Unit: Molecular Genetics of Development

Director: Margaret BUCKINGHAM

Our research focusses on the study of myogenesis, with the aim of understanding how muscle cells are specified in the embryo and how this leads to the formation of different skeletal muscles. These studies extend to muscle progenitor cells in the adult and the potential contribution of stem cells to skeletal muscle regeneration. We are also interested in cardiogenesis, with the analysis of the origin and behaviour of different populations of myocardial precursor cells and how they contribute to heart morphogenesis. The animal model is the mouse, using experimental approaches based on gene manipulation.

Myf5 and Mrf4 genes, as well as Pax3 and its paralogue Pax7, act upstream in the genetic hierarchy that determines the entry of a cell into the myogenic differentiation programme. Myf5 and Mrf4 are members of the family of b-HLH myogenic regulatory factors (Myf5, Mrf4, MyoD and Myogenin), while Pax3 belongs to the Pax family of homeo-domain transcription factors, members of which play a key role in organogenesis and in the appearance of specialized cell types during development.

Regulation of the Mrf4-Myf5 locus

[Lola Bajard, Ted Chang, Philippe Daubas, Didier Rocancourt [Collaboration with P. Zammit (London)].

We are studying the regulation of the Mrf4-Myf5 locus, with the aim of understanding how these myogenic determination genes are activated in the embryo. By a transgenic approach, we have identified different regions, extending -96 kb upstream of Myf5, which control the spatio-temporal expression of the gene. In particular a sequence located between -58/-48 kb is composed of elements which target specific sites of Myf5 transcription in somites and limbs, as well as in regions of the central nervous system where the protein is not detectable. We have characterised an element that directs expression of Myf5 in the limb buds and have identified a candidate regulatory molecule.

Another regulatory element, situated at -17 kb from Myf5, directs transcription in the intercalated myotome or in fœtal muscle, depending on the presence of the Mrf4 or Myf5 promoter. This promoter specific regulation, found in the embryo, is also striking in the adult, with expression in muscle fibres or in satellite cells, respectively.

Pax3 function, compared to Pax7

[Mounia Lagha, Didier Montarras, Frédéric Relaix, Didier Rocancourt (Collaboration with Ahmed Mansouri (Göttingen)].

In the absence of Pax3, several categories of muscles are missing including those of the limbs. Neural crest derivatives are also affected. The introduction of an nLacZ, and more recently a GFP, reporter into Pax3, has permitted us to follow the cells that express the gene. Pax7, the paralogue of Pax3 is expressed in a subpopulation of Pax3 positive cells in the embryo. In order to compare the functions of Pax7 in relation to Pax3 we have introduced the coding sequence of Pax7 into the Pax3 gene, accompanied by a reporter sequence (IRES-nLacZ). We observe that all the functions of Pax3 in neural crest and in muscle in the trunk, are replaced by Pax7. In contrast, skeletal muscle formation in the limb is affected, with problems of migration and replication of myogenic progenitor cells derived from the somites (Figure 1). From an evolutionary point of view it is interesting that in a cephalochordate, such as Amphioxus, there is only a single Pax3/7 gene which is expressed in neural crest like cells, in somites and axial muscles. On the basis of our observations, we suggest that Pax3 acquired specific functions required for limb development during tetrapod radiation.

In adult muscle, Pax7 is expressed in the progenitor cells, known as satellite cells. In the Pax7 mutant mouse, these cells are absent and it was proposed that Pax7 is necessary for their specification. We show that these cells are present after birth, but that they die progressively. Pax3 is also expressed, in a subpopulation of satellite cells. While Pax3, like Pax7, plays a key role in the activation of the myogenic programme in these cells, Pax7 has an additional anti-apoptotic role in postnatal skeletal muscle.

The regulation of the cardiac actin gene

[Marguerite Lemonnier, Sigolène Meilhac, Susanna Molinari, Frédéric Relaix (Collaboration with B. Schaeffer (Zurich)]

Cardiac actin is expressed in skeletal muscle and in certain smooth muscle cells in the embryo, as well as in cardiac muscle. We have identified regulatory sequences upstream of the gene, and in particular an enhancer which is activated by Mef2 and which specifically directs transcription in embryonic and adult myocardium. Another enhancer which directs expression only in skeletal muscle, depends on myogenic regulatory factors and on a complex formed with Mef2D, the histone transacetylase CBP/p300 and a protein, Emb, of the POU domain family of transcription factors. This complex, as well as the role of Emb isoforms in skeletal muscle, are of interest in the context of chromatin control of the cardiac actin locus.

The cardiac actin gene was targeted with an nLaacZ reporter, which after a rare event of intragenic recombination, can be converted into a functional nLacZ sequence. Mice that carry this targeted allele have proved to be a valuable tool for retrospective clonal analysis in different types of muscle, where the cardiac actin gene is expressed.

Stem cells-mesoangioblasts and the dorsal aorta

[Milan Esner, Sigolène Meilhac (Collaborations with Giulio Cossu (Milan), Ana Cumano (IP) and Jean-François Nicolas (IP)]

Several sources of skeletal muscle stem cells have been proposed, among which mesoangioblasts, derived from blood vessels, are particularly interesting. These cells express Pax3. In the embryo, they have been isolated from the dorsal aorta, which is also a source of hematopoietic stem cells. We are studying possible links between these two types of stem cells.

In the context of mesoangioblasts, we have carried out a lineage analysis between cells in the dorsal aorta and in the myotome, the first skeletal muscle to form, within the somites. Mice in which the cardiac actin gene has been targeted with nLaacZ have been employed to carry out a retrospective clonal analysis which demonstrates that cells in the dorsal aorta and in the myotome are derived from a common progenitor. Most of these cells, dispersed around the wall of the aorta, express smooth muscle markers, but rare endothelial cells are also present in the clones, providing proof for a common vascular progenitor.

Cardiogenesis

[Fanny Bajolle, Milan Esner, Sigolène Meilhac, Emmanuel Pecnard, Stéphane Zaffran (Collaborations principally with Nigel Brown (London), Robert Kelly (New York) and Jean-François Nicolas (IP)]

We have shown, in the mouse, that there is a second heart field, situated in pharyngeal mesoderm and providing a source of myocardial cells that contribute to the arterial pole of the heart. This discovery was based on observations on transgenic mouse lines and on the tracing of DiI labelled cells. More recently, retrospective clonal analysis at E8.5 with the cardiac actinnLaacZ/+ mouse line, has led us to identify two myocardial cell lineages. Both contribute to all parts of the heart, with the exception, for the first, of the outflow tract, and, for the second, of the left ventricle. These lineage results indicate that the second heart field contributes more extensively to the myocardium, including the right ventricle and the venous pole. Another experimental approach has also shown a difference in the formation of the two ventricles. Explant cultures of pharyngeal mesoderm or of the cardiac tube, derived from transgenic mouse lines which mark different regions of the heart, show that most of the primitive heart tube has a left ventricular identity. The progenitor cells of the right ventricle as well as the outflow tract are present in pharyngeal mesoderm. These results were confirmed by DiI labelling experiments with cultured mouse embryos.

The retrospective clonal analysis also permitted us to characterise the behaviour of myocardial progenitor cells. After an initial period of dispersive growth, myocardial cells at E10.5 and already at E8.5 show coherent and orientated cell growth (Figure 2). This is one of the first examples of orientated cell growth in vertebrates, which we show prefigures the form of the different compartments of the mouse heart.

The analysis of clones in the outflow tract of the heart at different developmental stages, provides insight into a dorsal/ventral regionalisation which is also indicated by transgenic markers. These tools provide the demonstration of a rotation of the outflow tract myocardium during the maturation of this region of the heart, also shown by DiI labelling. This phenomenon has important consequences for the alignment of the great vessels and the interpretation of congenital malformations which frequently affect the outflow tract region of the heart.

Photos :

Figure 1: Expression at E12.5 of β-galactosidase in a Pax3Pax7-IRESnLac/+ embryo, showing normal muscle development in the trunk (A) and forelimb (C) when one functional Pax3 allele is present. In contrast in a Pax3Pax7-IRESnLacZ/Sp embryo in which no Pax3 alleles are present and one Pax3 allele is replaced by Pax7, trunk musculature is normal (B), but forelimb muscles are missing (D).

Figure 2: Clusters of β-galactosidase positive cells in the right ventricle of an α-cardiac actinnLaacZ/+ mouse heart at E10.5 demonstrate oriented cell growth emanating from a central * point towards the expanding periphery of this ventricular chamber.

Keywords: Myogenesis, Pax3, Pax7, Myf5, Cardiogenesis, Dorsal Aorta, Cell Lineages


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Génétique Moléculaire du Développement

Responsable: Margaret BUCKINGHAM

Nos recherches sont centrées d'une part sur l'étude de la myogenèse dans le but de comprendre comment les cellules progénitrices sont spécifiées chez l'embryon pour permettre la mise en place de différentes masses musculaires du squelette. Nous sommes également intéressés par les cellules progénitrices du muscle chez l'adulte et l'éventuelle contribution de cellules souches à la régénération. D'autre part, nous étudions la cardiogenèse avec l'analyse des différentes populations précurseurs du myocarde et leur contribution à la morphogenèse du cœur. Le modèle expérimental est la souris, manipulée par les approches de génétique moléculaire.

La formation du muscle de squelette

Les gènes Myf5 et Mrf4, ainsi que Pax3 et son paralogue Pax7, se situent en haut de la hiérarchie génétique qui détermine l'entrée d'une cellule dans la voie de différenciation musculaire. Myf5 et Mrf4 font partie de la famille de facteurs de régulation myogénique (Myf5, Mrf4, MyoD, Myogénine) à motif b-HLH, tandis que Pax3 appartient à la famille des facteurs de transcription à boîte homéo, les Pax, dont différents membres jouent un rôle clé dans l'organogenèse et l'apparition de cellules spécialisées, pendant le développement.

La régulation du locus Mrf4/Myf5

[Lola Bajard, Ted Chang, Philippe Daubas, Didier Rocancourt, P. Zammit (Londres)]

Nous étudions la régulation du locus Mrf4/Myf5 dans le but de comprendre comment ces gènes de détermination myogénique sont activés chez l'embryon. Par une approche transgénique, nous avons mis en évidence différentes régions, allant jusqu'à -96 kb en amont de Myf5 qui contrôlent l'expression spatio-temporelle du gène. En particulier, une séquence située entre -58/-48 kb est composée de plusieurs éléments qui ciblent spécifiquement les sites de transcription de Myf5 dans les somites et les membres ainsi que dans les régions du système nerveux central où la protéine n'est pas détectable. Nous avons caractérisé l'élément responsable pour l'expression de Myf5 dans les membres et identifié une molécule candidate qui le régule.

Un autre élément de régulation à -17 kb de Myf5 dirige une expression dans le myotome intercalé ou dans le muscle fœtal suivant la présence du promoteur Mrf4 ou Myf5. Cette régulation promoteur dépendante, constatée chez l'embryo, est aussi frappante chez l'adulte avec une expression dans les cellules satellites ou dans les fibres musculaires, respectivement.

Le fonctionnement de Pax3, par rapport à Pax7

[Mounia Lagha, Didier Montarras, Frédéric Relaix, Didier Rocancourt, Ahmed Mansouri (Göttingen)]

En l'absence de Pax3 plusieurs masses musculaires font défaut, dont celles des membres. Les dérivés de la crête neurale sont également atteints. Le ciblage du gène Pax3 par le gène rapporteur nlacZ et plus récemment GFP, nous a permis de suivre les cellules qui expriment le gène. Pax7, le paralogue de Pax3, est exprimé dans une sous-population de cellules Pax3+ chez l'embryon. Pour comparer les fonctions de Pax7 par rapport à Pax3 nous avons introduit la séquence codante de Pax7 dans le gène Pax3, accompagnée d'un gène rapporteur (IRES-nlacZ).Nous constatons que toutes les fonctions de Pax3 dans le tronc, aussi bien au niveau de la crête neurale que du muscle, sont remplacées par Pax7. Par contre, il y a des défauts de formation des muscles des membres quand Pax7 est exprimé à la place de Pax3 (Figure 1). Il s'agit de problèmes de migration et de réplication des cellules progénitrices provenant des somites. Sur le plan de l'évolution, il est intéressant de constater que chez un céphalochordé tel que Amphioxus, il n'y a qu'un seul gène Pax3/7 qui est exprimé dans les somites. Nous proposons que Pax3 a acquis les fonctions particulières requises pour le développement des membres pendant la radiation des tétrapodes.

Dans le muscle adulte Pax7 est exprimé dans les cellules progénitrices appelées cellules satellites. Chez le mutant Pax7-/- ces cellules sont absentes et il a été proposé que Pax7 est nécessaire pour leur spécification. Nous démontrons que les cellules satellites sont présentes chez le nouveau-né, mais que, en l'absence de Pax7, elle meurent progressivement. Pax3 est également exprimé dans une sous-population de cellules satellites. Tandis que Pax3, de même que Pax7, joue un rôle dans le déclanchement du programme myogénique dans ces cellules, Pax7 a une activité anti-apoptotique unique chez l'adulte.

La régulation du gène d'actine cardiaque

[Marguerite Lemonnier, Sigolène Meilhac, Susanna Molinari, Frédéric Relaix (en collaboration avec B. Schaeffer (Zurich)]

L'actine cardiaque est exprimée dans le muscle du squelette et dans certaines cellules du muscle lisse chez l'embryon aussi bien que dans le muscle cardiaque. Nous avons identifié les séquences activatrices en amont du gène, dont une régulée par Mef2 qui dirige l'expression spécifiquement dans le myocarde chez l'embryon et l'adulte. L'activité d'une autre séquence qui cible le muscle du squelette, dépend des facteurs de régulation myogénique et d'un complexe formé entre Mef2D, l'histone transacétylase CBP/p300 et une protéine Emb de la famille des facteurs de transcription à domaine Pou. Ce complexe, ainsi que le rôle des isoformes de Emb dans le muscle, sont intéressants dans le contexte de la régulation du locus au niveau de la chromatine.

Le gène d'actine cardiaque a été ciblé avec le rapporteur nlaacZ, dont un événement rare de recombinaison intragénique donne une séquence fonctionnelle nlacZ. Les souris qui portent l'allèle nlacZ ont été un outil précieux pour les études d'analyse clonale rétrospective des différents types de muscle dans lesquels l'actine cardiaque s'exprime.

Les cellules souches-mésoangioblastes et l'aorte dorsale

[Milan Esner, Sigolène Meilhac (collaborations avec Giulio Cossu (Milan), Ana Cumano (IP) et Jean-François Nicolas (IP)]

Plusieurs sources de cellules souches qui peuvent peupler le muscle ont été proposées, parmi lesquelles les mésoangioblastes provenant des parois de vaisseaux sanguins sont particulièrement intéressants. Nous étudions ces cellules qui expriment Pax3. Pendant l'embryogenèse, elles apparaissent d'abord dans l'aorte dorsale qui est également une source de cellules souches hématopoiétiques. Nous étudions les liens éventuels entre ces deux types de cellules souches.

Dans le contexte des mésoangioblastes, nous avons effectué une étude de lignage entre les cellules de l'aorte dorsale et du myotome, le premier muscle de squelette qui se forme dans les somites. Les souris avec le gène d'actine-cardiaque ciblé par le rapporteur nlaacZ ont permis une analyse clonale rétrospective qui révèle que les cellules de l'aorte dorsale et les cellules du myotome sont dérivées de cellules progénitrices communes. La plupart de ces cellules, dispersées dans la paroi de l'aorte dorsale, expriment les marqueurs du muscle lisse, mais quelques rares cellules endothéliales sont également présentes dans les clones. Leur présence fourni la preuve d'un progéniteur vasculaire commun.

Cardiogenèse

[Fanny Bajolle, Milan Esner, Sigolène Meilhac, Emmanuel Pecnard, Stéphane Zaffran (collaborations principalement avec Nigel Brown (Londres), Robert Kelly (New York) et Jean-François Nicolas (IP)]

Nous avons démontré, chez la souris, l'existence d'un deuxième champs cardiaque, situé dans le mésoderme pharyngé et source de cellules qui contribuent au myocarde du pôle artériel du cœur. Cette découverte dépendait d'abord des observations sur les lignées de souris transgéniques et du suivi de cellules marquées par injection DiI. Plus récemment, l'analyse clonale rétrospective des cellules du myocarde, avec les souris actine-cardiaquenlaacZ+, à E8.5, a permis de distinguer deux lignages de cellules du myocarde. Les deux contribuent à toutes les parties du cœur, sauf dans le cas du premier à la voie efférente, et dans le cas du deuxième au futur ventricule gauche. Ces résultats indiquent que la contribution du deuxième champ cardiaque est plus large et s'étend au ventricule droit et au pôle véneux. Une autre approche expérimentale a également mis en évidence la différence entre la formation des deux ventricules. Les cultures d'explants du mésoderme pharyngé ou du tube cardiaque, provenant des souris transgéniques qui marquent les différentes parties du cœur, démontrent que la plupart du tube primitif cardiaque a une identité ‘'ventricule gauche''. Les cellules précurseurs du ventricule droit aussi bien que de la voie efférente, se trouvent dans le mésoderme pharyngé. Ces résultats sont appuyés par les expériences de marquage par DiI chez les embryons en culture.

L'analyse clonale rétrospective a aussi permis de charactériser le comportement des cellules progénitrices du myocarde. Après une première phase de croissance dispersive, les cellules du myocarde, à E10.5 et déjà à E8.5, montrent une croissance cohérente et orientée (Figure 2). Il s'agit des premiers exemples de croissance orientée chez les vertébrés, qui préfigure la forme des différents compartiments du cœur.

L'analyse des clones dans la voie efférente du cœur à différents stades du développement fournit des aperçus intéressants sur une régionalisation dorsale/ventrale qui est également indiquée par certains marqueurs transgéniques. Ces outils nous permettent aussi de mettre en évidence une rotation de cette région du cœur, confirmée par le suivi de cellules marquées par DiI. Ce phénomène a des conséquences importantes pour l'alignement des gros vaisseaux et l'interprétation de l'origine des malformations congénitales de cette région du cœur.

Légendes des photos :

Figure 1: L'expression de β-galactosidase à E12.5 dans un embryon Pax3Pax7-IRESnLac/+ montre un développement normal des muscles dans le tronc (A) et membre antérieur (C), en présence d'un allèle fonctionnel de Pax3. Par contre dans un embryon Pax3Pax7-IRESnLacZ/Sp dépourvu d'allèle Pax3 actif et avec un allèle de Pax7 qui remplace un allèle de Pax3, les muscles du tronc sont normaux (B), mais ceux du membre antérieur sont absents (D).

Figure 2: Les amas de cellules β-galactosidase positives, dans le ventricule droit d'un cœur de souris α-actine cardiaquenLaacZ/+ à E10.5 démontrent une croissance orientée qui converge sur un point central (*) et s'étend vers l'extérieur du ventricule qui est en expansion.

Mots-clés: Myogenèse, Pax3, Pax7, Myf5, Cardiogenèse, Lignages Cellulaires


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr