Unit: Antibacterial Agents

Director: COURVALIN Patrice

The Antibacterial Agents Unit studies the genetic support, biochemical mechanisms, heterospecific expression , evolution and dissemination of antibiotic resistance in bacterial pathogens for humans ; in particular : enterococci and glycopeptides, and resistance to ß-lactams and aminoglycosides in Gram-negative bacilli. It has also developped trans-kingdom gene transfer from bacteria to mammalian cells.

Glycopeptide resistance in Enterococcus (Florence DEPARDIEU and Bruno PERICHON)

Glycopeptide resistance in enterococci results from the production of modified peptidoglycan precursors ending in D-alanyl-D-lactate (D-Ala-D-Lac) (VanA, VanB, and VanD) or D-Ala-D-serine (VanC, VanE, and VanG) to which glycopeptides exhibit low binding affinities and from the elimination of the high affinity D-Ala-D-Ala-ending precursors synthesized by the host Ddl ligase.

VanD-type resistance

VanD-type strains are constitutively resistant to vancomycin and to low levels of teicoplanin by synthesis of peptidoglycan precursors terminating in D-Ala-D-Lac. We have studied the organisation of the chromosomal vanD gene cluster in recently isolated strains of Enterococcus faecium and for the first time of E. faecalis and the regulation of expression of the resistance genes. Each clinical isolate had lost the chromosomal D-Ala:D-Ala ligase activity following various mutations (E13G implicated in D-Ala 1 binding, S319N at the serine implicated in the ATP binding, or a 7-bp insertion at various locations). Vancomycin resistant enterococci having an impaired D-Ala:D-Ala ligase can only grow in the presence of vancomycin since they rely on the inducible resistance pathway for peptidoglycan synthesis. In the strains studied, there were no qualitative differences between the peptidoglycan precursors produced by uninduced or induced cells, indicating that the vanD cluster was expressed constitutively. Various mutations in the VanSD sensor (insertion of 7 bp or deletion of 1 bp leading to a putative truncated protein) or, for the first time, in the VanRD transcriptional activator (E140G substitution in the effector domain) led to constitutive resistance to vancomycin.

VanB-type resistance

VanB-type strains are inducibly resistant to vancomycin but susceptible to teicoplanin, since the latter drug is not an inducer. Mutations in the vanSB gene allow for constitutive or teicoplanin-inducible expression of the resistance genes. To analyze expression of the van genes in rabbits with experimental endocarditis, a VanB-type E. faecalis with a transcriptional fusion between the PYB promoter for the resistance genes and the gfp mut1 gene for the green-fluorescent protein was constructed in the chromosome of the host. The reporter system allowed monitoring of the expression of the glycopeptide resistance genes in vivo at a single cell level.

VanE-type resistance

VanE-type strains are characterized by low-level resistance to vancomycin and susceptibilty to teicoplanin. We have studied three additional strains of E. faecalis harbouring the vanE operon isolated in Australia. Expression of the resistance genes was inducible in two strains and constitutive in the remaining isolate, probably because of a 2-bp deletion into the vanSE gene leading to a frameshift and truncated protein.

VanA-type glycopeptide resistance in Staphylococcus aureus

Two methicillin- and vancomycin-resistant S. aureus strains (MI-VRSA and PA-VRSA) have been recently isolated. Whereas MI-VRSA is highly resistant to vancomycin and teicoplanin PA-VRSA displays low-level resistance to glycopeptides . We have shown full expression of the vanA operon in the two strains. Resistance is stable in MI-VRSA and highly unstable in PA-VRSA. Induction of resistance by vancomycin was significantly delayed in PA-VRSA relative to MI-VRSA. Low-level glycopeptide resistance of S. aureus PA-VRSA is thus likely due to instability of the genetic element, plasmid or transposon, carrying the vanA operon associated with a longer lag phase before growth resumes after induction by vancomycin.

Multiplex PCR for detection of glycopeptide resistance

As just mentioned, VanA-type resistance to glycopeptides has disseminated to methicillin-resistant S. aureus and certain strains escape phenotypic detection by automated rapid methods. We therefore developed a multiplex PCR assay for detection of the six types of glycopeptide resistance characterized in enterococci and for identification of the most important enterococci and staphylococci at the species level. Primers targeting genes vanA, vanB, vanC, vanD, vanE, and vanG, ddl of E. faecium and E. faecalis, nuc of S. aureus, and a chromosomal portion specific to S. epidermidis were designed to allow amplification of fragments with various sizes in a single reaction.

A PCR-RFLP Assay for Detection of Mutations in Fluoroquinolone-resistant Streptococcus pneumoniae. (R. Alonso and M. Galimand)

Quinolone resistance in S. pneumoniae is mainly due to mutations in the quinolone resistance-determining regions (QRDR) of either the ParC subunit of topoisomerase IV or the GyrA subunit of DNA gyrase. We have developed a PCR-RFLP assay to detect mutations in the Ser79 and Asp83 codons of parC, Asp435 of parE, and Ser81 and Glu85 of gyrA genes which lead to quinolone resistance.

S. pneumoniae CP1000 and 25 in vitro and in vivo resistant derivatives, with known mutations in the QRDR of the parC, parE, and gyrA genes, were used to validate the assay. Mutations within parC were detected using restriction endonucleases HinfI [Ser79] and LweI [Asp83], that in parE [Asp435] with HinfI, and those within gyrA by HinfI [Ser81] and MboII [Glu85], an artificially generated recognition site. The 366-bp parC product from CP1000 contained two HinfI and one LweI cutting sites generating fragments of 183, 127, and 56 bp and of 224 and 142 bp, respectively. Loss of a HinfI site following mutations at the Ser79 codon generated two 183-bp fragments running as a doublet. Mutations at the Asp83 codon suppressed the LweI site and a 366-bp fragment was observed. The 290-bp parE product from CP1000 contained two HinfI sites generating 166-, 87-, and 37-bp fragments. Loss of one of the HinfI sites following mutations at the Asp435 codon generated fragments of 203 and 87 bp. The 183-bp gyrA product from CP1000 contained a natural HinfI site and an artificially created MboII site generating fragments of 113, and 70 bp and of 141 and 42 bp, respectively. Loss of the HinfI site in resistant isolates due to mutations at the Ser81 codon led to a 183-bp fragment. Mutations at the Glu85 codon were associated with loss of the MboII site leading also to a 183-bp fragment.

The rapid and simple assay developed could be a useful screening tool for the most common mutations and facilitate epidemiological studies on resistance to quinolones in clinical isolates of S. pneumoniae.

Resistance to antibiotics by efflux in Acinetobacter baumannii (Laurence Damier-Piolle and Thierry Lambert)

A. baumannii clinical isolate BM4454 was resistant to all aminoglycosides and did not produce an antibiotic inactivating enzyme. The adeABC genes have been identified and implicated in this resistance phenotype, as well as in the basal level of resistance to other drugs, including fluoroquinolones, tetracyclines, chloramphenicol, erythromycin, and trimethoprim. The deduced product of the adeB gene was homologous to membrane proteins of the " Resistance Nodulation cell Division " (RND) family. The adeA and adeC genes encoded a fusion protein and an outer membrane protein, respectively. The AdeA, AdeB, and AdeC proteins associate in a tripartite complex to form a RND-type efflux pump, that allows export of the various substrates outside of the cell. Upstream from the adeABC operon, the adeRS genes encoded proteins similar to regulators and sensors of two component systems, respectively. Inactivation of adeS led to aminoglycoside susceptibility. Gentamicin-resistant mutants constitutively expressing the AdeABC pump were obtained in vitro from susceptible A. baumannii strain CIP70-10. These mutants had either a Thr153->Met mutation in AdeS, or a Pro116->Leu mutation in AdeR. These data indicate that expression of the AdeABC pump is under the control of the AdeRS two component system. Another efflux pump AdeIJK has been identified in A. baumannii BM4454 and its characterization is under process.

Transfer of genes and proteins to mammalian cells by a bacterial vector (C. Grillot-Courvalin and S. Goussard)

We have shown that bacterial vector E. coli dap- BM2710 harboring plasmid pGB2 inv-hly, which confers to the host the ability to invade non-phagocytic cells provided they express ß1-integrins, could transfer functional genes to airway epithelial cell lines or to primary bronchial cells. Confocal and electronic microscopy of the intracellular trafficking of the bacterial vector showed that phagosome-containing E. coli rapidly mature into phagolysosomes. Protein delivery could also be achieved in vitro in cell lines and in vivo in mouse tumor models ; functional E. coli proteins provided a therapeutic benefit when associated with intra peritoneal delivery of 6-MPDR prodrug. We have also demonstrate that under certain conditions, eukaryotic promotors can express bacterial genes.

Keywords: bacteriology, antibiotics, resistance, gene transfer


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Agents Antibactériens

Responsable: COURVALIN Patrice

L'Unité des Agents Antibactériens étudie le support génétique, les mécanismes biochimiques, l'expression hétérospécifique, l'évolution et la dissémination de la résistance aux antibiotiques chez les bactéries pathogènes pour l'homme, notamment dans les systèmes suivants : entérocoques et glycopeptides, la résistance aux ß-lactamines et aux aminosides chez les bacilles à Gram négatif ainsi que le transfert de gènes des bactéries aux cellules de mammifères.

Résistance aux glycopeptides chez Enterococcus (Bruno Périchon et Florence Depardieu)

La résistance aux glycopeptides chez les entérocoques résulte de la production de précurseurs du peptidoglycane terminés par D-alanyl-D-lactate (D-Ala-D-Lac) (VanA, VanB et VanD) ou D-Ala-D-sérine (VanC, VanE et VanG) pour lesquels les glycopeptides présentent une faible affinité et de l'élimination de ceux terminés par D-Ala-D-Ala synthétisés par la ligase Ddl de l'hôte.

Résistance de type VanD

Les souches de type VanD sont constitutivement résistantes à la vancomycine et à de bas niveaux de teicoplanine par synthèse de précurseurs du peptidoglycane terminés par D-Ala-D-Lac. Nous avons étudié l'organisation du groupe chromosomique de gènes vanD de nouvelles souches de Enterococcus faecium et, pour la première fois, de E. faecalis et la régulation de leur expression. Chaque isolat clinique avait perdu l'activité D-Ala:D-Ala ligase chromosomique à la suite de diverses mutations dans la Ddl (E13G impliquée dans la liaison du D-Ala1, S319N de la sérine impliquée dans la liaison à l'ATP ou insertion de 7 pb). Les entérocoques résistants à la vancomycine ayant une ligase D-Ala:D-Ala non fonctionnelle ne poussent qu'en présence de vancomycine, puisque ces souches ont besoin de la voie de résistance inductible pour la synthèse du peptidoglycane. Chez les souches étudiées, il n'y avait pas de différence dans la nature des précurseurs du peptidoglycane produits par les cellules induites ou non induites, indiquant que le groupe de gènes vanD était exprimé constitutivement. Des mutations différentes dans le senseur VanSD (insertion de 7 pb ou délétion de 1 pb conduisant à la production d'une protéine tronquée) ou, pour la première fois, dans l'activateur de transcription VanRD (E140G dans le domaine effecteur) entraînaient l'expression constitutive de la résistance à la vancomycine.

Résistance de type VanB

Les souches de type VanB sont résistantes à la vancomycine et sensibles à la teicoplanine car ce dernier antibiotique n'est pas un inducteur. Des mutations dans le gène vanSB conduisent à l'expression constitutive ou inductible par la teicoplanine des gènes de résistance. Pour analyser l'expression des gènes van chez des lapins présentant une endocardite expérimentale, nous avons construit dans le chromosome d'une souche de E. faecalis de type VanB une fusion transcriptionnelle entre le promoteur PYB des gènes de résistance et le gène gfp mut1 de la GFP. Ce système rapporteur permet la détection de l'expression de la résistance aux glycopeptides au niveau d'une seule cellule bactérienne.

Résistance de type VanE

Les souches de type VanE sont caractérisées par une résistance de bas niveau à la vancomycine et une sensibilité à la teicoplanine. Trois nouvelles souches de E. faecalis possédant l'opéron vanE ont été isolées en Australie. L'expression des gènes de résistance est inductible dans deux de ces souches et constitutive dans la troisième, probablement à cause d'une délétion de 2 pb dans le gène vanSE aboutissant à un décalage du cadre de lecture et à la synthèse d'une protéine tronquée.

Résistance aux glycopeptides chez Staphylococcus aureus

Deux souches de S. aureus (MI-VRSA et PA-VRSA) résistantes à la méthicilline et aux glycopeptides ont été récemment détectées. Tandis que MI-VRSA est hautement résistante, PA-VRSA présente un bas niveau de résistance aux glycopeptides. Nous avons montré que l'expression de l'opéron vanA est élevée et similaire dans les deux souches. La résistance est stable chez MI-VRSA alors qu'elle est très instable chez PA-VRSA. L'induction de la résistance par la vancomycine est beaucoup plus lente chez PA-VRSA que chez MI-VRSA. Le bas niveau de résistance à la vancomycine de PA-VRSA est donc probablement dû à l'instabilité de l'élément génétique, plasmide ou transposon, portant l'opéron vanA associée à un long délai d'induction par la vancomycine.

Mise au point d'une PCR multiplex pour la détection de la résistance aux glycopeptides

Comme déjà indiqué, la résistance aux glycopeptides de type VanA a disséminé chez S. aureus résistant à la méthicilline; cependant, certains isolats cliniques ne sont pas détectés par les méthodes phénotypiques automatisées d'étude de la sensibilité in vitro. Aussi avons nous développé une PCR multiplex pour la détection des six types de résistance aux glycopeptides caractérisés chez les entérocoques et pour l'identification simultanée des principales espèces d'entérocoques et de staphylocoques. Les amorces correspondant aux gènes vanA, vanB, vanC, vanD, vanE, vanG, au gène ddl de E. faecium et de E. faecalis, au gène nuc spécifique de S. aureus et à une portion chromosomique spécifique de S. epidermidis ont été déterminées pour permettre l'amplification de fragments de taille variée en une seule réaction.

Détection des mutations dans des souches de Streptococcus pneumoniae résistantes aux fluoroquinolones par PCR-RFLP. (R. Alonso, M. Galimand)

La résistance aux quinolones chez S. pneumoniae est principalement due à des mutations dans les régions déterminant la résistance aux quinolones (QRDR) des sous-unités ParC de la topoisomérase IV ou GyrA de l'ADN gyrase. Nous avons développé une technique de PCR-RFLP afin de détecter les mutations dans les codons Ser79 et Asp83 du gène parC, Asp435 de parE et Ser81 et Glu85 de gyrA qui conduisent à une résistance aux quinolones.

S. pneumoniae CP1000 et 25 mutants obtenus in vivo et in vitro, avec des mutations connues dans les QRDR des gènes parC, parE et gyrA, ont été utilisés pour valider la technique. Les mutations dans parC étaient détectées en utilisant les enzymes de restriction HinfI [Ser79] et LweI [Asp83], celle dans parE [Asp435] avec HinfI et celles dans gyrA avec HinfI [Ser81] et MboII [Glu85], un site de reconnaissance artificiellement crée. Le produit d'amplification de 366 pb interne à parC de la souche CP1000 contient deux sites HinfI et un site LweI de coupure générant respectivement des fragments de 183, 127 et 56 pb et de 224 et 142 pb. La perte d'un site HinfI due aux mutations dans le codon Ser79 génère deux fragments de 183 pb qui migrent comme un doublet. Les mutations dans le codon Asp83 suppriment le site LweI et un fragment de 366 pb est observé. Le produit d'amplification de 290 pb interne à parE de la souche CP1000 contient deux HinfI générant des fragments de 166, 87 et 37 pb. La perte d'un des deux sites HinfI après mutation dans le codon Asp435 génère deux fragments de 203 et 87 pb. Le produit d'amplification de 183 pb interne à gyrA de la souche CP1000 contient un site HinfI naturel et un site MboII créé artificiellement qui génèrent respectivement des fragments de 113 et 70 pb et 141 et 42 pb. La perte du site HinfI chez les mutants résistants suite aux mutations dans le codon Ser81 donne un fragment de 183 pb. Les mutations au niveau du codon Glu85 étaient associées à la perte du site MboII conduisant également à un fragment de 183 pb. Cette nouvelle technique pourrait être un outil de criblage très utile pour les mutations les plus fréquentes et faciliter les études épidémiologiques sur la résistance aux quinolones des isolats cliniques de S. pneumoniae.

Résistance aux antibiotiques par efflux chez Acinetobacter baumannii (Laurence Damier-Piolle et Thierry Lambert)

La souche clinique de A. baumannii BM4454 était résistante à tous les aminosides et ne produisait pas d'enzyme inactivatrice de ces antibiotiques. Les gènes adeABC ont été identifiés et impliqués dans ce phénotype de résistance, ainsi que dans le niveau de résistance de base aux fluoroquinolones, tétracyclines, chloramphénicol, érythromycine et triméthoprime. Le produit du gène adeB est homologue aux protéines membranaires des systèmes " Resistance Nodulation cell Division" (RND) et les gènes adeA et adeC codent, respectivement, pour une protéine de fusion et une protéine de la membrane externe. Les protéines AdeA, AdeB et AdeC s'associent en un complexe tripartite pour former une pompe d'efflux de type RND qui expulse dans le milieu extracellulaire ces différents substrats. En amont de l'opéron adeABC, les gènes adeRS codent, respectivement, pour des protéines apparentées aux régulateurs et senseurs des systèmes à deux composants. L'inactivation de adeS a restauré la sensibilité aux aminosides. Des mutants résistants à la gentamicine, obtenus in vitro à partir de la souche de A. baumannii sensible CIP70-10, ont montré une expression constitutive de la pompe AdeABC. Ces mutants présentent soit la mutation Thr153->Met dans AdeS, soit la mutation Pro116->Leu dans AdeR. Ces données indiquent que l'expression de la pompe AdeABC est contrôlée par le système à deux composants AdeRS. Une autre pompe d'efflux AdeIJK a également été mise en évidence chez A. baumannii BM4454 et sa caractérisation est en cours.

Transfert à l'aide d'un vecteur bactérien de gènes et de protéines aux cellules de mammifères (C. Grillot-Courvalin et S. Goussard)

A l'aide du vecteur bactérien E. coli dap- BM2710 hébergeant le plasmide pGB2 inv-hly qui lui confère la propriété d'envahir les cellules eucaryotes non phagocytaires à condition qu'elles expriment l'intégrine ß1, nous avons pu mettre en évidence un transfert de gène et son expression dans des cellules différenciées de type épithélial bronchique. Le mécanisme et les conditions du transfert ont été étudiés dans des cultures primaires d'explants bronchiques en microscopie confocale et électronique. Le transfert de protéine hétérologue produite par le vecteur bactérien a pu être mis en évidence dans des lignées cellulaires en culture, HeLa et Caco-2, mais aussi in vivo chez la souris dans un modèle de tumeur. L'injection intra-tumorale de E. coli BM2710 pGB2 inv-hly a entraîné une réduction du volume des tumeurs chez les souris recevant la prodrogue 6-MPDR. Nous avons par ailleurs démontré que, dans certaines conditions, des promoteurs eucaryotes peuvent exprimer des gènes chez les bactéries.

Mots-clés: Bactériologie, antibiotiques, résistance, transfert de gènes


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr