Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Bacteria-Cell Interactions


  Director : Cossart Pascale (pcossart@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our Unit investigates the molecular and cellular basis of the pathogenicity of Listeria monocytogenes, a model for the study of the intracellular parasitism. L. monocytogenes is responsible for severe food infections, for which the mortality rate is 30%. This bacterium is characterized by its ability to cross the intestinal, blood-brain or feto-placental barriers and to invade several cell types in which it multiplies. L. monocytogenes move in the cytosol of infected cells and spread from cell to cell using an original propelling process: cell actin polymerization at one pole of the bacteria. In 2004, our activity concerned the study of the bacterial and cellular components allowing bacterial invasion of cells, the identification of new virulence genes, their regulation and their anchoring mechanism at the bacterial surface, the analysis of the mechanisms allowing the crossing of the host barriers. In parallel, we investigate the actin-dependent motility of another intracellular bacterium, Rickettsia conorii, as well as its mechanism of entry into cells.



  report

cale

I. Entry of L. monocytogenes into epithelial cells:

Role of the internalins, InlA and InlB, two bacterial proteins involved in cell entry

InlA and its receptor, E-cadherin (D. Cabanes, M. Lecuit, S. Sousa).

We have followed the characterization of the InlA-dependent entry pathway, downstream from the interaction of InlA with E-cadherin. In addition to catenins, the role of Arp2/3 complex, Rho-GTPases, unconventional myosin VIIa and vezatin have been demonstrated (Photo 1).

InlB and its receptors gC1q-R and Met (H. Bierne, N. Khelef, M. Lecuit.)

InlB interacts with Met, the hepatocyte growth factor receptor, and gC1q-R, the C1q (complement component) receptor. We have followed the study of the signaling activated during InlB-dependent entry downstream Met. We showed that in addition to the Arp 2/3 complex, cofiline-LIM-kinase and the GTPases Rac and Cdc42, WAVE, N-WASP, Abi1 and ENA/VASP are also involved in the formation of the phagocytic cup (Photo 2). We have also showed that gC1qR is important for InlB-dependent entry, but requires Met activity. In parallel, we studied the role of InlB in vivo and demonstrated the existence of a species specificity of the InlB-Met interaction.

Other mechanisms involved in cell entry (S. Dupuis, J. Pizarro-Cerda, S. Seveau, E. Veiga)

We have also demonstrated that the two entry pathways, the InlA- and InlB-dependent pathways, require raft integrity, at the level of the E-cadherin recruitment at the entry site for InlA and at later stages for InlB. In parallel, we demonstrated the role of PI 4-Kinase in L. monocytogenes entry and that of PI4P in the recruitment of the adaptor molecule AP1 at the entry site. Finally, we have discovered that septin 9, a GTPase, which forms filaments colocalizing with filamentous actin and microtubules, is recruited by L. monocytogenes during invasion and appears to contribute to the vacuole escape. Finally, we showed that Met ubiquitination and endocytosis, induced by InlB, regulate L. monocytogenes entry into cells.

II. Identification of new virulence mechanisms for L. monocytogenes

New virulence factors have been identified by random mutagenesis or by a post-genomic approach:

Bsh (O. Dussurget), a bile salt hydrolase that favors bacterial resistance to bile and persistence in the intestinal lumen

Auto (D. Cabanes), an autolysin facilitating entry into cells, essential for several steps of infection

FbpA (D. Cabanes, S. Dramsi), a surface protein, secreted by the SecA2 secretion system, which binds fibronectin, allow bacterial adhesion to cells and regulate the production of other virulence factors, listeriolysin and InlB, most probably by acting as a chaperone

Stp (C. Archambaud, O. Dussurget), a serine/threonine phosphatase involved in virulence that targets EF-Tu and controls its activity

Two sortases (H. Bierne, C. Sabet), anchoring surface proteins via a motif LPXTG (sortase A) or NXXTX (sortase B). Inactivation of sortase A abolishes the anchoring of LPXTG proteins and attenuates virulence. Inactivation of sortase B does not affect virulence. Its exact contribution is currently studied.

III. Regulation of Listeria monocytogenes virulence gene expression

Study of the VirR/VirS regulon (P. Mandin). The two component system VirR/VirS was discovered by STM. The transcriptomal analysis of VirR/VirS showed that it control several genes, some of which are involved in the synthesis or the modification of surface components, demonstrating their essential role in infection.

Searching for new regulating non coding small RNAs (P. Mandin, F. Repoila). Several approaches are used to identify small RNAs which might be involved in virulence, among analysis of membranes of intergenic sequences and co-immunoprecipitation using antibodies specific for Hfq (a protein binding to small RNAs) that we have produced (Collaboration with J. Johansson).

IV. Epidemiology, physiopathology of infection and host responses to L. monocytogenes

Role of InlA in the crossing of host barriers (E. Huillet, M. Lecuit)

An epidemiological study showed that 96% of clinical strains and only 65% of food strains express a functional InlA (collaboration with C. Jacquet, Centre de Référence des Listeria). All strains from materno-fetal infections express a functional InlA, suggesting the implication of InlA in the crossing of the feto-placental barrier. Histological studies and analysis of the bacterial invasion of trophoblasts in culture or from tissue explants confirmed this hypothesis.

As InlA recognize the human but not the mouse E-cadherin, we are generating transgenic mice expressing the human E-cadherin instead of the mouse E-cadherin to determine the contribution of InlA in the crossing of other host barriers (Collaboration with C. Babinet, Unité de Biologie du Développement, Institut Pasteur).

Host responses to L. monocytogenes infection (O. Dussurget, M. Lecuit)

We have started a global analysis of the host response to infection by a transcriptomic approach (Collaborations with J.I. Gordon, Washington University, St Louis, MO, and P. Ricciardi-Castagnoli, University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy). We studied the intestinal response of germ-free mice expressing the human E-cadherin at the intestinal level and of epithelial and dendritic cell lines. The comparison of the gene expression patterns induced by wild type and mutants strains of L. monocytogenes is currently analyzed.

Real time analysis of murine listeriosis (O. Dussurget)

We are initiating the real time analysis of L. monocytogenes infection using a non invasive technique of imaging based on bioluminescence (Collaboration with J. Hardy and C. Contag from Stanford University, CA). This approach should allow us to perform a spatio-temporal analysis of the progression of murine listeriosis.

V. Rickettsia conorii: Another model to study actin-dependent motility and entry (E. Gouin, J. Martinez, V. Villiers)

As L. monocytogenes, Rickettsia conorii, has an intracytoplasmic motility dependent on actin polymerization. Actin filaments polymerized by R. conorii are long, unbranched, and attached to the bacteria. We have identified a gene rickA gene present in R. conorii but absent from R. prowazekii, which does not polymerize actin. The RickA protein activates directly and probably transiently the Arp2/3 complex, inducing the formation of long actin filaments. We also showed that R. conorii entry is dependent on activation of the Arp2/3 complex and that this process is regulated by Cdc42, PI 3-kinase, c-Src and cortactine.

Photos:

Photo 1. Scheme of the factors and events involved in InlA-dependent entry.

Photo 2. Scheme of the factors and events involved in InlB-dependent entry.

Keywords: bacteria, virulence, cell biology, transcriptomics, mutagenesis



  publications

puce Publications 2004 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Joubert, Alexandra, Institut Pasteur, Secretary, ajoubert@pasteur.fr Cossart, Pascale, Institut Pasteur, Professor, Head of Unit, pcossart@pasteur.fr

Dussurget, Olivier, Institut Pasteur, Chargé de Recherches, odussur@pasteur.fr

Khelef, Nadia, Institut Pasteur, Chargée de Recherches, nkhelef@pasteur.fr

Pizarro-Cerda, Javier, Institut Pasteur, Chargé de Recherches, pizarroj@pasteur.fr

Bierne, Hélène, INRA, Chargée de Recherches, hbierne@pasteur.fr

Huillet, Eugénie, INRA, Chargée de Recherches, ehuillet@pasteur.fr

Repoila, Francis, INRA, Chargé de Recherches, frepoila@pasteur.fr

Cabanes, Didier, Post-doctoral fellow IP/CEE, dcabanes@pasteur.fr

Dupuis,Stéphanie, Post-doctoral fellow Ligue contre le Cancer, sdupuis@pasteur.fr

Lecuit, Marc, Chef de Clinique, hopital necker, Paris, mlecuit@pasteur.fr

Martinez, Juan, Post-doctoral fellow FRM, jmartine@pasteur.fr

Seveau, Stéphanie, Post-doctoral fellow Pasteur, sseveau@pasteur.fr

Archambaud, Cristel, PhD student, Ministère de la Recherche, carcham@pasteur.fr

Mandin, Pierre, PhD student, Ministère de la Recherche, pmandin@pasteur.fr

Sousa, Sandra, PhD student, Fundaçao para a Ciencia e Tecnologia, ssousa@pasteur.fr

Sabet, Christophe, PhD student, Ministère de la Recherche, csabet@pasteur.fr

Veiga, Esteban, Post-doctoral fellow EMBO eveiga@pasteur.fr

Gouin Edith, Institut Pasteur, Ingineer, egouin@pasteur.fr

Tham, To Nam, Institut Pasteur, Ingineer, ttham@pasteur.fr

Villiers Véronique, Institut Pasteur, Technician, vvilliers@pasteur.fr


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Intéractions Bactéries- Cellules


  Responsable : Cossart Pascale (pcossart@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre Unité étudie les bases moléculaires et cellulaires du pouvoir pathogène de Listeria monocytogenes, un modèle pour l'étude du parasitisme intracellulaire. L. monocytogenes est responsable d'infections alimentaires graves dont le taux de mortalité est de 30 %. Cette bactérie se caractérise par sa capacité à traverser les barrières intestinale, hémato-encéphalique ou fœto-placentaire et à envahir de nombreux types de cellules dans lesquelles elle se multiplie. De plus, L. monocytogenes se déplace dans le cytosol des cellules infectées et passe de cellule en cellule en utilisant un mode de propulsion original: la polymérisation de l'actine cellulaire. En 2004, notre activité a porté sur l'étude des composants bactériens et cellulaires permettant l'invasion cellulaire, l'identification de nouveaux gènes de virulence, la régulation de l'expression de ces gènes et l'analyse des mécanismes de la traversée des barrières de l'hôte. Parallèlement, nous avons poursuivi l'étude de la motilité actine-dépendante d'une autre bactérie intracellulaire, Rickettsia conorii, et l'analyse de son mécanisme d'entrée dans les cellules.



  rapport

cale

I. Entrée de L. monocytogenes dans les cellules épithéliales:

Rôle des internalines InlA et InlB, deux protéines bactériennes impliquées dans l'entrée

InlA et son récepteur la E-cadhérine (D. Cabanes, M. Lecuit, S. Sousa).

Nous avons poursuivi la caractérisation de la voie d'entrée InlA-dépendante en aval de l'interaction avec la E-cadherine. Outre les caténines, l'intervention du complexe Arp2/3, des Rho-GTPases, de la myosine VIIa non conventionnelle et de la vézatine ont été démontrées. Le rôle d'un nouveau ligand de l'α-caténine, impliqué dans ce processus, est en cours de caractérisation (Photo 1).

InlB et ses récepteurs Met et gC1q-R (H. Bierne, N. Khelef, M. Lecuit)

InlB interagit avec Met le récepteur du facteur de croissance HGF et gC1q-R, un récepteur du composant du complément C1q. Nous poursuivons l'étude de la signalisation activée lors de l'entrée InlB-dépendante en aval de Met. Nous avons montré que, outre le complexe Arp 2/3 et le couple cofiline-LIM-kinase, les GTPases Rac et Cdc42, les molécules WAVE, N-WASP, Abi1 et ENA/VASP sont aussi impliquées dans la formation de la coupe de phagocytose (Photo 2). Nous avons aussi montré que gC1qR est important pour l'entrée InlB-dépendante, mais requiert l'activité de Met. Parallèlement, nous avons étudié le rôle de InlB in vivo et démontré l'existence d'une spécificité d'espèce de l'interaction InlB-Met.

Autres mécanismes impliqués dans l'entrée (S. Dupuis, J. Pizarro-Cerda, S. Seveau, E. Veiga)

Nous avons démontré que les deux voies d'entrée InlA- et InlB-dépendantes requièrent l'intégrité des rafts, au niveau du recrutement de la E-cadherine pour InlA et à des étapes plus tardives que l'interaction avec Met pour InlB. Parallèlement, nous avons mis en évidence le rôle de la PI 4-kinase dans l'entrée de L. monocytogenes et celui du PI4P dans le recrutement de la molécule adaptatrice AP1 au site d'entrée. Nous avons aussi découvert que la septine 9, une GTPase capable de former des filaments colocalisant avec l'actine filamenteuse et les microtubules, est recrutée par L. monocytogenes lors de l'invasion et qu'elle semble contribuer à la sortie de la vacuole de phagocytose. Enfin, nous avons montré que l'ubiquitination de Met et son endocytose, induites par l'interaction avec InlB, régulent l'entrée de L. monocytogenes dans les cellules.

II. Identification de nouveaux mécanismes de virulence de L. monocytogenes

De nouveaux facteurs de virulence ont été identifiés par mutagenèse aléatoire ou par une approche post-génomique:

Bsh (O. Dussurget), une hydrolase des sels biliaires qui favorise la résistance des bactéries à la bile et leur persistance dans la lumière intestinale

Auto (D. Cabanes), une autolysine facilitant l'entrée dans les cellules, essentielle pour plusieurs étapes de l'infection

FbpA (D. Cabanes, S. Dramsi), une protéine de surface, secrétée par le système de sécrétion SecA2, qui lie la fibronectine, permet l'adhésion des bactéries aux cellules et qui régule la production d'autres facteurs de virulence, la listeriolysine et InlB, vraisemblablement en agissant comme une chaperonne

Stp (C. Archambaud, O. Dussurget), une sérine/thréonine phosphatase impliquée dans la virulence qui a pour cible le facteur d'élongation EF-Tu et contrôle son activité

Deux sortases (H. Bierne, C. Sabet), qui ancrent des protéines de surface via le motif LPXTG (sortase A) ou NXXTX (sortase B). L'inactivation de la sortase A abolit l'ancrage des protéines LPXTG et atténue la virulence. L'inactivation de la sortase B n'affecte pas la virulence. Sa contribution précise est en cours d'étude

III. Régulation de l'expression des gènes de virulence de Listeria monocytogenes

Etude du régulon VirR/VirS (P. Mandin). Le système à deux composants VirR/VirS a été mis en évidence par STM. L'analyse transcriptomique de VirR/VirS a montré qu'il régule de nombreux gènes, dont certains sont impliqués dans la synthèse ou la modification de composants de surface, démontrant le rôle essentiels de ces composants dans le processus infectieux.

Recherche de petits ARNs non codants régulateurs (P. Mandin, F. Repoila). Plusieurs approches sont en cours pour identifier des petits ARNs qui seraient impliqués dans la virulence, parmi lesquelles l'analyse de membranes portant des séquences intergéniques et la co-immunoprécipitation à l'aide d'anticorps spécifiques de Hfq, une protéine liant les petits ARNs que nous venons de produire (Collaboration avec J. Johansson).

IV. Epidémiologie, physiopathologie de l'infection et réponses de l'hôte à L. monocytogenes

Rôle de InlA dans la traversée des barrières de l'hôte (E. Huillet, M. Lecuit)

Une étude épidémiologique a montré que 96% des souches cliniques et seulement 65% des souches alimentaires expriment une protéine InlA fonctionnelle (collaboration avec C. Jacquet, Centre de Référence des Listeria). La totalité des souches responsables d'infections materno-fœtales expriment une protéine InlA fonctionnelle, suggérant l'implication de InlA dans la traversée de la barrière foeto-placentaire. Une étude histologique de placentas de patientes atteintes de listériose et l'analyse de l'invasion bactérienne de trophoblastes en culture ou issus d'explants a confirmé cette hypothèse.

Comme InlA reconnaît la E-cadhérine humaine et non celle de souris, nous générons des souris transgéniques exprimant la E-cadhérine humaine en lieu et place de la E-cadhérine murine pour évaluer la contribution de InlA dans la traversée des autres barrières de l'hôte (Collaboration avec C. Babinet, Unité de Biologie du développement, Institut Pasteur).

Réponses de l'hôte à l'infection par L. monocytogenes (O. Dussurget, M. Lecuit)

Nous avons entrepris une analyse globale de la réponse de l'hôte à l'infection par une approche transcriptomique (Collaborations avec J.I. Gordon, Université de Washington, St Louis, MO, et P. Ricciardi-Castagnoli, Université de Milano-Bicocca, Italie). Nous étudions la réponse intestinale de souris axéniques exprimant la E-cadhérine humaine au niveau intestinal et celle des cellules intestinales et dendritiques en culture. La comparaison des profils d'expression génique induits par les souches sauvage et mutantes de L. monocytogenes est en cours d'analyse.

Analyse en temps réel de la listériose murine (O. Dussurget)

Nous avons entrepris l'étude de l'infection par L. monocytogenes en temps réel par une technique non invasive d'imagerie basée sur la bioluminescence (Collaboration avec J. Hardy et C. Contag de l'Université de Stanford, CA) qui devrait nous permettre de réaliser une analyse spatio-temporelle complète de la progression de la listériose murine.

V. Rickettsia conorii: Un autre modèle pour l'étude des mouvements dépendant de l'actine et de l'entrée dans les cellules épithéliales (E. Gouin, J. Martinez, V. Villiers)

Comme L. monocytogenes, Rickettsia conorii, possède une motilité dépendante de la polymérisation de l'actine. Les filaments d'actine polymérisée par R. conorii sont longs, non branchés, fixés sur la bactérie. Nous avons identifié un gène rickA présent chez R. conorii et absent chez Rickettsia prowazekii, qui ne polymérise pas l'actine. La protéine RickA active directement et sans doute de façon transitoire le complexe Arp2/3, induisant la formation de longs filaments d'actine. Nous avons montré que l'entrée de R. conorii est aussi dépendante du complexe Arp2/3 et que ce processus est régulé par Cdc42, la PI 3-kinase, c-Src et la cortactine.

Légendes des photos :

Photo 1. Schéma des facteurs et évènements impliqués dans l'entrée InlA-dépendante.

Photo 2. Schéma des facteurs et évènements impliqués dans l'entrée InlB-dépendante.

Mots-clés: bactéries, virulence, biologie cellulaire, régulation, mutagenèse



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2004 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Alexandra Joubert, Institut Pasteur, Secrétaire, ajoubert@pasteur.fr Cossart, Pascale, Institut Pasteur, Professeur, Chef d’Unité, pcossart@pasteur.fr

Dussurget, Olivier, Institut Pasteur, Chargé de Recherches, odussur@pasteur.fr

Khelef, Nadia, Institut Pasteur, Chargée de Recherches, nkhelef@pasteur.fr

Pizarro-Cerda, Javier, Institut Pasteur, Chargé de Recherches, pizarroj@pasteur.fr

Bierne, Hélène, INRA, Chargée de Recherches, hbierne@pasteur.fr

Huillet, Eugénie, INRA, Chargée de Recherches, eugenieh@pasteur.fr

Repoila, Francis, INRA, Chargé de Recherches, frepoila@pasteur.fr

Cabanes, Didier, Stagiaire post-doctorant IP/CEE, dcabanes@pasteur.fr

Dupuis,Stéphanie, Stagiaire post-doctorante Ligue contre le Cancer, sdupuis@pasteur.fr

Lecuit, Marc, Chef de clinique Hopital Necker, Paris, mlecuit@pasteur.fr

Martinez, Juan, Stagiaire post doctorant FRM, jmartine@pasteur.fr

Seveau, Stéphanie, Stagiaire post doctorante Pasteur, sseveau@pasteur.fr

Archambaud, Cristel, Doctorante, Boursière du Ministère de la Recherche, carcham@pasteur.fr

Mandin, Pierre, Doctorant Boursier du Ministère de la Recherche, pmandin@pasteur.fr

Sousa, Sandra, Doctorante, Boursière de la Fundaçao para a Ciencia e Tecnologia, ssousa@pasteur.fr

Sabet, Christophe, Doctorant Boursier du Ministère de la Recherche, csabet@pasteur.fr

Veiga, Esteban, Stagiaire post doctorant EMBO eveiga@pasteur.fr

Gouin Edith, Institut Pasteur, Ingénieur, egouin@pasteur.fr

Tham, To Nam, Institut Pasteur, Ingénieur, ttham@pasteur.fr

Villiers Véronique, Institut Pasteur, Technicienne, vvilliers@pasteur.fr


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr