Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Enzymatic Regulation of Cell Activities


  Director : Michel VERON (mveron@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The main projects of the laboratory in 2004 have been : (A) In vitro study of the phoshorylation of antiviral nucleotide analogs; (B) Biochemical and structural studies of the NF-κ B Essential MOdulator (NEMO) protein, an essential component of the NF-κ B signaling pathway and his alteration in patients having a mutated NEMO gene ; (C) Study of genetic recombination in HIV.



  report

cale

In vitro study of the phoshorylation of antiviral nucleotide analogs. (Sarah Gallois-Montbrun and Dominique Deville-Bonne)

Nucleoside analogs like AZT and d4T used in association with other drugs in multi-therapy protocols against AIDS are delivered to the patients as nucleosides in order to allow cell penetration. They need to be phosphorylated into triphospho-derivatives by cellular kinases to act as chain terminators blocking the viral reverse transcriptase and the last step in this activation pathway is catalyzed by NDP kinase. We have studied the reactivity of recombinant human NDP kinase with several analogs currently used in clinics (ddI, ddC, AZT, d4T), both at the biochemical and at the structural level (coll. J. Janin, LEBS, Gif-sur-Yvette, France). Both kinetic and binding constants were determined showing that the analog phosphorylation is much slower than for their natural counterpart. We have proposed a mechanistic model for the phosphorylation of anti-AIDS nucleotide analogs by NDP kinase (1).

Ribavirin, a guanosine analog which is used in clinics against RNA virus, is also active in the cell as a triphospho-derivative. We have screened new ribavirin derivatives modified on the sugar for more increased drug efficiency. A 2'-deoxy derivative of ribavirin was efficiently phosphorylated by NDP kinase and had an inhibitor effect towards hepatitis C polymerase (coll. L. Mulard, Unité de Chimie Organique, IP and B. Canard, ESIL, CNRS, Marseille) but we could not show antiviral effect in cell culture infected by several RNA virus (Coll. J. Balzarini, Rega Institut, Leuwen)

A human NDP kinase was engineered with increased activity for nucleoside analogs. In vitro, the L55H-N115S mutant shows a change in "specificity factor" of more than 300 for 3'OH substituted analogs. Current studies, aimed at determining whether the expression of this mutant protein in cultured cells could change their sensitivity to nucleoside analogs, were not conclusive (coll. J. Balzarini, Rega Institut, Leuwen).

We have also studied the role of PhosphoGlycerate Kinase in the phosphorylation of L–nucleoside analogs (2) as well as human UMP-CMP Kinase (3) which was recently cristallized (coll. P. Alzari, IP).

Biochemical studies of the NF-κ B Essential MOdulator (NEMO) protein, an essential component of the NF-κ B signaling pathway. (Elisabeth FONTAN, François TRAINCARD, Jeanne CHIARAVALLI, Emilie vinolo et Fabrice Agou)

In response to a wide variety of stimuli including the pro-inflammatory cytokines (TNF-alpha, IL-1) or endotoxines (LPS), most of cells activate a series of genes involved in the inflammatory and immune responses as well as in tumorogenesis and apoptosis. These genes are under the control of the NF-κ B transcription factor. The activation of the NF-κ B pathway is modulated by a high molecular weight protein complex, containing two IKK protein kinases, and a regulatory/non catalytic protein called NEMO. We investigate biochemical and structural properties of NEMO and the molecular mechanism by which it promotes the activation of the IKK kinases (coll. A. Israël, Unité de Biologie Moléculaire de l'Expression Génique, IP).

We have demonstrated that NEMO trimerizes through its C-terminal domain that includes several subdomains (4). These subdomains were purified and their association properties were characterized by gel filtration, fluorescence polarization, circular dichroïsm, analytical centrifugation and limited proteolysis. We showed that the minimal trimerization domain comprises the CC2-LZ coiled-coil subdomain and that the isolated CC2 and LZ domains bind to each other to form a stable hetero-trimer. On the basis of a structural model for the oligomeric fold of NEMO (4), we rationally designed cell-permeable peptides corresponding to optimal portions of CC2 or LZ subdomains that mimic the contact area between NEMO subunits. These peptides were delivered to cells to block the NF-κ B pathway by disrupting NEMO oligomerization. Peptide transduction was monitored by FACS and their effect on LPS-induced NF-κ B activation was quantified using a NF-κ B dependent β –galactosidase assay in stably transfected pre-B 70Z/3 lymphocytes. Our results show that the LZ peptide and, to a lesser extent, the CC2 peptide inhibit NF-κ B activation following a variety of pro-inflammatory stimulation (LPS, IL-1, TNF-alpha) with IC50 values in the µM range (5). Control peptides including mutated peptides as well as heterologous coiled-coil peptides had no inhibitory effect. We also showed that the peptides inhibit NEMO oligomerization in vitro and that they interact with the protein in vivo. In addition, they show specificity for the NF-κ B pathway since they have no effect on the MAP Kinase/ERK and P38 pathways. Finally, we showed that both CC2 and LZ peptides significantly induce apoptosis in cancer cell. Altogether these results provide "proof of concept" for a new and promising strategy to inhibit the NF-κ B pathway in cancer therapy and in inflammation by targeting NEMO's alteration of its oligomerization.

NEMO is also associated with two human genetical diseases, linked to the X chromosome, including ectodermal dysplasia anhidrotic with immunodeficiency (EDA-ID) and Incontinentia pigmenti (IP). Some of the mutations found in patients are single replacements in the coding sequence of NEMO. We have started to study the A288G mutation identified in a EDA-ID patient, and located within the CC2 motif of NEMO in order to search for differences in the biochemical properties of the mutated protein (Coll. G. Courtois, Hopital St. Louis and JL. Cazanova, Hopital Necker).

Study of genetic recombination in HIV. (Roman Galetto, Véronique Giacomoni, Etienne Simon-Lorière and Matteo Negroni)

Homologous recombination is a major source of genetic variability in retroviruses. In HIV, three to thirty recombination events have been observed during a single infectious cycle, depending on the cell type involved. During their extracellular life, retroviruses store genetic information as a RNA molecule, which is present in two copies within each viral particle. Genetic recombination occurs mostly through template switching during reverse transcription between these two copies of genomic RNA, a process known as "copy choice" or "strand transfer". The impact of recombination on the dynamics of retroviral infections has been dramatically illustrated by the spreading of the AIDS pandemic. Indeed, at least 10% of the infectious strains of HIV originate through recombination among different viral subtypes (intersubtype recombinants). Some intersubtype recombinant strains comprise forms efficiently spreading throughout the world.

We have also studied the mechanism of retroviral recombination using purified nucleic acids and proteins (in vitro system) and, in parallel, an original system where infection of cells in culture is limited to one cycle (ex vivo system). We focus on the role of the structures of the genomic RNA, since previous results from our laboratory indicated that they are a major determinant in the recombination process. Template switching preferentially occurs within hairpin regions of the genome both in vitro and ex vivo. The folding of the acceptor RNA in vitro (the one onto which DNA synthesis is continued after the transfer), constitutes the crucial parameter for the efficiency of template switching. These observations have led us to propose a mechanism accounting for strand transfer within hairpin regions of genomic RNAs where the transfer would proceed through a mechanism reminiscent of "branch migration" taking place during DNA-DNA recombination (6). Recently we have shown that, in infected cells, besides the structure of the RNA, also its sequence plays a major role in the generation of the major hot spot we have been studying in the env gene. Currently, using the ex vivo system, we study recombination involving isolates from different subtypes of the M group of HIV-1, in the absence of selective pressure. A main goal is the definition of a map of the most frequently generated recombinant forms. In the longer term this study is aimed at characterising the early steps of generation of the recombinant forms found in the epidemics, a study developed in collaboration with the laboratories of Eric Arts (Cleveland) and of Jeff DeStefano (College Park).

Keywords: Anti-viral therapy, Nucleotides analogs, NDP kinase, Signal transducttion, NF-kB, NEMO, Retrovirus, HIV, Recombination



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications 2004 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Tran Catherine (cathtran@pasteur.fr) Agou Fabrice, CR IP (fagou@pasteur.fr)

Fontan Elisabeth, CR IP (efontan@pasteur.fr)

Negroni Matteo, CR IP (matteo@pasteur.fr)

Veron Michel, DR1 CNRS (mveron@pasteur.fr)

Galetto Roman, Post-doc (rgaletto@pasteur.fr)

Vinolo Emilie, Thèse (vinolo@pasteur.fr)

Simon-Lorière Etienne, Thèse (etisl@pasteur.fr)

Gallois-Montbrun Sarah, Stagiaire (sarahgm@pasteur.fr)

Wyler Emanuel, Stagiaire (ewyler@pasteur.fr)

Chiaravalli Jeanne, Ing. Rech. IP CDD (jchiara@pasteur.fr)

Traincard François, Ing. Rech. IP (traincar@pasteur.fr)

Giacomoni Véronique, Techn. Sup. IP (verofern@pasteur.fr)

Cortes Marie-Thérèse, Agent de labo IP


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Régulation Enzymatique des Activités Cellulaires


  Responsable : Michel VERON (mveron@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les thématiques du laboratoire en 2004 ont été : (A) l'étude de la phosphorylation des analogues de nucléotides utilisés dans les thérapies anti-virales ; (B) l'étude des propriétés biochimiques et structurales de la protéine NEMO, élément régulateur essentiel de la voie de transduction NF-κ B et son altération chez les malades possédant un gène NEMO muté ; (C) l'étude du mécanisme de la recombinaison génétique chez les rétrovirus.



  rapport

cale

Phosphorylation des analogues de nucléotides utilisés dans les thérapies anti-virales. (Sarah Gallois-Montbrun et Dominique Deville-Bonne)

Les analogues de nucléosides comme l'AZT qui figurent dans les protocoles thérapeutiques contre le SIDA et certaines maladies virales sont dispensés aux malades sous forme de nucléosides. Ils sont phosphorylés en dérivés triphosphate par des kinases cellulaires et deviennent des terminateurs de chaînes pour la transcriptase inverse virale. La Nucléoside Diphosphate (NDP) Kinase catalyse la dernière étape de cette voie d'activation. Depuis plusieurs années, nous étudions la réactivité de la NDP kinase humaine avec des analogues utilisés en thérapie (ddI, ddC, AZT, d4T). La phosphorylation des analogues qui sont dépourvus de groupe 3'OH sur le sucre est beaucoup moins efficace que pour les nucléotides naturels. La combinaison des études des complexes au niveau biochimique et structural (coll. J. Janin, LEBS, Gif-sur-Yvette) a permis de proposer un modèle pour le mécanisme de la phosphorylation de ces agents thérapeutiques par la NDP kinase (1).

La ribavirine, un analogue de guanosine utilisé contre les virus à ARN, est également active au niveau cellulaire sous forme triphosphate. Nous avons testé l'efficacité d'une série de dérivés modifiés sur le sucre afin de rechercher un analogue actif à plus faible dose dépourvu de cytotoxicité. Un dérivé dépourvu d'hydroxyle en 2' réagit bien avec la NDP kinase et la transcriptase de l'hépatite C. (coll. L. Mulard, Unité de Chimie Organique, IP et B. Canard, ESIL, CNRS Marseille) mais nous n'avons pas pu démontrer d'activité antivirale sur des cellules en culture infectées par différents virus à ARN (Coll. J. Balzarini, Rega Institut, Leuwen).

Nous avons modifié la NDP kinase humaine au niveau de son site actif pour qu'elle devienne un meilleur agent de conversion des pro-drogues nucléosidiques au sein des cellules infectées. In vitro l'enzyme mutant L55H-N115S montre un gain de spécificité de plus de 300 fois pour les analogues substitués en 3'0H du sucre. Des expériences sur des cultures cellulaires ayant pour but de déterminer si la présence de cette protéine mutante dans les cellules altère leur sensibilité aux analogues de nucléosides n'ont pas été positives (coll. J. Balzarini, Rega Institut, Leuwen).

Nous avons également étudié le rôle de plusieurs autres enzymes dans la phosphorylation des nucléotides de configuration L (2), et en particulier la PhosphoGlycerate Kinase (3) et l'UMP-CMP Kinase humaine dont la structure cristallographique est en cours de résolution (coll. P. Alzari, IP).

Etudes biochimiques de la protéine NEMO (NF-κ B Essential Modulator), un composant essentiel de la voie de signalisation NF-κ B. (Elisabeth FONTAN, François TRAINCARD, Jeanne CHIARAVALLI, Emilie vinolo et Fabrice Agou)

La plupart des cellules répondent à une grande variété de stimuli moléculaires dont les cytokines pro-inflammatoires (TNF-alpha et l'Il-1) et les endotoxines (LPS), en activant des gènes impliqués dans les réponses immunitaires et inflammatoires ou dans la tumorogénèse et l'apoptose. Ces gènes sont sous le contrôle des facteurs de transcription de la voie de signalisation NF-κ B. L'activation de cette voie est modulée par un complexe protéique de haut poids moléculaire comprenant les protéines kinases IKK et la protéine régulatrice non catalytique NEMO. Nous étudions les propriétés biochimiques et structurales de NEMO et le mécanisme moléculaire grâce auquel il induit l'activation des kinases IKK (coll. A. Israël, Unité de Biologie Moléculaire de l'Expression Génique, IP).

Nous avons démontré que NEMO (4) trimèrise par son domaine C-terminal qui contient plusieurs sous-domaines. Ces sous-domaines ont été purifiés et leurs propriétés d'association ont été caractérisées par filtration sur gel, polarisation de fluorescence, dichroïsme circulaire, centrifugation analytique et protéolyse ménagée. Nous avons montré que le domaine minimal de trimérisation de NEMO est composé du sous-domaine coiled-coil CC2-LZ et que les domaines CC2 et LZ s'associent l'un à l'autre pour former un hétéro-trimère stable. Sur la base d'un modèle structurel du repliement oligomérique de NEMO (4) nous avons conçu des peptides correspondant à des portions optimisées des sous-domaines CC2 ou LZ, mimant les zones de contact entre les sous-unités de NEMO et capables de pénétrer dans les cellules. Ces peptides ont été mis au contact de cellules pour bloquer la voie de signalisation NF-κ B en interférant avec l'oligomérisation de NEMO. Leur pénétration dans les cellules a été suivie par FACS et leur effet sur l'activation de la voie en réponse au LPS a été quantifié grâce à un gène ß-galactosidase rapporteur mis sous promoteur NF-κ B dans des lymphocytes pré-B 70Z/3 stablement transfectés. Nous avons montré que le peptide LZ et, à un degré moindre, le peptide CC2 bloquent l'activation de la voie NF-κ B par plusieurs signaux pro-inflammatoires (LPS, IL-1, TNF-alpha) avec des IC50 de l'ordre du µM (5). Des peptides contrôles tels que des peptides mutés et des peptides coiled-coil hétérologues sont sans effet. Nous avons aussi montré que nos peptides inhibent l'oligomérisation de NEMO in vitro et qu'ils interagissent avec la protéine in vivo. Ils sont spécifiques de la voie NF-κ B puisqu'ils sont sans effet sur les voies MAP Kinase/ERK et P38. Enfin, nous avons montré que les peptides CC2 et LZ induisent l'apoptose de cellules cancéreuses. Ensemble, ces résultats valident le concept d'une nouvelle stratégie d'inhibition de la voie NF-κ B dans les thérapies anti-inflammatoires et anti-cancéreuses via l'altération de l'oligomérisation de NEMO.

NEMO est aussi impliqué dans deux maladies génétiques humaines liées au chromosome X, la dysplasie ectodermique anhidrotique avec immunodéficience (EDA-ID) et l'Incontinentia pigmenti (IP). Certaines de ces mutations sont des mutations ponctuelles dans le gène codant pour la protéine NEMO. Nous avons commencé à étudier la mutation A288G identifiée chez un patient EDA-ID et localisée dans le motif CC2 de NEMO afin de rechercher d'éventuelles différences dans les propriétés biochimiques de la protéine muante (Coll. G. Courtois, Hopital St. Louis et JL. Cazanova, Hopital Necker).

Etude de la recombinaison génétique chez VIH. (Roman Galetto, Véronique Giacomoni, etienne SIMON-LORIERE et Matteo Negroni)

La recombinaison est une source majeure de variabilité génétique chez VIH. Il a été montré qu'entre 3 et 30 événements de recombinaison peuvent être introduits lors d'un cycle infectieux, selon le type cellulaire infecté. Chaque particule virale contient deux copies d'ARN génomique et la recombinaison est en grande majorité générée par un changement de matrices entre ces deux ARN (transfert de brin) lors de la transcription inverse. Nous avons développé deux systèmes expérimentaux originaux, basés sur l'utilisation de marqueurs génétiques, pour étudier les mécanismes de la recombinaison générée pendant la transcription inverse in vitro et, plus récemment, dans des cellules infectées (ex vivo). Nous avons montré que la structure de l'ARN génomique est un déterminant majeur dans le processus de recombinaison et notamment que les structures en épingle à cheveux constituent des " points chauds " de recombinaison dans les deux systèmes. In vitro, c'est la structure de l'ARN sur lequel la synthèse est transférée (ARN accepteur) qui constitue l'élément déterminant pour le processus. Nous avons aussi étudié le rôle de la nucléocapside (NC), la protéine virale la plus abondante du complexe de transcription inverse, qui augmente la fréquence de recombinaison in vitro grâce à son activité de chaperon d'ARN. Ces observations nous ont permis de formuler un modèle de la recombinaison dans des régions structurées de l'ARN génomique, dans lesquelles le transfert de brin est favorisé par un mécanisme ressemblant à la " migration de branche " qui a lieu pendant la recombinaison entre molécules d'ADN double brin (6). Dernièrement, nous avons montré que, dans les cellules infectées, l'existence d'un " point chaud " que nous avions étudié principalement, localisé dans le gène env, est due à la structure de l'ARN mais aussi à sa séquence. Les expériences en cours concernent l'étude par le système ex vivo de la recombinaison entre isolats appartenant à différents sous-types du groupe M du VIH-1, dans le but d'obtenir une carte de recombinaison le long du gène env en absence de toute pression de sélection. Cette étude fait partie d'un projet visant à caractériser les premières étapes dans la génération des souches recombinantes circulantes (CRF) réalisé pour partie en collaboration avec les laboratoires d'Eric Arts et de Jeff DeStefano, aux Etats–Unis.

Mots-clés: Thérapies anti-virales, Analogues de nucléotides, NDP kinase, Signal transduction, NF-kB, NEMO, Rétrovirus, HIV, Recombinaison



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2004 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Tran Catherine (cathtran@pasteur.fr) Agou Fabrice, CR IP (fagou@pasteur.fr)

Fontan Elisabeth, CR IP (efontan@pasteur.fr)

Negroni Matteo, CR IP (matteo@pasteur.fr)

Veron Michel, DR1 CNRS (mveron@pasteur.fr)

Galetto Roman, Post-doc (rgaletto@pasteur.fr)

Vinolo Emilie, Thèse (vinolo@pasteur.fr)

Simon-Lorière Etienne, Thèse (etisl@pasteur.fr)

Gallois-Montbrun Sarah, Stagiaire (sarahgm@pasteur.fr)

Wyler Emanuel, Stagiaire (ewyler@pasteur.fr)

Chiaravalli Jeanne, Ing. Rech. IP CDD (jchiara@pasteur.fr)

Traincard François, Ing. Rech. IP (traincar@pasteur.fr)

Giacomoni Véronique, Techn. Sup. IP (verofern@pasteur.fr)

Cortes Marie-Thérèse, Agent de labo IP


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr