)

σS is essential for virulence and persistence of the facultative intracellular pathogen Salmonella enterica serotype Typhimurium which causes severe infections in man and animals. Our goal is to analyse the functions of the rpoS regulon in the physiology and pathogenesis of Salmonella and to identify the key functions of this regulon important for its survival in the environment, including its hosts. To perform a functional analysis of the rpoS regulon in Salmonella, we isolated σ S-activated lacZ gene fusions from a bank of S. Typhimurium mutants. One-third of the fusions mapped to Salmonella DNA regions not present in E. coli K-12. This suggests that the composition of the rpoS regulon differs markedly in the two species. Most of the fusions mapped in genes of unidentified function. One of these, the katN gene, was shown to encode a non-haem catalase. katN is not present in E. coli K-12 but is conserved in enterohemorrhagic E. coli O157, Klebsiella pneumoniae and Pseudomonas aeruginosa. Most of the remaining genes are likely to possess metabolic functions involved in adaptation of Enterobacteria under suboptimal growth conditions in natural environments.

Promoter recognition by EσS and Eσ70 RNA polymerases (A. Kolb)

Among the 6 alternative σ factors of Enterobacteria, σS is the most similar to σ 70. The similarities are strikingly strong in the promoter binding domains (regions 2.4 and 4.2 of the protein that recognise the -10 and -35 hexamers respectively). Numerous promoters can be recognised in vitro and in vivo by both Eσ70 and EσS holoenzymes, with, however, different affinities and kinetics. The discrimination mechanism is still not clearly understood: σS-dependent promoters generally lack a discernible -35 consensus sequence but possess the same optimal -10 hexamer as Eσ70 -dependent promoters (TATAA/CT). However unlike Eσ70, EσS might recognise both C and T as first nucleotide in the -10 hexamer and has a strong preference for a cytosine at position-13. Using site directed mutagenesis and suppression genetics in collaboration with C. Gutierrez' group in Toulouse, we show that two aminoacids of σS within region 2.4 (Q152 and E155) participate to the preference for a C at position -13 of its target promoters. Interestingly the homologous residues in Eσ70 (Q437 and T440) are also involved in the strong preference for a nucleotide in the -10 region, the first T of the -10 hexamer located at -12 at σ70-dependent promoters. The substitutions Q437H and T440E allow Eσ70 to better recognise the aidB promoter a σS-dependent promoter, under study with the group of P. Landini (Dubendorf-Switzerland) suggesting that two corresponding aminoacids in EσS and Eσ70 might recognise different, albeit adjacent, promoter base pairs.

Modulators of EσS activity (V. Jaumouillé, H . Mahtout, N. Miroslavova, F. Norel, V. Robbe-Saule)

Non growing cells contain more than twice as many σ70 molecules as σS molecules. Since core enzyme is limiting and has a much higher affinity for σ70 than for σS, it is unclear how σS can capture sufficient core to assure the expression of σS-dependent genes in stationary phase. The bacteria appear to solve this problem by synthesising different molecules which either can handicap σ70 (anti-σ70) or help σS ("pro-σS"). Our aim is to provide a detailed biochemical and functional characterisation of the factors involved in this process.

The stationary phase anti-σ70 factor Rsd binds region 4 of σ70 as the well-known T4 anti-σ70 factor AsiA, but with a reduced affinity. In contrast to AsiA, Rsd is able to dissociate in vitro the Eσ70 holoenzyme and hence to favour indirectly EσS-association. Its effects on EσS-dependent transcription are under investigation. On the other hand the Crl protein of Salmonella binds directly to σS and has a positive direct effect in vitro on σS-mediated transcription. The specifics of this mechanism remain to be clarified. The regulatory functions of Rsd and Crl in Salmonella are investigated by studying the expression of individual genes by gene fusion experiments and by analysing the phenotypes dependent on σS (virulence and stress resistance). Furthermore, two global approaches including phenotype characterisation (phenotypes arrays Biolog) and proteomics are developed to determine if the rpoS and crl regulons fully overlap. We also show that Crl plays a role in the formation of the Salmonella morphotype called "rdar" (for red dry and rough on Congo red agar), a multicellular behaviour due to the formation of an extracellular matrix consisting of aggregative fimbriae (curli) and cellulose. The extracellular matrix synthesis depends on σS and can be correlated with biofilm development. Crl is expressed at its maximal level at low temperature and low osmolarity, conditions essential for the development of the "rdar" morphotype. The exact role played by Crl in "rdar" morphotype and biofilm development is under study.

Regulation of the σ54-dependent promoter glnAP2 by DNA bending induced by the CRP-cAMP complex (Y. Huo, collaboration with Y-P Wang, Beijing University)

σ54 differs from other σ factors by its sequence and mode of action. Eσ 54 requires contact with upstream Enhancer-like sequence (ES) bound proteins (EBP) mediated by DNA looping to make open complexes. Effective DNA looping depends on the correct orientation of RNA polymerase and EBP binding sites. Up to now the precise face of Eσ54 that contacts the activator to convert the closed complex to an open one remains unclear. By introducing DNA-bend induced by CRPH159L at precise locations between the ES and the core promoter of the σ54-dependent glnAp2 promoter without changing the distance in-between, we observed a strong enhanced or decreased expression of promoter activity. The relative orientations of Eσ54, EBP and DNA bending protein were determined by in vitro footprinting. Intriguingly the locations from which the DNA bending protein exerted its optimal stimulatory effects were all found on the opposite face of the DNA helix as the DNA bound σ54-holoenzyme in the closed complex.

Mechanism of activation of the vancomycin resistance genes Enterococcus faecalis BM454 by VanRB (F. Depardieu, P. Courvalin, Unit of Antibacterial Agents and A. Kolb)

We analyse the transcriptional regulation of the regulatory (vanRBSB) and resistance(vanYBWHBBXB) genes and compare the binding sites of VanRB and phosphorylated VanRB to the PRB and PYB promoters. VanR-P binds at a single site at position -32.5 upstream from the PRB transcriptional start site and at two sites at positions -33.5 and - 55.5 upstream from that of PYB. Dimerisation of VanRB is induced by phosphorylation. VanRB-P binds with higher affinity than VanRB to its target sites and appears more efficient than VanRB in promoting open complex formation at PRB and PYB. The E. coli RNA polymerase Eσ70 supports transcription activation by VanRB-P in vitro.

Figure

Effect of σS and Crl on the multicellular aggregation state of S. Typhimurium ATCC14028, grown on Congo red media in low salt at 28°C. (A) The wild type strain shows the "rdar" morphotype (for "red, dry and rough"); (B) Δ rpoS::cm; (C) Δcrl:: cm

Keywords: RNA polymerase, Salmonella, stationary phase, sigma, anti-sigma, cyclic AMP Receptor Protein (CRP), MOLECULAR MICROBIOLOGY, BIOCHEMISTRY


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Régulations Transcriptionnelles - CNRS URA 2172

Responsable: Kolb, Annie

Notre objectif est de caractériser les modifications de l'expression génétique en réponse aux carences et aux stress. σS, le facteur σ de phase stationnaire de l'ARN polymérase, codé par le gène rpoS, joue un rôle clef dans la survie en phase stationnaire et la réponse généralisée au stress. Nos études portent sur l'analyse fonctionnelle du régulon rpoS chez Salmonella avec l'isolement et la caractérisation de mutants de gènes sensibles à σS et l'étude mécanistique de la reconnaissance des promoteurs dépendant de σS.

Le facteur σS de l'ARN polymérase

Le démarrage de la transcription est la première étape de l'expression génique et la cible de nombreuses régulations. L'holoenzyme bactérienne est composée de l'enzyme cœur E et d'un facteur σ responsable de la liaison au promoteur. Les entérobactéries Escherichia coli et Salmonella enterica possèdent 7 facteurs σ qui entrent en compétition pour la fixation à l'enzyme cœur. σ70 assure la transcription pour toutes les fonctions essentielles de la cellule. A l'entrée en phase stationnaire et en réponse à de nombreux stress, apparaît le facteur σS, appelé aussi σ38. σS contrôle la transcription de plus de 100 gènes impliqués dans la résistance aux variations de pH, au choc osmotique et au stress oxydatif ainsi que dans le développement des biofilms et le contrôle de la virulence. A ce jour, plus de la moitié des gènes dépendant de σS n'ont pas de fonction précise connue.

Identification et analyse fonctionnelle des gènes du régulon rpoS de Salmonella (F. Norel, V. Robbe-Saule)

σS est essentiel à la virulence et la persistance de Salmonella enterica sérotype Typhimurium, un pathogène intracellulaire facultatif qui cause des maladies sévères chez l'homme et les animaux. Notre objectif est de mieux comprendre les fonctions du régulon rpoS dans la physiologie et le pouvoir pathogène de Salmonella et d'identifier les fonctions clés de sa survie dans l'environnement inerte et biologique. Nous avons isolé des mutants de S. Typhimurium contenant des fusions de gènes activées par σS. L'identification des gènes mutés montre que la composition du régulon rpoS de Salmonella diverge significativement de celle du régulon rpoS de E. coli K12 puisque plus d'un tiers des gènes de Salmonella ainsi identifiés est absent chez E. coli K12. Plus de la moitié des gènes identifiés est de fonction inconnue et en cours de caractérisation. Parmi ces gènes, le gène katN, absent chez coli K12, mais conservé chez E. coli entérohémorrhagique O157, Klebsiella pneumoniae et Pseudomonas aeruginosa, code pour une catalase non-héminique de phase stationnaire. D'autres gènes pourraient participer au métabolisme bactérien, probablement dans des conditions de croissance sub-optimales proches de celles rencontrées dans les habitats naturels.

Reconnaissance des promoteurs par les ARN polymérases EσS et Eσ70 ( A. Kolb)

σS et σ70 sont très homologues au niveau de leur séquence et de leur structure et la discrimination entre promoteurs dépendant de σS ou de σ70 reste un sujet d'étude. De nombreux promoteurs sont reconnus in vitro par les deux formes d'holoenzyme Eσ70 et EσS, avec toutefois des affinités et des cinétiques différentes. Les promoteurs qui dépendent de σS in vivo sont en général des promoteurs faibles ; la plupart sont dépourvus d'hexamère -35 consensus, mais possèdent la même séquence optimale pour la boîte -10 (TATAA/CT) que ceux dépendant de σ70. Cependant, à la différence de Eσ70, EσS a la possibilité de reconnaître une cytosine ou une thymine en position -12 et montre une forte préférence pour une cytosine en position -13. L'utilisation de mutants suppresseurs et la mutagenèse dirigée nous ont permis de montrer avec l'équipe de C. Gutierrez à Toulouse que deux acides aminés de la région 2.4 de σS (Q152 et E155) déterminent au moins partiellement la préférence de σS pour la cytosine en position -13 du promoteur. Il faut noter que les acides aminés homologues de σ70 (Q437 et T440) contribuent à établir la forte préférence pour la thymine en position -12 dans le cas de σ70. Les substitutions Q437H et T440E permettent à Eσ70 de reconnaître plus efficacement le promoteur aidB, un promoteur dépendant de σS que nous étudions avec le groupe de P. Landini (Dubendorf-Suisse). Ce résultat suggère que deux acides aminés homologues de σS et de σ 70 pourraient être impliqués dans la reconnaissance de paires de bases différentes, mais adjacentes dans un jeu complexe d'interactions.

Les éléments régulateurs de l'activité de σS (V. Jaumouillé, H . Mahtout, N. Miroslavova, F. Norel, V. Robbe-Saule)

En phase stationnaire, σS reste toujours moins abondant que σ70. L'enzyme cœur, en quantité limitante dans la cellule, a une affinité nettement plus forte pour σ70 que pour σS. Il existe donc in vivo des facteurs qui permettent à σS de capturer suffisamment d'enzyme cœur pour assurer la transcription des promoteurs dépendants de σS, soit en augmentant la fixation de E à σS (facteurs"pro-σS"), soit en diminuant celle à σ70 (anti-σ70). Notre objectif est de caractériser ces facteurs sur le plan fonctionnel et biochimique. La protéine Rsd, exprimée à l'entrée en phase stationnaire, se lie à la région 4 de σ70, comme le facteur anti-σ 70 du phage T4, mais avec une affinité bien plus faible. A la différence de AsiA, Rsd est capable de dissocier in vitro l'holoenzyme Eσ70 et ainsi de favoriser l'association de E et de σS. De plus, nous avons montré que la protéine Crl de Salmonella qui fixe σS, active directement la transcription médiée par σS in vitro, selon un mécanisme qui reste encore à préciser et dont l'efficacité pourrait varier selon les promoteurs. Nous cherchons également à appréhender la finalité biologique de la fonction régulatrice de Crl chez Salmonella en évaluant son rôle dans l'expression de phénotypes dépendant de σS (virulence, résistance au stress). En parallèle, deux approches globales, l'une, phénotypique (phénotypes arrays Biolog), et l'autre, protéomique, sont développées afin d'évaluer le degré de recouvrement entre les régulons Crl et RpoS. Nous avons observé un rôle de Crl dans le développement du morphotype "rdar" de Salmonella (aspect "red dry and rough" des colonies sur milieu au rouge Congo à faible osmolarité et faible température), un état d'agrégation multicellulaire dû à la production d'une matrice extracellulaire composée en particulier de petits fimbriae (curli) et de cellulose. La production de cette matrice dépend de σS et est corrélée à la formation de biofilms dans certaines conditions. Nous cherchons à déterminer plus précisément le rôle de Crl dans le développement de ce morphotype et dans la formation de biofilms.

Régulation du promoteur dépendant de σ54 glnAP2 par la courbure de l'ADN induite par le complexe CRP-AMP cyclique (Y. Huo, collaboration avec Y-P Wang, Université de Pékin)

Le facteur σ54 diffère des autres facteurs σ par sa séquence et son mode d'action. L'holoenzyme Eσ54 requiert un activateur fixé à des distances parfois considérables en amont du promoteur pour former le complexe ouvert. La formation d'une boucle d'ADN assure les contacts entre Eσ54 et l'activateur. L'introduction d'une courbure d'ADN induite par la fixation de la protéine (CRPH159L-AMPc) à différentes positions entre le site de l'activateur et le promoteur, mais sans modifier la distance entre les deux, conduit à une augmentation ou une réduction de l'activité du promoteur en phase avec le pas de la double hélice d'ADN. Cette observation nous a permis de préciser l'orientation de l'activateur et de Eσ54 dans le complexe de préinitiation.

Mécanisme d'activation des gènes de résistance à la vancomycine chez Enterococcus faecalis BM454 par la protéine VanRB (F. Depardieu , P. Courvalin, Unité des Agents Antibactériens, et A. Kolb)

La présence de vancomycine permet la phosphorylation par la protéine "senseur" VanSB du régulateur VanRB ainsi que sa dimérisation. VanRB-P régule positivement l'expression des gènes régulateurs (vanRBSB) à partir d'un site de fixation situé en position -32.5 par rapport au démarrage de la transcription. VanRB-P possède deux autres sites en amont des gènes de résistance (vanYBWHBBXB) en position -33.5 et - 55.5 en amont de l'origine du transcrit vanY. L'activation de la transcription par vanRB-P est observée dans un système in vitro avec l'ARN polymérase d' E. coli70.

Légende
Figure 1 : Rôle de σS et Crl dans l'état d'agrégation des colonies de S. Typhimurium ATCC14028, poussées sur milieu rouge Congo à faible température et faible osmolarité. (A) La souche sauvage présente le morphotype dit "rdar" pour son aspect "red dry and rough"; (B) ΔrpoS::cm; (C) Δcrl:: cm

Mots-clés: ARN polymérase, Salmonella, phase stationnaire, sigma, anti-sigma, protéine réceptrice de l’AMP cyclique (CRP), MICROBIOLOGIE MOLECULAIRE, BIOCHIMIE


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr