Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Mycobacterium Reference


  Director : Véronique Vincent (vvincent@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The role of environmental mycobacteria in human pathology has been investigated, specifically in AIDS patients in Ivory Coast, a country with high tuberculosis incidence. A European study showed epidemiological changes of mycobacterial flora in man, in common trends for all countries of the region. The study of biodiversity of tubercle bacilli in Africa identified a new genetic family of M. tuberculosis which recently emerged and is higly prevalent in Cameroon. Distinct genetic groups of M. africanum are identified in West and East Africa.

A glycoprotein produced during the bacterial growth has been characterized. A method for diagnosis of active tuberculosis, based on the lymphocyte T CD4+ responses toward the molecule is under a validation process



  report

cale

Mycobacterium National Reference Center (Gilles Marchal, Véronique Vincent, Cristina Gutiérrez-Perez, Annie Landier, Maria de Moura Goncalves, Nathalie Barilone, Cyril Dumontt)

Our laboratory is a National Reference Center and is implied in the surveillance of tuberculosis and other mycobacterial infections. The surveillance of multi-drug resistant tuberculosis, i.e. difficult to treat cases due to strains resistant to both major drugs isoniazide and rifampicin, is achieved by a systematic strain typing. Our laboratory is member of the WHO network of supranational laboratories for the surveillance of global antituberculous drug resistance. A training course for molecular typing techniques of tubercle bacilli has been organised since 2000. Member of the an ad hoc committee for the Conseil Supérieur d'Hygiène Publique de France, our CNR participated to recommendations of prevention and care of tuberculosis in France. We participated to a comprehensive review of the role of environmental mycobacteria in human pathology. A national study is being perfomed for assessing the incidence and the role of environmental mycobacteria in cystic fibrosis.

Genetic biodiversity of tubercle bacilli in Africa (Sara Ngo Niobe - Eyangoh, Cristina Gutiérrez-Perez)

The study shows a recent epidemiological change of tubercle bacilli circulating in Cameroon. M. africanum represented more than 50% in 1970, but is currently isolated in less than 10% of cases. A very homogeneous genetic family of M. tuberculosis is recovered from approximately 40% of patients. This higly prevalent family is also found in some other West African countries and in carabbean islands, tracing the slavery roads. The molecular epidemiology of M. africanum shows distinct homogeneous genetic groups in Wesrt and East Africa, with an on-going evolution of a specific sub-group in West Africa.

Role of environmental mycobacteria in human pathology (Cristina Gutiérrez-Perez, Véronique Vincent)

The role of environmental mycobacteria in human pathology has been studied in AIDS patients in a country with high tuberculosis prevalence ( Ivory Coast). In children pulmonary location was associated with adenopathies and digestive symptoms. In adults, the incidence of positive blood culture was 1.8/100 person-year.

Epidemiology of environmental mycobacteria (Véronique Vincent)

The epidemiolgy of M. kansasii in the United States, main agent of lung diseases in non-HIV patients and involved in disseminated diseases in AIDS patients, shows that a single clone is responsible for most cases, suggesting specific virulence factorsw associated with this genotype, and confirming similar data previously shown in France. A European study showed a recent increase of the incidence of M. avium and M. xenopi in clinical samples as well other epidemiological changes of the mycobacterial flora.

Diagnosis of active tuberculosis (Gilles Marchal, Pascale Pescher, Félix Romain, Pierre Chavarot)

Tuberculosis diagnosis is difficult. Treatment is started whereas bacterial presence is detected in only 40% of cases. In our laboratory, we characterized antigens able to interact with cells (T lymphocytes), involved in the control of an experimental infection in guinea-pigs. These molecules are secreted during bacterial multiplication. Chemical analysis showed unique biochemical properties, with a high Proline content and the presence of glycosylated residues. Antigenic peptides are the glycosylated peptides. Purified molecules and synthetic peptides (in collaboration with Unité de Chimie organique) are recognised by lymphocytes from patients with active tuberculosis but not by lymphocytes from controls. This difference in the response of circulating lymphocytes, according to their source from patients or from contacts, will allow to develop a method for confirming active tuberculosis.

Interest of BCG in asthma treatment (Gilles Marchal, Pascale Pescher, Félix Romain, Pierre Chavarot, Micheline Lagranderie, Mohammad Abolhassani)

Asthma is a highly prevalent and serious health problem. In a murine experimental model of asthma, we studied the curative effect of BCG inactivated by freeze drying (EFD). After EFD-treatment, the parameters of asthma (airways eosinophilia and inflammation, bronchial hyperreactivity) were reduced. A transfer of method to a pharmaceutical manufacturer is running to obtain samples which could be assayed on asthmatic patients.

Keywords: Tuberculosis, Environmental mycobacteria, Epidemiology, Molecular typing, Immunodominant antigen, Mannosylation, Asthma



  publications

puce Publications 2004 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Laurence Hay (1/2 temps)

Martine Mercier (1/2 temps)

Gilles Marchal, Institut Pasteur, Professeur, gmarchal@pasteur.fr

Véronique Vincent, Institut Pasteur, Chef de Laboratoire, vvincent@pasteur .fr

Maria-Cristina Gutiérrez Perez, Institut Pasteur, Chargée de recherches, crisgupe@pasteur .fr

Francoise Jaureguy

Céline Louveau

Yves Goguet de la Salmonière

Mohammad Abolhassani

Sara Irène Ngo Niobe-Eyangoh

Emilie Bourdon

Radia Sabouni

Félix Romain

Pierre Chavarot

Cyril Dumont

Maria de Moura Goncalves

Pascale Pescher

Nathalie Barilone

Annie Landier

Séverine Mazars


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Référence des Mycobactéries


  Responsable : Véronique Vincent (vvincent@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Le rôle des mycobactéries de l'environnement en pathologie humaine a été précisé, notamment chez les patients SIDA dans un pays à forte prévalence de tuberculose, spécifiquement la Côte d'Ivoire. Une enquête européenne montre des changements épidémiologiques de la flore mycobactérienne chez l'homme, communs aux pays de la région. L'étude de la biodiversité génétique des bacilles de la tuberculose en Afrique révèle une nouvelle famille génétique de M. tuberculosis, très homogène, d'émergence récente et très prévalente au Cameroun. Des groupes génétiques distincts de M. africanum sont identifiés en Afrique de l'Ouest et en Afrique de l'Est.

Une glycoprotéine produite par les bactéries lors de leur division a été caractérisée. Une nouvelle méthode de diagnostic de la tuberculose, basée sur la réponse des lymphocytes T CD4+ vis à vis de cette molécule, est en cours de validation.



  rapport

cale

Centre National de Référence (Gilles Marchal, Véronique Vincent, M. Cristina Gutiérrez-Perez, Annie Landier, Maria de Moura Goncalves, Nathalie Barilone, Cyril Dumont)

Le Laboratoire est Centre National de Référence des Mycobactéries et est à ce titre impliqué dans la surveillance épidémiologique de la tuberculose et des autres infections mycobactériennes.

La surveillance de la transmission de la tuberculose multi-résistante, c'est-à-dire des cas de tuberculose à traitement difficile car privé des antituberculeux majeurs isoniazide et rifampicine, est assurée par le typage systématique des souches. Le CNR est intégré au réseau OMS de laboratoires supra-nationaux établi pour la surveillance de la résistance aux antituberculeux au niveau mondial. Le CNR développe et évalue des techniques d'identification moléculaire des mycobactéries autres que les bacilles de la tuberculose, avec en particulier des méthodes reposant sur l'analyse du polymorphisme de gènes conservés. Un cours de formation aux différentes techniques de typage moléculaire est organisé annuellement depuis 2000. Membre du groupe de travail du Conseil Supérieur d'Hygiène Publique de France, le CNR a participé à l'élaboration des recommandations de prévention et de prise en charge de la tuberculose en France. Le CNR a participé à une large revue de l'OMS sur le rôle des mycobactéries de l'environnement en pathologie humaine. Une enquête nationale sur l'incidence et le rôle de ces mycobactéries dans la mucoviscidose est en cours.

Biodiversité génétique des bacilles de la tuberculose en Afrique (Sara Ngo Niobe - Eyangoh, Cristina Gutiérrez-Perez)

L'étude montre une évolution épidémiologique récente des agents impliqués dans les cas de tuberculose au Cameroun. Alors que M. africanum était responsable de plus de 50% des cas en 1970, il représente aujourd'hui impliqué moins de 10% des cas. Près de 40% des cas dus à M. tuberculosis impliquent des souches d'une même famille, à forte homogénéité génétique selon divers marqueurs. Cette famille fortement prévalente au Cameroun n'est retrouvée que dans quelques pays de l'Afrique de l'Ouest et dans les Caraïbes, vestige de la traite humaine esclavagiste. L'épidémiologie moléculaire de M. africanum montre des groupes homogènes distincts en Afrique de l'Ouest et Afrique de l'Est avec l'évolution en cours d'un sous-groupe particulier à l'Ouest.

Rôle des mycobactéries de l'environnement en pathologie humaine (M. Cristina Gutiérrez-Perez, Véronique Vincent)

Le rôle des mycobactéries de l'environnement en pathologie humaine a été précisé, notamment chez les patients SIDA dans un pays à forte prévalence de tuberculose, spécifiquement la Côte d'Ivoire. Chez l'enfant, le tableau associait pneumopathie avec polyadénopathie et signes digestifs. Chez l'adulte, l'incidence d'hémoculture positive était de 1,8/100 personnes-année.

Epidémiologie des mycobactéries de l'environnement (V . Vincent)

L'épidémiologie moléculaire aux Etats-Unis de souches de M. kansasii, responsable principalement d'infections pulmonaires chez le VIH-séronégatif et d'infections disséminées chez les patients SIDA, montre que un seul clone est responsable de la plupart des cas, suggérant une virulence spécifique associée à ce clone ; des résultats confirmant les données épidémiologiques obtenues antérieurement en France. Une enquête européenne montre une augmentation récente de l'incidence de M. avium et M. xenopi en clinique et d'autres changements épidémiologiques de la flore mycobactérienne.

Diagnostic de tuberculose active. (Gilles Marchal, Pascale Pescher, Félix Romain, Pierre Chavarot)

Le diagnostic de tuberculose est difficile. Le traitement est commencé alors que la présence de bactéries dans l'expectoration n'a été observée que dans environ 40% des cas. Des antigènes ont été caractérisées sur leur capacité à interagir avec les cellules (lymphocytes T) impliquées dans le contrôle d'une infection expérimentale chez le cobaye. Ces molécules sont sécrétées par les bactéries durant leur multiplication. L'analyse chimique de ces molécules montre qu'elles possèdent des caractéristiques biochimiques particulières, richesse en proline et présence de résidus glycosylés. Une analyse des peptides antigéniques de ces molécules (épitopes) reconnus préférentiellement lors de l'infection a été effectuée. Les peptides antigéniques sont les peptides portant des résidus glycosylés. Les molécules purifiées et des peptides de synthèse (collaboration avec l'Unité de Chimie Organique) sont reconnus par les lymphocytes de malades atteints de tuberculose, sans être reconnus par les lymphocytes de sujets témoins. Cette différence dans la réponse des lymphocytes circulants, selon qu'ils proviennent de malades ou de sujets contacts, permettra de développer une méthode confirmant une tuberculose active.

Intérêt du BCG dans le traitement de l'asthme (Gilles Marchal, Pascale Pescher, Félix Romain, Pierre Chavarot, Micheline Lagranderie, Mohammad Abolhassani)

L'asthme est une affection d'importance médico-sociale considérable. Dans un modèle d'asthme expérimental murin, nous avons établi l'effet curatif du BCG inactivé par lyophilisation (EFD). Le traitement par l'EFD de souris ou de cobayes sensibilisées par un allergène se traduit par une réduction des paramètres caractéristiques de l'asthme: éosinophilie, inflammation pulmonaire et hyperréactivité bronchique lors de l ‘épreuve par l ‘allergène. La préparation de l'EFD selon les conditions des préparations pharmaceutiques, est en cours de façon à éprouver son efficacité chez l'homme.

Mots-clés: Tuberculose, Mycobactéries de l’environnement, Epidémiologie, Typage moléculaire, Antigène immunodominant, Mannosylation, Asthma



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2004 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Laurence Hay (1/2 temps)

Martine Mercier (1/2 temps)

Gilles Marchal, Institut Pasteur, Professeur, gmarchal@pasteur.fr

Véronique Vincent, Institut Pasteur, Chef de Laboratoire, vvincent@pasteur .fr

Maria-Cristina Gutiérrez Perez, Institut Pasteur, Chargée de recherches, crisgupe@pasteur .fr

Francoise Jaureguy

Céline Louveau

Yves Goguet de la Salmonière

Mohammad Abolhassani

Sara Irène Ngo Niobe-Eyangoh

Emilie Bourdon

Radia Sabouni

Félix Romain

Pierre Chavarot

Cyril Dumont

Maria de Moura Goncalves

Pascale Pescher

Nathalie Barilone

Annie Landier

Séverine Mazars


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr