Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Retroviruses and Gene Transfer - INSERM U622


  Director : Jean Michel Heard (jmheard@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Topic 1: Neurodegeneration associated to lysosomal storage diseases. Studies on pathophysiology (inflammation, axonal transport) and therapeutics (gene therapy for the delivery of the missing enzyme). Topic 2: Neural stem cells. Genetic reprogramming (forced expression of transcription factors). Topic 3: studies on the role of the Barhl2 gene during development, cancerogenesis and neurodegenerative processes.



  report

cale

Topic 1: Neurodegeneration associated to lysosomal storage diseases (F. Chen, A. Cressant, N. Desmaris, S. Vitry).

Lysosomal storage diseases are inborn errors of the metabolism characterised by the high frequency of neurological manifestations, which are often severe with early onset in childhood. Genetic basis (most often a loss of function) are well documented, as well as the consequences on lysosomal catabolic functions. Mechanisms leading from the biochemical defect to neuropathology are however still obscure and so far inaccessible to therapeutics. Our studies focus on two models of mucopolysaccharidoses in which partially degraded and hypersulfated heparan sulfates accumulate. We investigate links between the accumulation of these compounds, microglial and astrocytic activation and neurodegeneration. Experiments are performed in in vitro models and in affected mice or dogs. Aims are to decipher mechanisms leading to chronic inflammation in the central nervous system (CNS) and their consequences with regards to neurotoxicity and axonal transport.

The delivery of the missing enzyme is a plausible treatment for these diseases. However, access to the CNS implies crossing or bypassing the blood-brain barrier. We demonstrated that gene therapy allows to reach that goal in affected mice and dogs. The creation of continuous sources of enzyme can be achieved through the injection of adeno-associated vectors in the striatum (AAV1, 2 or 5). We showed that enzyme delivery to the entire brain could be achieved through a single AAV5 vector injection in mice and only 4 injections in dogs. A collaborative network involving neuropediatricians, neurosurgeons and veterinarians was set up with the aim to complete the ongoing preclinical studies in large animals and to design a therapeutic trial for affected children. This program is supported by the AFM, the INSERM and the Institut Pasteur.

Topic 2: Neural stem cells (S. Blanchard, D. Bohl, T. Bréjot, S. Liu, A. Nosjean, M. Hocquemiller).

The survival, multiplication, differentiation and migration of neural stem cells, as well as the development of synaptic connections, depend on environmental signals and on the genetically-determined competence of target cells to interpret these signals. Extrinsic and intrinsic factors acting on the formation and installation of motoneurons in the ventral horn of the spinal cord have been identified. They include soluble factors like retinoic acid (RA) or Sonic Hedgehog (Shh), which concentration determines the expression of various sets of homeotic or bHLH transcription factors.

A goal of this program is to examine the fate of neural stem cells isolated from fetal tissues and amplified as neurospheres following exposition of these cells to soluble factors or to lentiviral vectors able to induce the forced expression of transcription factors involved in the motor neuron differentiation pathway (Pax6, Nkx6.1, Olig2, Ngn2, HB9, Islet1). The expression of multiple markers associated to motor neuron differentiation was studied by real-time quantitative PCR and immunostaining. Forced expression of the bHLH transcription factor Ngn2 was the only situation in which neural stem cell cell fate was modified in vitro, leading to massive differentiation to cell expressing neuronal markers, whereas astrocyte and oligodendrocyte generation was inhibited. Further characterisation of these cells and of their fate in vitro and upon in vivo transplantation in the adult spinal cord or hippocampus are currently investigated.

Similar studies are ongoing with mouse embryonic stem (ES) cells. Selection of cells expressing the transcription factor Sox1 after the generation of embryoid bodies allows to isolate a subpopulation essentially forming neuronal cells upon differentiation. These cells differentiate into motor neurons in vitro when exposed to RA and Shh. There are now transplanted into the facial motor nucleus in mice with the aim to assess their capacity to form motor neurons and motor axons in vivo.

Topic 3 : studies on the role of the Barhl2 gene during development, cancerogenesis and neurodegenerative processes (B. Durand, N. Duval, N. Offner).

Early programmed cell death (EPCD) affects proliferating and newly differentiated cells in vertebrates, and most dramatically cells of the central nervous system (CNS). We characterized a new function for a highly conserved homeodomain protein Barhl2 in Xenopus neurodevelopment. Barhl2 promotes apoptosis in Xenopus neuroectoderm and mesoderm, acting as a transcriptional repressor. The pro-apoptotic activity of Barhl2 is essential during normal neural plate formation. It limits the size of the midline organising centre and plays an important role in the establishment of the pro-encephalic area. Analysis in Xenopus embryos and in cell culture demonstrated that Barhl2-induced apoptosis involves caspase activation and can be inhibited by Bcl2.

We study barhl2 function(s) and the regulation of barhl2 expression and activity in the early neural plate and neural tube. We showed that barhl2 controls the commitment of neuroectodermal cells towards apoptosis. Preliminary data support the hypothesis that Barhl2 participates to signalling pathways downstream of the Patch and Smothen receptors that mediate Shh activity. Alteration of the Shh signalling pathway is frequent in cancers, including meduloblastoma. It may account for abnormal cell proliferation. The association of abnormal response to both mitogenic and apoptotic stimuli is common in malignant processes. We are currently investigating the implication of Barhl2 in the Shh pathway and we examine a possible link between Barhl2 loos-of-function and carcinogenesis. The hypothesis according to which Barhl2 gain-of-function would be associated to neurodegenerative processes is also considered.

This work will provide crucial information on the extent, regulation and function of apoptosis, an underestimated aspect of brain morphogenesis. Learning whether and how extra-cellular signals control apoptosis during embryogenesis is a major issue towards understanding deregulation of apoptosis associated to cancer and neurodegeneration.

Photo : Overexpression of barhl2 induces apoptosis in neural cell plate cells. TUNEL staining was performed at stage 15 on Xenopus embryo injected in one dorsal blastomere at the 4-cell stage with Barhl2 encoding RNA. An increase number of TUNEL-positive cells is visible on the injected side.

Keywords: gene therapy, neurodegeneration, lysosomal storage diseases, neural stem cells, viral vectors, development of the nervous system, sonin hedgehog, Barh, homeotic genes



  publications

puce Publications 2004 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Chantal Brulet, rtg-sec@pasteur.fr Delphine Bohl CR1 INSERM dbohl@pasteur.fr

Béatrice Durand CR1 CNRS bdurand@pasteur.fr

Jean Michel Heard DR1 INSERM jmheard@pasteur.fr

Song Liu CR1 INSERM songliu@pasteur.fr

Anne Nosjean CR1 CNRS nosjean@pasteur.fr

Nathalie Duval CR IP natoche@pasteur.fr

Arnaud Cressant Stage post-doctoral cressant@pasteur.fr

Nicolas Offner Stage post-doctoral offner@pasteur.fr

Sandrine Vitry Stage post-doctoral svitry@pasteur.fr

Thomas Bréjot Thèsard Paris VII tbrejot@pasteur.fr

Fengtian Chen Thèsard Paris VII ftchen@pasteur.fr

Michael Hocquemiller Etudiant M2 Paris VII michoc@pasteur.fr

Nathalie Desmaris Technicienne Supérieure 2D nchodan@pasteur.fr

Stéphane Blanchard Technicien Supérieur 2D sblancha@pasteur.fr


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Rétrovirus & Transfert Génétique - INSERM U622


  Responsable : Jean Michel Heard (jmheard@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Thème 1 : Neurodégénérescence associée aux maladies de surcharge lysosomales. Etudes physiopathologiques (inflammation, transport axonal) et thérapeutiques (thérapie génique pour fournir l'enzyme manquante). Thème 2 : Cellules souches neurales. Reprogrammation génétique (expression forcée de facteurs de transcription). Thème 3 : études de l'implication du gène pro-apoptotique Barhl2 au cours du développement, de la tumorigénèse et des processus dégénératifs du système nerveux.



  rapport

cale

Thème 1 : Neurodégénérescence associée aux maladies de surcharge lysosomale (F. Chen, A. Cressant, N. Desmaris, S. Vitry).

Les maladies de surcharge lysosomale sont des erreurs innées du métabolisme caractérisées par la fréquence des manifestations neurologiques, souvent gravissimes et précoces dans l'enfance. Leurs causes génétiques (en général une perte de fonction) sont bien décrites, ainsi que les conséquences sur les fonctions cataboliques du lysosome. Les mécanismes conduisant du désordre biochimique à la souffrance cellulaire et à la pathologie neurologique sont toutefois incompris et, à ce jour, non accessibles à un traitement. Nos études portent sur deux modèles de mucopolysaccharidoses responsables d'une accumulation d'héparane sulfates incorrectement dégradés et hypersulfatés. Nous essayons de comprendre les liens entre l'accumulation de ces composés, l'activation microgliale et astrocytaire, et la neurodégénérescence. Les études sont effectuées sur des modèles in vitro et chez la souris ou le chien malades. Elles portent sur les mécanismes d'induction d'une réponse inflammatoire et ses conséquences neurotoxiques et sur le transport axonal.

L'apport de l'enzyme lysosomale déficiente est un traitement possible de ces maladies. L'accès au système nerveux central nécessite toutefois de franchir ou de contourner la barrière hémato-encéphalique. Nous avons montré l'intérêt de la thérapie génique chez la souris et chez le chien. La création d'une source permanente d'enzyme dans le striatum est réalisable par l'injection de vecteur adéno-associés (AAV1, 2 ou 5). L'apport d'enzyme à l'ensemble du cerveau est faisable chez la souris par une injection unique de vecteur AAV5. Quatre injections suffisent chez le chien. Un réseau de collaboration a été mis en place comportant des neuropédiatres, des neurochirurgiens et des vétérinaires afin de compléter les études précliniques d'efficacité et de tolérance en cours chez le gros animal, et de définir les modalités d'un traitement chez l'enfant. Ce programme est soutenu par l'AFM, l'INSERM et l'Institut Pasteur.

Thème 2 : Cellules souches neurales (S. Blanchard, D. Bohl, T. Bréjot, S. Liu, A. Nosjean, M. Hocquemiller).

La survie, la multiplication, la différenciation et la migration des cellules souches neurales, ainsi que le développement des connections synaptiques, dépendent de signaux externes environnementaux et de la compétence génétique des cellules cibles à y répondre. Certains de ces déterminants ont été identifiés au cours d'études sur la mise en place des motoneurones spinaux chez l'embryon. Il s'agit en particulier de gradients de facteurs solubles, comme l'acide rétinoïque (RA) ou Sonic Hedgehog (Shh), dont la concentration détermine l'expression de facteurs de transcription à domaine homéotique ou bHLH.

Un objectif de ce programme consiste à examiner le devenir de cellules souches neurales isolées à partir de tissu fœtal, amplifiées sous forme de neurosphères et exposées à des facteurs solubles ou à des vecteurs lentiviraux induisant l'expression forcée de facteurs de transcription impliqués dans la génération des motoneurones (Pax6, Nkx6.1, Olig2, Ngn2, HB9, Islet1). L'expression de multiples marqueurs associés à la différenciation motoneuronale a été étudiée par PCR quantitative et immuno-marquage. Seule l'expression forcée du facteur bHLH Ngn2 modifie le devenir des cellules neurales in vitro, conduisant à une différenciation massive en cellules exprimant des marqueurs neuronaux aux dépend de la formation d'astrocytes ou d'oligodendrocytes. La caractérisation de ces cellules ainsi que l'étude de leur devenir après transplantation dans la moelle épinière ou dans l'hippocampe de rats adultes est en cours d'étude.

Des travaux similaires sont menés avec des cellules souches embryonnaires (ES) de souris. La sélection des cellules exprimant le facteur de transcription Sox1 au décours de la formation de corps embryonnaires permet d'isoler une population formant plus de 80% de cellules exprimant des marqueurs neuronaux. L'exposition de ces cellules à RA et Shh conduit à une différenciation motoneuronale in vitro. Ces cellules sont maintenant transplantées dans le noyau du nerf moteur facial chez la souris afin d'étudier leur capacité à former des motoneurones et des axones moteurs in vivo.

Thème 3 : études de l'implication du gène pro-apoptotique Barhl2 au cours du développement, de la tumorigénèse et des processus dégénératifs du système nerveux (B. Durand, N. Duval, N. Offner).

L'apoptose précoce touche les cellules en phase proliférative ou récemment différenciées et plus particulièrement les cellules du système nerveux central (SNC). Nous avons caractérisé une nouvelle fonction au cours de la morphogénèse du SNC pour un gène à homéoboîte très bien conservé chez les vertébrés : barhl2. L'induction d'une surexpression de Barhl2 chez le Xénope, et surtout l'inhibition de sa fonction à l'aide de morpholinos, ont montré que Barhl2 joue un rôle important dans la mise en place de la ligne médiane, un centre organisateur précoce de la plaque neurale, et à des stades plus tardifs dans la régionalisation de la plaque pro-encéphalique. L'analyse d'embryons de Xénope et celle de cellules de souris en culture ont permis de montrer que l'expression de Barhl2 s'accompagne d'une mort cellulaire programmée inhibée par Bcl2 et dépendante des caspases.

L'objectif du laboratoire est d'étudier la ou les fonctions du gène barhl2 et les modes de contrôle régulant son expression et son activité pro-apoptotique chez le Xénope et la souris. Nos observations suggèrent que le gène barhl2 se situe en amont de la cascade apoptotique et qu'il pourrait contrôler l'engagement des cellules vers une mort cellulaire programmée. Elles convergent aussi vers l'hypothèse d'une participation de Barhl2 à la signalisation en aval des récepteurs Patch et Smothen, dont l'activité est contrôlée par Shh. Des anomalies de la signalisation par Shh sont fréquentes dans différents cancers, dont les médulloblastomes. Elles peuvent rendre compte d'une prolifération cellulaire anormale. L'association d'une réponse mitogène anormale à une anomalie de la réponse apoptotique pourrait conduire à une prolifération maligne, comme précédemment décrit dans de nombreux processus tumoraux.

Les expériences en cours visent à élucider l'implication éventuelle de Barhl2 dans la voie de signalisation dépendante de Shh et examinent si un lien peut être établi entre la perte de la fonction de Barhl2 et la cancérogénèse. L'hypothèse d'un gain de fonction des gènes Barhl associé aux processus neurodégénératifs est également considérée.

Ce travail devrait nous donner accès à des informations importantes concernant l'intensité, la régulation et la fonction de l'apoptose très précoce, un aspect sous-estimé du développement cellulaire lors de la morphogénèse précoce du cerveau, ainsi que sur la dérégulation de ce processus liée à l'émergence de cancers et de maladies neurodégénératives.

Légende : La surexpression de barhl2 induit la mort cellulaire programmée des cellules du neuroectoderm. Un marquage TUNEL a été réalisé au stade 15 sur des embryons de Xénope injectés dans un blastomère dorsal au stade 4-cellules avec de l'ARN codant pour barhl2. Une augmentation du nombre de cellules TUNEL positives est observable du côté injecté de l'embryon.

Mots-clés: thérapie génique, neurodégénérescence, maladies lysosomales, cellules souches neurales, vecteurs viraux, développement du système nerveux, sonic hedgehog, Barh, gènes homéotiques



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2004 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Chantal Brulet, rtg-sec@pasteur.fr Delphine Bohl CR1 INSERM dbohl@pasteur.fr

Béatrice Durand CR1 CNRS bdurand@pasteur.fr

Jean Michel Heard DR1 INSERM jmheard@pasteur.fr

Song Liu CR1 INSERM songliu@pasteur.fr

Anne Nosjean CR1 CNRS nosjean@pasteur.fr

Nathalie Duval CR IP natoche@pasteur.fr

Arnaud Cressant Stage post-doctoral cressant@pasteur.fr

Nicolas Offner Stage post-doctoral offner@pasteur.fr

Sandrine Vitry Stage post-doctoral svitry@pasteur.fr

Thomas Bréjot Thèsard Paris VII tbrejot@pasteur.fr

Fengtian Chen Thèsard Paris VII ftchen@pasteur.fr

Michael Hocquemiller Etudiant M2 Paris VII michoc@pasteur.fr

Nathalie Desmaris Technicienne Supérieure 2D nchodan@pasteur.fr

Stéphane Blanchard Technicien Supérieur 2D sblancha@pasteur.fr


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr