Unit: Biophysics of Macromolecules and their Interactions (Platform)

Director: Patrick ENGLAND

The Centre of Biophysics of Macromolecules and their Interactions (french acronym: PFBMI) is a resource facility including an important number of methodologies allowing the study of the physico-chemical properties of biological macromolecules and their complexes.

The 12 instruments managed by this facility are open to all investigators present on the campus of the Pasteur Institute, as well as to the scientific community in general.

An e-mail address, biophysique@pasteur.fr, is available for any person wishing to submit a project to the PFBMI.

Created in july 2002, the Centre of Biophysics of Macromolecules and their Interactions regroups a set of physico-chemical technologies which is unique in France. These allow the characterisation of both intrinsic properties of macromolecules (stability, folding, self-association, …) and those of the interactions in which they are involved (thermodynamic and kinetic parameters, stoichiometry, …).

Available technologies:

* Surface plasmon resonance (scientific manager : Patrick ENGLAND ; technician : Sylviane HOOS).

Figure 1

The Biacore 2000 instrument (Biacore ; http://www.biacore.com) allows the real-time analysis of molecular interactions. To that avail, one of the partners of the interaction is immobilised, covalently or non-covalently, and the other partner is brought in contact with this surface by a continuous flow of buffer. This technique is especially well adapted to the measurement of the rates of association (knn) and dissociation (koff) of biological macromolecules. The instrument is entirely automated, which makes it easier to accomplish highly reproducible series of experiments.

* Microcalorimetry (scientific manager : Francis SCHAEFFER ; technician : Sylviane HOOS).

Microcalorimetry allows the direct, thorough and accurate thermodynamic characterisation of interactions between molecules in solution and of biochemical reactions in general. Two types of calorimeters (Microcal ; http://www.microcalorimetry.com/) are available at the PFBMI, depending on the focus of the study that one wishes to perform:

Isothermal titration calorimetry (MCS-ITC and VP-ITC models): principally dedicated to the study of molecular interactions. By measuring the reaction heat at constant temperature, ITC allows the direct determination of the stoichimetry (n), the equilibrium constant (Ka), and the variations of enthalpy (ΔH) and entropy (ΔS) induced by an association reaction. By performing titrations at several temperatures, it is possible to measure the variation of heat capacity (ΔCp) related to the formation of a molecular complex.

Differential scanning calorimetry (VP-DSC model): principally dedicated to the study of the thermal stability of macromolecules and their complexes. By measuring the variation of heat capacity (ΔCp) as a function of temperature, DSC allows to determine directly the variations of enthalpy (ΔH) and entropy (ΔS) and the melting temperature (Tm) related to each structural transition. The Pressure Perturbation Calorimetry accessory (PPC), the first of its type in France, allows the determination of the volumetric properties of macromolecules, such as their coefficient of thermal expansion.

* Circular dichroism (scientific manager : Alain CHAFFOTTE).

Figure 2

The PFBMI has acquired in 2003 an Aviv 215 circular dichroism instrument (http://www.avivbiomedical.com), including total fluorescence and titration accessories. It also has an older spectropolarimeter (model CD6 ; Jobin-Yvon Horiba) equipped with a "stopped-flow" accessory (Bio-Logic).

The study of macromolecules (and particularly proteins) by circular dichroism allows the analysis of the secondary and tertiary structures. For proteins, the measure of circular dichroism in the far UV (180-260 nm) allows to determine the secondary structure content, while the near UV signals (250-330 nm) give information about the tertiary folding.

The thermal stability of the macromolecular folding can be determined by applying a temperature gradient to the sample. In a similar fashion, it is possible to quantify the conformational stability of a molecule at constant temperature as well as the structural changes induced by the formation of complexes by performing a titration, respectively by a denaturing agent or a ligand. Finally, kinetic studies can be performed with a rapid mixing device ("stopped-flow").

* Infrared spectroscopy (scientific manager : Alain CHAFFOTTE).

Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy (FTIR) allows the study of the secondary structure of macromolecules, by analysing the absorption frequencies of characteristic chemical moieties (notably the peptide bond in the case of proteins). This technique yields data that complement those provided by circular dichroism, and is especially well suited to the study of the secondary structure of proteins with a high content of ß-sheet structures. The instrument available at the PFBMI (MB104 ; ABB Bomem ; http://www.abb.com/analytical) has been equipped in 2004 with a DuraSamplIR attenuated total reflectance accessory (SensIR; http://www.sensir.com/newsensir/in_lab/DuraSamplIRII.html).

* Analytical ultracentrifugation (scientific manager : Thierry ROSE).

Figure 3

The hydrodynamic behaviour and the sedimentation coefficient of a macromolecule are related to its volume, shape, density and mass. Analytical ultracentrifugation allows a direct measurement of the mass of a macromolecule in solution: if it is an oligomer or a non-covalent complex, the number of chains that make up the native molecule or the stoichiometry of the complex can therefore be determined. Information can also be inferred about the conformation of macromolecules and the equilibrium constant of their assemblies, as well as about the homogeneity of samples. The PFBMI has acquired in 2004 a ProteomeLab XL-I analytical ultracentrifuge equipped with a double detection system (UV/visible and Rayleigh interference optics), which adds to an already available Optima XL-A ultracentrifuge which has been recently upgraded (Beckman-Coulter ; http://www.beckman.com/products/splashpage/xla/default.asp).

* Fluorescence spectroscopy (scientific manager : Fabrice AGOU).

Fluorescence spectroscopy is a versatile technique that allows the analysis, both at equilibrium or in real time, of the variations of the environment of fluorescent probes, whether these are intrinsic (notably tryptophans in the case of proteins) or extrinsic (synthetic fluorophores). Its applications range from the study of the conformational stability of macromolecules, to the characterisation of molecular interactions and the quantification of enzymatic activities. The instruments available at the PFBMI allow the measurement of both fluorescence intensity and fluorescence polarisation (or anisotropy).

The PFBMI has both a high-sensitivity standard fluorimeter (Quantamaster C60 ; Photon Technology International ; http://www.pti-nj.com/quantamaster.html) and a stopped-flow instrument (KinetAsyst SF61-DX2 ; Hi-Tech ; http://www.hi-techsci.com/), which allows the study of fast reactions with a resolution better than 0.1 s.

* Dynamic light scattering (scientific managers: Ahmed HAOUZ and Patrick ENGLAND)

The study of particles in solution by dynamic light scattering allows the quantification of their diffusion rate and of their hydrodynamic radius (which is related to their mass and their shape). The instrument available at the Pasteur Institute (DynaProMS800 ; Protein Solutions; http://www.wyatt.com) is especially well suited for the study of the homogeneity of macromolecular preparations, and allows the detection of high molecular weight aggregates with a very good sensitivity.

Activities:

The PFBMI has participated in 2003 and 2004 in more than 50 projects, involving 18 Research Units of the Pasteur Institute, from 8 different Scientific Departments, and 10 laboratories from other institutions. The activity has been evenly distributed between routine services and more thorough collaborative work.

The PFBMI has notably been involved in the Federative Horizontal Program (GPH) on Tuberculosis.

Many projects have required the use of two or more methodologies available at the PFBMI.

11 peer-reviewed scientific publications co-authored by scientific supervisors of the PFBMI have resulted from collaborations within or beyond the Pasteur Institute.

Photos :

Fig. 1 : Biacore 2000 instrument : study of the kinetics of interaction between macromolecules by surface plasmon resonance.

Fig. 2 : Aviv215 Circular Dichroism Spectropolarimeter.

Fig. 3 : Results of an analytical ultracentrifugation experiment: time-course profiles and determination of the sedimentation coefficient.

Keywords: physico-chemistry, spectroscopy, thermodynamics, kinetics, proteins, saccharides, nucleic acids


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Biophysique des macromolécules et de leurs interactions (Plate-forme)

Responsable: Patrick ENGLAND

La Plate-forme de Biophysique des Macromolécules et de leurs Interactions fédère un ensemble important de méthodologies permettant d'étudier les propriétés physico-chimiques des macromolécules biologiques et de leurs complexes.

Les 12 appareils gérés par la plate-forme sont accessibles à tous les chercheurs du campus pasteurien ainsi qu'aux laboratoires extérieurs.

Une adresse unique, biophysique@pasteur.fr, est à la disposition de toute personne désirant soumettre un projet à la plate-forme.

Créée en juillet 2002, la Plate-forme de Biophysique des Macromolécules et de leurs Interactions (PFBMI) regroupe un ensemble de technologies physico-chimiques unique en France, permettant de caractériser à la fois les propriétés intrinsèques des macromolécules (stabilité, repliement, auto-association, …) et celles des interactions dans lesquelles elles sont impliquées (paramètres thermodynamiques et cinétiques, stœchiométrie, …).

Technologies disponibles:

* Résonance plasmonique de surface  (responsable scientifique : Patrick ENGLAND ; responsable technique : Sylviane HOOS).

Figure 1

L'appareil Biacore 2000 (fabricant : Biacore ; http://www.biacore.com) permet l'analyse des interactions moléculaires en temps réel. Dans ce but, un des partenaires de l'interaction est immobilisé, de manière covalente ou non covalente, et l'autre partenaire passe au contact de cette surface grâce à un flux continu de tampon. Cette technique est particulièrement adaptée à la détermination des vitesses d'association (kon) et de dissociation (koff) entre macromolécules biologiques. L'appareil est entièrement automatisable, ce qui facilite la réalisation de séries d'expériences hautement reproductibles.

* Microcalorimétrie (responsable scientifique : Francis SCHAEFFER ; responsable technique : Sylviane HOOS).

La microcalorimétrie permet la caractérisation thermodynamique directe, complète et précise des interactions entre molécules en solution, et des réactions biochimiques en général. Deux types de calorimètres (fabricant : Microcal ; http://www.microcalorimetry.com/) sont disponibles au sein de la PFBMI, suivant les grandeurs que l'on veut mesurer.

Le calorimètre de titration isotherme (modèles MCS-ITC et VP-ITC) : celui-ci est principalement dédié à l'étude des interactions moléculaires. En mesurant la chaleur de réaction à température constante, l'ITC permet la détermination directe de la stœchiométrie (n), de la constante d'équilibre (Ka), et des variations d'enthalpie (Δ H) et d'entropie (ΔS) de la réaction d'association. L'analyse à plusieurs températures donne la variation de la capacité calorifique (ΔCp) associée à la formation du complexe moléculaire.

Le calorimètre à balayage de température (modèle VP-DSC) : celui-ci est principalement dédié à l'étude de la stabilité thermique des macromolécules et de leurs complexes. En mesurant la variation de la capacité calorifique (ΔCp) en fonction de la température, le DSC permet de déterminer directement les variations d'enthalpie (ΔH) et d'entropie (ΔS), et la température de demi-transition (Tm), associées à chaque transition structurale. L'accessoire de Calorimétrie à Perturbation de Pression (PPC), le premier de son genre en France, permet la caractérisation des propriétés volumétriques des macromolécules, et notamment de leur coefficient d'expansion thermique.

* Dichroïsme circulaire (responsable scientifique : Alain CHAFFOTTE). 

Figure 2

La PFBMI acquis en 2003 un appareil de dichroïsme circulaire Aviv 215 (http://www.avivbiomedical.com), incluant des accessoires de fluorescence totale et de titration. Elle dispose par ailleurs d'un spectropolarimètre (modèle CD6 ; fabricant : Jobin-Yvon Horiba) muni d'un accessoire "stopped-flow" (Bio-Logic)

L'étude des macromolécules (et notamment des protéines) par dichroïsme circulaire permet l'analyse de leur repliement secondaire et tertiaire. Pour les protéines, la mesure du dichroïsme circulaire dans l'UV lointain (180-260 nm) permet de déterminer leur contenu en structure secondaire, alors que les signaux dans l'UV proche (250-330 nm) fournissent des informations sur leur repliement tertiaire.

La stabilité thermique du repliement peut être déterminée en appliquant un gradient de température à l'échantillon. De façon similaire, il est possible de quantifier la stabilité conformationnelle d'une molécule à température constante et les changements structuraux induits par la formation de complexes en effectuant un titrage, respectivement par un agent dénaturant ou un ligand. Finalement, des études cinétiques peuvent être effectuées grâce à un accessoire de mélange rapide ("stopped-flow").

* Spectroscopie infrarouge (responsable scientifique : Alain CHAFFOTTE).

La spectroscopie infrarouge à transformée de Fourier (FTIR) permet d'étudier la structure secondaire de macromolécules, en analysant les fréquences d'absorption de certains groupements chimiques caractéristiques (notamment la liaison peptidique en ce qui concerne les protéines). Cette technique apporte des informations complémentaires de celles qui sont fournies par dichroïsme circulaire, et est particulièrement adaptée à l'étude de la structure secondaire des protéines comportant une forte proportion de structures en feuillet ß. L'appareil dont dispose la PFBMI (MB104 ; fabricant : ABB Bomem ; http://www.abb.com/analytical) a été équipé en 2004 d'un accessoire de réflectance totale atténuée (ATR) DuraSamplIR (SensIR; http://www.sensir.com/newsensir/in_lab/DuraSamplIRII.html).

* Ultracentrifugation analytique (responsable scientifique : Thierry ROSE). 

Figure 3

Le comportement hydrodynamique d'une macromolécule et son coefficient de sédimentation sont liés au volume, à la forme, à la densité et à la masse de la molécule. L'ultracentrifugation analytique permet de mesurer directement la masse d'une macromolécule en solution : s'il s'agit d'un oligomère ou d'un complexe non covalent, le nombre de chaînes associées au sein de la molécule native ou la stœchiométrie du complexe peuvent ainsi être déterminés. Des informations peuvent également être obtenues sur la conformation des macromolécules et la constante d'équilibre des assemblages, ainsi que sur l'homogénéité des échantillons. La PFBMI a acquis en 2004 une ultracentrifugeuse ProteomeLab XL-I dotée d'un double système de détection UV/visible et interférentiel, et dispose en outre d'une ultracentrifugeuse Optima XL-A récemment améliorée (fabricant : Beckman-Coulter ; http://www.beckman.com/products/splashpage/xla/default.asp).

* Spectroscopie de fluorescence (responsable scientifique : Fabrice AGOU).

La spectroscopie de fluorescence est une technique versatile qui permet d'analyser, à l'équilibre ou en temps réel, les variations de l'environnement de sondes fluorescentes intrinsèques (notamment tryptophanes pour les protéines) ou extrinsèques (fluorophores synthétiques). Elle peut s'appliquer à la fois à l'étude de la stabilité conformationnelle des macromolécules, à la caractérisation des interactions moléculaires et à la quantification d'activités enzymatiques. Deux types de grandeurs peuvent être quantifiés avec les appareils présents à l'Institut Pasteur: l'intensité et la polarisation (ou anisotropie) de la fluorescence.

La PFBMI dispose à la fois d'un fluorimètre standard à forte sensibilité (Quantamaster C60 ; fabricant : Photon Technology International ; http://www.pti-nj.com/quantamaster.html), et d'un appareil "stopped-flow" (KinetAsyst SF61-DX2 ; fabricant : Hi-Tech ; http://www.hi-techsci.com/) permettant de déterminer les propriétés de réactions rapides avec une résolution de quelques dizaines de milli-secondes.

* Diffusion dynamique de la lumière (responsables scientifiques : Ahmed HAOUZ et Patrick ENGLAND).

L'étude de particules en solution par diffusion dynamique de la lumière permet de quantifier leur vitesse de diffusion, et d'en déduire leur rayon hydrodynamique (grandeur qui dépend notamment de leur masse et de leur forme). L'appareil dont dispose l'Institut Pasteur (DynaProMS800 ; fabricant : Protein Solutions ; http://www.wyatt.com) est particulièrement adapté à l'étude de l'homogénéité de préparations macromoléculaires, et permet de détecter la présence d'agrégats de haut poids moléculaire avec une très forte sensibilité.

Activités :

La PFBMI s'est investie en 2003 et 2004 dans plus de 50 projets, impliquant 18 entités de l'Institut Pasteur, appartenant à 8 départements scientifiques différents, ainsi qu'une dizaine de laboratoires extérieurs. L'activité a été à peu près également répartie entre prestations de service et collaborations plus approfondies. La PFBMI est notamment impliquée dans le Grand Programme Horizontal " Tuberculose ".

De nombreux projets ont été de nature transversale, faisant appel à deux méthodologies ou plus de la PFBMI.

Les collaborations établies ont abouti à 11 publications dans des revues internationales à comité de lecture depuis 2002.

Situation géographique :

Fin 2004, la PFBMI est localisée sur 4 sites : Metchnikoff (bureau de la Plate-forme, résonance plasmonique de surface, microcalorimétrie, dichroïsme circulaire, diffusion dynamique de la lumière), Monod (fluorimétrie), Duclaux (spectroscopie infrarouge) et Lwoff (dichroïsme circulaire).

Légendes des photos :

Fig. 1 : Appareil Biacore 2000 : étude des cinétiques d'interaction entre macromolécules par résonance plasmonique de surface.

Fig. 2 : Appareil de dichroïsme circulaire : spectropolarimètre Aviv215.

Fig. 3 : Résultats d'une expérience d'ultracentrifugation analytique : profils en temps réel et détermination du coefficient de sédimentation.

Mots-clés: physico-chimie, spectroscopie, thermodynamique, cinétique, protéines, sucres, acides nucléiques


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr