Unit: Cyanobacteria - CNRS URA 2172

Director: TANDEAU de MARSAC Nicole

Cyanobacteria appeared on our planet about 3 billion years ago and contribute even today, by their ability to perform oxygenic photosynthesis, to the balance between CO2 and O2 in the atmosphere. Adapted to a wide range of environmental conditions, including extreme ones, they colonise most aquatic and terrestrial ecosystems. Some of them form waterblooms, disrupting ecosystem equilibrium, and produce hepatotoxins or neurotoxins, secondary metabolites harmful to animals and Man. The main objective of our research programme is to increase, by applying a polyphasic approach, our knowledge of the biodiversity, the genome and the physiology of cyanobacteria, to elucidate their modes of acclimation to the environment and the bases of their toxicity, as well as to exploit their biotechnological potential.

1. The PCC or "Pasteur Culture Collection of Cyanobacteria"

The PCC is internationally recognised both for the quality of the strains (axenic cultures) and for the diversity of their morphological and physiological properties.

The PCC has several missions that include both service and research activities:

Preservation and development of biological resources (R. Rippka, I. Iteman, K. Comte, M. Herdman, T. Coursin and T. Laurent)

The PCC houses 750 strains representing 57 genera; 475 strains are presented in a catalogue (http://www.pasteur.fr/recherche/banques/PCC/). Anticipating the future integration of the PCC in the Centre for Biological Resources at the Institut Pasteur (CRBIP), steps towards quality control are in progress. In the frame of the European project COBRA "The Conservation of a vital European scientific and biotechnological resource: microalgae and cyanobacteria" (http://www.cobra.ac.uk/) several methods of cryopreservation, including in the presence of antioxidants (α-tocopherol or desferrioxamine), confirmed the cryosensitivity of strains of the genus Arthrospira ("Spirulina"). Different methods of genotyping were applied to cyanobacteria of the PCC, in particular to strains of the genera Arthrospira, Spirulina, Planktothrix, Microcystis and Nostoc, in order to determine their internal genetic relationships, as well as to strains of Phormidium recently isolated from extreme ecosystems (Coll. J. Elster and M. Sabacka, University of South Bohemia, Trebon, Czech Republic). The phylogenetic clustering observed for isolates from both Arctic and Antarctic regions may result from fortuitous dispersal by Man or is due to bird migration between the poles.

Consultation and sale of strains (R. Rippka)

In 2004, 236 strains have been provided to research and industrial laboratories all over the world, including teaching institutions in France. Consultation is another important activity associated with the PCC.

Expert analyses (I. Iteman and T. Laurent)

This activity includes the identification of cyanobacteria and the determination of hepatotoxins in samples from surface waters (Coll. J.M. Delattre, Department of Waters and Environment, Institut Pasteur Lille). In 2004, about hundred analyses have been performed for the DDASS in diverse regions of France. Monitoring of waterbodies for the presence of potentially toxic cyanobacteria has increased significantly since the publication of a decree on the sanitary control of bathing waters.

Databases (I. Iteman, R. Rippka and M. Herdman)

"CYANOBANK" (Windows 98, Microsoft Access): properties of the strains in the PCC; "ITS size database": number and size of ITS amplicons (300 entries); "Photographic database" (610 entries); "Storage database": list of strains preserved in liquid nitrogen; the last three modules interact with Cyanobank. Other databases are independent of CYANOBANK: "ITS sequence database" with ~300 aligned sequences; "Cyanobacterial 16S rRNA sequence database" (software ARB) with more than 900 aligned sequences; "Bacterial 16S rRNA sequence database" with more than 13000 sequences, permitting the design of oligonucleotide primers and probes; database (software GelCompare) of profiles generated by ITS-RFLP and amplification with HIP1 extended primers; photographic database of environmental samples (~700 entries). A majority of the strain information from the PCC has been transferred from CYANOBANK to a new database shared by all the culture collections of the CRBIP and a new edition of the catalogue of the cyanobacterial strains will appear in 2005.

Research development and characterisation of toxic and bioactive secondary metabolites

- Neurotoxic alkaloids (A. Méjean, C. Monard and I. Iteman)

Cyanobacteria synthesise different types of neurotoxic alkaloids, harmful for animals and humans. As previously shown in the laboratory by R. Araoz and coll. (Microbiology, in press) three PCC strains of the genus Oscillatoria synthesise anatoxin-a and homoanatoxin-a. The presence of either of the toxins depends on growth conditions. Three genes encoding the ketoacylsynthase domain of polyketide synthases have been identified in the neurotoxic strain Oscillatoria PCC 6506. Analysis of the relationship between the production of neurotoxic molecules and the presence of theses genes in fourteen strains of the PCC demonstrated that one of the genes is a good candidate for use as a molecular marker for neurotoxicity. This marker should permit the early detection of neurotoxic cyanobacteria in environmental samples.

- Bioactive oligopeptides (M. Welker, S. Cadel, A.M. Castets and N. Tandeau de Marsac). In the frame of the European project PEPCY "Toxic and bioactive peptides in cyanobacteria"  (http://www.pepcy.de/), two new clusters of genes encoding polyketide synthases in Microcystis aeruginosa PCC 7806 were characterised. These genes are involved in the synthesis of two secondary metabolites: cyanopeptolin and aeruginosin. These two non-ribosomal peptides are inhibitors of serine proteases. In addition, cyanopeptolin is cytotoxic and promotes cell differentiation. These peptides have been detected by HPLC and mass spectrometry (MALDI-TOF) in more than half of the strains from the PCC. New peptides and new congeners of known peptides, including mono- and di-chlorinated ones, have been identified in these strains (Coll. with H. Van Döhren, Technische Universität, Berlin, Germany).

2. Acclimation to the environment of the hepatotoxic cyanobacterium Microcystis (P. Quillardet, A.M. Castets, D. Ciumac and N. Tandeau de Marsac)

Light and nutrients act in a number of regulatory circuits in cyanobacterial metabolism, and play a key role in the formation of water blooms and in the intracellular content of toxins in planktonic species of the genus Microcystis. To perform a global analysis of the acclimation of these organisms, we have chosen the hepatotoxic strain Microcystis aeruginosa PCC 7806. The finishing of its genome sequence is in progress at the Génopole of the Institut Pasteur (C. Bouchier and coll., Plate-form 1 - Genomics; L. Frangeul and coll., Plate-form 4 – Integration et Genome Analysis). At present, we have at our disposal a series of large contigs covering almost the entire genome. Macroarrays with a selection of genes of interest have been prepared for transcriptome analyses in function of fluctuating environmental parameters, such as light and nutrients. These analyses are in progress (Coll. E. Dittmann, Humboldt University, Berlin, Germany).

The role of the hepatotoxins synthesised by a number of Microcystis strains is unknown. Microcystins, however, might play a role in the regulation of processes important for cell life. We have indeed shown that the presence of these oligopeptides influences in particular the synthesis of gas vesicles (intracellular structures proving buoyancy) and of the RuBisCo (enzyme for CO2 fixation). The genome sequence permitted the identification by proteomics of other proteins that respond to microcystins. One of them is an ortholog of a plant protein; others are unique, or at least absent from the cyanobacterial genomes sequenced. A Microcystis-specific lectin has also been characterised. This lectin might play a role in cell-cell attachment and therefore in the formation of colonies, a feature often observed for cyanobacteria of this genus (Coll. with E. Dittmann, Y. Zilliges and J.C. Kehr, Humboldt Universität, Berlin, Germany).

3. Comparative genomics: marine cyanobacteria and nitrogen metabolism (N. Tandeau de Marsac)

Cyanobacteria of the genera Prochlorococcus and Synechococcus dominate in marine phytoplankton and make a major contribution to the global photosynthetic primary production. In central regions of the oligotrophic oceans, members of Prochlorococcus are more abundant than those of Synechococcus. Conversely, the latter are preponderant in nutrient-rich and coastal areas. In 2004, the sequence of the genome of the coastal strain Synechococcus WH7803 has been determined at the Génoscope (Evry, France), by an international consortium of five laboratories including ours (Coordination: F. Partensky, Station Biologique de Roscoff, France). Comparison of the five genomes of Prochlorococcus (MED4, SS120 et MIT9313) and Synechococcus (WH8102 and WH7803) shows that, except for a proteobacterial-like nitrite transporter present in MIT9313, the genes involved in nitrogen metabolism have not been acquired by horizontal gene transfer but originate from an ancestral cyanobacterium. During evolution, some of the non-essential genes were lost giving rise to genotypes specific of the different ecological niches typically inhabited by Prochlorococcus and Synechococcus populations (Coll. with JM García-Fernández, Universidad de Córdoba, Córdoba, Spain). These changes were accompanied by a simplification of the regulatory networks and a remarkable reduction of genome sizes.

Photos:

Photo 1: Axenic culture of Arthrospira sp. PCC 9450 (Bar marker: 20 μm).

Photo 2: Aphanizomenon sp., Microcystis sp., Limnothrix sp. and Planktothrix sp. in a sample collected from a freshwater lake in France (Bar marker: 20 μm).

Keywords: Collection of cyanobacteria (PCC), Databases, Biodiversity, Toxins, Metabolism, Genome


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Cyanobactéries - CNRS URA 2172

Responsable: TANDEAU de MARSAC Nicole

Les cyanobactéries sont à l'origine de l'apparition de l'oxygène sur notre planète, il y a plus de 3 milliards d'années. Par leur activité photosynthétique, elles participent, encore de nos jours, au maintien de l'équilibre des proportions entre le CO2 et l'oxygène dans l'atmosphère. Adaptées à des environnements variés, mêmes extrêmes, elles colonisent la plupart des écosystèmes aquatiques et terrestres. Certaines d'entre elles forment des efflorescences responsables de dysfonctionnements dans les écosystèmes et synthétisent des métabolites secondaires (hépatotoxines et neurotoxines) toxiques pour l'Homme et l'animal. L'objectif de nos travaux de recherche est de développer, par une approche pluridisciplinaire, notre connaissance de la biodiversité, du génome et de la physiologie des cyanobactéries, afin d'élucider leurs modes d'adaptation à l'environnement et les bases de leur toxicité, et également d'exploiter leurs potentialités biotechnologiques.

1. La PCC ou "Pasteur Culture Collection of Cyanobacteria"

La PCC est internationalement reconnue tant pour la qualité (cultures axéniques) que pour la diversité des propriétés morphologiques et physiologiques de ses souches.

Les missions de la PCC comprennent à la fois des activités de service et de recherche :

Préservation et accroissement des ressources biologiques (R. Rippka, I. Iteman, K. Comte, M. Herdman, T. Coursin et T. Laurent)

La PCC comprend 750 souches représentant 57 genres ; 475 souches sont disponibles sur catalogue (http://www.pasteur.fr/recherche/banques/PCC/). Dans l'optique d'une intégration de la PCC dans le Centre de Ressources Biologiques de l'Institut Pasteur (CRBIP), la mise en place du contrôle qualité est en cours. Dans le cadre du projet européen COBRA "The Conservation of a vital european scientific and biotechnological resource: microalgae and cyanobacteria" (http://www.cobra.ac.uk/) plusieurs techniques de cryoconservation ont été testées, y compris en présence d'antioxydants (α-tocophérol ou desferrioxamine), confirmant la sensibilité des souches du genre Arthrospira ("Spiruline") à la congélation. Différentes méthodes de génotypage ont été appliquées à des cyanobactéries de la PCC des genres Arthrospira, Spirulina, Planktothrix, Microcystis et Nostoc, afin de préciser leur identité génétique, ainsi qu'à des souches de "Phormidium" récemment isolées de milieux extrêmes (Coll. J. Elster et M. Sabacka, University of South Bohemia, Trebon, République Tchèque). Des isolats de la région Arctique se sont avérés phylogénétiquement très proches de certaines souches de l'Antarctique ce qui implique vraisemblablement une dissémination accidentelle par l'Homme ou la migration d'oiseaux entre les deux pôles.

Distribution et ventes de souches (R. Rippka)

En 2004, 236 souches ont été envoyées à des laboratoires de recherche et des industriels dans le monde entier, ainsi que pour l'enseignement en France. Une importante activité de conseil est également associée à la PCC.

Activité d'expertise (I. Iteman et T. Laurent)

Cette activité inclut l'identification des cyanobactéries et le dosage des hépatotoxines dans les eaux de surface (Coll. J.M. Delattre, Institut Pasteur de Lille). En 2004, une centaine d'expertises (soit le double par rapport à 2003) a été faite pour des DDASS de diverses régions de France. La surveillance des plans d'eau pour la présence de cyanobactéries potentiellement toxiques s'accroît très sensiblement depuis la publication de la circulaire DGS relative au contrôle sanitaire des eaux de baignade.

Bases de données (I. Iteman, R. Rippka et M. Herdman)

"CYANOBANK" (Windows 98, Microsoft Access) : propriétés des souches de la PCC ; "ITS size database" : nombre et taille des amplicons des ITS (300 entrées) ; "Photographic database" (610 entrées) ; "Storage database" : inventaire des souches conservées dans l'azote liquide ; les trois derniers modules interagissent avec CYANOBANK. D'autres bases de données sont indépendantes de CYANOBANK : "ITS sequence database" avec ~300 séquences d'ITS de cyanobactéries alignées ; "Cyanobacterial 16S rRNA sequence database", maintenue sous le logiciel ARB avec plus de 900 séquences alignées ; "Bacterial 16S rRNA sequence database", qui permet de choisir des amorces oligonucléotidiques ou des sondes et comprend plus de 13000 séquences ; bases de données (sous GelCompare) des profils RFLP des ITS et des profils obtenus par amplification avec des amorces basées sur les séquences HIP1 ; banque photographique (~700 entrées) basée sur l'observation d'échantillons naturels. La très grande majorité des données concernant les propriétés des souches de la PCC ont été transférées de "CYANOBANK" dans une nouvelle base de données commune aux collections du CRBIP et une nouvelle édition du catalogue de la PCC va paraître en 2005.

Valorisation par la recherche et la caractérisation de métabolites secondaires, toxiques ou bioactifs

- Alcaloïdes neurotoxiques (A. Méjean, C. Monard et I. Iteman). Les cyanobactéries synthétisent différents types d'alcaloïdes neurotoxiques mortels pour les animaux et dangereux pour l'Homme. Comme cela a été montré antérieurement au laboratoire par R. Araoz et coll. (Microbiology, sous presse), trois souches de la PCC du genre Oscillatoria synthétisent de l'anatoxine-a et deux autres sont capables de synthétiser de l'anatoxine-a et de l'homoanatoxine-a. Dans ce cas, la présence de l'une ou l'autre de ces toxines dépend des conditions de croissance. Trois gènes codant le domaine kétoacylsynthase de polykétide synthases ont été identifiés chez la souche neurotoxique Oscillatoria PCC 6506. Une étude de la relation entre la production de molécules neurotoxiques et la présence de ces gènes chez quatorze souches de la PCC a montré que l'un des gènes candidat constitue un marqueur moléculaire de la neurotoxicité. Ce marqueur devrait permettre de détecter de manière précoce la présence de cyanobactérie neurotoxique sur des échantillons prélevés dans l'environnement.

- Oligopeptides bioactifs (M. Welker, S. Cadel, A.M. Castets et N. Tandeau de Marsac). Dans le cadre du projet européen PEPCY "Toxic and bioactive peptides in cyanobacteria"  (http://www.pepcy.de/), deux nouveaux groupes de gènes codant des polykétide synthases ont été caractérisés chez Microcystis PCC 7806. Ces gènes sont impliqués dans la synthèse de deux métabolites secondaires : la cyanopeptoline et l'aéruginosine. Ces deux peptides, produits par voie non ribosomale, sont des inhibiteurs de protéases à sérine. La cyanopeptoline a en outre une activité cytotoxique et promotrice de la différenciation cellulaire. Ces peptides ont été mis en évidence par HPLC et spectrométrie de masse (MALDI TOF) chez plus de la moitié des souches de Microcystis de la PCC. De nouveaux peptides et de nouveaux congénères de peptides connus, dont certains sont mono- ou di-chlorés, ont également été identifiés chez ces souches (Coll. avec H. Van Döhren, Technische Universität, Berlin, Allemagne).

2. Adaptation à l'environnement chez la cyanobactérie hépatotoxique Microcystis (P. Quillardet, A.M. Castets, D. Ciumac et N. Tandeau de Marsac)

La lumière et les nutriments interviennent dans de nombreux circuits de régulation du métabolisme et jouent un rôle essentiel dans la formation des efflorescences et la teneur intracellulaire en toxines chez les cyanobactéries planctoniques du genre Microcystis. Pour aborder une étude globale des mécanismes d'adaptation à des fluctuations des paramètres environnementaux chez ces organismes, nous avons choisi la souche hépatotoxique Microcystis aeruginosa PCC 7806. Le séquençage du génome de cette souche est en cours à la Génopole de l'Institut Pasteur (C. Bouchier et coll., Plate-forme 1 - Génomique ; L. Frangeul et coll., Plate-forme 4 – Intégration et Analyse génomique). Actuellement, nous disposons de la séquence de contigs de grande taille couvrant la quasi-totalité du génome. Des matrices d'ADN contenant une sélection de gènes ont été préparées pour des études de transcriptome en fonction de fluctuations de facteurs de l'environnement, tels que lumière et nutriments. Ces études sont en cours (Coll. avec E. Dittmann, Humboldt Universität, Berlin, Allemagne).

Le rôle des hépatotoxines, les microcystines, synthétisées par certaines souches du genre Microcystis, est inconnu. Il est cependant vraisemblable que les microcystines interviennent dans la régulation de processus importants pour la vie cellulaire. Nous avons montré en effet que la présence de ces oligopeptides influence notamment la synthèse des vésicules à gaz (flotteur intracellulaire) et celle de la RuBisCo (enzyme de fixation du CO2). La connaissance du génome a permis d'identifier, par protéomique, d'autres protéines qui répondent à la microcystine. L'une d'entre elles est un orthologue d'une protéine de plante ; d'autres sont uniques ou tout au moins absentes des autres génomes cyanobactériens séquencés. Une lectine spécifique de Microcystis a également été caractérisée. Cette lectine pourrait avoir un rôle dans l'attachement des cellules entre elles, et donc dans la formation des colonies, trait caractéristique des cyanobactéries appartenant à ce genre (Coll. avec E. Dittmann, Y. Zilliges et J.C. Kehr, Humboldt Universität, Berlin, Allemagne).

3. Génomique comparative : cyanobactéries marines et métabolisme de l'azote (N. Tandeau de Marsac)

Les cyanobactéries des genres Prochlorococcus et Synechococcus sont dominantes dans le phytoplancton marin et contribuent de façon majeure à la production primaire photosynthétique sur notre planète. Dans les régions centrales des océans pauvres en nutriments, les Prochlorococcus sont plus abondants que les Synechococcus. Inversement, ces derniers sont prépondérants dans les zones plus riches en nutriments et dans les régions côtières. En 2004, le séquençage du génome de Synechococcus WH7803, souche caractéristique des régions côtières, a été réalisé au Génoscope d'Evry (France) en collaboration avec un consortium international de cinq laboratoires (dont notre Unité) coordonné par F. Partensky, Station Biologique de Roscoff, France. La comparaison des cinq génomes de Prochlorococcus (MED4, SS120 et MIT9313) et de Synechococcus (WH8102 et WH7803) maintenant disponibles montre notamment qu'à l'exception d'un transporteur de nitrite de type protéobactérien chez MIT9313, les gènes impliqués dans le métabolisme de l'azote n'ont pas été acquis par transfert latéral mais proviennent d'une cyanobactérie ancestrale. Au cours de l'évolution, certains de ces gènes, non essentiels, ont été perdus conduisant à des génotypes spécifiques des différentes niches colonisées par les Prochlorococcus et les Synechococcus, ainsi qu'à une simplification des réseaux de régulation (Coll. avec J.M. García-Fernández, Universidad de Córdoba, Córdoba, Espagne). Cette spécialisation des génomes des cyanobactéries marines s'est accompagnée d'une réduction particulièrement importante de la taille de leurs génomes.

Légendes des photos :

Photo 1 : Arthrospira sp. PCC 9450 en culture axénique (Echelle : 20 μm).

Photo 2 : Aphanizomenon sp., Microcystis sp., Limnothrix sp. et Planktothrix sp. dans un échantillon d'eau prélevé dans lac d'eau douce en France (Echelle : 20 μm).

Mots-clés: Collection de cyanobactéries (PCC), Bases de données, Biodiversité, Toxines, Métabolisme, Génome


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr