Unit: Malaria Biology and Genetics

Director: Robert Ménard

Our laboratory works on Plasmodium, the agent of malaria, and particularly on two phases of the parasite life cycle that are targets of vaccination strategies. The first is the transmigration of the parasite (or ookinete) through the mosquito intestinal barrier. This phase is the target of altruistic vaccines, which do not protect the vaccinated individuals but block transmission of the parasite. The second phase is the so-called pre-erythrocytic phase. It consists of the sporozoite's journey from the site of the mosquito bite to a hepatocyte, as well as the parasite intra-hepatocytic differentiation into the form that will infect erythrocytes and cause the symptoms of the disease. Pre-erythrocytic vaccines aim at preventing sporozoite entry into the hepatocyte and/or its intra-hepatocytic development. We want to characterize the host-parasite interactions that are vital to the parasite. For this, we study P. falciparum, the most deadly species to humans, and P. berghei, a species that infects rodents.

We are following five main directions in the laboratory

1. Caracterization of Anopheles gambiae genes whose expression is modified by mosquito interaction with Plasmodium falciparum (C. Lavazec, M. Gendrin, C. Bourgouin)

During its early sporogonic development in the mosquito, the parasite crosses two barriers: the peritrophic matrix and the intestinal epithelium. In conditions of natural transmission of P.falciparum, the deadliest species to humans, an important reduction in the parasite load occurs in the intestinal lumen so that only a few oocyst reach maturity. We have characterized two genes encoding carboxypeptidases, and demonstrated that they are involved in the development of P. falciparum in the mosquito. Using P. berghei, our results suggest that these carboxypeptidases could constitute components of a vaccine that would block Plasmodium transmission. We are also analyzing cDNA libraries constructed by suppressive and subtractive hybridization to identify A. gambiae genes whose expression is modified during interactions between intestinal cells and ookinetes of P. falciparum.

2. Functional genomics by RNA interference in An. gambiae (B. Boisson, J.-C. Jacques, C. Bourgouin, Program GPH Anophèle)

For assessing the function of mosquito proteins during Anopheles-Plasmodium interactions, we are trying to develop techniques for inactivating gene expression using RNA interference (RNAi) based on inoculation of double stranded RNA in the insect hemolymph. Our current results suggest that the efficiency of the technique depends on the target cells/tissue; whereas it can silence genes that are expressed in the digestive tract or in cells that are in direct contact with the hemolymph, it has so far failed to silence genes expressed in salivary glands (where sporozoites are stored before transmission to the mammalian host). We are now trying to develop transgenesis in A. gambiae, using the piggyBac transposon, as an alternative strategy to silence genes that are expressed in the mosquito salivary glands.

3. In vivo imaging of the Plasmodium sporozoite (R. Amino, F. Frischknecht, B. Martin, R. Ménard, Program GPH Anophèle)

The sporozoite is formed inside an oocyst in the mosquito intestinal epithelium, and can only complete its development inside a mammalian hepatocyte. Using sporozoites expressing various fluorescent proteins, and in collaboration with the ‘Unité d'Analyse d'Images Quantitative' and the ‘Centre d'Imagerie Dynamique' in the campus, we have analyzed each phase of the in vivo journey of the sporozoite in the P. berghei rodent system. These studies have shown the importance of in vivo mobility of these parasites, not only for invading host cells but also for locomoting in host tissues (both in the mosquito and the mammal). They have also revealed unexpected host-parasite interactions, including invasion of both blood and lymph capillaries in the mouse skin, infection of the proximal lymph node, intra-vascular adherence and gliding motility, as well as complex leukocyte-parasite interactions in the liver sinusoids. We are now attempting to characterize the interactions between sporozoites and the draining lymph node, and their consequences on the parasitic process.

4. Development and use of conditional mutagenesis in P. berghei (T. Gil Carvalho, S. Thiberge, A. Combe, D. Giovannini, R. Ménard)

Reverse genetics in Plasmodium is facilitated by the high efficiency of homologous recombination and the haploid nature of the parasite genome. The P. berghei system has several attractive features: the entire parasite life cycle can be maintained in the laboratory, liver infection can be analyzed in vivo, and mutants can be created more easily than with P. falciparum. However, manipulation of the Plasmodium genome has only been constitutive so far, based on transfection of erythrocytic stages of the parasite, and did not allow the studies of numerous essential parasite proteins. We have developed two complementary strategies for conditional mutagenesis in P. berghei, using the Flp-FRT site-specific recombination system of yeast. We are currently using these techniques to assess the function, at pre-erythrocytic stages of the parasite, of two proteins that are essential for the erythrocytic stages of the parasite.

5. Functional genomics of parasite-hepatocyte interactions (P. Baldacci, H. Sakamoto, S. Thiberge, S. Akerman, R. Ménard)

Once the sporozoite is within a vacuole inside the hepatocyte, the parasite transforms and generates tens of thousands of merozoites, the parasite stage that infects erythrocytes and causes all symptoms of the disease. Most studies on parasite liver stages have attempted to characterize new vaccine candidates, as well as the immunological basis of the solid protection induced by injection of irradiated sporozoites (whose development inside hepatocytes is blocked). On the other hand, our understanding of parasite maturation in the liver is limited to a few descriptive studies, and only a handful of parasite molecules expressed inside hepatocytes have been identified.

Our goal is to identify parasite proteins that are essential for parasite development in the hepatocyte, and particularly those that act at the hepatocyte-parasite interface. For this, we have developed a shuttle mutagenesis technique: a gene of interest is mutagenized by transposon insertion (mini-Tn5) in E. coli, and the resulting fragment is then reintroduced in the parasite where it replaces the wild-type copy of the gene by double cross-over homologous recombination. This technique allows for a systematic mutagenesis of selected P. berghei genes by the simultaneous construction of multiple mutants in a single transfection experiment. We are now using this approach to assess the function of several tens of genes that are specifically expressed by the parasite inside the hepatocyte, which have been selected by a bio-informatic screen.

Keywords: Plasmodium, Anopheles, malaria, molecular genetics, génomics, in vivo imaging


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Biologie et Génétique du Paludisme

Responsable: Robert Ménard

Notre laboratoire travaille sur Plasmodium, l'agent du paludisme, et plus particulièrement sur deux phases du cycle de vie du parasite qui sont des cibles de stratégies vaccinales. La première est la transmigration du parasite (ou ookinète) à travers la barrière intestinale du moustique. Cette phase est la cible de vaccins dits ‘altruistes', qui ne protègent pas l'individu vacciné mais bloquent la transmission du parasite. La seconde est la phase ‘pré-érythrocytaire'. Elle comporte le voyage du sporozoïte depuis le site de piqûre par le moustique jusqu'à un hépatocyte, ainsi que la différenciation intra-hépatocytaire du parasite dans la forme qui infectera les globules rouges et causera les symptômes de la maladie. Les vaccins pré-érythrocytaires visent à empêcher l'entrée du sporozoïte dans l'hépatocyte et/ou son développement intra-hépatocytaire. Notre approche est fonctionnelle, et consiste à caractériser les interactions hôte-parasite qui sont importantes pour la vie du parasite. Pour cela, nous étudions P. falciparum, l'espèce la plus pathogène pour l'homme, et P. berghei, une espèce qui infecte les rongeurs.

Plusieurs axes de recherche sont développés au laboratoire :

1. Caractérisation de gènes d'Anopheles gambiae dont l'expression est modulée par l'interaction du moustique avec Plasmodium falciparum (C. Lavazec, M. Gendrin, C. Bourgouin)

Au cours de son développement sporogonique précoce chez le moustique, le parasite franchit deux barrières : la matrice péritrophique et l'épithélium intestinal. Dans les conditions naturelles de transmission de P.falciparum, parasite de l'homme, une forte réduction parasitaire intervient dans la lumière intestinale de sorte que seule une dizaine d'oocystes arrivent à maturité. Nous avons caractérisé deux gènes codant des carboxypeptidases et démontré leur implication dans le développement de P. falciparum chez le moustique. En utilisant Plasmodium berghei, nos résultats suggèrent que ces carboxypeptidases pourraient constituer des composants d'un vaccin bloquant la transmission de Plasmodium. Par ailleurs, nous poursuivons l'analyse de banques d'ADNc construites par hybridation soustractive et suppressive pour identifier des gènes du moustique dont l'expression est modifiée lors des interactions entre les cellules digestives de A. gambiae et les ookinètes de P. falciparum.

2. Génomique fonctionnelle par ARN interférence chez An. gambiae (B. Boisson, J.-C. Jacques, C. Bourgouin, Programme GPH Anophèle)

Afin de pouvoir tester la fonction de produits du moustique dans les interactions avec Plasmodium, nous tentons de développer une approche d'inactivation de l'expression génique par interférence ARN (RNAi) basée sur l'inoculation d'ARN double brins dans l'hémolymphe de l'insecte. Nos résultats actuels suggèrent que l'efficacité de la méthode dépend du tissu cible ; alors qu'elle est permet d'éteindre l'expression de gènes exprimés dans le tube digestif ou les cellules en contact direct avec l'hémolymphe de l'insecte, elle semble incapable d'éteindre ceux exprimés dans les glandes salivaires, où sont stockés les sporozoïtes avant transmission au mammifère. Nous essayons maintenant de mettre en place la transgenèse à l'aide du transposon piggyBac, comme stratégie alternative pour inhiber l'expression de gènes de glandes salivaires chez Anopheles gambiae.

3. Imagerie in vivo du sporozoïte plasmodial (R. Amino, F. Frischknecht, B. Martin, R. Ménard, Programme GPH Anophèle)

Le sporozoïte naît d'un oocyste dans le tube digestif d'un moustique et ne peut poursuivre son développement qu'à l'intérieur d'un hépatocyte. En utilisant des sporozoïtes exprimant diverses protéines fluorescentes et en collaboration avec l'Unité d'Analyse d'Images Quantitative et le Centre d'Imagerie Dynamique, nous avons analysé chaque phase du processus in vivo dans un modèle rongeur. Cette étude a démontré l'importance de la mobilité in vivo de ces parasites non seulement pour l'invasion des cellules cibles, mais aussi comme moyen de locomotion chez le moustique et le mammifère. Elle a aussi révélé de nombreuses interactions hôte-parasite inattendues, notamment l'invasion des capillaires sanguins et lymphatiques dans la peau du mammifère, l'infection du ganglion lymphatique proximal, le glissement intra-vasculaire, et des interactions leucocyte-parasite complexes dans les capillaires sinusoïdes du foie. Nous tentons actuellement de caractériser les interactions entre les sporozoïtes et les ganglions drainants, ainsi que leurs conséquences sur l'infection parasitaire.

4. Développement et utilisation d'outils de mutagenèse conditionnelle chez >P. berghei (T. Gil Carvalho, S. Thiberge, A. Combe, D. Giovannini, R. Ménard)

Plasmodium est un terrain propice à la génétique inverse, en raison du taux élevé d'intégration d'ADN par recombinaison homologue et du caractère haploïde de son génome. L'utilisation de P. berghei offre les avantages de pouvoir disposer de la totalité du cycle parasitaire au laboratoire, analyser l'infection hépatique in vivo, et générer des mutants de façon plus aisée. Cependant, jusqu'ici toute manipulation du génome de Plasmodium ne pouvait être que constitutive, basée sur la transfection des stades érythrocytaires du parasite, et ne permettait pas d'étudier de nombreuses protéines parasitaires essentielles. Nous avons développé deux stratégies complémentaires de mutagenèse conditionnelle chez P. berghei, à l'aide du système de recombinaison spécifique de site Flp-FRT de la levure. Nous utilisons actuellement ces techniques pour comprendre la fonction, aux stades pré-érythrocytaires du parasite, de deux protéines essentielles aux stades érythrocytaires du parasite.

5. Génomique fonctionnelle de l'interaction parasite-hépatocyte (P. Baldacci, H. Sakamoto, S. Thiberge, S. Akerman, R. Ménard)

Une fois le sporozoïte dans une vacuole à l'intérieur de l'hépatocyte, il se transforme et génère des dizaines de milliers de mérozoïtes, le stade parasitaire qui infecte les érythrocytes et cause tous les symptômes de la maladie. Notre connaissance du processus de maturation du parasite dans le foie est limitée à quelques études descriptives, et seules quelques molécules parasitaires spécifiques des stades intra-hépatocytaires sont connues. Notre but est d'identifier les produits du parasite qui sont essentiels à son développement dans l'hépatocyte, et notamment ceux qui agissent à l'interface entre les deux cellules. Dans ce but, nous avons développé une stratégie de mutagenèse navette: un gène est mutagénisé par insertion d'un transposon (mini-Tn5) chez E. coli, et le fragment de remplacement obtenu est ensuite réintroduit chez le parasite où il remplace la copie sauvage du gène par un événement de double crossing-over (recombinaison homologue). Cette technique permet d'envisager une mutagenèse systématique de gènes plasmodiaux par la construction simultanée de plusieurs mutants dans une seule expérience de transfection. Nous utilisons actuellement cette approche pour tester la fonction de plusieurs dizaines de gènes spécifiquement exprimés par le parasite en position intra-hépatocytaire, sélectionnées par un crible bio-informatique.

Mots-clés: Plasmodium, Anophèle, paludisme, génétique moléculaire, génomique, imagerie in vivo


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr