Unit: Innate Host Defense and Inflammation - Inserm E336

Director: Chignard Michel

Our studies concern the innate defense and the inflammation of the lung and use different in vitro approaches as well as animal models. In the context of infection, we investigate the role of epithelial cells, alveolar macrophages, polymorphonuclear neutrophils and monocytes. A specific endeavor is focused on different molecules such as Toll-like receptors (TLR), the urokinase receptor (CD87) and also secreted phospholipases A2 (PLA2) (see figure).

The lung is the site of various diseases for which the mechanisms of innate defense and lung inflammation play a major role. Acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), cystic fibrosis or infectious pneumonias from bacterial, fungal or viral origins, are typical lung pathologies. The induction of innate defense is a beneficial process but its exacerbation may lead to a pathologic inflammatory status. Therefore, the major aim of our research is to contribute to the qualitative and quantitative understanding of the mechanisms involved in these diseases, which would allow to target the events enhancing innate immunity without exacerbating the inflammatory process.

Cellular interactions in pulmonary airspaces (Michel Chignard, Dominique Pidard and Mustapha Si-Tahar)

Pulmonary cells are continuously exposed to microbial challenges as a result of breathing. For instance, influenza A virus causes pulmonary inflammation and exacerbates chronic lung diseases. Bronchial epithelial cells play an important role in the pathogenesis of this viral infection. It is recognized that immune myeloid cells express TLR, which play a major role in detecting microbes and initiating innate immune responses. In contrast, little is known about the expression of TLR in pulmonary epithelial cells per se, their distribution within the cell, their function as well as the signaling pathways involved. Moreover, while many of the molecular events in influenza A virus replication have been described, the underlying mechanisms by which virus-epithelium interaction triggers the inflammation process have yet to be fully characterized. The discovery of TLR3 as a key receptor for viral double-stranded RNA (dsRNA) led us to investigate the contribution of this receptor to the activation of pulmonary epithelial cells by dsRNA and influenza A virus. We showed: (i) that TLR3 is constitutively expressed in respiratory epithelial cells in an intracellular compartment; (ii) that TLR3 expression is upregulated either by influenza A virus or by purified dsRNA, but not by other major inflammatory mediators such as TNFα and IL-1α (iii) that TLR3 plays a central role in the immune response of bronchial epithelial cells triggered by these stimuli; and (iv) that influenza A virus and dsRNA induce epithelial cell activation through MAPK, PI3-K/Akt signaling and TRIF- but not MyD88-dependent activation of the transcription components NF-κB and IRF/ISRE. Ultimately, this signal transduction elicits an epithelial response that includes the secretion of the cytokines IL-8, IL-6, RANTES and interferon-α and the up-regulation of the major adhesion molecule ICAM-1.

During the process of infection and inflammation in the lungs, proteinases released by either or both the host cells (alveolar macrophages, polymorphonuclear neutrophils, epithelial cells) and bacterial pathogens (such as Pseudomonas aeruginosa in cystic fibrosis patients) play a major role as effectors of immunity, but also as deleterious factors in various pathologies, such as ARDS and cystic fibrosis. A membrane receptor ubiquitously expressed in the lungs, the urokinase receptor (uPAR/CD87), has an important place in the recruitment of inflammatory cells and in tissue repair. Its activity is known to be regulated by proteinases, either positively (expression of a chemotactic motif) or negatively (loss of functional domains for cell adherence). We have (i) analysed the capacity of proteinases secreted by leucocytes, epithelial cells or bacterias to cleave CD87, (ii) identified for each of them the cleavage sites (collaboration with the Plate-forme de Protéomique), and (iii) started to investigate the impact of the cleavage on some of the receptor functions (cell adherence and chemotaxis). We also established that a soluble form of CD87 is present in the bronchoalveolar lavage fluid (BAL) of patients with ARDS, which concentration is related to the presence of certain leucocyte proteinases, and which could bear biological activities, which remain to be evaluated.

Two experimental models of the innate immune response of the lung to infection were set up in mice. First of all, an infection induced by Aspergillus fumigatus, a fungus responsible for invasive pulmonary aspergillosis (IPA) in immunosuppressed patients. Our approach was centered on the evaluation of different parameters of the innate response during the progression of IPA as a function of two different immunosuppressive treatments, namely by a corticosteroid, and by a chemotherapeutic agent. At different time points after infection, host responses were compared in terms of survival, pulmonary production of pro- and anti-inflammatory cytokines, airway leukocyte trafficking, lung injury, respiratory distress and fungal development. It was found that according to the type of immunosuppression, the pathogenesis of IPA involves a predominant role of either the development of the fungus or the adverse response of the host. We also showed that TLR2 plays an important role in the immune response of the host to A. fumigatus. Thus, alveolar macrophages from TLR2-deficient mice produced less cytokines and chemokines than those from wild-type animals in response to the fungus. We also showed that during in vivo infection, the respiratory distress and the pathogen burden were higher in the TLR2-deficient mice and their survival was shorter (collaboration with the Unité des Aspergillus and the Unité de Recherche et d'Expertise Histotechnologie et Pathologie). With the second model, we studied the host response to Pseudomonas aeruginosa infection. The same parameters were evaluated and the results evidenced that LPS expressed by these bacteria and recognized as a virulence factor, does not play a role in the death of the animals. Thus, TLR4-deficient mice, as well as TLR2-deficient mice, showed a survival time similar to that of wild-type animals. Nonetheless, the synthesis of different cytokines was suppressed, while that of others was maintained. It is suggested that some patterns expressed by P. aeruginosa are compulsory for its recognition by host cells and trigger the synthesis of specific cytokines that are beneficial for the fight of the infection (collaboration with the Unité de Recherche et d'Expertise Histotechnologie et Pathologie).

Mechanisms of regulation and roles of phospholipases A2 in lung inflammatory diseases (Lhousseine Touqui)

PLA2s are a family of enzymes that catalyze the hydrolysis of phospholipids at the sn-2 position, generating lysophospholipids and free fatty acids, especially arachidonic acid (AA). Mammalian PLA2s can be divided into two major classes according to their molecular mass and location: cytosolic PLA2 (cPLA2) and secreted PLA2 (sPLA2). This class is composed by various types such as sPLA2-I, sPLA2-II, sPLA2-III, sPLA2-V and sPLA2-X. sPLA2-IIA, the best-known enzyme of this group, is involved in the pathogenesis of various inflammatory diseases. We examined the ability of sPLA2-IIA to kill Bacillus anthracis, the etiological agent of anthrax. Our results showed that both germinated B. anthracis spores and encapsulated bacilli were sensitive to the bactericidal activity of recombinant sPLA2-IIA in vitro. In contrast, non-germinated spores were resistant. This bactericidal effect was correlated to the ability of sPLA2-IIA to hydrolyze bacterial membrane phospholipids. Alveolar macrophages, the major pulmonary source of sPLA2-IIA released enough sPLA2-IIA to kill extracellular B. anthracis. The production of sPLA2-IIA in these cells was significantly inhibited by the B. anthracis lethal toxin. Human BALF from ARDS patients are known to contain sPLA2-IIA; Bactericidal activity against B. anthracis was detected in a high percentage of these samples. This anthracidal activity was correlated to the levels of sPLA2-IIA and was abolished by a sPLA2-IIA inhibitor. These results suggest that sPLA2-IIA may play a role in the innate host defense against B. anthracis infection and that the lethal toxin may help the bacteria to escape from the bactericidal action of sPLA2-IIA by inhibiting the production of this enzyme. The mechanisms involved in this inhibition are under investigation.

AA is the precursor of prostaglandins produced by cyclooxygenase (COX), an ubiquitous enzyme which exists in cells in two different forms, a constitutive one named COX-1 and an inducible one named COX-2. Previous studies showed high levels of AA metabolites in the BAL of patients with cystic fibrosis as compared to nomal subjects. Cystic fibrosis is characterized by an exacerbated inflammatory pulmonary response with excessive production of inflammatory mediators. We investigated the impact of cystic fibrosis transmembrane conductance regulator (CFTR) dysfunction on prostaglandin E2 (PGE2) production and sPLA2-IIA expression. We showed that the human respiratory epithelial cell line CFT-2, which bears the Δ F508 mutation on CFTR, released more PGE2 than control cell line NT-1. This release was attenuated after experimentally-induced re-trafficking of the Δ F508-CFTR at the plasma membrane. In parallel, we observed that intranasal instillation of LPS to mice induced an increase of PGE2 concentrations in BAL which was higher in CFTR-/- mice than in littermate controls. Next, we showed that sPLA2-IIA expression occurred at higher levels in CFT-2 than in NT-1 cells and that this expression was enhanced by LPS and PGE2. Higher activation of NF-κ B was observed in CFT-2 cells compared to NT-1 cells. We suggest that the lack of the Δ F508-CFTR in the plasma membrane results in a PGE2 overproduction and an enhanced sPLA2-IIA expression. This expression is up-regulated by NF-κ B and amplified by PGE2 via an as yet unidentified signalling pathway.

Keywords: innate immunity/inflammation, infection, epithelial cells, leukocytes, Toll-like receptors, proteinases phospholipases A2, CD87, pneumopathy, cystic fibrosis


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Défense innée et Inflammation - Inserm E336

Responsable: Chignard Michel

Nos travaux concernent la défense innée et l'inflammation au niveau pulmonaire et utilisent diverses approches in vitro ainsi que des modèles animaux. Dsans un contexte de pathologies infectieuses, nous étudions le rôle des cellules épithéliales respiratoires, des macrophages alvéolaires, des polynucléaires neutrophiles et des monocytes. Une attention plus spécifique est centrée sur certaines molécules comme les "Toll-like receptors" (TLR), le récepteur de l'urokinase (CD87), ou encore les phospholipases A2 (PLA2) sécrétées. (voir figure).

Les poumons sont le siège de différentes pathologies dans lesquelles les mécanismes de défense innée et d'inflammation interviennent de façon essentielle. Parmi celles-ci figurent des pathologies majeures telles que le syndrome de détresse respiratoire aiguë (SDRA), la broncho-pneumopathie chronique obstructive (BPCO), la mucoviscidose, ou encore les pneumopathies infectieuses d'origine bactérienne, fongique ou virale. Le processus de défense innée est naturellement bénéfique, mais son exacerbation peut conduire à des états inflammatoires préjudiciables. C'est dans ce contexte que nos travaux se proposent d'apporter une meilleure connaissance qualitative et quantitative des mécanismes impliqués, et qui pourrait permettre de cibler les évènements favorisant la défense innée sans augmenter la composante inflammatoire.

Interactions cellulaires dans l'environnement aérien pulmonaire (Michel Chignard, Dominique Pidard et Mustapha Si-Tahar)

Au cours du cycle respiratoire, les espaces aériens sont exposés à une multitude de particules et de micro-organismes (bactéries, champignons, virus). Les cellules du système immunitaire identifient les éléments infectieux au moyen notamment des TLR. Le rôle de ces récepteurs dans la reconnaissance des pathogènes et de leurs produits par la cellule épithéliale pulmonaire n'est pas clairement établi. Les mécanismes d'altérations de l'immunité de l'hôte sous l'effet de l'infection virale sont également mal connus. Parmi les trois types de virus influenza (A, B, C), seuls les types A et B sont responsables des épidémies annuelles de grippe. Sur le plan fondamental, un récepteur appelé TLR3, spécifique des ARN-double brin (ARNdb) d'origine virale, a récemment été identifié. Les travaux s'intéressant à l'expression de ce récepteur se sont largement focalisés sur les leucocytes. Or, la cellule épithéliale pulmonaire constitue la cellule cible principale des virus respiratoires. Nous avons tout d'abord démontré par RT-PCR que TLR3 est constitutivement exprimé au niveau des cellules épithéliales alvéolaires et bronchiques humaines normales (A549, BEAS-2B, NT-1) et mucoviscidosique (CFT-2). Par ailleurs, nous avons établi que l'expression de ce récepteur est positivement régulée par son propre ligand, l'ARNdb, ainsi que par le virus de la grippe influenza (souche A/Scotland/20/74(H3N2)) mais pas par d'autres médiateurs inflammatoires tels que le tumor necrosis factor-α (TNFα) et l'interleukine (IL)-1α . Nous avons également détaillé le mécanisme de signalisation par lequel un ARNdb synthétique, le poly(I :C), ainsi que le virus influenza induisent l'activation de la cellule épithéliale pulmonaire. Cette signalisation cellulaire dépend de TLR3 et implique les mitogen-activated protein kinases (MAPK) et la phosphatidylinositol 3-kinase/Akt (PI3-K/Akt) ainsi que la molécule adaptatrice TRIF mais ne dépend pas en revanche de MyD88. Cette cascade d'évènements aboutit à l'activation des facteurs transcriptionnels NF-κB et IRF/ISRE et à la sécrétion de l'IL-8, de l'IL-6, de RANTES et de l'interféron-α et à l'augmentation de l'expression d'ICAM-1, un récepteur majeur de l'adhérence cellulaire.

Au cours d'un processus infectieux et inflammatoire pulmonaire, les protéinases libérées tant par les cellules de l'hôte (macrophages alvéolaires, polynucléaires neutrophiles, cellules épithéliales) que par des pathogènes bactériens (tel que Pseudomonas aeruginosa chez les patients mucoviscidosiques) jouent un rôle important comme effecteurs de l'immunité, mais aussi comme facteurs délétères dans diverses pathologies, telles que le SDRA ou la mucoviscidose. Un récepteur membranaire exprimé de façon ubiquiste dans le poumon, le récepteur de l'urokinase (uPAR/CD87), joue un rôle important dans la recrutement des cellules inflammatoires et dans la réparation tissulaire. Son activité est connue pour être régulée par des protéinases, positivement (expression d'un motif chimiotactique) ou négativement (perte de domaines fonctionnels d'adhérence cellulaire). Nous avons (i) analysé la capacité de protéinases leucocytaires, épithéliales et bactériennes de cliver CD87, (ii) établi pour chacune les sites de clivage (collaboration avec la Plate-forme de Protéomique), et (iii) commencé à analyser l'impact du clivage sur les fonctions du récepteur (adhérence cellulaire et chimiotactisme). Nous avons également montré que chez des patients atteint d'un SDRA, il existe, dans le liquide de lavage broncho-alvéolaire (LBA), une forme soluble de CD87, dont la concentration va de paire avec la présence de protéinases leucocytaires, et qui pourrait être porteuse d'activités biologiques, qui restent à évaluer.

Deux modèles expérimentaux d'étude de la réponse innée pulmonaire au cours d'infections ont par ailleurs été réalisés chez la souris. Tout d'abord, une infection par Aspergillus fumigatus, un champignon responsable de l'aspergillose pulmonaire invasive (API) chez les patients immunodéprimés. Notre approche a été centrée sur l'analyse, au cours de la progression de l'API, de différents paramètres caractéristiques de la réponse innée, et en fonction de deux types d'immunosuppression: soit par corticothérapie, soit par chimiothérapie neutropéniante. A différents temps après l'induction de l'infection, les réponses de l'hôte ont été comparées en termes de survie, de production pulmonaire de cytokines pro- et anti-inflammatoires, d'afflux de cellules dans les espaces aériens, de lésions pulmonaires, de détresse respiratoire et de développement fongique. Nous avons observé qu'en fonction du type d'immunosuppression, la pathogénèse de l'API impliquait plus spécifiquement un rôle prédominant soit du développement fongique, soit de la réponse exacerbée et néfaste de l'hôte. Nous avons également montré que TLR2 jouait un rôle important dans la réponse immune vis-à-vis d'A. fumigatus. Ainsi, les macrophages alvéolaires des souris déficientes pour ce récepteur, produisent moins de cytokines et de chimiokines que ceux des animaux sauvages en réponse au champignon. Nous avons également mis en évidence qu'au cours de l'infection in vivo, la détresse respiratoire ainsi que la charge en pathogènes sont plus importantes chez les souris déficientes, et que leur survie est diminuée (collaboration avec l'unité des Aspergillus et celle de Recherche et d'Expertise Histotechnologie et Pathologie). Le second modèle a permis d'étudier la réponse de l'hôte à Pseudomonas aeruginosa. Les mêmes paramètres ont été étudiés et les résultats ont mis en évidence, dans ce type de pneumopathie, une absence de rôle du LPS, un facteur de virulense exprimé par ces bactéries, en terme de mort des animaux. Ainsi les souris déficientes pour TLR4, et également pour TLR2, ont une mortalité semblable à celle de souris sauvages. Toutefois, les synthèses de certaines cytokines sont effondrées alors que d'autres sont maintenues. Il apparaît que certains motifs exprimés par P. aeruginosa sont primordiaux pour sa reconnaissance par l'hôte et sont capables d'induire la synthèse de cytokines spécifiques qui sont bénéfiques pour combattre l'infection (collaboration avec l'unité de Recherche et d'Expertise Histotechnologie et Pathologie).

Mécanismes de régulation et rôles des phospholipases A2 dans les pathologies inflammatoires pulmonaires (Lhousseine Touqui)

Les PLA2 sont des enzymes qui hydrolysent les phospholipides membranaires en position sn-2, conduisant à la production de lysophospholipides et d'acides gras libres, en particulier de l'acide arachidonique (AA).

Ces enzymes constituent une vaste famille de protéines, parmi lesquelles on trouve les PLA2 intracellulaires, dont la PLA2 cytosolique (cPLA2) est la plus étudiée, et les PLA2 sécrétées (sPLA2). Chez les mammifères, celles-ci sont subdivisées en plusieurs types comprenant sPLA2-I, sPLA2-II, sPLA2-III, sPLA2-V et sPLA2-X. Parmi ces enzymes, la sPLA2-IIA joue un rôle majeur dans le développement des maladies inflammatoires. Nous avons montré que la sPLA2-IIA exerce un effet bactéricide vis-à-vis de Bacillus anthtracis, l'agent étiologique de l'anthrax. Cet effet anthracide s'exerce aussi bien sur les bacilles capsulés que non capsulés et est corrélé à la capacité de la sPLA2-IIA à hydrolyser les phospholipides de la membrane des bactéries. Cependant, la sPLA2-IIA n'a aucun effet sur les formes sporulées de la bactérie. Par ailleurs, une activité anthracide liée à la sPLA2-IIA a été mise en évidence dans les LBA humains et le surnageant de macrophages alvéolaires, qui représentent la source principale de la sPLA2-IIA dans les tissus pulmonaires. De manière intéressante, nous avons observé que l'expression de la sPLA2-IIA par les macrophages alvéolaires était inhibée par la toxine létale de B. anthracis. Les mécanismes moléculaires impliqués dans cette inhibition sont en cours d'élucidation.

L'AA est le précurseur des prostaglandines produites par la cyclooxygènase (COX), une enzyme ubiquiste qui existe dans les cellules sous deux formes, une forme constitutive ou COX-1 et une forme inductible ou COX-2. Des données de la littérature ont montré que les concentrations des métabolites de l'AA dans les LBA de patients souffrant de mucoviscidose sont plus élevées que celles observées chez des sujets sains. Par ailleurs, une libération accrue de l'AA a été observée in vitro dans des cellules épithéliales humaines portant la mutation Δ F508 de la protéine CFTR (cellules CFT-2) en comparaison avec des cellules épithéliales témoins (cellules NT-1). Nous avons montré une surproduction de la prostaglandine E2 (PGE2) et une induction de l'expression de la sPLA2-IIA dans les cellules CFT-2 plus élevée que celle observée dans les cellules NT-1, au cours de la stimulation par le LPS. Nos études ont également montré que le LPS induit chez les souris CFTR -/- une inflammation pulmonaire exacerbée, accompagnée d'une augmentation de l'expression de la sPLA2-IIA et de la production de PGE2 en comparaison avec les souris CFTR +/+. Enfin, nous avons mis en évidence l'existence d'un "cross-talk" entre le CFTR et la sPLA2-IIA dans les cellules épithéliales et montré que la mutation Δ F508 du canal CFTR conduisait à une surexpression de cette enzyme par un mécanisme dépendant de NF-κ B. Ces résultats pourraient expliquer l'augmentation de la production des eicosanoïdes et l'exacerbation de la réaction inflammatoire observée chez les patients atteints de mucoviscidose

Mots-clés: immunité innée/inflammation, infection, cellules épithéliales, leucocytes, Toll-like receptors, protéinases, phospholipases A2, CD87, pneumopathie, mucoviscidose


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr