Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Nuclear Organization and Oncogenesis - INSERM U.579


  Director : Anne DEJEAN (adejean@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The research of our laboratory is aimed at investigating the molecular and cellular mechanisms underlying cellular transformation in humans. Apart from its clinical implications, the study of these pathological mechanisms will also shed important light on fundamental physiological processes in normal cellular contexts. Our work takes two complementary research paths. The first seeks to establish the genetic basis underlying hepatocarcinogenesis, a particular effort will be devoted to the study of alterations in epigenetic modification profiles, while the second aims to elucidate the role of the PML Nuclear Bodies involved in acute promyelocytic leukemia in the general context of the functional organization of the cell nucleus and its relationship with the chromatin compartment. An effort toward the elucidation of the SUMO modification pathway will be developed to this aim.



  report

cale

Genetics and epigenentics of primary liver cancer (leading scientist: Pascal Pineau)

One of our main research interest focuses on the genetic basis of hepatocellular carcinoma. Our first goal is to identify novel tumor suppressor genes involved in the development of primary liver cancer. To this aim, we searched for allelic deletions affecting tumor DNA through a genome-wide scanning for LOH coupled to a comparative genomic hybridization (CGH) study. Such approaches are of great value for locating candidate genes implicated in cancer development. The chromosomes most frequently affected by deletions were 1p, 4q, 6q, 8p, 13q and 16q. Since the highest percentage of deletions were found at chromosomes 8p and 4q ( >50%), these two regions have been studied in details. The study of tumors and tumor derived cell lines using LOH and reduction to homozygosity has pointed to three regions on 8p that likely harbor hepatic tumor suppressor genes. The role of these candidate genes in liver tumorigenesis will be studied by mutational and expression analysis, including ‘tissue arrays'. Putative suppressor genes at 4q will be identified by positional cloning using a novel approach, the CGH array. Moreover, a search for homozygous deletions in a collection of a hundred tumor cell lines, including sixty of hepatobiliary origin, revealed five candidate tumor suppressor genes not previously associated with liver cancer. We will carry out mutational analysis of these genes in different etiological contexts (infection with HBV and HCV, alcohol use, metabolic disorders). The mutational analysis will be complemented by functional studies. In addition, an extensive transcriptome analysis of hepatocellular carcinoma was undertook with the aim of defining the major expression profiles of this heterogenous class of tumors. This should hopefully lead to the establishment of a tumor classification system of significant prognostic and therapeutic value for primary liver cancer. Finally we develop a project aimed at studying alterations (by immunohistochemistry, Western and QRT-PCR) in patterns of histone modification (acetylation, methylation, ubiquitination, sumoylation) in liver cancer. This should hopefully lead to the identification of novel targets based on the use of drugs regulating gene activity through chromatin remodelling and validate the so-called ‘transcriptional therapy' concept.

Functional compartmentalization of the nucleus and SUMO modification (leading scientists : Jacob Seeler, Oliver Bischof)

A major aspect of acute promyelocytic leukemia pathogenesis involves, at the cellular level, the expression of the PML-RARα hybrid protein and, at the cellular level, the retinoic acid (RA)-reversible disaggregation of the PML nuclear bodies (NBs). This latter observation, that provides a striking physical parallel to the therapeutic effect of RA in this leukemia, has also implicated, for the first time, a novel subnuclear ‘organelle' in a human disease. Study of the signals that may regulate PML NB dynamics led us to identify a novel ubiquitin-like post-translational modification system, the SUMO pathway, as playing a major role in NB dynamics. Unlike ubiquitination, this modification does not lead to the degradation of its target proteins but raher plays important roles in their subcellular localization. Our laboratory and others have identified several novel SUMO susbtrates, a number of which are associated with the PML NBs (see Figure). The SUMO pathway uses an E1 activation enzyme (Uba2/Aos1 heterodimer), an E2 conjugation enzyme (Ubc9) and three families of E3 ligases (RanBP2, PIAS and Pc2) that are believed to confer substrate specificity. Demodification is achived by SUMO hydrolases (SENPs), of which seven isoforms exist in mammals. Given the intimate link between sumoylation and NB dynamics, a significant effort is dedicated to the study of this pathway and its role in the general organization of the nucleus both in normal and pathological cells. A parallel research path seeks to elucidate the role of the PML protein, notably in the cellular senescence process.

To dissect the mechanisms implicated in PML-induced senescence, we used the HPV oncoproteins E6 and E7 that target respectively the p53 and Rb tumor suppressor pathways and found that both pathways are activated and necessary. More interestingly we found that E7 inhibits PML function through physical interaction thus identifying PML as a novel target for E7. A collaboration with R. Bernard's lab (NKI, Amsterdam) within the FP6 EEC ‘Intact' is aimed at elucidating the signalling pathways involved in PML-induced senescence. The findings obtained will then be applied to the study of the other PML-associated processes such as apoptosis, cell differentiation an tumor suppression.

To address the biological function of the SUMO modification pathway in mammals, we inactivated the murine Ubc9 gene that encodes the unique SUMO E2 conjugating enzyme. Disruption of the SUMO pathway causes early embryonic death as well as major defects in protein localization and nuclear architecture (Nacerddine et al., manuscript in preparation). In parallel, we performed a conditional KO of the Ubc9 gene to study the consequences of a lack of sumoylation in a given tissue (myeloid cells, skin, brain…), at a given time point (Cre-ER/tamoxifen system) as well at the cellular level through infection of floxed fibroblasts with a Cre-adeno virus. This study should help in clarifying the role of the SUMO pathway in major fundamental cellular processes. In a study performed in collaboration with the lab of B. Arcangioli (Institut Pasteur), we have found that, in S. pombe, the Pli1p protein functions as a SUMO E3 ligase. Cells deleted for Pli1p exhibit enhanced minichromosome loss, a particular sensitivity to the TBZ drug and consistent telomere length increase, suggesting a role of Pli1p, and by implication of the SUMO pathway, in protecting heterochromatic repeated sequences (i.e. centromeres and telomeres) from illegitimate recombination. These data open the way to identifying the SUMO targets involved as well as the mechanisms by which sumoylation controls their activity.

Keywords: Oncogenesis, PML nuclear bodies, SUMO, cellular senescence, chromatin, epigenetic, leukemia, liver cancer



  publications

puce Publications 2004 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  DA Louise-Marie, lmda@pasteur.fr DEJEAN Anne DR1 INSERM adejean@pasteur.fr

BISCHOF Oliver CR1 CNRS obischof@pasteur.fr

PINEAU Pascal CR IP ppineau@pasteur.fr

SEELER Jacob CR IP seeler@pasteur.fr

TIOLLAIS Pierre Professor tiollais@pasteur.fr

DEMARQUE Maud Student M2 mdemarqu@pasteur.fr

MARTIN Nadine PhD. Student, ENS nmartin@pasteur.fr

NACERDDINE Karim PhD. Student, LNCC Fellowship kimnacer@pasteur.fr

RADOSHEVICH Liliana American Student (trainee) radoshev@pasteur.fr

SCHWAMBORN Klaus Post-doc, CDD IP (AICR) ks@pasteur.fr

WERNER Andreas Post-doc, FRM Fellowship awerner@pasteur.fr

CORDINA Emilie Engineer INSERM ecordina@pasteur.fr

MARCHIO Agnès Engineer IP amarchio@pasteur.fr

GEORGES Monique Aide de Laboratoire, IP mgeorges@pasteur.fr

LEGOUT Claudine Responsable de Préparation, IP clegout@pasteur.fr

LEGUEULT Catherine Aide de Laboratoire, IP cathy@pasteur.fr

QUEROL Chantal Aide de Laboratoire, IP cquerol@pasteur.fr


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Organisation nucléaire et oncogenèse - INSERM U.579


  Responsable : Anne DEJEAN (adejean@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les travaux de l'Unité portent sur l'étude des mécanismes moléculaires et cellulaires à l'origine des cancers chez l'homme. Outre ses applications médicales, la compréhension des évènements qui interviennent dans la transformation tumorale est importante car révélatrice de mécanismes physiologiques fondamentaux. Deux axes sont développés : le premier vise à établir les bases génétiques de la carcinogénèse hépatique avec un accent particulier sur l'étude des altérations survenues dans les profils de modifications épigénétiques au cours de l'hépatocarcinogénèse, le second a pour objectif d'élucider le rôle des corps nucléaires PML impliqués dans la pathogénèse des leucémies promyélocytaires dans le contexte plus général de la compartimentalisation fonctionnelle du noyau et de ses liens avec le compartiment chromatinien. Dans ce contexte, un effort important sera par ailleurs consacré à l'étude de la voie SUMO, une voie de modification post-traductionnele apparentée à l'ubiquitination.



  rapport

cale

Génétique et épigénétique du cancer du foie (responsable : Pascal Pineau)

L'inactivation somatique de gènes suppresseurs de tumeur est d'importance majeure dans le développement des cancers humains. Dans le but d'identifier des suppresseurs de tumeur potentiellement inactivés au cours du développement du cancer du foie, une cartographie des pertes d'allèles les plus fréquentes (LOH) couplée à une étude par hybridation génomique comparative (CGH) nous a permis de mettre en évidence des pertes de matériel génétique fréquentes sur les chromosomes 1p, 4q, 6q, 8p, 13q et 16p. Il est important de noter qu'aucun suppresseur de tumeur n'a encore été identifié dans les deux régions chromosomiques 8p et 4q présentant les taux de délétion les plus importants ( >50%). Nos efforts se sont donc focalisés sur ces deux régions. L'étude des pertes de l'hétérozygotie et de la réduction à l'homozygotie du chromosome 8p dans les tumeurs et les lignées cellulaires hépatiques nous a permis d'identifier trois segments génomiques susceptibles d'abriter des gènes candidats. Nous procéderons à l'analyse mutationnelle ainsi qu'à l'étude de l'expression de ces gènes dans des tumeurs hépatiques, notamment par tissue array. Le clonage positionnel des gènes localisés en 4q est effectué quant à lui selon la nouvelle approche de CGH array. Parallèlement, la recherche systématique de doubles délétions dans une centaine de lignées cellulaires tumorales (dont 60 d'origine hépato-biliaire) a révélé cinq gènes suppresseurs de tumeur candidats jusqu'alors non incriminés dans le cancer du foie. L'analyse mutationnelle de ces gènes sera effectuée dans divers contextes étiologiques (infections virales B et C, intoxication alcoolique, troubles métaboliques). Ces études mutationnelles seront complétées par des analyses fonctionnelles. Une étude de transcriptome sur le cancer du foie a par ailleurs été initiée afin de définir les principaux profils d'expression de cette tumeur très hétérogène. Ces travaux devrait à terme permettre d'établir une classification à valeur prédictive et thérapeutique du carcinome hépatocellulaire. Finelement, nous développons un projet visant à rechercher des altérations (par immunohistochimie, Western et QRT-PCR) dans les profils de modification des histones (acétylation, méthylation, sumoylation, ubiquitination) dans le cancer du foie. Cette étude devrait permettre d'identifier de nouvelles cibles pour de futurs traitements basés sur l'utilisation de drogues modulant l'activité des gènes par remodellage chromatinien et valider ainsi le concept de thérapie dite ‘transcriptionnelle'.

Compartimentalisation fontionnelle du noyau et modification par SUMO (responsables : Jacob Seeler, Oliver Bischof)

L'un des aspects majeurs de la pathogénèse des leucémies aigües promyélocaytaires implique, d'une part, la présence de l'oncoprotéine hybride PML-RARα et, d'autre part, la désagrégation réversible par l'acide rétinoïque des corps nucléaires PML. Cette dernière observation, qui fournit un parallèle frappant à l'effet thérapeutique des rétinoïdes dans ce type d'hémopathies, permet ainsi d'impliquer un nouvel ‘organelle' nucléaire dans une pathologie humaine. Etudiant les signaux susceptibles de réguler la dynamique des corps nucléaires, nous avons identifié un nouveau type de modification post-traductionnelle apparentée à l'ubiquitination, la voie SUMO qui semble jouer un rôle majeur dans la formation de ces structures. Cette modification, contrairement à l'ubiquitination, n'est pas associée à une dégradation de ses protéines cicles mais semble jouer un rôle majeur dans leur compartimentalisation subcellulaire. Notre laboratoire ainsi que d'autres ont identifié un certain nombre de substrats pour SUMO, plusieurs d'entre eux étant associés aux corps nucléaires (voir Figure). La voie enzymatique de sumoylation implique une enyzyme d'activation E1 (hétérodimère Uba2/Aos1), une enzyme de conjugaison E2 (Ubc9) et trois familles de E3 ligases (RanBP2, PIAS et Pc2) qui sont censées conférer la spécificité de reconnaissance des substrats. La démodification est assurée par des hydrolases (SENPs) qui sont au nombre de 7 chez l'homme. Compte-tenu du lien étroit existant entre la sumoylation et la dynamique des corps nucléaires, nous consacrons un effort important à l'étude de cette voie de modification post-traductionnelle afin de clarifier son rôle dans l'organisation générale du noyau de la cellule normale et de la cellule leucémique. Par ailleurs nous poursuivons parallèlement l'étude de la protéine PML et cherchons notamment à caractériser son rôle dans les processus de sénescence cellulaire.

Lors de la sénescence induite par PML, nous avons montré que les deux voies p53 et Rb sont activées et nécessaires, de plus l'oncoprotéine E7 d'HPV est capable d'inhiber ce processus en s'associant physiquement avec PML. Ainsi PML constituerait, à coté de Rb, une nouvelle cible cellulaire pour E7. Une collaboration a été établie avec le laboratoire de R. Bernards au NKI à Amsterdam dans le cadre du FP6 EEC ‘Intact' auquel nous participons. Celle-ci a pour objectif d'identifier les voies activées lors du processus de sénescence induit par PML. Les informations recueillies pourront par la suite être exploitées pour étudier de même les processus d'apoptose, de différenciation cellulaire et de suppresseur de tumeur attribués à PML.

Afin de clarifier le rôle général de la voie SUMO in vivo, nous avons réalisé un knock out constitutif du gène Ubc9 codant pour l'unique enzyme E2 qui révèle une létalité embryonnaire très précoce ainsi que des défauts importants dans la localisation des protéines et l'architecture générale du noyau (Nacerddine et al., manuscrit en préparation). Nous avons parallèlement réalisé une inactivation conditionnelle de ce même gène afin d'étudier les conséquences de l'inhibition de la sumoylation dans certains tissus (lignée myéloïde, peau, cerveau…) ainsi qu'au cours du temps (système cre-Tamoxifène). Des fibrolastes floxés seront parallèlement infectés par un virus adéno-Cre pour des études au niveau cellulaire. Ces travaux devraient permettre de préciser le rôle de la voie SUMO dans les principaux processus cellulaires fondamentaux. En collaboration avec l'équipe de B. Arcangioli, nous avons montré que, chez la levure S. pombe, la protéine Pli1p fonctionne comme une SUMO E3 ligase. Les cellules délétées pour Pli1p présentent une perte des minichromosomes, une sensibilité accrue pour la drogue TBZ ainsi qu'un allongement de la taille des télomères. Ces données suggèrent que Pli1p, et par extension , la voie SUMO, jouerait un rôle dans la protection des séquences répétées hétérochromatiques (ie : centromères et télomères) de la recombinaison illégitime. Nous chercherons à identifier les substrats impliqués dans ce processus ainsi que les mécanismes par lesquels la sumoylation régule leur activité.

Mots-clés: oncogénèse, corps nucléaires PML, SUMO, sénescence cellulaire, chromatine, épigénétique, leucémies, cancer du foie



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2004 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  DA Louise-Marie, lmda@pasteur.fr DEJEAN Anne DR1 INSERM adejean@pasteur.fr

BISCHOF Oliver CR1 CNRS obischof@pasteur.fr

PINEAU Pascal CR IP ppineau@pasteur.fr

SEELER Jacob CR IP seeler@pasteur.fr

TIOLLAIS Pierre Professeur tiollais@pasteur.fr

DEMARQUE Maud Etudiante M2 mdemarqu@pasteur.fr

MARTIN Nadine Etudiante Thèse, ENS nmartin@pasteur.fr

NACERDDINE Karim Etudiant Thèse, Bourse LNCC kimnacer@pasteur.fr

RADOSHEVICH Liliana Etudiante américaine (Stagiaire) radoshev@pasteur.fr

SCHWAMBORN Klaus Post-doc, CDD IP (AICR) ks@pasteur.fr

WERNER Andreas Post-doc, Bourse FRM awerner@pasteur.fr

CORDINA Emilie Ingénieur, vacataire INSERM ecordina@pasteur.fr

MARCHIO Agnès Ingénieur, IP amarchio@pasteur.fr

GEORGES Monique Aide de Laboratoire, IP mgeorges@pasteur.fr

LEGOUT Claudine Responsable de Préparation, IP clegout@pasteur.fr

LEGUEULT Catherine Aide de Laboratoire, IP cathy@pasteur.fr

QUEROL Chantal Aide de Laboratoire, IP cquerol@pasteur.fr


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr